Onkyo TX-NR656 Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 724Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1079 Old 02-01-2017, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
jcurtistx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the Onkyo 656 compare to the Yamaha TSR-7810 for $489 from Costco? I have the Onkyo 608 circa 2010 and am considering an upgrade to have Atmos (5.1.2)
jcurtistx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1079 Old 02-02-2017, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by csimon2 View Post
Thanks! I'm mostly just curious if there are multiple upscaling options (i.e. you can choose to scale 720p and 1080i to 1080p and/or UHD), only to 4K upscaling (it is just a blanket setting and only UHD is allowed), or no upscaling at all for non-1080p content.

I agree that obviously you wouldn't want to introduce artifacts with your setup, and that is precisely why I am inquiring about the capabilities of this AVR. My 876 has a very good HQV Reon-VX video processing engine included. It does a great job for processing video on the sources I require it on, as well as leaving the video untouched on sources that are already conformed. I briefly had the 646, but had three major issues with it:
  1. HDMI Handshake with my Slim PS3 was iffy at best (this could have been HDMI cable-related, but I have no issues with the same cable and my 876)
  2. No video upscaling to conform to a single resolution output to the TV
  3. My non-native 1080p sources (such as from DTV) looked very soft compared to the 876, even compared to just pass-through mode

Hoping the scaling capabilities of the 656 can fix these. And obviously, if it were to introduce new artifacts, then that would be a major knock against this AVR. Thanks.
So all this upscale talk got me curious so last night I turned it on, when I did it went to "auto" mode and then there are 3 selections 1, 2 and 3. When it switched it auto picked number 2 for me ( i'm not sure what the 3 options are for, perhaps different resolution as there seem to be 3?) but anyway I went to a couple different HBO channels so I know it would be a 1080 feed and I was very impressed by the upscaling, I thought it did a great job and I think I will leave it turned on.

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1.2 Atmos, SVS primes,
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom

Last edited by maximuslcd; 02-02-2017 at 07:21 AM.
maximuslcd is offline  
post #63 of 1079 Old 02-02-2017, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever16 View Post
HI. I just purchased a 656 to replace an older 608. The main reason I purchased it was for WIfi connectivity and access to Spotify. It seems to work OK as long as you use a smart phone to run it.
My main issue has to do with the audio going off while watching certain TV stations. It is easy to recreate when watching NBC and a commercial comes on. You hear the clicking of the relays and then sound only comes through a few speakers (Have a 5.1 setup). When the show comes back on, the sound will return.
I called Onkyo and they said that this is normal and that I have to hit the All Stereo button the on the remote to hear the audio. It has to do with the audio format coming out of my DirectTv receiver and the 656 not being able to automatically switch to the right mode. My setup is HDMI from the DirectTV receiver with ARC enabled.

I did not have this issue with the 608 and it consistently worked. I looked at various internet postings and this seems to be consistent with what others are seeing.

Any comments?
Do other amps like Yamaha have this issue?
Thanks.
I use my 656 with directv and do not have this issue, I would not at all be surprised if it was more of a directv receiver issue than it is an onkyo issue. Does hitting the all stereo button fix it? Is your firmware updated?

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1.2 Atmos, SVS primes,
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom
maximuslcd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1079 Old 02-02-2017, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
maximuslcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Trying to get to FL
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcurtistx View Post
How does the Onkyo 656 compare to the Yamaha TSR-7810 for $489 from Costco? I have the Onkyo 608 circa 2010 and am considering an upgrade to have Atmos (5.1.2)
I have never owned anything other than Onkyo so I can't compare. I do know that the 656 can be picked up right now for around $399.....I purchased mine in December for $550

I work to live and live for the beach.
Amateur HT enthusiast.
Samsung 65KS8500/Onkyo 656 AVR, Dolby 5.1.2 Atmos, SVS primes,
Sharp Quatron 3D 60" Onkyo 705 Bonus room
Sharp Quatron 60" Bedroom
maximuslcd is offline  
post #65 of 1079 Old 02-07-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
gbenrus25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Anyone else has a comparison between the 646 and 656? There's a $20 price diff between the 2 so if 656 is better, definitely worth the higher price.
gbenrus25 is offline  
post #66 of 1079 Old 02-07-2017, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Kwincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbenrus25 View Post
Anyone else has a comparison between the 646 and 656? There's a $20 price diff between the 2 so if 656 is better, definitely worth the higher price.
Is anyone having a problem with the audio with this receiver? I have all all hdmi sources, and the sound seems to be a delay with sound coming out of the speakers. On my PS4 Pro, menu sounds come through, but there is a sound delay from the time I press a button and sound comes out of the speakers.
Kwincy is offline  
post #67 of 1079 Old 02-07-2017, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nick_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcurtistx View Post
How does the Onkyo 656 compare to the Yamaha TSR-7810 for $489 from Costco? I have the Onkyo 608 circa 2010 and am considering an upgrade to have Atmos (5.1.2)
I am curious about these two units as well. With the prices on refurbs the 757 and 710 are coming into that budget too, but I have owned an Onkyo and Pioneer before. The Onkyo worked flawlessly for years. The Pioneer is dying after 5 years. I am willing to give them another shot but curious about Yamaha since it gets so much love here.

__________________________________________


Visiting since 2002!
Nick_WI is offline  
post #68 of 1079 Old 02-08-2017, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Eron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'm confused by the power ratings on these receivers..

What is dynamic power vs rated output power. I am confused what receiver has more power.. The Yamaha Aventage AV-720 or this Onkyo TX-NR656.. The onkyo says 170w on the box, but the specs look lower than the Yamaha..

Confused!
Eron is offline  
post #69 of 1079 Old 02-13-2017, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mks100 View Post
Definitive Technology Super Cube II. Volume set @ 10 o'clock on the Sub. Front L/R sets to 200 Hz (Paradigm Studio 60s V4). Manually adjust to 50Hz. Center sets to 40Hz (Paradigm CC-590 V4). Manually adjust to 50Hz. Rears set to 150Hz (Paradigm ADP-190 V5). Manually adjust to 120Hz. High Pass Filter set to 120Hz. AccuEQ sets the Level of the Sub @ 0 db. Using my DVE HD Basics Blu-ray and my RadioShack SPL Meter I have to manually set the Level to (9) db. The Sub Output varies from Stereo PCM, Dolby TrueHD and dts-HD. Sub Output is inconsistent from Cable to Roku to Blu-ray and from Stereo to Surround.
Checking in on this OP, has any of this been fixed via firmware updates? I have a somewhat similar setup but need to upgrade due to 4k support. For the most part I'd primarily be using mine for my shield TV (DirecTV now, Plex, Netflix, Game Stream from my PC). While I do have a few other devices I may switch to chances are they wont matter much for sound quality. Plex will be handling the Movie watching and is capable of bit streaming. Not much music listening.

Setup is currently using Denon 3808ci, Paradigm Studio 60 v2, Paradigm CC-370, Outlaw Audio LFM-1 Plus sub (have ot change the surrounds out). Honestly the power of this setup is overkill for me but I wanted the headroom incase I ever moved it all in to the basement where concrete floors and the larger space would come in to effect.


Looking at this receiver now but don't want my settings to keep changing or having to constantly tweak all the time.
nintari is offline  
post #70 of 1079 Old 02-24-2017, 12:05 PM
Member
 
niveknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Almost March and still no word of the Google Cast / Chromecast feature that they're suppose to enable via firmware. Grrrrrr! I can grab a $25, but it's the principle of being mislead on the product.
niveknow is offline  
post #71 of 1079 Old 02-24-2017, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
CEisenhour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Possible return....

I purchased the 656 about a week ago, in that time I have not been very impressed with this receiver. AccuEQ has been terrible for me. When it is on the sound is very flat. Turned off the unit sounds ok. Thinking about returning it and purchasing a Denon x1300. Does anybody have any thoughts on the X1300 vs the 656.?
CEisenhour is offline  
post #72 of 1079 Old 02-25-2017, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
munozoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello. Just bought the Onkyo 656 and received it yesterday. I cannot make it to recognize Dolby TrueHD coming from either my Oppo 203 or my Toshiba XA2. Everything is connected via HDMI. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
munozoga is offline  
post #73 of 1079 Old 02-25-2017, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEisenhour View Post
I purchased the 656 about a week ago, in that time I have not been very impressed with this receiver. AccuEQ has been terrible for me. When it is on the sound is very flat. Turned off the unit sounds ok. Thinking about returning it and purchasing a Denon x1300. Does anybody have any thoughts on the X1300 vs the 656.?
That's what room correction systems do...adjust the FR based on your room's acoustic properties to provide a flat response. Some people prefer or learn to like a flat response...others do not and turn off room correction. Denon room correction utilizes Audyssey which does the same thing....flatten response...again, some like it and others turn it off. The results of AccuEQ, Audyssey, MCACC, YPAO, ARC, Dirac, etc. may differ a bit depending on what is done at different parts of the frequency spectrum but it comes down to your room's properties and your personal sound quality (SQ) preferences.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203

Last edited by gene4ht; 02-25-2017 at 02:02 PM.
gene4ht is online now  
post #74 of 1079 Old 02-25-2017, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by munozoga View Post
Hello. Just bought the Onkyo 656 and received it yesterday. I cannot make it to recognize Dolby TrueHD coming from either my Oppo 203 or my Toshiba XA2. Everything is connected via HDMI. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
Not quite sure what you mean by this. If you mean Dolby TrueHD and/or other codecs do not show in your display, try hitting the "i" button on your remote to toggle through what information is displayed.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is online now  
post #75 of 1079 Old 02-25-2017, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
munozoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Not quite sure what you mean by this. If you mean Dolby TrueHD and/or other codecs do not show in your display, try hitting the "i" button on your remote to toggle through what information is displayed.
Hello. And thank you for your reply. What I have is TrueHD in input but showing Dolby D as output. I am bitstreaming. I hope this helps. Thank you again.
munozoga is offline  
post #76 of 1079 Old 02-25-2017, 11:43 PM
Member
 
chrgnthru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwincy View Post
Is anyone having a problem with the audio with this receiver? I have all all hdmi sources, and the sound seems to be a delay with sound coming out of the speakers. On my PS4 Pro, menu sounds come through, but there is a sound delay from the time I press a button and sound comes out of the speakers.
Can you get the receiver to pass through the 4K and HDR from the PS4? Under the settings for the PS4 Pro it shows that i'm not connected via "HDCP 2.2 so not all content may display at 4k etc..".


Also, does anyone feel like their picture quality has suffered with this receiver? I feel like some scenes don't look 4K or there's more noise than there use to be. I could just be imagining things but I figured i'd ask, I was thinking maybe there was some sort of upscaling going on that was messing with the picture. I'm using a Xbox One S for 4K HDR movies if that helps.
chrgnthru is offline  
post #77 of 1079 Old 02-26-2017, 05:55 AM
Member
 
gbenrus25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My receiver turns off by itself randomly once in a while. Also, I can't get the AUX to recognize an HDMI input.

Faulty receiver or a setting I should change?
gbenrus25 is offline  
post #78 of 1079 Old 02-26-2017, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
CEisenhour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand what the room correction does. I had an Onkyo before this one with Audyssey and it sounded great with it on. Had to replace because the HDMI board went out. And it's not that it just sounds flat, it sounds bad. The center channel sounds like my TVs speakers when AccuEQ is on.
CEisenhour is offline  
post #79 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Firmware update dated 2/23/17. Supposed to add Fireconnect support.

Here

From the Release notes:

The 2/23/2017 update will address the following, and includes
previous updates:
1. Minor bug fixes and performance updates.
2. Adds baseline support for FireConnect.
This update will enable streaming from Network Services /USB/
Bluetooth/Music server.
*Sampling rates of 44.1 kHz and 48 kHz are supported.(USB/Music
server)
*Onkyo Controller App is required to enjoy FireConnect.
*Note for Bluetooth pairing: If Bluetooth devices were previously
paired, you must pair the devices again after the Firmware update is
complete.

Updating now, as I've been wanting to check out this feature. Any suggestions on Fireconnect devices?

Tony

My Gear:
Spoiler!

Last edited by mr b; 02-27-2017 at 10:03 AM. Reason: add link
mr b is offline  
post #80 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 11:47 AM
Member
 
niveknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 29
New firmware 4 days ago and still no Google Cast. Tsk tsk on commitments, Onkyo.
niveknow is offline  
post #81 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by munozoga View Post
Hello. And thank you for your reply. What I have is TrueHD in input but showing Dolby D as output. I am bitstreaming. I hope this helps. Thank you again.
Ok...I think I understand now. I believe the Dolby Surround Upmixer (DSU) listening mode is the default output if the receiver detects the presence of Atnos speakers. Dolby Surround or DSU sends info to the Atmos speakers for Non-Atmos content (i.e. blu-rays) and generates a derived Atmos or 3D sound field/effect. "Dolby Atmos" will be displayed as the output if you have actual Dolby Atmos input. In any case, you can select the listening mode by using the Movie/TV button on the remote to cycle through the various choices...if your input is TrueHD, then TrueHD should be one of the choices available. Once selected, the output should be displayed as TrueHD. I believe the "listening modes" can be found in the 656 basic or advanced manual.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is online now  
post #82 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
munozoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Ok...I think I understand now. I believe the Dolby Surround Upmixer (DSU) listening mode is the default output if the receiver detects the presence of Atnos speakers. Dolby Surround or DSU sends info to the Atmos speakers for Non-Atmos content (i.e. blu-rays) and generates a derived Atmos or 3D sound field/effect. "Dolby Atmos" will be displayed as the output if you have actual Dolby Atmos input. In any case, you can select the listening mode by using the Movie/TV button on the remote to cycle through the various choices...if your input is TrueHD, then TrueHD should be one of the choices available. Once selected, the output should be displayed as TrueHD. I believe the "listening modes" can be found in the 656 basic or advanced manual.
Thank you. Will try that. Have a great rest of your day.
gene4ht likes this.
munozoga is offline  
post #83 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEisenhour View Post
I understand what the room correction does. I had an Onkyo before this one with Audyssey and it sounded great with it on. Had to replace because the HDMI board went out. And it's not that it just sounds flat, it sounds bad. The center channel sounds like my TVs speakers when AccuEQ is on.
Hmm....something does sound (no pun intended) amiss. Just as suggestions...you might want to:

1. Swap the center channel and another speaker at the AVR to see if the issue is in the cc speaker or AVR.

2. Turn off AccuEq to see if there is a difference.

Could possibly be a defective AVR...defective AccEq system/mic...center channel amp?

Edit: Saw your post in the Onkyo Forum....hopefully an expeditious response will be forthcoming.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203

Last edited by gene4ht; 02-27-2017 at 06:20 PM.
gene4ht is online now  
post #84 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by niveknow View Post
Almost March and still no word of the Google Cast / Chromecast feature that they're suppose to enable via firmware. Grrrrrr! I can grab a $25, but it's the principle of being mislead on the product.
Quote:
Originally Posted by niveknow View Post
New firmware 4 days ago and still no Google Cast. Tsk tsk on commitments, Onkyo.
Waiting is always frustrating! Firmware fixes and features under a vendor's control typically arrive faster. Other features outside of a vendor's control typically require agreements and licensing fees...the domain of lawyers...and require much more time. This scenario is not unique to Onkyo..this happens in the D+M camp as well...I suspect that Onkyo/Google Cast falls into the lawyer category. Having said this, I do fault Onkyo for the lack of communication ...experienced this in other areas as well...followers and customers deserve better.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203

Last edited by gene4ht; 02-27-2017 at 06:49 PM. Reason: typo
gene4ht is online now  
post #85 of 1079 Old 02-27-2017, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 101
D+M originally stated that Googlecast was coming, then did a 180 and released a brief statement saying that their goals were not in-line with those of Google...
Instead, Amazon voice control will turn up for their Heos enabled products.


BUT


Onkyo/Pioneer do have a bit of a checkered history recently for announcing updates and stretching out the delivery time.
Look at the DTS:X rollout as well as the fixes for Pandora.
There's blame to be levelled at the other parties involved, but then again, other AVR brands bet them to the punch by a large, large margin.
dunnersfella is offline  
post #86 of 1079 Old 02-28-2017, 07:01 PM
Member
 
niveknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnersfella View Post
D+M originally stated that Googlecast was coming, then did a 180 and released a brief statement saying that their goals were not in-line with those of Google...
Instead, Amazon voice control will turn up for their Heos enabled products.


BUT


Onkyo/Pioneer do have a bit of a checkered history recently for announcing updates and stretching out the delivery time.
Look at the DTS:X rollout as well as the fixes for Pandora.
There's blame to be levelled at the other parties involved, but then again, other AVR brands bet them to the punch by a large, large margin.
That's a fair statement that all parties have a part in the blame, but then they shouldn't announce a feature and print it on the box until it's a done deal. Codec or 3rd party apps.. just not good business practice.

Anyways. I'm an owner of this AVR and the Samsung 65 KS8000 series and ran into an issue with the AVR not being able to properly select some inputs. For me it was the FTV 4k capable and bluray behind the AVR. My Uverse source switches fine, but I couldn't do it on the other two sources. All new HS 10GB cables. I'm posting here to share in case there's someone out there that has the same combo that they can learn from my 2 week long experience trying to troubleshoot.

I did do a full firmware upgrade on the AVR and KS8000 as of this date with firmware and did a full factory reset on both TV and AVR. Under the factory reset the AVR's upscaling is set at 'OFF' instead of 'auto' where it gives you a upscaling value (1,2,3). Any attempt for me to set upscaling to Auto causes my issue. Once I disable the upscaling feature everything switching properly. Prob has something to do with the AVR upscaling conflicting with the TV's upscaling. So for me, I leave it OFF and let the TV do the upscaling and everything works.

Hope this helps anyone out there.
niveknow is offline  
post #87 of 1079 Old 02-28-2017, 11:13 PM
Member
 
chrgnthru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried connecting my direct TV box directly to my TV to see if I was going nuts in regards to a "worse" picture quality and well it looks better connected directly. When connected to the receiver the picture seems to get a bit more noise and the overall quality seems to gain a tint of red. Nothing crazy but it's something that my eye caught. I've turned off all the upscaling and the receiver should be doing straight pass through but unfortunately it's somehow affecting the picture.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Perhaps with a different receiver? This really is a shame as I was really liking this receiver.
chrgnthru is offline  
post #88 of 1079 Old 03-01-2017, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
Datsyukian13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I ordered this receiver for $350 yesterday, should I purchase a square trade warranty on it? Should I return it? I've been reading mostly negative things about it.
Datsyukian13 is offline  
post #89 of 1079 Old 03-01-2017, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
CEisenhour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Hmm....something does sound (no pun intended) amiss. Just as suggestions...you might want to:

1. Swap the center channel and another speaker at the AVR to see if the issue is in the cc speaker or AVR.

2. Turn off AccuEq to see if there is a difference.

Could possibly be a defective AVR...defective AccEq system/mic...center channel amp?

Edit: Saw your post in the Onkyo Forum....hopefully an expeditious response will be forthcoming.
1. Tried it with another center channel that I have, same result.

2. With AccuEQ off its sounds better, with a caveat, its not as controlled. Voices sound more true and everything is more dynamic, but sloppy at the same time. Especially my subs.

I decided to return it. I have a Denon X2300 arriving tomorrow. We'll see how it goes.
CEisenhour is offline  
post #90 of 1079 Old 03-01-2017, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,015
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1992 Post(s)
Liked: 2708
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEisenhour View Post
1. Tried it with another center channel that I have, same result.

2. With AccuEQ off its sounds better, with a caveat, its not as controlled. Voices sound more true and everything is more dynamic, but sloppy at the same time. Especially my subs.

I decided to return it. I have a Denon X2300 arriving tomorrow. We'll see how it goes.
Likely the 656 had a defect...good luck with the 2300...please post your results.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.2 to 9.2 , apple tv , atmos , cox dvr , external amp , external amplifier , Onkyo , onkyo tx-656 , TX-NR656

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off