Onkyo TX-NR656 Owner's Thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 727Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1096 Old 10-09-2019, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Youtube is stereo audio. Which will be pcm. Youtube typically doesn't have multi-channel audio.
During YouTube playback on the previous TV it did output DD audio. And it was an older TV obviously.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1096 Old 10-09-2019, 01:09 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,668
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9817 Post(s)
Liked: 6485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
During YouTube playback on the previous TV it did output DD audio. And it was an older TV obviously.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Sounds like the TV may have had a DD encoder.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1053 of 1096 Old 10-09-2019, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Sounds like the TV may have had a DD encoder.
If all the other streaming TV apps output DD audio how is it possible for the this TV not to have an encoder

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 1096 Old 10-09-2019, 04:31 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,668
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9817 Post(s)
Liked: 6485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
If all the other streaming TV apps output DD audio how is it possible for the this TV not to have an encoder

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
I get Dolby audio from all apps with multi-channel audio. From every device. But if it's stereo audio, I get PCM out unless it has encoder. Like my 2016 Roku Ultra and Fire TV 4K stick. Those output stereo audio as DD+.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1055 of 1096 Old 10-15-2019, 02:31 PM
Member
 
KristopherSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Before I factory reset my 656, I figured I would ask. I reset my Vizio P65-C1 as it was not turning off when I put my Apple TV to sleep. It was working. Then stopped a few weeks back. Someone said to reset to factory. I did, it did not help. After the reset, my ATV won’t set itself to Dolby Vision like it was before. It refuses. Was working fine before. So I hooked the Apple TV directly to the display and Dolby Vision picks up just fine and it puts the display to sleep just fine. This tells me it’s the receiver. Already tried cables and all that.

Should I reset the Onkyo or not? I did an update after I had the no turning display issue off and that didn’t help. Not sure what resetting the display did to cause Dolby Vision to stop working on the receiver?
KristopherSteel is offline  
post #1056 of 1096 Old 10-21-2019, 10:59 AM
Member
 
provels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristopherSteel View Post
Should I reset the Onkyo or not? I did an update after I had the no turning display issue off and that didn’t help. Not sure what resetting the display did to cause Dolby Vision to stop working on the receiver?
Sure, why not? Doesn't cost anything but time.

But you probably have already...

__________________________________________
"How do I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre
provels is offline  
post #1057 of 1096 Old 10-30-2019, 10:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by guddal View Post
After installing latest firmware yesterday, as of aug31, I lost all sound. Also no sound when doing speaker test in the setup.
Tried partly resetting by pulling power cord. When power on, short message AMP SPEAKER, for a second, before showing input source. Then did a full reset to default, but no help.
Anything to do? Download previous firmware via USB? Where do I find it?


I am getting this 'AMP Speaker' on my Onkyo RZ710 after an update as well via wifi. did you manage to figure this one out on what it means?

Onkyo RZ710 / Wharfedale Atlantic AT-500 Fronts / Wharfedale Xarus Rears and Wharfedale EVOLUTION 2 Centre Speaker / Wharfedale Diamond SW150 Sub x 2/ WD Media Player / LG BD player / PS4
LG 75UJ657T 75" 4K
xcrossover is offline  
post #1058 of 1096 Old 10-31-2019, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Pennhaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrossover View Post
I am getting this 'AMP Speaker' on my Onkyo RZ710 after an update as well via wifi...
I also have an RZ710, going on two years. Haven't seen this issue. I have done all the firmware updates.

It couldn't hurt to try reinstalling the firmware via USB, which is what Onkyo recommends, instead of wifi, and, if that doesn't help, also try a factory reset.

Quote:
With the receiver switched on, hold CBL/SAT button and press Power button. The display will indicate Clear, and the unit will reset.
If neither helps, sounds like a hardware failure. In the US, the RZ series carries a 3 year warranty, one year more than the NR series. Disappointing if all you get is 12 months in Oz.
Pennhaven is offline  
post #1059 of 1096 Old 10-31-2019, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennhaven View Post
In the US, the RZ series carries a 3 year warranty, one year more than the NR series. Disappointing if all you get is 12 months in Oz.
Australia has good consumer laws. https://www.accc.gov.au/consumers/co...replace-refund

I would definitely expect a refund/replacement for an AVR that failed after only 12 months. When my Pioneer had problems after two years I got a full refund.

Basically in Australia, any "warranty" they say is just empty words, the law is that the product must work for a "reasonable time". Personally I would expect three years at least for electronic equipment with no moving parts.

Fair trading is very good if you need them. I've only needed them once.

Every other time I've had a problem, just stating that I knew my rights under Australian Consumer law and pointing them to the site I quoted above was enough.

The law has teeth too, LG was fined $160000 by the ACCC for "making misleading representations to two consumers about their consumer guarantee rights".

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.

Last edited by noobtv; 10-31-2019 at 04:43 PM.
noobtv is offline  
post #1060 of 1096 Old 11-02-2019, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennhaven View Post
I also have an RZ710, going on two years. Haven't seen this issue. I have done all the firmware updates.

It couldn't hurt to try reinstalling the firmware via USB, which is what Onkyo recommends, instead of wifi, and, if that doesn't help, also try a factory reset.

If neither helps, sounds like a hardware failure. In the US, the RZ series carries a 3 year warranty, one year more than the NR series. Disappointing if all you get is 12 months in Oz.
I have posted this AMP speaker question last week too. but i think i figured it out. After the upgrade, the AMP speaker message will appear momentarily when sound is produced from the speaker connected to the Onkyo. now when Onkyo is on and is the cable is connected via HDMI ARC but the sound will come from the TV speaker itself, on boot up on the ONKYO it says TV speakers.

thats the only real assumption i have as after resetting the Onkyo and the firmware upgrade this is what is happening now. no real issues with it at the moment. been running the receiver now for the last 3 days. all running good i think.

Onkyo RZ710 / Wharfedale Atlantic AT-500 Fronts / Wharfedale Xarus Rears and Wharfedale EVOLUTION 2 Centre Speaker / Wharfedale Diamond SW150 Sub x 2/ WD Media Player / LG BD player / PS4
LG 75UJ657T 75" 4K
xcrossover is offline  
post #1061 of 1096 Old 11-03-2019, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys

I’ve just ordered a LG OLED 65” B9 TV to replace my current Panasonic TX50CX802B.

I have my Onkyo TX-NR656 set up but realised I hadn’t done any firmware updates in about 3 years as had the WiFi switched off! (My bad). I currently have a PS4 Pro and A Sky Q 2TB box connected into the AV and these are my only external devices.

few questions:

1. I have just installed the latest firmware update via the net (the one that starts with 2140 and ends with 0010) but I did read that the update with Dolby vision (a year or so ago) said you must install this by usb and not the net......so my question is....does the latest firmware update I have installed include the Dolby vision pass through OR do I need to download and install something else/a previous update via usb?

2. do any of the updates so far include the HLG support as it’s not clear? If not, does anyone know if it’s planned for this model as I think Sky are planning to use it right? Any other limitations in this set up for Sky Q?

3. I had to switch my PS4 pro from HDMI port 4 (as it wasn’t enabling HDR) and connect it to HDMI port 3 which was HDCP 2.2 enabled which seemed to work and the PS4 now says HDR is supported. My question is whether there are any other limitations with my new setup (new TV connected to AV with PS4 pro connected)?

cheers
Dan
DanSherbs is offline  
post #1062 of 1096 Old 11-04-2019, 05:22 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,668
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9817 Post(s)
Liked: 6485
Only HDMI inputs 1, 2, and 3 are HDCP 2.2 compliant. So any devices with UHD and HDR will need to be on those inputs. I use a couple 5x1, 18Gbps HDMI switches to accommodate all my devices with my NR656. WHich I use on the HDMI inputs 2 and 3. And my Shield Tv connects directly to HDMI input 1. Then the other HDMI inputs have my HD devices or non HDR UHD devices connected. Devices than don't need HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1063 of 1096 Old 11-04-2019, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, do you know whether HLG is supported though or whether there are plans to release firmware update with it? I guess this is a pretty big deal if broadcasting (bbc, sky etc) all plan on using it for its HDR content...?
DanSherbs is offline  
post #1064 of 1096 Old 11-06-2019, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone ?

Be good to clarify the HLG position on this model and if not what is the best way to support HLG without replacing the AV

Thanks
Dan
DanSherbs is offline  
post #1065 of 1096 Old 11-07-2019, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jag2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Does the manual show anything?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
jag2006 is offline  
post #1066 of 1096 Old 11-11-2019, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What do you mean? Not sure HLG was even a thing when this model came out
DanSherbs is offline  
post #1067 of 1096 Old 11-11-2019, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,678
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanSherbs View Post
What do you mean? Not sure HLG was even a thing when this model came out
HLG and DV were around before this model came out. While they did add DV support, they didn't add HLG support.

I believe the 757 has HLG (and HDR10+) passthrough.
aaronwt likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is online now  
post #1068 of 1096 Old 11-15-2019, 09:38 AM
Member
 
provels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 27
New firmware out now, http://download.onkyo.com/AVR001F/ON...EOEO_N_124.zip

Latest Firmware Number (16 digits):2150-2050-7100-0011
As of 14 November 2019
Update Chromecast built-in version to 1.36.
Improve search performance of music server.
Improve playback stability for FLAC files.

Installed yesterday via USB, no issues.
aaronwt and Pennhaven like this.

__________________________________________
"How do I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre
provels is offline  
post #1069 of 1096 Old 11-15-2019, 11:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
DinoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 39
HDR/Dolby Vision issues

Folks,

I've had this receiver for a while now. I just bought a 4K TV for the location where this receiver resides.
TV is a Sony 950G

I have an Apple TV 4K and an LG UBK90 UHD player

I cannot get Dolby Vision to work from the ATV through the receiver (and possibly HDR). If I connect the ATV directly to the TV, Dolby Vision works just fine. I've eliminated cabling being the cause. I connected the ATV directly to the TV using the monitor cable that comes out of the receiver and then I swapped with the cable going from the ATV to the receiver (into an HDMI 3 which is HDCP 2.2)
So when going through the receiver, the ATV has an enable Dolby Vision option, but when I do that the screen just goes blank. So it "defaults" back to 4K HDR. When in this mode, the TV doesn't appear to be in HDR. The ATV thinks it is in HDR mode, but the TV doesn't show HDR when I hit display and I also don't have an HDR picture mode in the settings.

I am running the latest FW on the receiver, Apple TV and TV.

I don't have any 4K UHD discs handy (This is at my vacation home) to test with but the Netflix app on the LG UHD player seems to have the same issues with HDR (regular HDR not DV). It shows that a show is in HDR but when I hit display on the TV it only shows 4K...no HDR

At my main residence I have 5 4K TVs and they all go through various receivers. The ONLY ones that have given me trouble with HDR/DV in the past were Pioneer/Onkyo. I have Denon and Yamaha on my other sets and have not had a single HDR issue. I was about to just run over and buy a new Denon receiver but wanted to give this one last try.

Thanks,

Any thoughts?
DinoT is offline  
post #1070 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,678
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinoT View Post
Folks,

I've had this receiver for a while now. I just bought a 4K TV for the location where this receiver resides.
TV is a Sony 950G


Any thoughts?
First, make sure you are on the latest firmware.

Second, for Dolby Vision pass-through, you have to make sure you are only using the 1st output from the AVR (there are two), and make sure the second one is turned off in the menu settings.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is online now  
post #1071 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
DinoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
First, make sure you are on the latest firmware.

Second, for Dolby Vision pass-through, you have to make sure you are only using the 1st output from the AVR (there are two), and make sure the second one is turned off in the menu settings.
Thanks for the response.

I forgot to mention in my original post...
The TV is connected to Main and only Main is enabled.

Thanks,
DinoT is offline  
post #1072 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,

So I have my LG OLED connected to my 656 AV with Sky Q and my PS4 pro connected via the HDCP 2.2 inputs. I’m using my HDMI arc for sound and in this configuration everything works fine.

However, if I switch my AV off (so the sound comes through the TV) it will intermittently lose signal to Sky with a “No signal”. Sometimes this can happen after a couple of hours and sometimes it can do it after 5 minutes.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Dan
DanSherbs is offline  
post #1073 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 04:01 PM
Member
 
xenokira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone try the latest firmware (2150-2050-7100-0011) yet? I'm interested to know if any issues with Chromecast were introduced with the version change, particularly around Chromecast group playback. I'm normally decently aggressive about applying updates, but the update a few versions ago that broke group playback until it was fixed in July have me a little gun-shy.
xenokira is offline  
post #1074 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 05:53 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,668
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9817 Post(s)
Liked: 6485
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post
First, make sure you are on the latest firmware.

Second, for Dolby Vision pass-through, you have to make sure you are only using the 1st output from the AVR (there are two), and make sure the second one is turned off in the menu settings.
It should not matter. I can get DOlby Vision from both of my receiver outputs. I have one output going to my TV that is set for Game mode. So I don;t have to mess with changing it. So it also makes it easy to compare. I can switch between both receiver outputs with DV from any of my UHD devices that have DV(including the ATV4K), and there are no issues with either output. Whether 2160P24 or 2160P60 or DV or HDR10 or SDR I have been able to get the same thing from both of my Onkyo outputs on the the receiver.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1075 of 1096 Old 11-16-2019, 09:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,678
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It should not matter. I can get DOlby Vision from both of my receiver outputs. I have one output going to my TV that is set for Game mode. So I don;t have to mess with changing it. So it also makes it easy to compare. I can switch between both receiver outputs with DV from any of my UHD devices that have DV(including the ATV4K), and there are no issues with either output. Whether 2160P24 or 2160P60 or DV or HDR10 or SDR I have been able to get the same thing from both of my Onkyo outputs on the the receiver.
Glad that works. Just going by what Onkyo said in their release notes regarding DV.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656 (5.1.2 setup)
JBL Studio S-Center, JBL Studio S26ii (FL/FR), JBL N24 (LS/RS), JBL N24 (Overhead Atmos), JBL Studio SUB250
Nvidia Shield TV 2019 Pro / Fire Stick 4K
taz291819 is online now  
post #1076 of 1096 Old 11-17-2019, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Pennhaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokira View Post
Anyone try the latest firmware (2150-2050-7100-0011) yet? I'm interested to know if any issues with Chromecast were introduced with the version change, particularly around Chromecast group playback. I'm normally decently aggressive about applying updates, but the update a few versions ago that broke group playback until it was fixed in July have me a little gun-shy.
Installed 2150-2050-7100-0011 on my RZ710 yesterday via USB. I got a 7-81 error again before the installation completed. Installation completed OK on second attempt with both Ethernet and CEC HDMI cables disconnected. (On the first attempt Ethernet had still been connected.) On first power up after install I got the AMP Speaker warning, which I'd never seen before. Power on and off and no warning since (and I drove the receiver hard doing multiple sweeps for REW).

As far as Chromecast built-in, as for now it has been working fine with Tidal. However Tidal also worked fine initially with the previous upgrade, before faltering after a couple days. So only time will tell. I have not yet tested with Amazon Music, which was very problematic with the earlier firmware, and sorry I don't use Chromecast group playback, so no test of that either.
xenokira likes this.

Last edited by Pennhaven; 11-17-2019 at 08:53 AM.
Pennhaven is offline  
post #1077 of 1096 Old 11-21-2019, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I have this TX-NR656 that I am rebuilding a new media room around (downsizing).

My old setup was dedicated 19x15 home theater 110' screen (light controlled) with Epson Home projector that I drove in 1080p with my homebrewed HTPC utilizing a geforce GTX750 (not Ti) and Plex
New room is smaller and no light control really....
Now seems the time to upgrade to active 4k LED/OLED/QLED screen.
1. Do I need to upgrade HTPC graphics? (manual says it will do [email protected] and might do [email protected] over DP)
1a. Does DP send sound as well if I use a adapter from DP to HDMI?
2. I read that this receiver does 4k up scaling - advice on if I should try to use it or pass thru?
3. What TV manufacture works well with the ARC on this receiver?
4. Best bang for the buck (black friday deals?) on screens.
5. what screen technology do you like and why (OLED, QLED, LED, etc)
6. I can send bitstream via but for the life of me can't get anything but stereo (PCM) out of my browsers (youtube)
7. what new 4k devices can I connect to this receiver - I have only the HTPC, PS 4 and a old Blueray player
8. What should I avoid?
9. Is the auto setup program for 7.1 a good starting point?
10. Sound setup tricks for 7.1 with the surrounds mounted high in the the room (ceiling) and the fronts/center/sub low (on the floor)

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.
kcarps11 is offline  
post #1078 of 1096 Old 11-26-2019, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Hi, I have 747 and planning to get the new LG C9 which does eARC. Was wondering if 747 would handle Dolby Atmos from the TV? Probably not, but just wanted to check. Thank in advance for any input.

LG OLED C9 77", Samsung UN65JS8500, Onkyo TX-NR747, Oppo UDP-203, Samsung UBD-K8500, Focal speakers, SVS dual subs.
srijan is offline  
post #1079 of 1096 Old 11-26-2019, 01:07 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,668
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9817 Post(s)
Liked: 6485
The 656 handles lossy Atmos over the ARC.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #1080 of 1096 Old 12-26-2019, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDMI Switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Only HDMI inputs 1, 2, and 3 are HDCP 2.2 compliant. So any devices with UHD and HDR will need to be on those inputs. I use a couple 5x1, 18Gbps HDMI switches to accommodate all my devices with my NR656. WHich I use on the HDMI inputs 2 and 3. And my Shield Tv connects directly to HDMI input 1. Then the other HDMI inputs have my HD devices or non HDR UHD devices connected. Devices than don't need HDMI 2.0 or HDCP 2.2.
What make/model of hdmi switches are you using with NR656? I want to hook my PS4 Pro and Xbox One X to the first hdmi input on my NR656.
dumbkoko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.2 to 9.2 , apple tv , atmos , cox dvr , external amp , external amplifier , Onkyo , onkyo tx-656 , TX-NR656

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off