The Official Denon 2016 AVR-S720W/AVR-S920W Owners Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 157Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 282 Old 10-21-2018, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Most of the issues I have are related to the DirecTV box syncing and playing HDR.





I'm sorry I didn't respond sooner. I use the ARC on my s720W with no problems. I like the fact that turning on my Sony XBR65X850E, turns on my Denon. I use the ARC so that when watching YouTube videos on the Sony, the sound plays back through the amplifier.

Take care,
Jim
Terminader likes this.
Jim C. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 282 Old 10-26-2018, 11:38 AM
Member
 
vinceisvince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know if we’ll get airplay 2 on our receivers?
vinceisvince is offline  
post #243 of 282 Old 11-07-2018, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just brought the AVR S-720 From E-Bay
I big Fan DTS Audio CD hoping
it will be better then Old Yamaha RX-V373
as it was not internet enabled

Going to set up as 5.1 System for now and Buy two Atmos Speakers in 2019

any other advice you guy could give me

I expecting the 720 to be in the next two weeks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AVR-S720W 1.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	258.5 KB
ID:	2479036  
Terminader likes this.
Joker2168 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 282 Old 11-07-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1747 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joker2168 View Post
I just brought the AVR S-720 From E-Bay
I big Fan DTS Audio CD hoping
it will be better then Old Yamaha RX-V373
as it was not internet enabled

Going to set up as 5.1 System for now and Buy two Atmos Speakers in 2019

any other advice you guy could give me

I expecting the 720 to be in the next two weeks
Holy cow I found someone else that was/is into DTS CDs! I wish they still released them. I have probably over 100 of them. They don't absolutely amazing. I have a Denon X3400H and DTS CDs sound incredible.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.
Hetfieldjames is offline  
post #245 of 282 Old 11-12-2018, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Was there another update in the last few weeks? ARC used to work well between my TV and the AVR, now I'm getting no sound from the TV to the AVR, I'm back to using an toslink cable but that, of course eliminates some of the advanced sound codecs. No DD+ from Netflix for example. Anyone have any idea why this might have happened?

Steve
steveknj is offline  
post #246 of 282 Old 12-02-2018, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update :I've had this Receiver almost 1 Month now

For what I paid for the amp I guess I really can't complain
I won it from ebay it was open box
250 Canadian is reasonable price so I'm happy that way

Listening 5.1 Audio Music is a True Pleasure
The lack of on online music options is disappointing
Since I am Canadian Pandora is useless since I can't it not in canada
There no Spotify even those there sticker for it on the amp

I'm not about to pay for Sirius XM $15 a month for streaming is a little too much
So that leaves internet radio and the way it is set up on the receiver is disappointing
Sound-wise the amp is incredible and I will soon get Dolby Atmos speakers to add to the 5.1 setup I have

The Bluetooth I'm sorry is poor
I can get it to pair but it takes too much effort for my liking
Still it is a huge upgrade from the Yamaha v373 that it replaced
Cuz it had no internet and no other options and only ran video at 4K 30hz

I'm hoping they do a firmware update to add more internet options for music
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	45396855_10155644325815759_2477811871952928768_o (1).jpg
Views:	24
Size:	172.1 KB
ID:	2490568   Click image for larger version

Name:	45275157_10155639771300759_873398560467451904_o.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	2490578  

Last edited by Joker2168; 12-02-2018 at 07:48 PM.
Joker2168 is offline  
post #247 of 282 Old 12-02-2018, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Holy cow I found someone else that was/is into DTS CDs! I wish they still released them. I have probably over 100 of them. They don't absolutely amazing. I have a Denon X3400H and DTS CDs sound incredible.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Ya Pink Fold Darkside moon is really good so is anything from Dire Straits
Also Billy Joel 52nd Street and The Stranger are really good as well

There are days I won't even turn on the TV I'd rather just listen to the 5.1 audio CDs turn the lights off and enjoy
Letting the music take me to places I've never been but would love to go
Joker2168 is offline  
post #248 of 282 Old 01-05-2019, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dual (Y connection) vs Independant sub output

Hey All !

Does anyone know if the s720w has independant sub outputs? I know some higher model Denon stuff does but I can't find anything that says we get it too.

thanks
evthebull is offline  
post #249 of 282 Old 01-05-2019, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 337
No.
evthebull likes this.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3&5 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #250 of 282 Old 01-05-2019, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,960
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22561 Post(s)
Liked: 12279
Quote:
Originally Posted by evthebull View Post
Hey All !

Does anyone know if the s720w has independant sub outputs? I know some higher model Denon stuff does but I can't find anything that says we get it too.

thanks
No. The X3300W is the lowest model that features dual sub level/delay (ie. only models that feature Audyssey MultEQ XT32 also feature Sub EQ HT (dual sub level/delay)).
evthebull likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #251 of 282 Old 01-06-2019, 10:15 PM
Member
 
tinman143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The Official Denon 2016 AVR-S720W/AVR-S920W Owners Thread

Just bought a used s720w on CL for $150 and set it up last night. Coming from a stereo component system (mac pre/amp to Thiel 2.4), my expectations were low. I’ll have to admit the SQ isn’t bad as I’d anticipated.

But PLEASE please remove those awful stickers on the faceplate people!!! SMH.

Last edited by tinman143; 01-07-2019 at 07:42 AM.
tinman143 is offline  
post #252 of 282 Old 02-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Icer Jo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinman143 View Post
Just bought a used s720w on CL for $150 and set it up last night. Coming from a stereo component system (mac pre/amp to Thiel 2.4), my expectations were low. I’ll have to admit the SQ isn’t bad as I’d anticipated.

But PLEASE please remove those awful stickers on the faceplate people!!! SMH.
Mine front sticker has been gone from day 1 lol which was about 3 years or so ago lol

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
tinman143 likes this.
Icer Jo is offline  
post #253 of 282 Old 02-25-2019, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I get Dolby vision to work with Apple TV 4K how do I change it to enhanced
Rymax is offline  
post #254 of 282 Old 02-25-2019, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rymax View Post
How do I get Dolby vision to work with Apple TV 4K how do I change it to enhanced
It should work automatically. What kind of TV do you have? Does your TV support Dolby Vision? I have a late 2015 LG OLED that unfortunately only supports HDR10.

Dolf M
LG EF9500 65" | Denon AVR-S720W | Tivo Bolt | Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray | XBOX One
I love TV, Technology & Tennis
Greater Cincinnati Area
http://twitter.com/#!/dolfer
dolfer is offline  
post #255 of 282 Old 02-25-2019, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes my tv does support it
Rymax is offline  
post #256 of 282 Old 03-16-2019, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I am having an issue all of a sudden with my 720 and Vizio PQ65. I can no longer get the home menu for my Sony X800 4K Blu-ray player or my Apple TV 4k unless I deactivate UHD Full Color on my TV. If I hook the components directly through TV I don’t have this issue. Only when I run them through the Denon receiver. I am using HDMI 1 with ARC activated. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?
chrisk114 is offline  
post #257 of 282 Old 03-21-2019, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Audessey issue with my S920W:


I've had this for about 14 months (just out of warranty as I bought it as a refurb) and I just bought some new speakers (2 fronts, 2 backs, 1 center), but kept my front heights used for Atmos. So I went to run Audessey, to recalibrate the new speakers and when it gets the the left front height speaker, the receiver just turns off (red blinking light) and never makes the testing sounds. I've pretty much narrowed it down to an issue with the AVR but wanted know what everyone thinks and if there's recourse. here's what I've done:


1) Original test - ran through once, it went back and retested and failed as described above
2) Retested, same result only on the first first run through, this time confirmed it was just as it was going to test the left front height.
3) re-tightened all connections and checked for issue with speaker wire
4) trimmed cable and re connected banana plugs
5) switched terminals thinking maybe I had them reversed
6) used a different speaker (one of the older bookshelfs that I replaced)
7) used different speaker wire - same banana plugs
8) re-did step 4 with new cable
9) replaced banana plugs with brand new ones


None of this worked. I have one more thing to try and that's using a different mic (I have one from an old Onkyo that's the same model mic). But I think there could be something wrong with the AVR's terminal for the left front height. Would it be worth it to disable the two front heights and run through the calibration and see if it completes? Then just attach the two speakers and see if I can get the calibration working? Any other ideas? I really don't want to replace this receiver after just over a year. I really like it. I've just restored the settings for the old speakers and it really doesn't sound that bad. I might just consider leaving it that way, but I'd prefer to get it working the way it's supposed.


Any and all help appreciated.

Steve
steveknj is offline  
post #258 of 282 Old 03-21-2019, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Metro Area
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Try running the test with nothing at all plugged into / connected to the left front height terminal and see if it gives same error. If it does give there error I think it's an internal short or similar problem. Maybe worth service or just opening it up and seeing if there is a shorted connection inside.

If the test continues without the blinking red light then the problem is either external (though you seem to have ruled that out) or there's a load problem with that speaker's driver circuitry.

Sometimes, I see dead pixels...
Marc_G is offline  
post #259 of 282 Old 03-21-2019, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
Try running the test with nothing at all plugged into / connected to the left front height terminal and see if it gives same error. If it does give there error I think it's an internal short or similar problem. Maybe worth service or just opening it up and seeing if there is a shorted connection inside.

If the test continues without the blinking red light then the problem is either external (though you seem to have ruled that out) or there's a load problem with that speaker's driver circuitry.

Thanks, great idea, I'll give that a shot.

Steve
steveknj is offline  
post #260 of 282 Old 03-21-2019, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc_G View Post
Try running the test with nothing at all plugged into / connected to the left front height terminal and see if it gives same error. If it does give there error I think it's an internal short or similar problem. Maybe worth service or just opening it up and seeing if there is a shorted connection inside.

If the test continues without the blinking red light then the problem is either external (though you seem to have ruled that out) or there's a load problem with that speaker's driver circuitry.

I just tried running calibration without the left height speaker attached, and the same thing happened. So it has to be something with the AVR. Also tried the other mic and same thing. I wonder what Denon would charge for service? Or is it just better to live with it this way for now and eventually replace it.

Steve
steveknj is offline  
post #261 of 282 Old 03-24-2019, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Interestingly, ran it again one more time yesterday, and it worked! I have NO idea what was wrong or why it was failing. I did nothing different. Sounds fantastic now.

Steve
steveknj is offline  
post #262 of 282 Old 03-28-2019, 12:18 PM
Member
 
LGERIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Macomb, MI
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I need to add a fan or 2 to my avr. I think it got too hot the other day and shut down when pushing it. I was considering using the USB on the front to power one. Can this be done? Will it power on and off with the avr?

65" Sony X900E, Denon X2300, SVS Prime LCR, Polk TSI100 surround, 2X 18" RSS460HO sealed 3.5ft3, Inuke 3KDSP, minidsp 2x4 revA
LGERIC is offline  
post #263 of 282 Old 03-28-2019, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,960
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22561 Post(s)
Liked: 12279
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGERIC View Post
I need to add a fan or 2 to my avr. I think it got too hot the other day and shut down when pushing it. I was considering using the USB on the front to power one. Can this be done? Will it power on and off with the avr?
Sure. As long as you don't mind the cord hanging out the front and don't mind setting the "Network Control" to "Off in Standby" which will prevent you from using the AVR Remote or other phone app to turn the AVR on.

Consider purchasing an AC Infinity Aircom S8/T8 (rear exhaust) or S10/T10 (front exhaust) which is controlled by a thermostat and plugged in to an A/C outlet.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #264 of 282 Old 03-28-2019, 12:33 PM
Member
 
LGERIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Macomb, MI
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks. I did look at the front exhaust one. Trying to justify $110 vs. $20

65" Sony X900E, Denon X2300, SVS Prime LCR, Polk TSI100 surround, 2X 18" RSS460HO sealed 3.5ft3, Inuke 3KDSP, minidsp 2x4 revA
LGERIC is offline  
post #265 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dolby atmos sounding crappy on youtube and netflix

I got my denon s720w setup with atmos 7.1 finally, but I'm having this really weird problem. When I use the atmos app on my windows 10 with my denon set to dolby surround everything sounds amazing and just like atmos should, but when I try to play videos on youtube or even atmos enabled content on my UHD netflix account it sounds awful. I can only describe it as sounding like old speakers off of a 90's computer monitor. What the heck is causing this and how do I fix it
mmuntase is offline  
post #266 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,631
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2165 Post(s)
Liked: 1438
Youtube is only 2 channel stereo so no Atmos or even 5.1 is being sent to the AVR. I can understand why it doesn't sound that good

can't explain your Netflix problem because they send DD+ and sometimes Atmos via DD+.
Briguy65 likes this.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #267 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Youtube is only 2 channel stereo so no Atmos or even 5.1 is being sent to the AVR. I can understand why it doesn't sound that good

can't explain your Netflix problem because they send DD+ and sometimes Atmos via DD+.
Its not just that youtube doesnt sound good it sounds infinity worse than when my receiver is not set to atmos and I'm just in regular stereo mode.
mmuntase is offline  
post #268 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,631
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2165 Post(s)
Liked: 1438
sounds like your receiver is having trouble upmixing a stereo signal to simulated 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos. How does it sound if you use Multichannel Stereo instead?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #269 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m0j0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 543
I find that the atmos on Netflix is not nearly as good as local 4K/UHD content in general, but I wouldn't categorize it as "infinitely" worse, so must be something else going on there. Perhaps your bandwidth is not enough to provide a full signal and it's compressing?
m0j0 is offline  
post #270 of 282 Old 04-23-2019, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It sound good in multichan. Not atmos, but still good. Anything I can do?
mmuntase is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
AVR-S720W/AVR-S920W

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off