The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 281267Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 17361 Old 05-07-2016, 07:33 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Sorry JD but Quick Select is not the same as a discrete command to go to Pandora. Will Quick Select work and can it be used in an Activity for Logitech Harmony remotes? Yes. Can use Quick Select and make an activity that works like presets on a car radio. Sure.

But that's not the same as a discrete command to take you right to Pandora.

My opinion is there needs to be discrete commands for main features.

Went through this same thing with TV's that did not have discrete commands to go to individual inputs. Had to cycle through them. Made programming something like the Harmony impossible. That practice stopped quickly. Vizio was really bad in that regard.

Wonder if the discrete command is available and could be added to the Harmony database.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 17361 Old 05-07-2016, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Sorry JD but Quick Select is not the same as a discrete command to go to Pandora. Will Quick Select work and can it be used in an Activity for Logitech Harmony remotes? Yes. Can use Quick Select and make an activity that works like presets on a car radio. Sure.

But that's not the same as a discrete command to take you right to Pandora.

My opinion is there needs to be discrete commands for main features.

Went through this same thing with TV's that did not have discrete commands to go to individual inputs. Had to cycle through them. Made programming something like the Harmony impossible. That practice stopped quickly. Vizio was really bad in that regard.

Wonder if the discrete command is available and could be added to the Harmony database.
We'll agree to disagree then as the Quick Select satisfies your use case.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #33 of 17361 Old 05-07-2016, 08:02 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
"We'll agree to disagree"

Disagree about what? I said it can work in a Harmony activity.

However Quick Select is not the same as a discrete command.

Are you saying Quick Select is the same as a discrete command to go directly to Pandora?

What if I want to use Quick Select for other things? Than Pandora is second fiddle?

Going to have to think this through a bit. Not all that thrilled about spending 1500 dollars on a receiver that presents me with the same kind of programming issues that impact usability as a 400 dollar unit. And yes at 1500 dollars stuff like this matters.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 17361 Old 05-07-2016, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
"We'll agree to disagree"

Disagree about what? I said it can work in a Harmony activity.

However Quick Select is not the same as a discrete command.

Are you saying Quick Select is the same as a discrete command to go directly to Pandora?

What if I want to use Quick Select for other things? Than Pandora is second fiddle?

Going to have to think this through a bit. Not all that thrilled about spending 1500 dollars on a receiver that presents me with the same kind of programming issues that impact usability as a 400 dollar unit. And yes at 1500 dollars stuff like this matters.
That fact that it is a discrete command .. not only is it a single button on the remote but there is a discrete RS-232 command for it as well.
Willie and FlyOnTheWall like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #35 of 17361 Old 05-07-2016, 08:18 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
"not only is it a single button on the remote but there is a discrete RS-232 command for it as well."

Then its not a cycle through it kind of thing.

One is not the other. And if there is a discrete command via RS-232 Logitech can add it to the database for the 4300.

If its a cycle through it kind of thing I'll not be buying one.

If its a discrete command it'll remain on my purchase list.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #36 of 17361 Old 05-08-2016, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
But that's not the same as a discrete command to take you right to Pandora.

My opinion is there needs to be discrete commands for main features.
Well, those commands do exist if you use the serial or network interface. There are far too many--56 pages for my X4000--to include on a single hand-held remote.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #37 of 17361 Old 05-08-2016, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Well, those commands do exist if you use the serial or network interface. There are far too many--56 pages for my X4000--to include on a single hand-held remote.
But not too much for a smartphone.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #38 of 17361 Old 05-08-2016, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
But not too much for a smartphone.
If you have a big enough screen, or can swipe between pages. For installation, setup, and testing purposes we often put quite a few command buttons on an iPad page.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DenonControl.PNG
Views:	6133
Size:	430.9 KB
ID:	1429322  
Madmax67 likes this.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #39 of 17361 Old 05-11-2016, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Got my 720 up and running yesterday. Comparing this to my 9 year old Yamaha receiver (also ~$500 at the time) I have some initial impressions.

Overall the unit seems sluggish. The UI is kind of clunky and doesn't respond to the remote quickly. Also, there seems to be a good deal of lag switching between sources.

Maybe this is stuff that can be improved with a FW update... I was just expecting a better user experience considering it's almost been a decade since I bought a receiver.

Finally, I watched Dead Pool last night on UHD and thought the 720 sounded really good. I guess that's really the most important thing!

Dolf M
LG EF9500 65" | Denon AVR-S720W | Tivo Bolt | Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray | XBOX One
I love TV, Technology & Tennis
Greater Cincinnati Area
http://twitter.com/#!/dolfer
dolfer is offline  
post #40 of 17361 Old 05-11-2016, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolfer View Post
Got my 720 up and running yesterday. Comparing this to my 9 year old Yamaha receiver (also ~$500 at the time) I have some initial impressions.

Overall the unit seems sluggish. The UI is kind of clunky and doesn't respond to the remote quickly. Also, there seems to be a good deal of lag switching between sources.

Maybe this is stuff that can be improved with a FW update... I was just expecting a better user experience considering it's almost been a decade since I bought a receiver.

Finally, I watched Dead Pool last night on UHD and thought the 720 sounded really good. I guess that's really the most important thing!

Try doing a "soft reset" of the AVR by powering it off and unplugging the power cable for 10 minutes.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #41 of 17361 Old 05-11-2016, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Notable differences comparing the 2016 to 2015 S/X models

Note: The below does not list the difference between each model upgrade within the 2016 series (see post 2) but rather simply the difference from the 2015 model it is replacing.

X6300W vs. X6200W:


Is there any expectation, beyond wishing and hoping, the x6300W will be able to process 13 channels, for a 9.1.4 setup, with an external amp?
jlanzy is offline  
post #42 of 17361 Old 05-11-2016, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post
Is there any expectation, beyond wishing and hoping, the x6300W will be able to process 13 channels, for a 9.1.4 setup, with an external amp?
None whatsoever.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #43 of 17361 Old 05-12-2016, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Denon X1300W and X2300W now available :)

We just received our first shipment of these lower end "X" series models. Call for pricing if interested.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #44 of 17361 Old 05-12-2016, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post
Is there any expectation, beyond wishing and hoping, the x6300W will be able to process 13 channels, for a 9.1.4 setup, with an external amp?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
None whatsoever.

Party pooper
yanks1 likes this.
jlanzy is offline  
post #45 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 07:58 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 51
volume/sound quality

Really interested in the s920w, but on another thread there were a couple of posts critical of the volume. Specifically, the poster said that while watching broadcast tv, he had the volume totally maxed out and it wasnt too loud. There was a similar post about the lack of volume as well.

The specs really look great on this machine, but I am wondering if these volume concerns are valid. Can anyone give me some guidance on this?

Thanks.
Freddie Harb likes this.
twssas is offline  
post #46 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post
Really interested in the s920w, but on another thread there were a couple of posts critical of the volume. Specifically, the poster said that while watching broadcast tv, he had the volume totally maxed out and it wasnt too loud. There was a similar post about the lack of volume as well.

The specs really look great on this machine, but I am wondering if these volume concerns are valid. Can anyone give me some guidance on this?

Thanks.
Different models of HDMI player devices (including different models of cable TV decoders and DVRs) often output different levels of audio signals. Denon receivers let you set a different amount of gain on each of their HDMI inputs which normally are enough to compensate for those differences.
Freddie Harb likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #47 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 09:07 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Different models of HDMI player devices (including different models of cable TV decoders and DVRs) often output different levels of audio signals. Denon receivers let you set a different amount of gain on each of their HDMI inputs which normally are enough to compensate for those differences.
I dont have any experience with any Denon recievers, so what you are telling me, is that I probably dont need to have any concerns about the volume settings as being an issue, since I can adjust each HDMI input to compensate
twssas is offline  
post #48 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post
I dont have any experience with any Denon recievers, so what you are telling me, is that I probably dont need to have any concerns about the volume settings as being an issue, since I can adjust each HDMI input to compensate
In principle, that's correct.

However, I'd suggest getting one from an authorized dealer which has a generous return policy, just in case you find its adjustments inadequate. In many cases, you can return equipment within a few weeks with no questions asked.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #49 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post
Really interested in the s920w, but on another thread there were a couple of posts critical of the volume. Specifically, the poster said that while watching broadcast tv, he had the volume totally maxed out and it wasnt too loud. There was a similar post about the lack of volume as well.

The specs really look great on this machine, but I am wondering if these volume concerns are valid. Can anyone give me some guidance on this?

Thanks.
After running Audyssey, movie reference level is set to 0db/80 such that for most owners, average volume levels will be 50-70% of maximum as the Denon also uses a logarithmic volume scale so in most cases you'll be > 50% on the volume dial. Also, it depends on whether the owner has 8-ohm (easier to drive) or 4-ohm (harder to drive) speakers.
Madmax67 likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-13-2016 at 10:55 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #50 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 09:49 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 51
In principle, that's correct.

However, I'd suggest getting one from an authorized dealer which has a generous return policy, just in case you find its adjustments inadequate. In many cases, you can return equipment within a few weeks with no questions asked.

I am headed for Best Buy shortly. Thanks for the help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
After running Audyssey, movie reference level is set to 0db/80 such that for most owners, average volume levels will be 50-70% of maximum. Also, it depends on whether the owner has 8-ohm (easier to drive) or 4-ohm (harder to drive) speakers.
Really great information. That is really helpful. Thank you.
twssas is offline  
post #51 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 31
So do the 2016 models finally get an upgraded 18GHz 4K scaler chip? Do we finally get true 4:4:4 color w/ GUI overlay and HDR at 2160p60?
energizerfellow is offline  
post #52 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by energizerfellow View Post
So do the 2016 models finally get an upgraded 18GHz 4K scaler chip? Do we finally get true 4:4:4 color w/ GUI overlay and HDR at 2160p60?
I was seriously considering cheaping out and grabbing a Denon X2200w ---until I read this. Are the standard 4K TV's capable of doing this? I wasn't really noting many differences between 2200 and 2300 as others have noted.
adgrimes is offline  
post #53 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,338
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22761 Post(s)
Liked: 12417
Quote:
Originally Posted by energizerfellow View Post
So do the 2016 models finally get an upgraded 18GHz 4K scaler chip? Do we finally get true 4:4:4 color w/ GUI overlay and HDR at 2160p60?
Just as the X3200W and higher 2015 models can do this, so to shall the X3300W and higher 2016 models. However, in most cases the TV will likely do a much better job of actual upscaling.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #54 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Just as the X3200W and higher 2015 models can do this, so to shall the X3300W and higher 2016 models. However, in most cases the TV will likely do a much better job of actual upscaling.
Except that the 2015 models can't. They can scale and have a GUI screen overlay at 2160p60, yes, but only with 4:2:0 color. You can get 4:4:4 color, but only at 24/30/50 FPS on the 2015 models. 4:4:4 color at 60 FPS is important for the gamers among us (4:2:0 ravages text).
energizerfellow is offline  
post #55 of 17361 Old 05-13-2016, 08:06 PM
Member
 
dandiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Just as the X3200W and higher 2015 models can do this, so to shall the X3300W and higher 2016 models. However, in most cases the TV will likely do a much better job of actual upscaling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by energizerfellow View Post
Except that the 2015 models can't. They can scale and have a GUI screen overlay at 2160p60, yes, but only with 4:2:0 color. You can get 4:4:4 color, but only at 24/30/50 FPS on the 2015 models. 4:4:4 color at 60 FPS is important for the gamers among us (4:2:0 ravages text).
Along those lines, can the 2016 920W and 2300W models pass full RGB (0-255) over HDMI and maintain it after upscaling to 1080p? Or do they only process limited RGB (16-235)?

Last edited by dandiego; 05-13-2016 at 08:09 PM.
dandiego is offline  
post #56 of 17361 Old 05-14-2016, 05:38 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 51
New S920W

Well, finally made a decision, and picked up my new S920W, yesterday, and installed it yesterday.

Paired the reciever up with a 65" 4k Samsung u8550, 4k Samsung UHD BR player, and an Apple TV. Everything paired up on the first try. I was really happy about that!

My set up is in a room about 12x15, so, the Denon has plenty of power, and I have been playing with the settings trying to adjust the gains on the volume. The adjustments are there, but i just need to continue to learn how to do it. I actually, found the remote easy to use, and a significant improvement over what I had previously (yamaha V663).

One question, has anyone posted any kind of a "standard" settings listing or chart? To this point, I have seen there are a number of combinations, and I am on a steep learning curve. Dont want to mess up a good thing.
Freddie Harb likes this.
twssas is offline  
post #57 of 17361 Old 05-14-2016, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by twssas View Post
I have been playing with the settings trying to adjust the gains on the volume. The adjustments are there, but i just need to continue to learn how to do it.
Do not be surprised to find that the volume levels among different services (cable TV, Netflix, Hulu, etc), and even among programming on an individual service, are not consistent. There is an annoying difference in levels between Netflix, YouTube, and HBO GO all three on the same Roku streamer.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #58 of 17361 Old 05-14-2016, 10:41 AM
Member
 
twssas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Do not be surprised to find that the volume levels among different services (cable TV, Netflix, Hulu, etc), and even among programming on an individual service, are not consistent. There is an annoying difference in levels between Netflix, YouTube, and HBO GO all three on the same Roku streamer.
You are absolutely correct. I have already found that out switching out from Bluray to TV. The tv volume just about blew me out of the house. I need to fix that!
twssas is offline  
post #59 of 17361 Old 05-17-2016, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr. Wonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Whoa! The X3300W is getting Audyssey MultEQ XT32? That's awesome.

Do we have any idea when in June it's coming? Does anyone have a compelling reason why I should consider the X4300W? On paper, the step-up features don't seem that great to me.
iatacs19 and kwoody51 like this.
Mr. Wonderful is offline  
post #60 of 17361 Old 05-17-2016, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,614
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4900 Post(s)
Liked: 5273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Wonderful View Post
Whoa! The X3300W is getting Audyssey MultEQ XT32? That's awesome.

Do we have any idea when in June it's coming? Does anyone have a compelling reason why I should consider the X4300W? On paper, the step-up features don't seem that great to me.
The reason to step up to the X4300W is primarily for the ability to expand to a 9ch setup (via external amp) -- if you're doing immersive audio then more speakers = more better, and the 4300 can run a 7.1.2 or 5.1.4 setup, whereas the 3300 is a 7ch unit, period.

There are quite a few other upgrades as well, such as the 3rd HDMI output (2 for main zone + the Zone 2 output), the 3rd zone capability, extra speaker posts / pre-outs for more flexibility, 32-bit DACs, etc. But the 9ch capability is the one that will get most people to jump up a level.
xcarnx likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
6300h , 6400h , 6500h , arc , atmos , avr , avr-3300 , AVR-x2300W , avr-x3300w , connection , Denon , denon 3300 , denon avr x2300w , denon avr-x1300w , dlna , hdmi , issue , JS8500 , media player input , multi-zone , network , nexus player , OLED65E6P , pass-through , preamp , receiver problem , slingbox m1 , smart tv arc , spdif , speaker setup , video/audio , x4300h , x6300h , xbr-65x900e , zone 2 , zone 3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off