The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 291 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 281229Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 03:47 PM
Member
 
NewYorkRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm new to Denon and had a question - - is it better to have Dynamic EQ on or off?
NewYorkRanger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4887 Post(s)
Liked: 7188
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewYorkRanger View Post
I'm new to Denon and had a question - - is it better to have Dynamic EQ on or off?
That's an impossible question without any information. It all depends on your needs. Is it better to travel by boat or train?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #8703 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 05:18 PM
Yrd
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Since there is a great price right now on the 4300, is there something in the 2017 or potentially the 2108 model I would regret not having in this 2016 model?

I don't have 4k or atmos, but I do plan to have both in the future.


I'm right now using a 3100 from 2014, so this 4300 model is a bit overkill for my current use. Future plans though will make it useful.
Yrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8704 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,958
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2226 Post(s)
Liked: 2517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Since there is a great price right now on the 4300, is there something in the 2017 or potentially the 2108 model I would regret not having in this 2016 model?

I don't have 4k or atmos, but I do plan to have both in the future.


I'm right now using a 3100 from 2014, so this 4300 model is a bit overkill for my current use. Future plans though will make it useful.
Can't mind read the 2018 models but built in Auro 3D included in the X4400 along with the ability to fully power down the receiver without pulling the power cord along with a few other minor HDMI troubleshooting features and DAC changes in my opinion don't make it a must wait for as the 2016 version still has mostly the same features for less money but you could shoot JD a PM and get a quote from him on the X4400H just in case you like some of these changes. To me they are mostly minor but to someone else they might seem major based on different priorities.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #8705 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 4055
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewYorkRanger View Post
I'm new to Denon and had a question - - is it better to have Dynamic EQ on or off?
It's a matter of personal preference. At low levels, I like it on, but for serious listening, I like it off.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #8706 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
HYPURR DBL NKL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Noble Oklahoma
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by HYPURR DBL NKL View Post
I hooked my Samsung UBD-K8500 to my X3300W which is connected ARC and it killed the picture. Made it super dark as compared to having it connected straight to the TV (Samsung KS8500). The HDMI from the UHD player is a 4k HDMI cable, but the one that is the ARC cable is just a regular HDMI. Could this be the cause or do I have another issue? Going through the AVR made an otherewise stellar picture look terrible.
Do you get the menu from the K8500?

The format Samsung selected for that uses 17.2Gbps, soy you need a cable that can handle the full 18Gbps for it to work properly. (Not all "4k" cables are up to that.)

I'm not sure what happens when you use a good cable to connect the player to an AVR and an inadequate cable to connect the AVR to the display, but it can't be good.
Yeah, I honestly hadn't thought about it, until I was making this post, but wanted to ask to see if that could be the problem. I'll try a high speed cable for ARC and see if that fixes it. Thanks.
HYPURR DBL NKL is offline  
post #8707 of 17254 Old 08-19-2017, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 2118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Since there is a great price right now on the 4300, is there something in the 2017 or potentially the 2108 model I would regret not having in this 2016 model?

I don't have 4k or atmos, but I do plan to have both in the future.


I'm right now using a 3100 from 2014, so this 4300 model is a bit overkill for my current use. Future plans though will make it useful.
How far out are you from getting 4K and Atmos? I'd suggest you wait until you do decide to upgrade to 4K and Atmos. If you currently have no issues with the 3100, I would wait. There will always be a good deal to be had.
Ted99 likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #8708 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewYorkRanger View Post
I'm new to Denon and had a question - - is it better to have Dynamic EQ on or off?
Most will prefer leaving Dynamic EQ = ON all the time for all sources.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8709 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 02:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Since there is a great price right now on the 4300, is there something in the 2017 or potentially the 2108 model I would regret not having in this 2016 model?

I don't have 4k or atmos, but I do plan to have both in the future.


I'm right now using a 3100 from 2014, so this 4300 model is a bit overkill for my current use. Future plans though will make it useful.

View the first post in the 2017 Owner's thread to see the new features being added.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8710 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbird8450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 62
This is probably a basic/common sense type question, but I'm completely new to giving any thought to 2 channel audio, so I want to make sure I'm getting the most of my new setup for both music and movies.

I'm currently using two Definitive Studiomonitor 55 bookshelf speakers and a powered Outlaw sub hooked into an X3300W.

I've run Audyssey and made the typical subwoofer trim and crossover adjustments afterwords. It sounds absolutely fantastic for music when feeding it high quality FLAC files and the receiver is set to "Stereo". I can crank it up to beyond the point of tolerance and it remains crisp, clear and distortion-free.

However, I'm a bit lost when it comes to properly setting things up for movies as I'm used to 5.1. For Blu-Rays, should I still select whatever lossless audio track is included, and it'll simply be downmixed to 2.1? Should I keep the receiver on "Stereo" or should I select one of the Multichannel options? How about for streaming/standard TV content where lossless may not be an option? My cable box allows for 5.1 or stereo output. When set to output stereo, the volume level is much higher, but am I missing any information/sound quality in not selecting 5.1? Any guidance would be appreciated.
tbird8450 is offline  
post #8711 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
CPTuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Hi all,
Just a quick question. I have installed and set up my X3300W in a 5.2.2 Configuration All Klipsch speakers. 2 Mains ,1 Center 2 Surrounds and 2 Above ( Set as front High in the amp select) the mains reflecting off the ceiling. I have ran Audyssey in all 8 positions. The surround sound on movies (5.1.1)through my Direct TV is awesome. however for some reason the surround sound from my Samasung Blu-Ray is rather disappointing. I have it set to bitstream . It sounds as though it is suppressing the highs such as gun shots and braking glass. I haven't had the chance to check the Roku or TV apps with a sourround movie yet. I thought the Blu-Ray would sound at least as good as the DTVor better. The movie was Fate of The Furious. The receiver set the Surround mode to DTS-X Nural. Do I have something set wrong or is it just a crappy sounding Movie on Blu-Ray.

Thanks

CPTuell
" I'm a man, I can change, If I have to......I guess." Words to live by. From the Red Green Show...The Man's Prayer
LG OLED65C9PUA & Samsung UN65HU9000/SEK3500/US02,DirecTv HR-54 Genie w/4K MiniGenie, Denon AVR-X3300W, Roku Ultra 4K/HDR, Chromecast Ultra 4K/HDR, Sony UBP-X800
CPTuell is offline  
post #8712 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird8450 View Post
This is probably a basic/common sense type question, but I'm completely new to giving any thought to 2 channel audio, so I want to make sure I'm getting the most of my new setup for both music and movies.

I'm currently using two Definitive Studiomonitor 55 bookshelf speakers and a powered Outlaw sub hooked into an X3300W.

I've run Audyssey and made the typical subwoofer trim and crossover adjustments afterwords. It sounds absolutely fantastic for music when feeding it high quality FLAC files and the receiver is set to "Stereo". I can crank it up to beyond the point of tolerance and it remains crisp, clear and distortion-free.

However, I'm a bit lost when it comes to properly setting things up for movies as I'm used to 5.1. For Blu-Rays, should I still select whatever lossless audio track is included, and it'll simply be downmixed to 2.1? Should I keep the receiver on "Stereo" or should I select one of the Multichannel options? How about for streaming/standard TV content where lossless may not be an option? My cable box allows for 5.1 or stereo output. When set to output stereo, the volume level is much higher, but am I missing any information/sound quality in not selecting 5.1? Any guidance would be appreciated.
If you only have 2 speakers, your only option is STEREO. Any higher audio track will be down mixed to 2.1.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8713 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPTuell View Post
Hi all,
Just a quick question. I have installed and set up my X3300W in a 5.2.2 Configuration All Klipsch speakers. 2 Mains ,1 Center 2 Surrounds and 2 Above ( Set as front High in the amp select) the mains reflecting off the ceiling. I have ran Audyssey in all 8 positions. The surround sound on movies (5.1.1)through my Direct TV is awesome. however for some reason the surround sound from my Samasung Blu-Ray is rather disappointing. I have it set to bitstream . It sounds as though it is suppressing the highs such as gun shots and braking glass. I haven't had the chance to check the Roku or TV apps with a sourround movie yet. I thought the Blu-Ray would sound at least as good as the DTVor better. The movie was Fate of The Furious. The receiver set the Surround mode to DTS-X Nural. Do I have something set wrong or is it just a crappy sounding Movie on Blu-Ray.

Thanks
Upward firing modules are generally not going to provide as good of an Atmos experience as will ceiling mounted speakers so it could just be that movie.
CPTuell likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8714 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Pericynthion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Upward firing modules are generally not going to provide as good of an Atmos experience as will ceiling mounted speakers so it could just be that movie.


Agreed. To try and compensate I've manually tweaked the speaker levels so the upfiring front ones are 'overclocked' compared to the rest, but as you say it'll never be as good as true ceiling mounts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CPTuell and mrtickleuk like this.
Pericynthion is offline  
post #8715 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
CPTuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pericynthion View Post
Agreed. To try and compensate I've manually tweaked the speaker levels so the upfiring front ones are 'overclocked' compared to the rest, but as you say it'll never be as good as true ceiling mounts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
My BluRay isn't a UHD BR anyway (Yet). It doesn't support Atmos or DTS-X. So I didn' expect much if anything from the ceiling reflective speakers. I was referring to the overall sound. It was much less dynamic than the sound from the Directv receiver through HDMI. It lacked crispness like if I put a small pillow over each ear. No tinkling of glass breaking and hitting the floor or the clink of fired cartridge casings bouncing on the floor. Could be the BR player. May need to go into the DVD setupmenu and select DTS Master or Dolby True HD. Not sure what its defaulting to with the new Receiver. The receiver display showed DTS-X Nu. I will try different movie later today and also something from Netflix or Amazon like one of the latest Star Trek Movies. Will try different Audyssey settings as well.

Thanks

CPTuell
" I'm a man, I can change, If I have to......I guess." Words to live by. From the Red Green Show...The Man's Prayer
LG OLED65C9PUA & Samsung UN65HU9000/SEK3500/US02,DirecTv HR-54 Genie w/4K MiniGenie, Denon AVR-X3300W, Roku Ultra 4K/HDR, Chromecast Ultra 4K/HDR, Sony UBP-X800

Last edited by CPTuell; 08-20-2017 at 02:45 PM. Reason: spelling
CPTuell is offline  
post #8716 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
proteus808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just picked up a 4300 and i've got a couple questions for the experts. i'm running a old marantz sr6005 as a external amp to power my fronts that are in a bi-amp configuration. Currently running a 7.2.4 setup. However I also wanted to run my center channel thru my marantz but for the life of me can't figure out how you pre out other speakers besides the options they give you. Does anyone know how to do this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bigapp likes this.
proteus808 is offline  
post #8717 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 09:09 PM
Member
 
shoeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by proteus808 View Post
Just picked up a 4300 and i've got a couple questions for the experts. i'm running a old marantz sr6005 as a external amp to power my fronts that are in a bi-amp configuration. Currently running a 7.2.4 setup. However I also wanted to run my center channel thru my marantz but for the life of me can't figure out how you pre out other speakers besides the options they give you. Does anyone know how to do this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


If I understand what you are asking, all pre-outs on 4300 are active. When you run the setup, that is just telling the denon which of the speaker posts to hook its 9 amps to.
drh3b likes this.

JVC RS-440 | SI Slate 1.2 120" Zero Edge 16x9 screen | Fusion Lagoon Seating
Denon x4300H | Revel 5.1.4 F206/C205/W893/C763 | Dayton
Sealed 18-HO | Behringer EP4000
Tivo Bolt | Oppo 203 | Apple TV 4K | PS4 Pro | Nvidia Shield TV
shoeboo is online now  
post #8718 of 17254 Old 08-20-2017, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
blackjackmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Volume display on x4300

Swapped my X3300 for the X4300 and setting, the on screen display, etc seem identical, with one difference that I've found. The OSD for volume shows the "Eco" information for power consumption, even though I'm not using Eco. It even says "ecoff" on the OSD. On the X3300 that was not displayed. I cannot seem to find a way to turn that off. Is it possible to turn that off?

LG OLED65C7P / Denon AVR-X4300H / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K
blackjackmark is offline  
post #8719 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 02:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, does your X6300H become very hot? Mine seems to even at low volume levels, I use it in 5-1 configuration and compared to my previous NAD T763 it's extremely hot
mke52 is offline  
post #8720 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by mke52 View Post
Hi, does your X6300H become very hot? Mine seems to even at low volume levels, I use it in 5-1 configuration and compared to my previous NAD T763 it's extremely hot
Most of the heat generated from the AVR is from the video card, not the amps. Ensure you have at least 3-4" clearance on top and sides with an open front and back.
alooffool likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8721 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 02:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by proteus808 View Post
Just picked up a 4300 and i've got a couple questions for the experts. i'm running a old marantz sr6005 as a external amp to power my fronts that are in a bi-amp configuration. Currently running a 7.2.4 setup. However I also wanted to run my center channel thru my marantz but for the life of me can't figure out how you pre out other speakers besides the options they give you. Does anyone know how to do this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The AMP ASSIGN "Pre-out" setting simply defines which 2 speakers are being externally powered in order to expand the AVR from 9CH --> 11CH, otherwise all pre-outs are hot.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8722 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:21 AM
Member
 
NewYorkRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjackmark View Post
Swapped my X3300 for the X4300 and setting, the on screen display, etc seem identical, with one difference that I've found. The OSD for volume shows the "Eco" information for power consumption, even though I'm not using Eco. It even says "ecoff" on the OSD. On the X3300 that was not displayed. I cannot seem to find a way to turn that off. Is it possible to turn that off?
Go SETUP - General - ECO - On Screen Display - Select Off.

You can turn off the eco bar and just have the volume bar. See page 245 of the manual.
Falconsfan71 likes this.
NewYorkRanger is offline  
post #8723 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Most of the heat generated from the AVR is from the video card, not the amps. Ensure you have at least 3-4" clearance on top and sides with an open front and back.
Thanks jds, I have ample space above the amp, I was just surprised at how hot it actually gets, one can hardly touch it and i thought it was a bit too much; i was surprised not to see anyone mention this
mke52 is offline  
post #8724 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by mke52 View Post
Thanks jds, I have ample space above the amp, I was just surprised at how hot it actually gets, one can hardly touch it and i thought it was a bit too much; i was surprised not to see anyone mention this
It's not generally the case (warm yes, too hot to touch, no) which is why I suggested more open space especially if inside a cabinet. Note too that if you set ECO = ON or AUTO, the AVR temp will drop about 10 degrees F without any noticeable effect to the audio volume or quality. You also may want to consider adding one of the ACInfinity Fans (either T8 (rear exhaust) or T9 (upward exhaust).

https://www.acinfinity.com/component...ystem-17-inch/
Terminader likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8725 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falconsfan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by mke52 View Post
Thanks jds, I have ample space above the amp, I was just surprised at how hot it actually gets, one can hardly touch it and i thought it was a bit too much; i was surprised not to see anyone mention this


Yea, I checked mine the other day after jamming for an hour or so and it was really hot to the touch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Denon X4300H * Def Tech BP8080st front L/R * Def Tech CLR2002 center * Def Tech ProMonitor 800 surrounds (x4) * Hsu VTF-3 MK5 HP sub * Outlaw OAW4 wireless sub kit * Vizio 60" 4K HDRtv * Sony UBP-X800 Bluray * PS4 * AC Infinity S9 AVR fan
Falconsfan71 is offline  
post #8726 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mke52 View Post
Thanks jds, I have ample space above the amp, I was just surprised at how hot it actually gets, one can hardly touch it and i thought it was a bit too much; i was surprised not to see anyone mention this
I had similar concerns with my 3300 generating what I'd consider excessive heat, so I purchased a 140mm variable speed USB fan. I use it on the lowest setting and have it centered on top of the AVR. It moves just enough air to keep things cool while being inaudible.

https://www.acinfinity.com/component...ing-fan-140mm/

Denon X3300W
Crown XLS1002
Custom Focal Aria 7 L/C/R
Focal 7KT Surround
Custom Sonotube TC Sounds 15" Sub
Hisense 50H8C
LooneyTunez is offline  
post #8727 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falconsfan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
It's not generally the case (warm yes, too hot to touch, no) which is why I suggested more open space especially if inside a cabinet. Note too that if you set ECO = ON or AUTO, the AVR temp will drop about 10 degrees F without any noticeable effect to the audio volume or quality. You also may want to consider adding one of the ACInfinity Fans (either T8 (rear exhaust) or T9 (upward exhaust).



https://www.acinfinity.com/component...ystem-17-inch/


I did notice yesterday when I checked it that it wasn't as hot since I've been ruining Eco on AUTO. And yes, no notice of change in sound volume or sound quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.

Denon X4300H * Def Tech BP8080st front L/R * Def Tech CLR2002 center * Def Tech ProMonitor 800 surrounds (x4) * Hsu VTF-3 MK5 HP sub * Outlaw OAW4 wireless sub kit * Vizio 60" 4K HDRtv * Sony UBP-X800 Bluray * PS4 * AC Infinity S9 AVR fan
Falconsfan71 is offline  
post #8728 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falconsfan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1544 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Is there an AVR fan I can purchase that doesn't require an electrical outlet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Denon X4300H * Def Tech BP8080st front L/R * Def Tech CLR2002 center * Def Tech ProMonitor 800 surrounds (x4) * Hsu VTF-3 MK5 HP sub * Outlaw OAW4 wireless sub kit * Vizio 60" 4K HDRtv * Sony UBP-X800 Bluray * PS4 * AC Infinity S9 AVR fan
Falconsfan71 is offline  
post #8729 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
DragonSarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys long time reader here havent posted in a while but just plunge on the X4300H which replaced my 3808ci, now that the X4300 is on sale and the x4400 is coming out any difference on those 2? sorry if its been posted I didnt find it, does the X4300h pass thru HDR10? thanks
DragonSarc is offline  
post #8730 of 17254 Old 08-21-2017, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonSarc View Post
Hi guys long time reader here havent posted in a while but just plunge on the X4300H which replaced my 3808ci, now that the X4300 is on sale and the x4400 is coming out any difference on those 2? sorry if its been posted I didnt find it, does the X4300h pass thru HDR10? thanks
There is a lot of very helpful information listed in the first 8 posts of each of the 2016 and 2017 Denon AVR Owner's threads to include the features of each model in post 1 of each of the respective threads.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
6300h , 6400h , 6500h , arc , atmos , avr , avr-3300 , AVR-x2300W , avr-x3300w , connection , Denon , denon 3300 , denon avr x2300w , denon avr-x1300w , dlna , hdmi , issue , JS8500 , media player input , multi-zone , network , nexus player , OLED65E6P , pass-through , preamp , receiver problem , slingbox m1 , smart tv arc , spdif , speaker setup , video/audio , x4300h , x6300h , xbr-65x900e , zone 2 , zone 3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off