The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 518 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 281435Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15511 of 17756 Old 07-31-2018, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Run Audyssey and for better dialog quality, get a center speaker.


How would this explain why I am hearing hiss and distortion?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Raiders4life12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15512 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey guys, the S720W and the S920W are listed at a more reasonable price now at A4L, are these models worth a look or is better to invest in the more recent models?. Any feedback good/bad by the owners of these 2 will be much appreciated.
audionewb2 is offline  
post #15513 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
jlstang95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Has Denon mentioned if the any of the 2016 models will get the EARC upgrade like the 2017 models will.

Sony XBR77A9G
Sony XBR55930e
Denon AVR 6300
jlstang95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15514 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the 2300W and uverse. I have the S10-S4 remote control. Does anyone know what remote code I use to work with this receiver? I have tried letting the remote cycle through the codes and entering some manually. A few codes have turned the receiver on and off but after using for a bit instead of turning it off, it will turn on/off Zone 2 (which I don't even use). Sometimes I need to press the power button 3-4 times to get the receiver to turn off.

Thanks for any code suggestions.
jsupps is offline  
post #15515 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlstang95 View Post
Has Denon mentioned if the any of the 2016 models will get the EARC upgrade like the 2017 models will.
AFAIK, they will not.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15516 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by audionewb2 View Post
Hey guys, the S720W and the S920W are listed at a more reasonable price now at A4L, are these models worth a look or is better to invest in the more recent models?. Any feedback good/bad by the owners of these 2 will be much appreciated.
Depends on what features/inputs/outputs you want. Review post 1 of each of the 2016/2017/2018 Denon AVR Owner's threads to decide.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15517 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raiders4life12 View Post
How would this explain why I am hearing hiss and distortion?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That post doesn't, rather instead my previous post asks some followup questions (which you didn't answer) that will help to decide if you have defective speakers or the source is causing the issue.
ahblaza and mrtickleuk like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15518 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 983
4300 nagging for update?

I haven't updated my 4300 in a while (I was not happy with posts here about issues with the last update, like the center channel disappearing), and two days ago it started nagging me at every power-up about an update being available.


Is this some new update, or is it just annoying me about the last one from a while back?
DougDingle is offline  
post #15519 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 5,419
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2684 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I haven't updated my 4300 in a while (I was not happy with posts here about issues with the last update, like the center channel disappearing), and two days ago it started nagging me at every power-up about an update being available.


Is this some new update, or is it just annoying me about the last one from a while back?
I don't know whether the firmware list on page 1 of this thread is up-to-date, but the latest it lists is from 5/31/2018.
bobknavs is offline  
post #15520 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I don't know whether the firmware list on page 1 of this thread is up-to-date, but the latest it lists is from 5/31/2018.
I guess it's probably that one, since they can't be bothered to tell you what the update version is. I continue to be underwhelmed by Denon's (and Marantz's - I own one of each) policy of not saying what the update is for except in the most generic terms ("Bug fixes" and "Stability improvements" are not descriptions), like it's some national security secret.

I would be less annoyed if reports of audio disappearing and the occasional bricked box during/after an upgrade were less prevalent, and if Denon/Marantz paid for shipping both ways on devices where that happened while the box was still under warranty.

I will likely keep dismissing the prompt, but we'll see.
ahblaza likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #15521 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 06:38 PM
Member
 
ryan94z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
Note that your Denon will handle LPCM decoded by the AppleTV just fine. On the AppleTV, Settings > Video and Audio > Surround Sound > Dolby Digital 5.1 instead of "Best Quality Available", or consider the "Convert Format Off" and "Dolby Atmos On" options if you actually have an Atmos setup available.
I don’t see a “convert format off” or “Dolby Atmos on” option. Are you running the tvOS 12 beta? I think Atmos is a feature of the next os.
ryan94z is offline  
post #15522 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 4,294
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2289 Post(s)
Liked: 4927
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
For anyone who cares, the X4300h I had that lost its network card, and after multiple resets, it still wouldn't work, but started working again after I unplugged it for 2 months, I have finally re integrated it into my system, restored settings from my other one, updated it, and if it's still working in a month some lucky person will be able to purchase it on ebay. That's not a run on sentence because I used a lot of commas.
Well, it went out again. Not dealing with this any more, off to United Radio.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!

Last edited by drh3b; 08-02-2018 at 05:06 AM.
drh3b is offline  
post #15523 of 17756 Old 08-01-2018, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
That post doesn't, rather instead my previous post asks some followup questions (which you didn't answer) that will help to decide if you have defective speakers or the source is causing the issue.


The other questions only applies if I was using a center channel speaker. I don’t use dynamic eq or volume.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
LDBetaGuy likes this.
Raiders4life12 is offline  
post #15524 of 17756 Old 08-02-2018, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raiders4life12 View Post
The other questions only applies if I was using a center channel speaker. I don’t use dynamic eq or volume.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Then run Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15525 of 17756 Old 08-03-2018, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via Skype™ to patoberli
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
Hello guys.
Im having an issue that I cannot tell for sure if due to 4300H, XBox X or the TV.
Anyone with Xbox X, Rise of the Tomb Rider and Atmos capable receiver?
Can you try to start the game when X Box Audio Setting is set to Bitstream Dolby Atmos for Home Teather?

Thanks in advance!
Don't have that game, but what is your issue?
What I have, with the latest Assassins Creed Origin in Atmos, are sometimes short audio outages, or something like hiccups. I think it's a fault of the Xbox. It usually happens after playing some hours.
patoberli is offline  
post #15526 of 17756 Old 08-03-2018, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahblaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler Country
Posts: 4,149
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2531 Post(s)
Liked: 3779
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
Well, it went out again. Not dealing with this any more, off to United Radio.
Sorry to hear that my friend..............
ahblaza is offline  
post #15527 of 17756 Old 08-03-2018, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I don't know whether the firmware list on page 1 of this thread is up-to-date, but the latest it lists is from 5/31/2018.

I got tired of the nagging, told it to go ahead and update. So far, no issues that I can see (hear).
ahblaza likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #15528 of 17756 Old 08-04-2018, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahtze View Post
Hi all, currently I have the DENON AVR-X3300W receiver with the following speakers

1x Polk LSIM 706C - Center Channel speaker
2x Polk LSIM 703 - bookshelf speakers

I will be adding two - Polk LSIM 707 Floor standing speakers soon.

My questions are,
  • Does the Denon AVR-X3300W have enough juice to power all 5 speakers?
  • How do I know if it does not supply enough power? (By hearing?)
  • If not, what should I do? Buy an AMPs? which one would you recommend?

Sorry for the dumb questions but thank you all in advance.
I have this Denon and just connected 705s. While I think it sounds very good and it will play “loud” in my medium sized living room I don’t have any to compare it too. My instincts tell me I’m not getting the full matrix experience.

I can pick up a Rotel RB1590 (400 RMS x 2) for $1300.00.

Is that worth buying? Will it make a big difference warranting a grand and very long silent treatment from my other half? Hmm, that sounded rhetorical but it’s not.
Butlersride is offline  
post #15529 of 17756 Old 08-05-2018, 01:19 AM
Senior Member
 
blackspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I haven't updated my 4300 in a while (I was not happy with posts here about issues with the last update, like the center channel disappearing), and two days ago it started nagging me at every power-up about an update being available.


Is this some new update, or is it just annoying me about the last one from a while back?
I had my center channel disappearing too on my x2300. happened only once random & thought it was my wire connection.

Then i did the latest update for the x2300 & the issue doesn't seem to come up again.


Cheers.
blackspider is online now  
post #15530 of 17756 Old 08-05-2018, 02:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butlersride View Post
I have this Denon and just connected 705s. While I think it sounds very good and it will play “loud” in my medium sized living room I don’t have any to compare it too. My instincts tell me I’m not getting the full matrix experience.

I can pick up a Rotel RB1590 (400 RMS x 2) for $1300.00.

Is that worth buying? Will it make a big difference warranting a grand and very long silent treatment from my other half? Hmm, that sounded rhetorical but it’s not.
What is the "full matrix experience?"

If you're not raising the volume above 80/0dB, than adding an external amp is unlikely to provide any additional benefit.

Are you using a dedicated sub? If not, add one. If yes, consider adding another one.
ccotenj likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15531 of 17756 Old 08-06-2018, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What is the "full matrix experience?"

If you're not raising the volume above 80/0dB, than adding an external amp is unlikely to provide any additional benefit.

Are you using a dedicated sub? If not, add one. If yes, consider adding another one.
I have tried the "Search" feature but it keeps referring me to irrelevant pages about OPPOs and TVs. What is the iOS launch URL for the Denon 2016 AVR Remote app? My notes say it is "Denon2015AVRRemote://" but that seems out of sync with the name. Thank you!

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #15532 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 02:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
I have tried the "Search" feature but it keeps referring me to irrelevant pages about OPPOs and TVs. What is the iOS launch URL for the Denon 2016 AVR Remote app? My notes say it is "Denon2015AVRRemote://" but that seems out of sync with the name. Thank you!
Are you referring to the Web Control feature in which case you simply enter the IP Address of the unit?

Also note, rather than quoting a post of no relevance to your question, it's best to either simply ask the question alone, or you can place an "@" in front of the forum member's name (eg. @jdsmoothie ).

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-07-2018 at 03:59 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15533 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Are you referring to the Web Control feature in which case you simply enter the IP Address of the unit?

Also note, rather than quoting a post of no relevance to your question, it's best to either simply ask the question alone, or you can place an "@" in front of the forum member's name (eg. @jdsmoothie ).
Thank you, JD. No, not the lamented Web control, but the official Denon app as described here.

Sorry about the quote of a post of no relevance to which you refer. I was sure I had clicked the "Quick Reply" button which is supposed to create a message with no quotebacks. I also tried the Denon USA support pages, also without results.

Thank you.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #15534 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,969
Mentioned: 800 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23690 Post(s)
Liked: 13043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Thank you, JD. No, not the lamented Web control, but the official Denon app as described here.
Oh .... then no clue.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15535 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quick question ... can the AVR-X4300H be used a simple HDMI matrix?

For example, can I switch inputs for both ZONE1 and ZONE2 (using IP commands) without turning on the zones (amplifier), etc?
sofakng is offline  
post #15536 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hudsonville, MI
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The FLAC files must be 2CH and not copyright protected.
The FLAC files are 2 channel and not copyright protected. They play fine on my XBOX ONE, and on my computer as well.
jevchance is offline  
post #15537 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post
Quick question ... can the AVR-X4300H be used a simple HDMI matrix?

For example, can I switch inputs for both ZONE1 and ZONE2 (using IP commands) without turning on the zones (amplifier), etc?
Im not sure this is what you asked, but at least for Zone 1 I can switch inputs without turning the AVR on using the remote.
asabrag is offline  
post #15538 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1519 Post(s)
Liked: 800
Is there a way to cycle through sound modes with a single button push? (Like Atmos, DTS:X, Direct, etc)

I have the Denon 6300 and a Harmony remote so if there is a way to program a command from this or another AVR remote that will do this, I’m very curious.

Thx.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #15539 of 17756 Old 08-07-2018, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: West Coast
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Is there a way to cycle through sound modes with a single button push? (Like Atmos, DTS:X, Direct, etc)

I have the Denon 6300 and a Harmony remote so if there is a way to program a command from this or another AVR remote that will do this, I’m very curious.

Thx.
The Denon will only decode whatever it's sent. You can't, for example, force Atmos out of a 5.1 DD signal.

What you can control is the selection of add-on DSPs, like Dolby Surround. You do this (on the original remote) by pushing one of the mode buttons (like "Movie"), then picking a DSP from the pop-up list that appears.
Dreamliner likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #15540 of 17756 Old 08-09-2018, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Today's android heos app update fixed the android p issues. Thank you denon!

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Mrjmc99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
6300h , 6400h , 6500h , arc , atmos , avr , avr-3300 , AVR-x2300W , avr-x3300w , connection , Denon , denon 3300 , denon avr x2300w , denon avr-x1300w , dlna , hdmi , issue , JS8500 , media player input , multi-zone , network , nexus player , OLED65E6P , pass-through , preamp , receiver problem , slingbox m1 , smart tv arc , spdif , speaker setup , video/audio , x4300h , x6300h , xbr-65x900e , zone 2 , zone 3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off