The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 539 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 281282Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16141 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I think it would be more convenient to have a DAC -- dedicate the powered monitors to the PC -- and manually disconnect and re-connect the rear sub to that DAC (or Amp of some kind.) Can that be done?


Also, if I set the receiver to "ALL ZONE STEREO" would that make the system a 7.2 "stereo" system?


And if I were to switch to a surround sound mode or "Zone 1" then it would go back to my regular 5.2 system and not play the two JBL's? correct?






Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Sorry, but no. I didn't realize the JBL speakers were "powered" as my previous advice was based on using "passive" speakers as Front B in the main zone. As I indicated previously, the sub can only be used in the main zone. Connecting them to the Zone 2 pre-outs, your only choice using them with the sub is to select the "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode and then silencing the FL/C/FR/SL/SR speakers.

Last edited by Geralt of Rivia; 11-30-2018 at 11:13 AM.
Geralt of Rivia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16142 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geralt of Rivia View Post
Thanks. I think it would be more convenient to have a DAC -- dedicate the powered monitors to the PC -- and manually disconnect and re-connect the rear sub to that DAC (or Amp of some kind.) Can that be done?


Also, if I set the receiver to "ALL ZONE STEREO" would that make the system a 7.2 "stereo" system?


And if I were to switch to a surround sound mode or "Zone 1" then it would go back to my regular 5.2 system and not play the two JBL's? correct?
1. Sure.
2. Correct.
3. Correct.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16143 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Denon Receiver (X3300W) Settings for 6.1

I have a 6.1 setup in my living room (no room for 7.1) and I can't seem to get up/down mixing of 5.1/7.1 channels. For example, if I set my Xbox One to 7.1 multichannel and select direct auto on my receiver, shouldn't it single rear channel be playing? I have the receiver correctly setup and set the rear channel setting to one. I tried dolby surround under movie as well and it didn't work. Am I missing something? I never had issues with my previous AVR3310CI. Any ideas?

Last edited by mikecoscia; 11-30-2018 at 06:01 PM.
mikecoscia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16144 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,506
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5196 Post(s)
Liked: 7522
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Cannot, no, but there may be other London/UK members who may be able to chime in with some recommendations.

You may also want to post on the European site: avforums.com.
Richer Sounds. Fantastic retailer and customer service. "Supercare" warranty where they will buy your AVR from you after a certain number of years for a guaranteed prices as long as it's in good enough condition.
Madmax67 and asabrag like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #16145 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Sure.
2. Correct.
3. Correct.

Thanks once again. Last question. I know this is somewhat unrelated to the Denon at this point, but my threads keep getting moved. Do you know if i can hook up the SVS PB2000 to this Sound Blaster card via line out? Or is it only for "powered" subs?


https://files.creative.com/manualdn/...%20UG%20EN.pdf
Geralt of Rivia is offline  
post #16146 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1742
This is basically a repost.

On 1 November 2018, I got an over-the-air firmware update to my AVR-X4300H. The new number is 6461-7008-8431-1584.

Does anyone have a changelog for it? I don't see an update in the first page of this thread. Thanks.
bobknavs is online now  
post #16147 of 17395 Old 11-30-2018, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
I have a 6.1 setup in my living room (no room for 7.1) and I can't seem to get up/down mixing of 5.1/7.1 channels. For example, if I set my Xbox One to 7.1 multichannel and select direct auto on my receiver, shouldn't it single rear channel be playing? I have the receiver correctly setup and set the rear channel setting to one. I tried dolby surround under movie as well and it didn't work. Am I missing something? I never had issues with my previous AVR3310CI. Any ideas?
Nevermind, my post was moved to this thread, did a quick search and found my answer. Only DTS: Neural X supports a single surround back (6.1). What happened to Dolby Pro Logic IIx?
mikecoscia is offline  
post #16148 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
Nevermind, my post was moved to this thread, did a quick search and found my answer. Only DTS: Neural X supports a single surround back (6.1). What happened to Dolby Pro Logic IIx?
DD PLII, DD PLIIx, and DD PLIIz were all replaced by the Dolby Surround upmixer (ie. DSU) on the Atmos capable models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16149 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 02:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
This is basically a repost.

On 1 November 2018, I got an over-the-air firmware update to my AVR-X4300H. The new number is 6461-7008-8431-1584.

Does anyone have a changelog for it? I don't see an update in the first page of this thread. Thanks.
HEOS bug fixes. Post 6 updated - thanks for the reminder.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16150 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geralt of Rivia View Post
Thanks once again. Last question. I know this is somewhat unrelated to the Denon at this point, but my threads keep getting moved. Do you know if i can hook up the SVS PB2000 to this Sound Blaster card via line out? Or is it only for "powered" subs?

As the SVS PB2000 "is" a powered sub, yes, it should work.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16151 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 03:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by asabrag View Post
Hi JD, do you recommend any dealer in London?
..
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Richer Sounds. Fantastic retailer and customer service. "Supercare" warranty where they will buy your AVR from you after a certain number of years for a guaranteed prices as long as it's in good enough condition.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16152 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
Nevermind, my post was moved to this thread, did a quick search and found my answer. Only DTS: Neural X supports a single surround back (6.1). What happened to Dolby Pro Logic IIx?
DD PLII, DD PLIIx, and DD PLIIz were all replaced by the Dolby Surround upmixer (ie. DSU) on the Atmos capable models.
Thank you for the info, so all I can use Atmos or Neural X? I’ll have to give it a try. I watched a movie with Neural X last night, sound seemed louder/harsher if that makes sense? I’ll watch something with atmos tonight. Do all devices need to support atmos as well or just the reciever?
mikecoscia is offline  
post #16153 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
Thank you for the info, so all I can use Atmos or Neural X? I’ll have to give it a try. I watched a movie with Neural X last night, sound seemed louder/harsher if that makes sense? I’ll watch something with atmos tonight. Do all devices need to support atmos as well or just the reciever?
For simulators, you can use Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X to simulate audio to the additional speakers in your setup beyond the discrete channels the source is providing. Atmos is an audio codec which is the sound track that a movie would use. The AVR must have an Atmos decoder in order for it to be passed to Atmos speakers in your setup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16154 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
Thank you for the info, so all I can use Atmos or Neural X? I’ll have to give it a try. I watched a movie with Neural X last night, sound seemed louder/harsher if that makes sense? I’ll watch something with atmos tonight. Do all devices need to support atmos as well or just the reciever?
For simulators, you can use Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X to simulate audio to the additional speakers in your setup beyond the discrete channels the source is providing. Atmos is an audio codec which is the sound track that a movie would use. The AVR must have an Atmos decoder in order for it to be passed to Atmos speakers in your setup.
That’s what I thought, but the Dolby surround will not send audio to a single rear channel. Only DTS Neural: X works in that manner. Which stinks, because I prefer Dolby.
mikecoscia is offline  
post #16155 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 07:42 PM
Member
 
kman62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
it seems my 4400 only plays in stereo mode when i watch movies. the movie is a 2018 movie why didnt the avr switch over to to 7.2 mode like i have it set up for? the only speakers with sound is the front left and right towers thats it. nothing from the center channel or from the rears or subs
kman62 is offline  
post #16156 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,062
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1305 Post(s)
Liked: 2157
Quote:
Originally Posted by kman62 View Post
it seems my 4400 only plays in stereo mode when i watch movies. the movie is a 2018 movie why didnt the avr switch over to to 7.2 mode like i have it set up for? the only speakers with sound is the front left and right towers thats it. nothing from the center channel or from the rears or subs
Wrong thread. Try here...

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/2794073-official-2017-denon-s-series-x-series-avr-owner-s-thread-faq-posts-1-8-a.html

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #16157 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markm75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Question for any x4300h users/pros..

On my denon there is a setting under..

Video/output settings..

Video Conversion..
Mine is set to On..

I/P scaler is set to analog
Video processing mode is set to Auto (other choices are game, etc)


I run all my 4k60 hdr sources into the receiver (pc, x1x, ps4pro).. as of now i dont have anything rca or component (i may hook an old wii or snes up later)..

Are these the correct settings.. does this video conversion setting only apply to analog video I hope/assume.. Just making sure the hdmi is not being touched.

Thanks

My TF+TR Atmos Setup
Tech, the Universe, and Everything:  http://tech-stew.com
Just Plane Crazy: http://flight-stew.com
markm75 is offline  
post #16158 of 17395 Old 12-01-2018, 09:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1742
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
HEOS bug fixes. Post 6 updated - thanks for the reminder.
Thanks.

I guess that explains why I haven't noticed anything. I don't use HEOS, except for a TuneIn internet radio account.
bobknavs is online now  
post #16159 of 17395 Old 12-02-2018, 03:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post
That’s what I thought, but the Dolby surround will not send audio to a single rear channel. Only DTS Neural: X works in that manner. Which stinks, because I prefer Dolby.
Correct, as noted in the Owner's manual, p. 261.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	222
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	2490066  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16160 of 17395 Old 12-02-2018, 03:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by markm75 View Post
Question for any x4300h users/pros..

On my denon there is a setting under..

Video/output settings..

Video Conversion..
Mine is set to On..

I/P scaler is set to analog
Video processing mode is set to Auto (other choices are game, etc)


I run all my 4k60 hdr sources into the receiver (pc, x1x, ps4pro).. as of now i dont have anything rca or component (i may hook an old wii or snes up later)..

Are these the correct settings.. does this video conversion setting only apply to analog video I hope/assume.. Just making sure the hdmi is not being touched.

Thanks
<i/p Scaler> upscaling of analog and/or HDMI video depending on the setting, in your use case, analog only so HDMI not affected

<Video Conversion> conversion of analog --> HDMI; however, this setting is required in order for the menu to overlay on the source video (ie. there is some video processing which "may" affect your HDMI sources. Test by setting it to OFF).
markm75 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16161 of 17395 Old 12-02-2018, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jabu32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Need some help with a Denon 3300 and Samsung Q8

i just bought a Q8 and need help setting up send audio back to the AVR (netflix, youtube,..).

i think i need to use ARC but i have never used it before. HDMI 4 is labeled ARC on the TV and i do have it connected to the ARC port on the AVR.

i just cannot make it switch over from the input audio coming from the cable box to the output of the tv for netflix.

Denon x3300w
Klipsch RF-82II - Main
Pioneer SP-T22A-LR - Atmos Fronts
Klipsch RC-62II - Center
Klipsch RB-61II - Surround
Klipsch R-12sw - Subwoofer
jabu32 is offline  
post #16162 of 17395 Old 12-02-2018, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabu32 View Post
i just bought a Q8 and need help setting up send audio back to the AVR (netflix, youtube,..).

i think i need to use ARC but i have never used it before. HDMI 4 is labeled ARC on the TV and i do have it connected to the ARC port on the AVR.

i just cannot make it switch over from the input audio coming from the cable box to the output of the tv for netflix.
HDMI/CEC control turned.on in both.receiver and tv? TV speakers turned.off? Checked user manuals.for.both? Played with.TV sound.settings?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Dargent0628 is offline  
post #16163 of 17395 Old 12-03-2018, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
simplepinoi177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabu32 View Post
i just bought a Q8 and need help setting up send audio back to the AVR (netflix, youtube,..).

i think i need to use ARC but i have never used it before. HDMI 4 is labeled ARC on the TV and i do have it connected to the ARC port on the AVR.

i just cannot make it switch over from the input audio coming from the cable box to the output of the tv for netflix.
Yeah...I have a Q6 and ran into this as well...the answer is so rather obvious, it might make you feel a bit foolish -- it happened to me, so try not to feel that bad ;-)

But, basically, make sure you have it connected the way you do, and then you have to choose "TV Audio" as the input source to hear the apps (Netflix, Youtube, Amazon Video, etc.) on the Samsung TV output audio to the speakers. Also, even though it should be automatic, you might need to go to the settings and change the sound output to "Receiver" instead...

See? So simple, it might make you feel a bit silly...Good luck to you and hope this helps...

My HT Setup 5.2.2---TV:Samsung Q6F(QN82Q6FNAFXZA); Receiver:Denon AVR-X3400H;Sub:HSU Research VTF-2 MK5;Speakers:ELAC F6.2(x2 -> Front R/L), ELAC C6.2(Center), ELAC B6.2(x2 -> Surround R/L), Onkyo SKB-750X(x2 -> Atmos "height" R/L);Sub #2:Onkyo SKW-750X;Connected Devices:Xfinity X1 HD DVR (TV shows), Sony PS4 Pro (UHD videos, gaming), Magnavox MBP6700(UHD HDR movies), Sony PS3 (UPnP media player), Nintendo Switch (gaming)
simplepinoi177 is offline  
post #16164 of 17395 Old 12-03-2018, 04:32 PM
Member
 
pixelkng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BNestico View Post
Well my $60 worth of HDMI cables came in today, i hooked them up and threw in Coco, gave it a few minutes and then, just like I thought it was gonna, the video cut out. Just for the hell of it I put 3:10 to Yuma back in and same thing. I emailed Denon back just now and told them. So what are the chances they just send me a replacement considering I’m still under warranty. When I sent my Marantz 7008 back right after I bought it I had a 7009 on my doorstep in a few days. I’d love to find a 7011 on my porch.
What are you using to play your discs? I had cut-out issues with my Xbox One X, and so have a lot of people: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...?page=2&auth=1
pixelkng is offline  
post #16165 of 17395 Old 12-03-2018, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Have an issue that popped up for me the other day. I wanted to try my luck here before calling Denon. I have an X2300w and for the past few days the receiver works fine while I am using it, but will not power back on the next day unless I unplug it and plug it back in. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Last edited by gwilly7; 12-03-2018 at 09:03 PM.
gwilly7 is offline  
post #16166 of 17395 Old 12-04-2018, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,598
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwilly7 View Post
Have an issue that popped up for me the other day. I wanted to try my luck here before calling Denon. I have an X2300w and for the past few days the receiver works fine while I am using it, but will not power back on the next day unless I unplug it and plug it back in. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Is that using the (a) Remote, (b) Remote app, or (c) Power button on the front panel?

Refer to post 5 and start off with a "soft reset" and go from there.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #16167 of 17395 Old 12-04-2018, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Is that using the (a) Remote, (b) Remote app, or (c) Power button on the front panel?

Refer to post 5 and start off with a "soft reset" and go from there.
I am using a Harmony 655 remote, I have also tried the factory remote and the power button. When I unplug and plug back in, it turns back on by itself, I do not have to use the remote. I will try this when I get home from work today. Thank you very much for your help.
gwilly7 is offline  
post #16168 of 17395 Old 12-04-2018, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markm75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I've got a sudden issue with the denon x4300h.. i have ARC coming from the x900F sony tv to the arc port on the receiver.. its been fine for days now.. suddenly when watching any input xbox, ps4 etc, after about 1 minute there is a pop and the receiver shuts off and the receiver red light goes into flashing red light mode (protection?)... i checked the connections on the receiver.. it all seems fine..

To remedy.. so far, if i switch from the arc port on the receiver to the regular out port, its working fine.

Would this indicate a problem with the receiver ARC port or the tv (arc or other issue)? Anyone ran into this?

Edit: seems my chrome cast USB power I had connected to an ac outlet may have been the culprit (the other day i decided to use a wallwart to power the usb connection, that apparently was causing some sort of electrical feedback into the chromecast back through the hdmi causing the safe mode shut down).. now everything is fine, i just use chromecast/dlna of the x900f tv.

My TF+TR Atmos Setup
Tech, the Universe, and Everything:  http://tech-stew.com
Just Plane Crazy: http://flight-stew.com

Last edited by markm75; 12-05-2018 at 09:29 AM.
markm75 is offline  
post #16169 of 17395 Old 12-05-2018, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Is that using the (a) Remote, (b) Remote app, or (c) Power button on the front panel?

Refer to post 5 and start off with a "soft reset" and go from there.
Put the receiver in standby and unplugged overnight. This time when I plugged back in, I had to use the remote to power back on, it did not do so itself this time. I will see how it is when I get home from work and report back.
gwilly7 is offline  
post #16170 of 17395 Old 12-06-2018, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does anybody know if it's possible to get bitstream output (or PCM 5.1 - 7.1) on the Zone 2 HDMI output on the AVR-X4300H?
sofakng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
6300h , 6400h , 6500h , arc , atmos , avr , avr-3300 , AVR-x2300W , avr-x3300w , connection , Denon , denon 3300 , denon avr x2300w , denon avr-x1300w , dlna , hdmi , issue , JS8500 , media player input , multi-zone , network , nexus player , OLED65E6P , pass-through , preamp , receiver problem , slingbox m1 , smart tv arc , spdif , speaker setup , video/audio , x4300h , x6300h , xbr-65x900e , zone 2 , zone 3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off