The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 281256Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 01:32 PM
Member
 
diverdra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I have a 5.1.2 setup on an X3300W. The 5 are powered by a 5 channel Sunfire. Atmos speakers connected to Surround Back speaker terminals. Can I run a zone 2 without using an external amp? I've read the manual but it's not clear how I'd do this (if even possible). TIA


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Dan
Samsung UN75HU8550 (TS01 10 bit panel), SEK-3500 OCB (FW 1471), Denon AVR-X3300W w/ Sunfire Theatre Grand Amp (5.1.2); Oppo UDP-203; DTV 4K, Martin Logan Vantage & ML Ctr, Sur, Sub & Motion AFX ATMOS speakers.
diverdra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,270
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22734 Post(s)
Liked: 12381
Quote:
Originally Posted by diverdra View Post
I have a 5.1.2 setup on an X3300W. The 5 are powered by a 5 channel Sunfire. Atmos speakers connected to Surround Back speaker terminals. Can I run a zone 2 without using an external amp? I've read the manual but it's not clear how I'd do this (if even possible). TIA


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Nope, as the AVR uses the Surround Back speaker posts for Zone 2.
diverdra likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2943 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
n2speed125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Have a concern regarding rerunning the audyssey setup. When I first ran audyssey, everything went great and after it finished, it went right back to the main menu of the receiver. I upgraded my center and left and right front speakers so I decided to rerun audyssey and after everything was done and I was at the last step, after disconnecting the mic, where you hit DONE to continue, the receiver goes to a menu that looks like the main menu but the top menu item is complete gibberish (nDGmlEDFA)and while I'm able to scroll up and down, nothing can be selected and the display on the receiver (AVR-X3300W) doesn't match what is being selected. I did a microprocessor reset about a week ago thinking it may fix it and it did for the initial audyssey run but rerunning it comes up with the same results. I have 10 days to exchange the unit but wanted to see if maybe there is a step I am missing when I rerun audyssey? Thanks..
n2speed125 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2944 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Sorry for the dumb question but, I just added the Pioneer Atmos add on speakers to my x2300w. When I select "All Ch Stereo" or any other 5.1 set up the receiver prioritizes the Atmos add on's over my subwoofer and my sub doesn't get used at all. Is there anyway to fix this?
DrCoolface is offline  
post #2945 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,270
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22734 Post(s)
Liked: 12381
Quote:
Originally Posted by n2speed125 View Post
Have a concern regarding rerunning the audyssey setup. When I first ran audyssey, everything went great and after it finished, it went right back to the main menu of the receiver. I upgraded my center and left and right front speakers so I decided to rerun audyssey and after everything was done and I was at the last step, after disconnecting the mic, where you hit DONE to continue, the receiver goes to a menu that looks like the main menu but the top menu item is complete gibberish (nDGmlEDFA)and while I'm able to scroll up and down, nothing can be selected and the display on the receiver (AVR-X3300W) doesn't match what is being selected. I did a microprocessor reset about a week ago thinking it may fix it and it did for the initial audyssey run but rerunning it comes up with the same results. I have 10 days to exchange the unit but wanted to see if maybe there is a step I am missing when I rerun audyssey? Thanks..
No ... that's an issue for sure. Try doing a series of 4-5 microprocessor resets and if still no joy, exchange it.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2946 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
n2speed125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No ... that's an issue for sure. Try doing a series of 4-5 microprocessor resets and if still no joy, exchange it.
Thank you. I will try that this weekend. I kinda figured that it shouldn't be acting like that but before I disconnect everything and exchange it, I wanted to make sure I'm not wasting my time.
n2speed125 is offline  
post #2947 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwswope View Post
Hi, I hope someone can help me out. I currently have an Onkyo TX-NR709 with a 5.1 surround setup. My front speakers are Polk Monitor 70s and a matching Polk center channel. The rear speakers are Polk Monitor 30s. The sub is Polk as well. I am looking to upgrade the Onkyo TX-NR709 with a new Denon AVR-X2300w since I have a 4K Samsung TV and a 4K Samsung Blu-ray player. My concern is that the Onkyo outputs 110 watts per channel while the new Denon outputs 95 watts per channel. Will this be a noticeable difference in output/volume? Currently with the Onkyo, the volume level is around 60-65 for movies. Does anyone know if the sound quality is better between the two? With my connected devices, I really could go with a lesser model like the S720, S920 or the X1300. But the S720 at 75 watts, the S920 at 90 watts and the X1300 at 80 watts seem like they would be very under-powered, but I could be wrong. Another reason to go with the X-series is better Audyssy calibration. Is there a big difference between the Audyssy MultiEQ and the Audyssy MultiEQ XT? Is better Audyssy calibration worth the extra money? Speaking of which, the only devices that I currently have connected is:
HDMI out = Samsung 4K TV
HDMI in = DIRECTV, 4K Samsung Blu-ray Player, Apple TV 4, Fire TV
RCA Audio in = Sonos Connect

Is the X2300 overkill for what I have connected? Should I go for one of the S-series or the X1300?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!


Jim
I don't know how loud you listen, or if you've ever measured power draw, but I have my whole 7.1.2 system connected to a pair of UPS devices that show live output. That's 4 x BP8040 towers, 2 x SR8040 surrounds, 1 x CS8040 center, 2 x RP 140-SA Atmos modules, an SB-2000 sub, the X4300h AVR, 4K Blu-Ray player, 65" 4K LCD TV, internet router, networking switch, and anything else I'm forgetting. Total draw hovers around 500-550w during movie viewing with spikes to 800-850w when the sub kicks in, and that's at -15dB from reference. I can't deal with it any louder than that.

Unless you like your ears bleeding profusely, you're quite safe with those outputs. If you want to be 100% sure then pick up a kill-a-watt and see what the draw of your current AVR is at the loudest volume you're comfortable with. Divide by number of speakers that you're driving for a very rough watts per channel.
Speedie95 is offline  
post #2948 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,270
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22734 Post(s)
Liked: 12381
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCoolface View Post
Sorry for the dumb question but, I just added the Pioneer Atmos add on speakers to my x2300w. When I select "All Ch Stereo" or any other 5.1 set up the receiver prioritizes the Atmos add on's over my subwoofer and my sub doesn't get used at all. Is there anyway to fix this?
Huh? If all speakers are set to SMALL (recommended) the sub will always play even when ALL CH STEREO is selected.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2949 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
jwswope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
The x2300 and x1300 should sound the same as they use the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT room calibration. You're not going to notice a difference between 85W, 95W and 110W.

Now if you live by a Fry's Electronics definitely get the x2300 as it is $399 out the door this week with promo code. If not, the x1300 is a good choice.
Thanks so much for your input. With you and a the other kind responses, I am going to Best Buy to pick up a 1300. I really don't need all the inputs and such with my setup. I was just worried with the power out compare to my older Onkyo. Best Buy has the 1300 for $100 off right now, so I'll take advantage of that. I'll post my findings once I have it setup. I'm a Elite Plus, so I can return it it for the 2300 if necessary (Best Buy Magnolia employee recommendation). Thank you.
jwswope is offline  
post #2950 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 2689
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwswope View Post
Thanks so much for your input. With you and a the other kind responses, I am going to Best Buy to pick up a 1300. I really don't need all the inputs and such with my setup. I was just worried with the power out compare to my older Onkyo. Best Buy has the 1300 for $100 off right now, so I'll take advantage of that. I'll post my findings once I have it setup. I'm a Elite Plus, so I can return it it for the 2300 if necessary (Best Buy Magnolia employee recommendation). Thank you.
I too migrated from years of owning Onkyo's to recent Denon AVR's. If you've been an advocate of Onkyo's SQ, you'll likely notice a difference with Denon's sound signature. One other functional difference...Denon's "absolute" volume scale (0-99). You crank and crank to about 50 before any appreciable room volume is realized. It's normal for Denon...just something I really don't care for.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2951 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,797
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2112 Post(s)
Liked: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
I too migrated from years of owning Onkyo's to recent Denon AVR's. If you've been an advocate of Onkyo's SQ, you'll likely notice a difference with Denon's sound signature. One other functional difference...Denon's "absolute" volume scale (0-99). You crank and crank to about 50 before any appreciable room volume is realized. It's normal for Denon...just something I really don't care for.
well you can change the scale to -80 to +10 or whatever if you want in the menu
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #2952 of 17339 Old 12-16-2016, 07:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 2689
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
well you can change the scale to -80 to +10 or whatever if you want in the menu
Yes...like most AVR's...many Denon's have selectable volume scales...either "absolute" or "relative." My point to the OP (who may not know) is that when using the absolute scale on the Denon, it's necessary to advance the volume control to about 50 to get any usable volume...not so with Onkyo. I've seen questions about this in other threads where owners thought there was something wrong or that the Denon was underpowered...not knowing this was normal for Denon. This is something that requires getting use to if coming from some other brands. It was a bit of an irritation to me but maybe not for others. YMMV

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2953 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 03:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Johan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Yes...like most AVR's...many Denon's have selectable volume scales...either "absolute" or "relative." My point to the OP (who may not know) is that when using the absolute scale on the Denon, it's necessary to advance the volume control to about 50 to get any usable volume...not so with Onkyo. I've seen questions about this in other threads where owners thought there was something wrong or that the Denon was underpowered...not knowing this was normal for Denon. This is something that requires getting use to if coming from some other brands. It was a bit of an irritation to me but maybe not for others. YMMV
I just went from an Onkyo 707 to the Denon X3300W and do not hear any difference. If your AVR was calibrated correctly, you shouldn't anyway. If your Denon now gives you 80 dB at 0 relative scale, then your previous Onkyo was calibrated too loud. Only logical conclusion.

Denon AVR-X3300W Receiver used as 5.1.2, Samsung UBD-K8500, Chario Hiper 2000T fronts, Chario Hiper Dialogue Center, Monitor Audio RXFX Side Surrounds, Dual Rel Quake 200E Subwoofers, JBL Control One Middle Top Atmos Ceiling Speakers, Optoma UHD65 4K Projector
Johan81 is offline  
post #2954 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
guinner16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbox One S Setting

Hoping someone can help me out. I've been out of the receiver game for quite some time and just picked up the 720. I have an Xbox One S, Samsung KS8000 hooked into it with a 5.1 speaker setup. Everything seems to be working ok but I want t make sure I have the correct set up for the best sound. I've seen everything from multi channel stereo to DTS NEU. Can someone let me know should the xbox/TV settings be using Bitstream, PCM etc and what is the easiest setting on Denon to use? When I use Auto that doesn't seem to produce the best sounds always. Thanks.
guinner16 is offline  
post #2955 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 11:22 AM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
I keep watching for a deal on the x3300's at Fry's again. So far no luck.....
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #2956 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thumbs down Chromecast Audio not Outputting 5.1 Signal

Hi, I just purchased a X2300W and am having some difficulty with my chromecast audio. When I hook up my Chromecast Audio to the optical inputs I am only getting a 2.0 output instead of a 5.1. The input shows PCM but only 2.0 and not multichannel. This setup worked perfectly with my old receiver and I'm at a loss why it's not working now. Denon support has been thoroughly unhelpful. Any ideas? Thanks, much appreciated.
sambada is offline  
post #2957 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by sambada View Post
Hi, I just purchased a X2300W and am having some difficulty with my chromecast audio. When I hook up my Chromecast Audio to the optical inputs I am only getting a 2.0 output instead of a 5.1. The input shows PCM but only 2.0 and not multichannel. This setup worked perfectly with my old receiver and I'm at a loss why it's not working now. Denon support has been thoroughly unhelpful. Any ideas? Thanks, much appreciated.
I can't find any info on whether or not the CC Audio handles 5.1 output and I don't have any multi channel music to try streaming to it right now. Does it actually handle multi channel out?

In the meantime you can choose a surround upmixer by pressing the "Music" button on the remote.
rec head is offline  
post #2958 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your quick response. I had good luck with my old Pioneer receiver casting flac files over the optical output and getting 5.1 audio with no upmixing. I was hoping to do the same with the Denon unit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
I can't find any info on whether or not the CC Audio handles 5.1 output and I don't have any multi channel music to try streaming to it right now. Does it actually handle multi channel out?

In the meantime you can choose a surround upmixer by pressing the "Music" button on the remote.
sambada is offline  
post #2959 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've setup the X6300H with Front LR speakers - this is a temporary setup until my HT room is ready. I've run Audessey and primarily using to listen to music.

A few days back I hooked up the Roku Premier+ with the idea of trying out Netflix/YouTube. I immediately ran into a significant AV Sync Issue. So I tried adjusting the Audio Delay on X6300H but I'm having a lot of trouble with it. A setting that works with Netflix on Roku doesn't work with YouTube on Roku and even playing two different videos on YouTube seems to require a different setting. FWIW the settings that work are in the 150-280ms range.

I've tried connecting the Roku directly to the TV and there are no audio delays at all - so issue is definitely with X6300H.

I realize that this may be a limitation of the 2-ch setup - but didn't expect it to be this bad. Any suggestions?
mr.masku is offline  
post #2960 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Apple TV flicker anyone?

Denon AVR X1300; Recently got a new tv stand and had to unplug all wires and set up again. Since then, Apple TV (4th gen) signal flickers every few seconds. Very noticeable and annoying. I attempted the HDMI HDCP reset but no luck. Signal is fine when I go directly into the TV (bypassing AVR) using the same HDMI cable. Tried another cable too...no luck. Email sent to Denon but thought I'd see if anyone else had a similar issue with this or a similar AVR. Thanks.
trs0722 is offline  
post #2961 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
thyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Hi. I am happy to join the "club", as I just purchased a Denon x1300W today. So far so good. I set it up in no time (Axiom speakers all around with a REL sub in a 5.1 mode for now). My front Axiom speakers are floorstanding M60 ones.

I did quite a bit of reading here. I set my floorstanders to "small" although they came up as "large" from Audissey set up. Crossover of 80. Sub is too loud when playing Pacific Rim on UHD via Samsung 4K k8500 player, although is set at negative 10 db. Go figure.

I also went back to the Samsung UHD player menus and set the Audio to Beatstream, so I could see Dolby Atmos or DTS+ on display. Could not find that second downsampling to be turned off I read here on Sammy's menus. However, my display when playing 4K copy of Pacific Rim says DDTHD +DDS. I can't figure out what these mean. DD True HD? Isn't this supposed to be Atmos?

Thanks!

Last edited by thyname; 12-17-2016 at 05:34 PM.
thyname is offline  
post #2962 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
Hi. I am happy to join the "club", as I just purchased a Denon x1300W today. So far so good. I set it up in no time (Axiom speakers all around with a REL sub in a 5.1 mode for now). My front Axiom speakers are floorstanding M60 ones.

I did quite a bit of reading here. I set my floorstanders to "small" although they came up as "large" from Audissey set up. Crossover of 80. Sub is too loud when playing Pacific Rim on UHD via Samsung 4K k8500 player, although is set at negative 10 db. Go figure.

I also went back to the Samsung UHD player menus and set the Audio to Beatstream, so I could see Dolby Atmos or DTS+ on display. Could not find that second downsampling to be turned off I read here on Sammy's menus. However, my display when playing 4K copy of Pacific Rim says DDTHD +DDS. I can't figure out what these mean. DD True HD? Isn't this supposed to be Atmos?

Thanks!
Press the movie button. If your receiver is getting an atmos signal it should have a Dolby Atmos/ Surround option listed. Otherwise I'd think something is set wrong or maybe your cable is funky.
amnesia0287 is offline  
post #2963 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
thyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia0287 View Post
Press the movie button. If your receiver is getting an atmos signal it should have a Dolby Atmos/ Surround option listed. Otherwise I'd think something is set wrong or maybe your cable is funky.
When I press Movie button, I get the following modes:

Dolby TrueHD
+Dolby Surround
+Neural X
Multi Channel Stereo
Mono Movie
Virtual
Stereo

Cable is pretty good. Ultra speed 4K and all. What am I doing wrong? Does it actually say "Atmos" when your press Movie button (as one of the options) if working properly?
thyname is offline  
post #2964 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,138
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
Hi. I am happy to join the "club", as I just purchased a Denon x1300W today. So far so good. I set it up in no time (Axiom speakers all around with a REL sub in a 5.1 mode for now). My front Axiom speakers are floorstanding M60 ones.
...
However, my display when playing 4K copy of Pacific Rim says DDTHD +DDS. I can't figure out what these mean. DD True HD? Isn't this supposed to be Atmos?
Hi thyname, bare minimum for Dolby Atmos is a 5.1.2 system. This means you have five speakers around the room, one subwoofer, and two height speakers.
thyname and Madmax67 like this.
JChin is offline  
post #2965 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnesia0287 View Post
Press the movie button. If your receiver is getting an atmos signal it should have a Dolby Atmos/ Surround option listed. Otherwise I'd think something is set wrong or maybe your cable is funky.
When I press Movie button, I get the following modes:

Dolby TrueHD
+Dolby Surround
+Neural X
Multi Channel Stereo
Mono Movie
Virtual
Stereo

Cable is pretty good. Ultra speed 4K and all. What am I doing wrong? Does it actually say "Atmos" when your press Movie button (as one of the options) if working properly?
Correct. This is how Atmos is reported:



thyname likes this.
amnesia0287 is offline  
post #2966 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
thyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi thyname, bare minimum for Dolby Atmos is a 5.1.2 system. This means you have five speakers around the room, one subwoofer, and two height speakers.

Thanks! Much appreciated!

I found this on the below link from the Denon website, which says exactly what you said:

http://manuals.denon.com/AVRX1300W/N...SYyriqsmlp.php

So, I won't see any Atmos as long as I don't add two speakers to at least go to 5.1.2 from 5.1

Impossible for me to get speakers on ceiling (or let's say too expensive).

Do you think that something like this below would do the trick:

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_970A4/E....html?tp=66302

Or is it just "fake" Atmos?
thyname is offline  
post #2967 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
I keep watching for a deal on the x3300's at Fry's again. So far no luck.....
Send a PM to jdsmoothie and get a quote from him. I just purchased a x4300 through AVS and I was very happy with the price, plus a HEOS1 included.
tokerblue is offline  
post #2968 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,693
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1454
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
I keep watching for a deal on the x3300's at Fry's again. So far no luck.....
the receiver deals come out on Sunday. Watch for tomorrow's ad. If not then maybe the Christmas Day or New Years Day ad.

Actually the x4300H will be on sale Sunday. Someone just posted on Slickdeals. I knew something was up because my local Fry's had 5 of them on the shelves and I've never seen that model there before.

https://slickdeals.net/f/9555772-den...src=SiteSearch

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #2969 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Duckbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sherwood OR
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
Thanks! Much appreciated!

I found this on the below link from the Denon website, which says exactly what you said:

http://manuals.denon.com/AVRX1300W/N...SYyriqsmlp.php

So, I won't see any Atmos as long as I don't add two speakers to at least go to 5.1.2 from 5.1

Impossible for me to get speakers on ceiling (or let's say too expensive).

Do you think that something like this below would do the trick:

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_970A4/E....html?tp=66302

Or is it just "fake" Atmos?
Have you checked around for in ceiling Atmos speakers? The ones I am using have tremendous support and they did not cost a lot. Even installation I found to be more reasonable than I thought before investigating if you can't do it yourself.

Most Atmos users would suggest you stay away from Dolby enabled speaker modules.

Sony XBR-85X900F 85-Inch 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV; Denon AVR-X8500H (Dolby Atmos 7.2.6/DTS:X 7.2.4/Auro-3D 13.2); Emotiva XPA-7 Gen 3 Amplifier; SVS Ultra Towers; SVS Ultra Center Channel; (4) SVS Ultra Surround Speakers; (12) SVS Prime Elevations for Dolby Atmos/DTS:X/Auro-3D; Dual SVS SB16-Ultra Subwoofers w/SVS Soundpath Isolation System; Auralex Subdude II Isolation Pads; Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD Blu-ray Player; Panamax M5400 Power Conditioner
Duckbacker is offline  
post #2970 of 17339 Old 12-17-2016, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,338
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 1338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckbacker View Post
Most Atmos users would suggest you stay away from Dolby enabled speaker modules.
I don't think this is true at all. Sure, in-ceiling speakers are preferred, but upfiring modules (particularly newer ones) have gotten some very favorable professional reviews.

I have two Atmos systems, one with "actual" height speakers and one with upfiring modules and the upfiring modules are pretty danged effective.
diverdra and Sluffo like this.
Schwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
6300h , 6400h , 6500h , arc , atmos , avr , avr-3300 , AVR-x2300W , avr-x3300w , connection , Denon , denon 3300 , denon avr x2300w , denon avr-x1300w , dlna , hdmi , issue , JS8500 , media player input , multi-zone , network , nexus player , OLED65E6P , pass-through , preamp , receiver problem , slingbox m1 , smart tv arc , spdif , speaker setup , video/audio , x4300h , x6300h , xbr-65x900e , zone 2 , zone 3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off