*Official* Marantz 2016 NR-1607, SR-5011/6011/7011 owner's thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7305Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 4937 Old 06-19-2019, 01:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Timing seems to be the real problem. If I use the TV's remote and have audio switching on, then the TV comes on and a couple of seconds later the Marantz receiver comes on and the sound is fine. I have not found a way to delay the powering on of the receiver in the Harmony remote software. I'm using Harmony Remote software 7.70. The remote is a Logitec Remote Harmony One. If there is a way to delay the power up of the receiver in the software I'd appreciate it if you could direct me on this.

If the Marantz audio switching is off, the sound starts at the receiver but switches to the TV.

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 4937 Old 06-19-2019, 03:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Timing seems to be the real problem. If I use the TV's remote and have audio switching on, then the TV comes on and a couple of seconds later the Marantz receiver comes on and the sound is fine. I have not found a way to delay the powering on of the receiver in the Harmony remote software. I'm using Harmony Remote software 7.70. The remote is a Logitec Remote Harmony One. If there is a way to delay the power up of the receiver in the software I'd appreciate it if you could direct me on this.

If the Marantz audio switching is off, the sound starts at the receiver but switches to the TV.
Contact the Logitech support staff and they can easily assist with setting up the delay on the Harmony remote.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4923 of 4937 Old 06-19-2019, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 168
last night, received a firmware update on my bedroom NR1607, thanks to Marantz for continuing to support and improve the 3 year old boy!

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 4937 Old 06-19-2019, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kai Winters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Also firmware update for my SR5011...it is cool that they are still supporting their kit.
I do wonder what this latest update does. Nothing that jumps out at me.

TV: Samsung 60KS8000, AVR: Marantz SR5011, Speakers: front/Paradigm Prestige 15B bookshelf, center/Paradigm Prestige 45C, surround/Paradigm Atom, sub/SVS SB3000, DVD: LG UBK 90 UHD DVD Player, Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Home
Kai Winters is offline  
post #4925 of 4937 Old 06-20-2019, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Timing seems to be the real problem. If I use the TV's remote and have audio switching on, then the TV comes on and a couple of seconds later the Marantz receiver comes on and the sound is fine. I have not found a way to delay the powering on of the receiver in the Harmony remote software. I'm using Harmony Remote software 7.70. The remote is a Logitec Remote Harmony One. If there is a way to delay the power up of the receiver in the software I'd appreciate it if you could direct me on this.

If the Marantz audio switching is off, the sound starts at the receiver but switches to the TV.
I have a Harmony One also - start software - pick an activity - settings - bottom option should be "review the order in which devices are powered on"

You can also go into the individual devices - settings and change the "delays"

Good luck!

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #4926 of 4937 Old 06-20-2019, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
I have a Harmony One also - start software - pick an activity - settings - bottom option should be "review the order in which devices are powered on"

You can also go into the individual devices - settings and change the "delays"

Good luck!
Bob, I've looked at the options in the remote settings under the receiver and I don't know which one I should change so that the receiver is turned on a bit later than the TV. I previously made sure under Activities that the TV is turned on before the receiver but the remote turns on the receiver immediately after it turns on the TV. Under devices Receiver, I changed Inter Device Delay but that did nothing. None of the other options delayed the amount of time that the receiver was turned on after the TV was turned on. Do you have any suggestions?

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
post #4927 of 4937 Old 06-21-2019, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Bob, I've looked at the options in the remote settings under the receiver and I don't know which one I should change so that the receiver is turned on a bit later than the TV. I previously made sure under Activities that the TV is turned on before the receiver but the remote turns on the receiver immediately after it turns on the TV. Under devices Receiver, I changed Inter Device Delay but that did nothing. None of the other options delayed the amount of time that the receiver was turned on after the TV was turned on. Do you have any suggestions?
this might have something to do with CEC on the TV (see below). If that doesn't work I might post of the Marantz SR7013 forum that has a lot more traffic - they are very similar receivers! Good Luck!

What is CEC on my TV?
Consumer Electronics Control (CEC) is a feature of HDMI designed to allow users to command and control devices connected through HDMI by using only one remote control. For example, by using the remote control of a television set to control a set-top box and/or DVD player.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #4928 of 4937 Old 06-22-2019, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi!
my config:

Tv LG 55c8
Marantz SR6010
Ps4
himedia q10 pro
firetv stick

no audio ARC no CEC command
I have tried several HDMI cables. but no result
now I'm using a 2.0b premium certified cable

I ran a microcontroller reset, but no result.

if I connect the ps4 directly to the TV the CEC commands work normally
Maurizio Arci is offline  
post #4929 of 4937 Old 06-22-2019, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio Arci View Post
Hi!
my config:

Tv LG 55c8
Marantz SR6010
Ps4
himedia q10 pro
firetv stick

no audio ARC no CEC command
I have tried several HDMI cables. but no result
now I'm using a 2.0b premium certified cable

I ran a microcontroller reset, but no result.

if I connect the ps4 directly to the TV the CEC commands work normally
Oops! Wrong thread. This is the 2016 Owner's thread which discusses the SR6011. Please repost in the 2015 Owner's thread which discusses the SR6010.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...-s-thread.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4930 of 4937 Old 06-22-2019, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sorry, right thread, wrong model. my Marantz is SR6011
Maurizio Arci is offline  
post #4931 of 4937 Old 06-22-2019, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio Arci View Post
sorry, right thread, wrong model. my Marantz is SR6011
HDMI Control = ON (p. 189 Owner's manual)

ARC = ON (p. 190 Owner's manual)

If still no joy, use a universal remote (eg. Harmony) for power on and an optical cable from the TV --> AVR to pass audio from TV back to AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4932 of 4937 Old 06-22-2019, 11:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
HDMI Control = ON (p. 189 Owner's manual)

ARC = ON (p. 190 Owner's manual)

If still no joy, use a universal remote (eg. Harmony) for power on and an optical cable from the TV --> AVR to pass audio from TV back to AVR.
I'll Use Home Assistant to power on and off the sr6011. I will find a way to overcome the problem. but it seems incredible that there is neither a reason nor an official solution.

without a solution to the problem the convenience of the CEC and the ARC is lost
Maurizio Arci is offline  
post #4933 of 4937 Old 06-23-2019, 02:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio Arci View Post
I'll Use Home Assistant to power on and off the sr6011. I will find a way to overcome the problem. but it seems incredible that there is neither a reason nor an official solution.

without a solution to the problem the convenience of the CEC and the ARC is lost
HDMI issues have existed ever since HDMI was first introduced and exist with all brands of devices which is why TV installers more often simply connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4934 of 4937 Old 06-23-2019, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston'ish
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio Arci View Post
I'll Use Home Assistant to power on and off the sr6011. I will find a way to overcome the problem. but it seems incredible that there is neither a reason nor an official solution.

without a solution to the problem the convenience of the CEC and the ARC is lost
You've now experienced what most of the rest of us do at one time or another, ARC/CEC works fine until one day it doesn't, and no amount of fixing will fix it until one day 6-12 months later after changing nothing it will work again, this will be the legacy or CEC/ARC.

I long ago gave up this fight, it's no big deal in my house to just grab the right remote out of the basket
dianebrat is offline  
post #4935 of 4937 Old 06-23-2019, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio Arci View Post
I'll Use Home Assistant to power on and off the sr6011. I will find a way to overcome the problem. but it seems incredible that there is neither a reason nor an official solution.

without a solution to the problem the convenience of the CEC and the ARC is lost
Perhaps you know this but just in case, make sure you are using the TV's HDMI-2 for ARC, it's the only one that works with ARC.
cathodeRay is online now  
post #4936 of 4937 Old 07-02-2019, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Anyone ever come up with any sort of change list for the latest firmware update?
oedeooo is offline  
post #4937 of 4937 Old 07-11-2019, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
Cruentuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 6
It looks that I also got a 7011 with random buzzing and distorted sound. Mostly surround rears, but sometimes even the front left. Really strange since fronts and centers are on an external amp (Vincent SAV-P200). Bought my 7011 from Germany and live in Sweden so all official support will be messy I guess.

Probably its 2 different problems. Rears are affected by bad construction in Marantz speaker terminals, as described earlier in this thread, and front left is affected by something else. All I can say is that it sucks getballe.

My humble home cinema: minhembio.com/Cruentuz
Cruentuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
analog or toslink headphones sr6011 , audio outputs , marantz receiver ethernet playback noise , NR-1607

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off