*Official* Marantz 2016 NR-1607, SR-5011/6011/7011 owner's thread - Page 167 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7311Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 5046 Old 09-05-2019, 03:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Audio either passes to the speakers/sub (ie. HDMI Audio = "AVR") or to the TV (ie. HDMI Audio = "TV"). It can't pass to the TV speakers and the AVR speakers/sub at the same time.
Thanks for reply. I want to use only subwoofer. İsn't it possible.
moriarty0086 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 5046 Old 09-09-2019, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1312 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Marantz EU Firmware page only lists the changelog without the actual firmware itself. Why?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	56AMP1.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	2612822  
Skylinestar is offline  
post #4983 of 5046 Old 09-09-2019, 02:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
Marantz EU Firmware page only lists the changelog without the actual firmware itself. Why?
Unknown, as this thread focuses on the US models only. Note however, that prior to the release of the HEOS models, the firmware was also included for the EU models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4984 of 5046 Old 09-11-2019, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
ED2KSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Dolby Atmos with Marantz 7011

What up everyone. Having an issue with my Marantz 7011 where it has stopped decoding or accepting the dolby atmos signal? Really don't know if it's not recieving the signal or if it is and it's just not decoding it. I use an oppo 203 4k player connected with both hdmi's (to tv and marantz). Before the Marantz would display Dolby Atmos with the info button but now it's always DTS + X or Dolby True HD. Any help would truly be appreciated. Someone... HELP ME, PLEASE.
ED2KSR is offline  
post #4985 of 5046 Old 09-12-2019, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Question, is the the 7011 capable to handle 9.2.4 without the use of an outboard amp? I listen to -10db below reference at max. Sometimes even -5db. I’m using Klipsch Reference Premiere speakers which are 98db efficient. The Atmos modules are much less I think.

The MLP is 10.3ft away from the center speakers. Before I take the plunge to buy a five or 3 channel external amp I just wanted your opinions.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #4986 of 5046 Old 09-13-2019, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Question, is the the 7011 capable to handle 9.2.4 without the use of an outboard amp? I listen to -10db below reference at max. Sometimes even -5db. I’m using Klipsch Reference Premiere speakers which are 98db efficient. The Atmos modules are much less I think.

The MLP is 10.3ft away from the center speakers. Before I take the plunge to buy a five or 3 channel external amp I just wanted your opinions.
The Marantz 7011 only has 9 amplified channels. You need 13 amplified channels. Only the Marantz 8805 and Denon 8805 have 13 amplified channels.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is offline  
post #4987 of 5046 Old 09-13-2019, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Question, is the the 7011 capable to handle 9.2.4 without the use of an outboard amp? I listen to -10db below reference at max. Sometimes even -5db. I’m using Klipsch Reference Premiere speakers which are 98db efficient. The Atmos modules are much less I think.

The MLP is 10.3ft away from the center speakers. Before I take the plunge to buy a five or 3 channel external amp I just wanted your opinions.
Nope, not even using an external amp. The SR7011 is a 9CH AVR that can only expand to a maximum of 11CH with an external 2CH amp. The only major brand AVR that not only has 13 amps on board as well as can operate all 13CH is the current Denon "flagship" X8500H. The highest level Marantz AVR is the SR8012 which has 11 amps on board and can operate at most 11CH with no further expansion capability.

Note also that as of 2016, all major brand models dropped Front Wide speaker capability. The X8500H is the only current major brand AVR that can process Front Wide speakers.

The SR7011 is unable to process Front Wide, therefore, would be able to handle your remaining 7.2.4 setup using at least a 2Ch external amp.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-13-2019 at 01:20 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4988 of 5046 Old 09-13-2019, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Nope, not even using an external amp. The SR7011 is a 9CH AVR that can only expand to a maximum of 11CH with an external 2CH amp. The only major brand AVR that not only has 13 amps on board as well as can operate all 13CH is the current Denon "flagship" X8500H. The highest level Marantz AVR is the SR8012 which has 11 amps on board and can operate at most 11CH with no further expansion capability.



Note also that as of 2016, all major brand models dropped Front Wide speaker capability. The X8500H is the only current major brand AVR that can process Front Wide speakers.



The SR7011 is unable to process Front Wide, therefore, would be able to handle your remaining 7.2.4 setup using at least a 2Ch external amp.


Hi JD, I’m so sorry. I meant 5.2.4 Instead of 9.2.4.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #4989 of 5046 Old 09-13-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Hi JD, I’m so sorry. I meant 5.2.4 Instead of 9.2.4.
Well then, yes, of course, as it is a 9CH model, no additional amps required.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4990 of 5046 Old 09-13-2019, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Well then, yes, of course, as it is a 9CH model, no additional amps required.
Thank you. If 9 channels are all used, doesn’t it take strain on the receiver? Can I also play the system on reference level without distortion?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #4991 of 5046 Old 09-14-2019, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Thank you. If 9 channels are all used, doesn’t it take strain on the receiver? Can I also play the system on reference level without distortion?
This depends on the impedance/sensitivity of the speakers, size of the room, and the volume level selected.

The Front L/R and Center speakers generally draw the most power with the remaining speakers drawing very little in comparison. The Klipsch speakers are 8-ohm/98dB (ie. very easy to drive) which means, on average, they are drawing <5W at reference level (ie. 80/0dB) when seated roughly 10' from the speakers. So in the case of your setup, the SR7011 should be able to provide more than enough power to all 9 speakers without any distortion.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4992 of 5046 Old 09-14-2019, 02:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
This depends on the impedance/sensitivity of the speakers, size of the room, and the volume level selected.



The Front L/R and Center speakers generally draw the most power with the remaining speakers drawing very little in comparison. The Klipsch speakers are 8-ohm/98dB (ie. very easy to drive) which means, on average, they are drawing <5W at reference level (ie. 80/0dB) when seated roughly 10' from the speakers. So in the case of your setup, the SR7011 should be able to provide more than enough power to all 9 speakers without any distortion.


Thanks JD, you’ve just save me a lot of money! I was looking at the Emotiva XPA-3 and XPA-5, almost ordered it too. But now I can spend that money on the Atmos modules for 50% less than the cost of the Emotiva. Will order four RP-500SA’s soon!

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #4993 of 5046 Old 09-14-2019, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
ED2KSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED2KSR View Post
What up everyone. Having an issue with my Marantz 7011 where it has stopped decoding or accepting the dolby atmos signal? Really don't know if it's not recieving the signal or if it is and it's just not decoding it. I use an oppo 203 4k player connected with both hdmi's (to tv and marantz). Before the Marantz would display Dolby Atmos with the info button but now it's always DTS + X or Dolby True HD. Any help would truly be appreciated. Someone... HELP ME, PLEASE.
Yo JD Smoothie or anyone out there who might be able to help me out with this Dolby Atmos issue I will/would be so grateful/thankful. Someone with some insight on why the Marantz 7011 won't detect the Dolby Atmos signal. It changes it to Dolby True HD 7.1.
ED2KSR is offline  
post #4994 of 5046 Old 09-14-2019, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED2KSR View Post
Yo JD Smoothie or anyone out there who might be able to help me out with this Dolby Atmos issue I will/would be so grateful/thankful. Someone with some insight on why the Marantz 7011 won't detect the Dolby Atmos signal. It changes it to Dolby True HD 7.1.
The Marantz doesn't "change" the signal, rather it simply plays what the source sends to it. In order for the source to pass Atmos audio, the source must be set to "bitstream" with "Secondary Audio" or "Mix" set to OFF.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4995 of 5046 Old 09-15-2019, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
how to get the reciever to play in 2.1?

Hey you all !

Just got this reciever from my friend and evrything seems to work alright, the thing is i cant get it to play in stereo with the subwoofer on, the subwoofer is working as it should in evry multichannel modes but i want to listen to just my 2 front speakers with the added subwoofer.

All i found when searching is that LFE + Main should be choosed, and ive putted the front speakers as large.

Anyone have an idea what im missing ?

Regards
Andreas Holmdin is offline  
post #4996 of 5046 Old 09-15-2019, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Holmdin View Post
Hey you all !



Just got this reciever from my friend and evrything seems to work alright, the thing is i cant get it to play in stereo with the subwoofer on, the subwoofer is working as it should in evry multichannel modes but i want to listen to just my 2 front speakers with the added subwoofer.



All i found when searching is that LFE + Main should be choosed, and ive putted the front speakers as large.



Anyone have an idea what im missing ?



Regards
Switch the speakers to small. Really should do that for all modes if you have a capable subwoofer. Small doesn't mean size it just means frequency capability.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is offline  
post #4997 of 5046 Old 09-15-2019, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
ED2KSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The Marantz doesn't "change" the signal, rather it simply plays what the source sends to it. In order for the source to pass Atmos audio, the source must be set to "bitstream" with "Secondary Audio" or "Mix" set to OFF.
Thank you JDSMOOTHIE for your response and help. After your reply I looked up dolby atoms and found that some responders stated to certain issues that switching to direct mode help. I pressed the PURE button and it displayed the sound modes. There I saw the Dolby Atmos signal and selected it. Now I can't remember if it was always the sound mode DOLBY ATMOS / SURROUND or it ever was DOLBY ATMOS / NEURAL-X? (I always hit the info button and saw that the output was DOLBY ATMOS. As it is, I don't know why it switched down to the surround mode Dolby True HD and not just stay selected on Atmos as it always had. I guess I was always presuming it would automatically switch to the Dolby Atmos sound/signal. My bad. I feel somewhat dumb.----- In the end, I have my Dolby Atmos working.



Once again, THANK YOU for your response which gave me energy to continue trying and figure out what was happening.
ED2KSR is offline  
post #4998 of 5046 Old 09-15-2019, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Holmdin View Post
Hey you all !

Just got this reciever from my friend and evrything seems to work alright, the thing is i cant get it to play in stereo with the subwoofer on, the subwoofer is working as it should in evry multichannel modes but i want to listen to just my 2 front speakers with the added subwoofer.

All i found when searching is that LFE + Main should be choosed, and ive putted the front speakers as large.

Anyone have an idea what im missing ?

Regards
Set the Front L/R speakers to "SMALL/80Hz". Set the sub back to the factory default of "LFE". Select "MUSIC - STEREO" sound mode.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4999 of 5046 Old 09-16-2019, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Set the Front L/R speakers to "SMALL/80Hz". Set the sub back to the factory default of "LFE". Select "MUSIC - STEREO" sound mode.
Hey.

Thanks for the 2 replays. tried it without any succes, my subwoofer is still dead in stereo mode.. I was thinking if it has anything to do with my config, i have a (dont know exact word in english) another amplifier only for the Front speakers ( Pre Out ) and because of that it looks like the front speakers ends up in zone 2, is this correct ? Can this have anything to do with it ?

Maybee im thinking kinda stupid but why isnt there just a mode / a button that puts the amplifier in 2.1 ? gotta be an extremely common mode to listen to music in ?

Thanks again guys for assisting, appriciate it alot.

Regards
Andreas Holmdin is offline  
post #5000 of 5046 Old 09-16-2019, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Holmdin View Post
Hey.

Thanks for the 2 replays. tried it without any succes, my subwoofer is still dead in stereo mode.. I was thinking if it has anything to do with my config, i have a (dont know exact word in english) another amplifier only for the Front speakers ( Pre Out ) and because of that it looks like the front speakers ends up in zone 2, is this correct ? Can this have anything to do with it ?

Maybee im thinking kinda stupid but why isnt there just a mode / a button that puts the amplifier in 2.1 ? gotta be an extremely common mode to listen to music in ?

Thanks again guys for assisting, appriciate it alot.

Regards
This thread covers 4 different models. Which one do you own?

The external amp cables should be plugged in to the pre-outs labeled "Front" not "Zone 2".

Press the MUSIC - STEREO button for 2.1 audio.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5001 of 5046 Old 09-16-2019, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
this thread covers 4 different models. Which one do you own?

The external amp cables should be plugged in to the pre-outs labeled "front" not "zone 2".

Press the music - stereo button for 2.1 audio.
sr-6011
Andreas Holmdin is offline  
post #5002 of 5046 Old 09-17-2019, 02:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
So today I saw an update for HEOS in the iOS App Store. It states that Alexa and Google is now supported for all HEOS devices, does this also contain the Marantz 7011? If so, how can I set it up?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #5003 of 5046 Old 09-17-2019, 02:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
So today I saw an update for HEOS in the iOS App Store. It states that Alexa and Google is now supported for all HEOS devices, does this also contain the Marantz 7011? If so, how can I set it up?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5004 of 5046 Old 09-17-2019, 02:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Thank you, can you confirm that the Marantz 7011 is compatible?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #5005 of 5046 Old 09-17-2019, 03:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Thank you, can you confirm that the Marantz 7011 is compatible?
https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5928
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5006 of 5046 Old 09-24-2019, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone!

Just ran across an audio issue the other day, and now I can't let it go...

Marantz SR7011 EU running firmware "6461-1138-8402-0525".
Speakers are Triangle Genese Trio and one SVS-SB4000.
Running in STEREO-mode with fronts set as SMALL/80Hz.
Audyssey and M-DAX is OFF.

Played the track "Winterplay : Hey Bob - Rejazzed" with Spotify Connect and noticed clear distortion when the singer goes high between 2:23 - 2:40.

Tested the same track in FLAC-format, from a CD.
This time I played it from a USB-stick in the front of the AVR, and also over LAN from my DLNA-server.
Same distortion happened at the exact same spot.

- Switched to DIRECT, and PURE DIRECT-mode: problem gone!

- Back to STEREO-mode: Problem returned, as expected.

- 2ch Playback: Switched fronts to LARGE: Problem gone!

Soo... when fronts are set to SMALL, the sound distorts on rare occasions... but not when set to LARGE.
I'm thinking it could be because there is one less conversion of the audio signal with fronts LARGE... but I don't know.
Also, I obviously need to have it set to small to get the sub playing.

Would appreciate any thoughts on this.
nisse1979 is offline  
post #5007 of 5046 Old 09-28-2019, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm running into an issue with my SR7011 that I couldn't find discussed earlier in the thread with zone2. I'm running a 4k hdmi cable from the zone2 output into a 4k hdmi audio extractor and then running a coax cable from the extractor into my headphone amp. Everything works fine as far as the audio goes but whenever the zone2 hdmi output is active, the video signal from the monitor1 hdmi output changes from 4k to 1080p. This happens if I manually configure the output on zone2 and it also happens if I activate zone2 by turning on 'all zone stereo'.

Can the SR7011 output a 4k signal to monitor1 while zone2 hdmi output is active? If yes, any suggestions on what is causing my issue? Thanks.
daniel665544 is offline  
post #5008 of 5046 Old 09-28-2019, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,544
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22880 Post(s)
Liked: 12507
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel665544 View Post
I'm running into an issue with my SR7011 that I couldn't find discussed earlier in the thread with zone2. I'm running a 4k hdmi cable from the zone2 output into a 4k hdmi audio extractor and then running a coax cable from the extractor into my headphone amp. Everything works fine as far as the audio goes but whenever the zone2 hdmi output is active, the video signal from the monitor1 hdmi output changes from 4k to 1080p. This happens if I manually configure the output on zone2 and it also happens if I activate zone2 by turning on 'all zone stereo'.

Can the SR7011 output a 4k signal to monitor1 while zone2 hdmi output is active? If yes, any suggestions on what is causing my issue? Thanks.
If the Zone 2 HDMI sink is able to receive a 4k video signal (eg. 4k TV), there should be no issue with passing the same 4k source to both the Monitor 1 HDMI output and the Zone 2 HDMI monitor output, otherwise, if the AVR detects the Zone 2 HDMI sink can only receive a 1080p signal, then it will downmix the main zone monitor 1 output to 1080p when the same 4k source is passed to both zones. There should be no issue passing a 4k source to the Monitor 1 output while a separate 1080p source is passed to the Zone 2 HDMI monitor output.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5009 of 5046 Old 09-29-2019, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If the Zone 2 HDMI sink is able to receive a 4k video signal (eg. 4k TV), there should be no issue with passing the same 4k source to both the Monitor 1 HDMI output and the Zone 2 HDMI monitor output, otherwise, if the AVR detects the Zone 2 HDMI sink can only receive a 1080p signal, then it will downmix the main zone monitor 1 output to 1080p when the same 4k source is passed to both zones. There should be no issue passing a 4k source to the Monitor 1 output while a separate 1080p source is passed to the Zone 2 HDMI monitor output.
Good to know, thanks. I'm hoping its my cheap 4k HDMI extractor. I'm going to try swapping it with a different one tomorrow.
daniel665544 is offline  
post #5010 of 5046 Old 09-29-2019, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
MrMustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a way to adjust the volume of the test tones that play during calibration? I listen at low to medium levels and don't want to annoy my neighbors. My receiver is the 5011.
MrMustard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
analog or toslink headphones sr6011 , audio outputs , marantz receiver ethernet playback noise , NR-1607

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off