*Official* Marantz 2016 NR-1607, SR-5011/6011/7011 owner's thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7308Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 919 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The much awaited app has finally been released ....



https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...eyMultEq&hl=en



https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/audy...210584625?mt=8



This app will allow you to:

•View the speaker detection results, to check correct installation

•View before and after results of the Audyssey calibration, making it easy to identify room problems.

•Edit the Audyssey target curve for each channel pair to suit your tastes

•Adjust the overall EQ frequency rolloff for each channel pair

•Switch between 2 high frequency rolloff target curves

•Enable/Disable midrange compensation to make the sound brighter or smoother

•Save and load calibration results





***** Note the most recent firmware update also allows the AVR to use this new app so ensure your AVR has the most up to date firmware. *****


Has anyone experience with this app? What are your first thoughts? Is it worth it for my to purchase a newer model coming from the 6010?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I finally add 2 rears for 5.1 to my 7011. They are connected to Surround L & R on back of 7011.

The only time they play sound is when the AVR is set to Multi-Channel channel stereo or when playing a source with Dolby.

Info shows SW FL C FR SL SR lit, but there is no sound in SL or SR.

Is there a setting somewhere messing me up? Is the 7011 capable of creating 5 channels from a stereo source?

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1593 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I finally add 2 rears for 5.1 to my 7011. They are connected to Surround L & R on back of 7011.

The only time they play sound is when the AVR is set to Multi-Channel channel stereo or when playing a source with Dolby.

Info shows SW FL C FR SL SR lit, but there is no sound in SL or SR.

Is there a setting somewhere messing me up? Is the 7011 capable of creating 5 channels from a stereo source?
Yup. Just select Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X when the 2Ch source is playing.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1594 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Here's a weird one for you: the last couple of days, when playing things at my normal volume, the receiver will drop the volume by .5dB. Like the on-screen volume display pops up (without me touching the remote) and the volume goes down .5dB from where I had it set.

I'm going to see if the behavior continues. I'm also going to try jiggling the volume knob, just in case I somehow messed it up.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, PS4, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #1595 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. Just select Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X when the 2Ch source is playing.
This is what I am having an issue with, as stated. The only time the surrounds play is in Multi CH stereo or with a Dolby or DTS feed. They do not play when the source is 2 channel.

The lights indicate they are all active in info.

I tried what you said and expected that to work.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1596 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuBerger View Post
I've been having HDMI handshaking issues between the 6011 and the Sony 850D only when the 850D's HDMI setting is set to enhanced. When it is, I get loss of picture and at times sounds when the HDMI sing also is set to enhanced and going from a 4K source like DIRECTV to a standard high def (1080i) channel.
seems like same issue - i'm using a sony 930d....hmm
Ethos4Lyfe is offline  
post #1597 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
First ensure you are using the newer "Premium" certified 4k/18gbps HDMI cables. Set "Deep Color Output" on the source device to OFF and if necessary set the Video Conversion setting on the AVR to OFF as well.
yeah, the cables work in the front of marantz, but not rear though...why would that be? using sony 930d set to enhanced...ill try turning off the upscaler on the 7011 maybe. just doesn't make sense that some (or in my case one) of hdmi ports work and others dont
Ethos4Lyfe is offline  
post #1598 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Hi guys, just got a 6011 today. Seems awesome so far, but I'm noticing that if I go to setup and raise the sub level, it appears to be global. I only want to boost the sub for my CD input. Is this possible? On my old Marantz, it would remember the sub level for each input. Sorry if this has been asked already.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1599 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by In.vincible View Post
Hi guys, just got a 6011 today. Seems awesome so far, but I'm noticing that if I go to setup and raise the sub level, it appears to be global. I only want to boost the sub for my CD input. Is this possible? On my old Marantz, it would remember the sub level for each input. Sorry if this has been asked already.
While the CD source is selected ---> Option - Channel Level Adjust - Subwoofer
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1600 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
While the CD source is selected ---> Option - Channel Level Adjust - Subwoofer
Thanks. I was messing with this, and it seems to do what I want but it does not seem to have the same effect. If I adjust the sub by say +5 in the main setup menu there is a lot more bass than if I use the channel level adjust by +5.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1601 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jphillips63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Shelbyville, TN
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What is the source of the Amazon movies? If the TV, then you can either pass the audio back to the AVR via an optical cable from the TV --> AVR or using the HDMI(ARC) connection (although this doesn't always work as designed). For HDMI(ARC) set the HDMI-CEC on the TV and the AVR to ON and set the TV audio to "external speakers/home theater."
I'm running the shows thru the TV app. I've got the AVR hooked to the TV via HDMI thrust the ARC ports. I can turn the AVR off and then I get sound thru the TV speakers.

James
jphillips63 is online now  
post #1602 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1847 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The much awaited app has finally been released ....

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...eyMultEq&hl=en

https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/audy...210584625?mt=8

This app will allow you to:
•View the speaker detection results, to check correct installation
•View before and after results of the Audyssey calibration, making it easy to identify room problems.
•Edit the Audyssey target curve for each channel pair to suit your tastes
•Adjust the overall EQ frequency rolloff for each channel pair
•Switch between 2 high frequency rolloff target curves
•Enable/Disable midrange compensation to make the sound brighter or smoother
•Save and load calibration results


***** Note the most recent firmware update also allows the AVR to use this new app so ensure your AVR has the most up to date firmware. *****
I'm interested in this as well.

Would like to get feedback from users on how the Audyssey app works. In particular if Audyssey can be turned OFF on each channel pair while retaining others.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #1603 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Ok I have had more time to focus on my problem and it is even more confusing. 7011

Signal PCM

When using Movie sound:
Stereo plays back FR FL
Dolby surround plays Center only with faint ( not hearable from more than a few inches) FR and RL
DTS NeuralX plays Center only
Multi channel stereo plays all speakers
Virtual plays RF and LF only

I ran Audyssey after connecting surrounds. What setting could be doing this? Need I need to reset and start over?

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1604 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 10:10 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Regarding sub trims...

I found an older post in another thread and there are two options. There is "sub level offset" which appears to be a global setting, but it's also very screwed up. I read that as soon as it's toggled on, it sets the sub to 0. For example, Audyssey set mine to -8 dB. As soon as I enable sub level offset, my sub output changes by 8 dB So by turning that option on and adding +4, I was really boosting my sub by 12 dB from where Audyssey put it. What a stupid control.

OTOH, if I use "channel level adjust", it applies only to that input, and functions as one would think. If I add +6 to the sub, it raises it +6 from flat (where Audy set it). Guess that is the control I'll be using.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1605 of 4973 Old 04-04-2017, 11:35 PM
paf
Member
 
paf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
While the CD source is selected ---> Option - Channel Level Adjust - Subwoofer
i too had an issue with subx2 channel level select (6011) i have a pc connected to the amp by
HDMI i use power dvd with non decoding and sending signal to amp to decode, this works great and the amp sees all the demos ive downloaded dolby atmos ,dts.x, dts master etc.

but when I wanted to adjust the subwoofers when a bluray was OTT I used the channel level adjust (can only be used while source is playing) one off the subwoofers on the adjust channel was at -12db and the other set at +12db

so my question is this ... if I'm adjusting the source sound from the pc and the pc is not doing anything to the sound other then sending it to the amp via HDMI then what is deciding that one subwoofer should be almost turned off

also i would like to know this.. if you press info while source is playing a 7.1 encoded bluray
does the 6011 graphics show two LFE (if two subwoofers are connected) or just the one regardless of how may subwoofers are connected.. thank you
Simon R. likes this.
paf is offline  
post #1606 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by In.vincible View Post
Regarding sub trims...

I found an older post in another thread and there are two options. There is "sub level offset" which appears to be a global setting, but it's also very screwed up. I read that as soon as it's toggled on, it sets the sub to 0. For example, Audyssey set mine to -8 dB. As soon as I enable sub level offset, my sub output changes by 8 dB So by turning that option on and adding +4, I was really boosting my sub by 12 dB from where Audyssey put it. What a stupid control.

OTOH, if I use "channel level adjust", it applies only to that input, and functions as one would think. If I add +6 to the sub, it raises it +6 from flat (where Audy set it). Guess that is the control I'll be using.
Correct. NEVER use "Subwoofer Level Adjust" or "Dialog Level Adjust" for the reason you just noted. Rather instead, to make channel volume changes globally across all sources you should instead use "Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones - (speaker/sub)."
In.vincible likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1607 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by paf View Post
i too had an issue with subx2 channel level select (6011) i have a pc connected to the amp by
HDMI i use power dvd with non decoding and sending signal to amp to decode, this works great and the amp sees all the demos ive downloaded dolby atmos ,dts.x, dts master etc.

but when I wanted to adjust the subwoofers when a bluray was OTT I used the channel level adjust (can only be used while source is playing) one off the subwoofers on the adjust channel was at -12db and the other set at +12db

so my question is this ... if I'm adjusting the source sound from the pc and the pc is not doing anything to the sound other then sending it to the amp via HDMI then what is deciding that one subwoofer should be almost turned off

also i would like to know this.. if you press info while source is playing a 7.1 encoded bluray
does the 6011 graphics show two LFE (if two subwoofers are connected) or just the one regardless of how may subwoofers are connected.. thank you
1. The Channel Level Adjust values all start out at 0. Any change +/- setting is then applied to the value set in Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones.
2. When running Audyssey, (on the SR6011 and SR7011) the Sub EQ HT feature will set the level/delay of each sub separately prior to Audyssey EQ'ing the subs together. The sub that got set to -12db needs to have the volume/gain knob reduced to about 9 o'clock and the sub that got set to +12db needs to have the volume/gain knob raised higher (although is more likely simply defective).
3. There is only one LFE signal (which is mirrored to each sub), so only one LFE icon displays.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1608 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
Ok I have had more time to focus on my problem and it is even more confusing. 7011

Signal PCM

When using Movie sound:
Stereo plays back FR FL
Dolby surround plays Center only with faint ( not hearable from more than a few inches) FR and RL
DTS NeuralX plays Center only
Multi channel stereo plays all speakers
Virtual plays RF and LF only

I ran Audyssey after connecting surrounds. What setting could be doing this? Need I need to reset and start over?
Correct. Something is wrong with your AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1609 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
I'm interested in this as well.

Would like to get feedback from users on how the Audyssey app works. In particular if Audyssey can be turned OFF on each channel pair while retaining others.
Yes.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1610 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos4Lyfe View Post
yeah, the cables work in the front of marantz, but not rear though...why would that be? using sony 930d set to enhanced...ill try turning off the upscaler on the 7011 maybe. just doesn't make sense that some (or in my case one) of hdmi ports work and others dont
Not what I asked. Are you using the newer "Premium" certified 4k/18gbps cables? Try disabling Deep Color Output on the Sony.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1611 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Larrydrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Relatively new user here - just acquired a new setup and have an issue I cannot figure out. I'd appreciate any help, or direction on where to go for help. My full system isn't set up yet - but here is the issue: I have a Marantz SR6011 and an LG OLED 65"B model. ATT arrived to install U-verse. We have 4 boxes, one is the DVR box (Arris VIP2250) and the other three are Moto VIP1200. Everything works fine with the VIP1200 boxes, when the HDMI chain is VIP1200 to Marantz to TV. When we connected the VIP2250 the same way, the video would freeze and if I changed the channel it would unfreeze.... however when I removed the Marantz from the chain and plugged the HDMI from VIP2250 direct to TV, it works fine. I am using the HDMI2 input on the TV in both cases (this is the ARC one). Since the VIP2250 works correctly when directly attached to the TV, it appears I have some sort of configuration or compatibility issue and not a defective component. Thanks in advance for any help!
Larrydrums is offline  
post #1612 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 02:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,343
Mentioned: 720 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22199 Post(s)
Liked: 12058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larrydrums View Post
Relatively new user here - just acquired a new setup and have an issue I cannot figure out. I'd appreciate any help, or direction on where to go for help. My full system isn't set up yet - but here is the issue: I have a Marantz SR6011 and an LG OLED 65"B model. ATT arrived to install U-verse. We have 4 boxes, one is the DVR box (Arris VIP2250) and the other three are Moto VIP1200. Everything works fine with the VIP1200 boxes, when the HDMI chain is VIP1200 to Marantz to TV. When we connected the VIP2250 the same way, the video would freeze and if I changed the channel it would unfreeze.... however when I removed the Marantz from the chain and plugged the HDMI from VIP2250 direct to TV, it works fine. I am using the HDMI2 input on the TV in both cases (this is the ARC one). Since the VIP2250 works correctly when directly attached to the TV, it appears I have some sort of configuration or compatibility issue and not a defective component. Thanks in advance for any help!
Correct. Incompatibility with the DVR. Try powering on the components in a specific sequence, generally TV, pause 5 seconds, AVR, pause 5 seconds, DVR (although order may be different). If still no joy, DVR will have to be connected to TV with optical to AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1613 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. Something is wrong with your AVR.
I have since tried airplay from computer and sound works in the various formats.
It also seems to work with the phono player, so it might be isolated to my cable box settings.

So far, I seem to only get the problems when using cable box for tv viewing through HDMI.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear

Last edited by landonsdad; 04-05-2017 at 07:46 AM. Reason: more testing
landonsdad is offline  
post #1614 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First time poster, long time browser. While playing PS4 Pro on a
UN65KS8000, I enter the Information Screen on the NR1607 and it says 8-bit for the pixel depth. I know the KS8000 and the PS4 Pro are capable of 10-bit, so what do I need to do to get the 10-bit? All the settings are correct on the PS4 Pro (ie 4k and HDR). Thanks in advance for all you guys do on here for the community.

Samsung UN65KS8000
Marantz NR1607
Pioneer Andrew Jones SP-PK52FS
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro
mattjames80 is offline  
post #1615 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 09:19 AM
Member
 
janila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I bought the Audyssey app. It wants me to connect the mic and start the calibration and there doesn't seem to be a way to edit the already calibrated setup. Is this the way it's supposed to work? Do I have to run the calibration again?
janila is offline  
post #1616 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
I bought the Audyssey app. It wants me to connect the mic and start the calibration and there doesn't seem to be a way to edit the already calibrated setup. Is this the way it's supposed to work? Do I have to run the calibration again?
That's kind of a bummer. I literally just ran my cal yesterday, and was thinking of buying the app today. Let us know if there's another option. I'd rather not have to re-run it if I don't have to.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1617 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2846
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
Ok I have had more time to focus on my problem and it is even more confusing. 7011

Signal PCM

When using Movie sound:
Stereo plays back FR FL
Dolby surround plays Center only with faint ( not hearable from more than a few inches) FR and RL
DTS NeuralX plays Center only
Multi channel stereo plays all speakers
Virtual plays RF and LF only

I ran Audyssey after connecting surrounds. What setting could be doing this? Need I need to reset and start over?

When the source soundtrack includes exactly the same audio in both L and R channels (also called Dual Mono), DTS Neural:X and Dolby Surround send sound only to the center channel. Many TV channels are like this. The upmixers use phase differences between the two signals to decide which speakers to use.

Traditionally, in-phase signals (e.g. dual mono) are sent to the center channel, and perfectly out-of-phase signals are sent to the surround speakers. Modern upmixers use a somewhat more sophisticated de-matrixing algorithm, but they still need there to be differences between the two channels.

If you know for a fact that the L and R channels are providing different audio signals, then your receiver is most likely defective.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1618 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2846
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I have since tried airplay from computer and sound works in the various formats.
It also seems to work with the phono player, so it might be isolated to my cable box settings.

So far, I seem to only get the problems when using cable box for tv viewing through HDMI.
Try different cable channels. On our local Spectrum (previously Time Warner) cable, I'd guess that at least a third of the stations are dual mono. Others send stereo in a 5.1 container. In that case, the upmixers don't send anything to the surround channels because they think they're all in use but silent. It's really quite annoying.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1619 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
When the source soundtrack includes exactly the same audio in both L and R channels (also called Dual Mono), DTS Neural:X and Dolby Surround send sound only to the center channel. Many TV channels are like this. The upmixers use phase differences between the two signals to decide which speakers to use.

Traditionally, in-phase signals (e.g. dual mono) are sent to the center channel, and perfectly out-of-phase signals are sent to the surround speakers. Modern upmixers use a somewhat more sophisticated de-matrixing algorithm, but they still need there to be differences between the two channels.

If you know for a fact that the L and R channels are providing different audio signals, then your receiver is most likely defective.
I think this sounds like my problem.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1620 of 4973 Old 04-05-2017, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Try different cable channels. On our local Spectrum (previously Time Warner) cable, I'd guess that at least a third of the stations are dual mono. Others send stereo in a 5.1 container. In that case, the upmixers don't send anything to the surround channels because they think they're all in use but silent. It's really quite annoying.
I have Spectrum. I believe you are correct on the mono stereo.

You confused me on the 5.1 container. Should this work? Or is it just like the mono stereo?

Phono and music from airplay work fine.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
analog or toslink headphones sr6011 , audio outputs , marantz receiver ethernet playback noise , NR-1607

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off