*Official* Marantz 2016 NR-1607, SR-5011/6011/7011 owner's thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7309Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,832
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I have Spectrum. I believe you are correct on the mono stereo.

You confused me on the 5.1 container. Should this work? Or is it just like the mono stereo?

Phono and music from airplay work fine.
To put it another way, some stations transmit Dolby 5.1 surround sound but don't actually provide any audio in the surround channels. They provide sound only in the front Left and Right channels. So far as the receiver is concerned, the side surround channels are in use but just happen to be silent. Unfortunately, when it then tries to upmix to more than 5.1 channels, there's nothing it can do: upmixing silence yields silence
fredxr2d2 likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I have Spectrum. I believe you are correct on the mono stereo.

You confused me on the 5.1 container. Should this work? Or is it just like the mono stereo?

Phono and music from airplay work fine.
What he's describing in the 5.1 container is this:

The TV outputs 5.1 channels to your receiver (so your receiver "sees" 5.1), but in actuality, the channel only has 2.0 material, so it is sending FL and FR, and then an empty (silent) C, SL, SR. This makes it so that your receiver cannot do any matrixing of the sound to the Center or Surround channels because it "thinks" it is getting 5.1 when it is not.

This is actually a major gripe I have with the way that the PS4 handles audio (it does the same thing - sending empty channels).

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, PS4, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #1623 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not what I asked. Are you using the newer "Premium" certified 4k/18gbps cables? Try disabling Deep Color Output on the Sony.
Sorry about that - I'm using the HDMI cable that came packed w/ the Oppo 203
Ethos4Lyfe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1624 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
I bought the Audyssey app. It wants me to connect the mic and start the calibration and there doesn't seem to be a way to edit the already calibrated setup. Is this the way it's supposed to work? Do I have to run the calibration again?
Correct. The Audyssey calibration must be run again using the app which can then be edited and sent back to the AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1625 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
What he's describing in the 5.1 container is this:

The TV outputs 5.1 channels to your receiver (so your receiver "sees" 5.1), but in actuality, the channel only has 2.0 material, so it is sending FL and FR, and then an empty (silent) C, SL, SR. This makes it so that your receiver cannot do any matrixing of the sound to the Center or Surround channels because it "thinks" it is getting 5.1 when it is not.

This is actually a major gripe I have with the way that the PS4 handles audio (it does the same thing - sending empty channels).
So we need an older rec to take this and output 2.0 stereo to Marantz so Marantz can then convert this to 5.1, etc.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1626 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
So we need an older rec to take this and output 2.0 stereo to Marantz so Marantz can then convert this to 5.1, etc.
I guess you could do it that way. Seems like a lot of extra work. The problem is with the way that the TV is outputting the sound (which may be dependent on certain TV channels putting out incorrect info). I've found that I just live with it and sit in the MLP where the 2.0 signal creates a phantom center anyway.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, PS4, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #1627 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredxr2d2 View Post
I guess you could do it that way. Seems like a lot of extra work. The problem is with the way that the TV is outputting the sound (which may be dependent on certain TV channels putting out incorrect info). I've found that I just live with it and sit in the MLP where the 2.0 signal creates a phantom center anyway.
I was joking.... lol

But when the sound is in the center, maybe using the center spread setting might help.

I am not sure I even get the sub working when AVR is confused by these outputs.

LG OLED65E6P Marantz 7011 ML Motion 50XT Center ML Motion 4's rear
landonsdad is offline  
post #1628 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I was joking.... lol

But when the sound is in the center, maybe using the center spread setting might help.

I am not sure I even get the sub working when AVR is confused by these outputs.
Sorry, I didn't catch the joke.

Your sub should be working at frequencies below the crossover for whatever you give it, from 1.0 to 7.1.4 material. The receiver simply takes the information below the crossover and sends it to your sub (not a brick wall, but a rolloff, usually).

It should be noted that any signal that is 1.0 or 2.0 or even 5.0 will not have the .1 LFE track, which is where modern movies put all their fun bassiness. The other channels have bass information, but it is not boosted and not added for effect like the Low Frequency Effects channel is.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas (circa 2012)

Currently watching on: JVC X790, 106" 0.8 Gain Screen, FireTV Stick 4K, PS4, Oppo 203, w/Marantz SR6011, 2 Outlaw M2200, Outlaw Model 5000, SVS Subs, Def Tech Speakers
fredxr2d2 is online now  
post #1629 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 01:51 PM
Member
 
janila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. The Audyssey calibration must be run again using the app which can then be edited and sent back to the AVR.
Ok. Thanks. Seems counterintuitive as the app gets the speaker setup from the AVR so why can't it get the Audyssey data. I'll run it tomorrow and report here how it works and feels.

Last edited by janila; 04-05-2017 at 01:56 PM.
janila is offline  
post #1630 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
Ok. Thanks. Seems counterintuitive as the app gets the speaker setup from the AVR so why can't it get the Audyssey data. I'll run it tomorrow and report here how it works and feels.
Does seem kind of dumb, but oh well. I just bought the app, so I'm gonna run it and see how it goes. I'm pretty happy with how my Audy ref. curve sounds as is, but I think there is room for a few tweaks.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1631 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
Ok. Thanks. Seems counterintuitive as the app gets the speaker setup from the AVR so why can't it get the Audyssey data. I'll run it tomorrow and report here how it works and feels.
Not in the required file format.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1632 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Things are sounding pretty good. Some of it may be due to the new amp which is pushing more power to the speakers (and whatever other magic it's doing), but music is sounding good. I got the Audyssey app and re-ran the calibration. One thing I noticed right away was that it set the sub to -5.5. When I ran it last night without the app, it set it to -8 dB. At any rate, I think it sounds better with more bass, so whatever. Other than that, speaker levels came out about the same, and the REW measurement looked similar.

There are a few options in the app, but I ultimately decided to leave things pretty much as is. The one thing I did was change the high freq. rolloff from version 1 to version 2, which supposedly applies a bit more rolloff for medium to large rooms.

Other than that, I turned on DEQ, set ref. offset to 10 dB, and boosted the sub by +4 dB. So far, I like what I'm hearing. Not sure how much going from MultEQ to XT32 changed the high end, but it really tamed a big bass peak that MultEQ couldn't. DEQ seems to work well even for music now that the bass peak is smoothed a bit.

Here is where I was with my Marantz NR1403 with MultEQ:



And here is where I'm at with the 6011 with XT32. Blue line is rolloff 1 and red is rolloff option 2.

In.vincible is offline  
post #1633 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I'm now kicking myself I bought an SR6010 in September last year now that I'm planning an Atmos setup.
Yeahnah is offline  
post #1634 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1848 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes.
Great to hear this.

With the ability to select which pair of speakers to have Audyssey filters (or not to have), the ability to set limit(s) on the frequencies for correction and modify the target curve, Audyssey is now on par with Dirac Live! Adds another layer of thought what to do for a future setup with the MiniDSP in the audio chain.

It would have been nice for Marantz to increase the memory on the receiver/pre-pro. This would enable switching between saved configurations via the quick select buttons. Maybe next year's model.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #1635 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1848 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by In.vincible View Post
Things are sounding pretty good. Some of it may be due to the new amp which is pushing more power to the speakers (and whatever other magic it's doing), but music is sounding good. I got the Audyssey app and re-ran the calibration. One thing I noticed right away was that it set the sub to -5.5. When I ran it last night without the app, it set it to -8 dB. At any rate, I think it sounds better with more bass, so whatever. Other than that, speaker levels came out about the same, and the REW measurement looked similar.

There are a few options in the app, but I ultimately decided to leave things pretty much as is. The one thing I did was change the high freq. rolloff from version 1 to version 2, which supposedly applies a bit more rolloff for medium to large rooms.

Other than that, I turned on DEQ, set ref. offset to 10 dB, and boosted the sub by +4 dB. So far, I like what I'm hearing. Not sure how much going from MultEQ to XT32 changed the high end, but it really tamed a big bass peak that MultEQ couldn't. DEQ seems to work well even for music now that the bass peak is smoothed a bit.

Here is where I was with my Marantz NR1403 with MultEQ:



And here is where I'm at with the 6011 with XT32. Blue line is rolloff 1 and red is rolloff option 2.

Audyssey XT32 has more correction filters applied at the lower frequencies compared to MultiEQ - if the settings and test conditions between the NR1403 and SR6011 are the same. This is evident in your two graphs for frequencies below 500Hz. I.e. the peak to valley dip between 100Hz to 80Hz has been corrected in XT32 compared to MultiEQ.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 04-05-2017 at 06:28 PM. Reason: additional text
steveting99 is offline  
post #1636 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
In.vincible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Audyssey XT32 has more correction filters applied at the lower frequencies compared to MultiEQ - if the settings and test conditions between the NR1403 and SR6011 are the same. This is evident in your two graphs for frequencies below 500Hz. I.e. the peak to valley dip between 100Hz to 80Hz has been corrected in XT32 compared to MultiEQ.
Makes sense. The bass definitely sounds better than before

The Audy app is pretty cool, but I kind of wish they had the option to save multiple curves to the AVR instead of just one. It's hard to do an A/B comparison since I can't flip back and forth quickly. Flipping back between pure direct and EQ, it seems that Audyssey is making the biggest improvements to my system in the bass region. There aren't huge differences in the higher freqs, but I think the most noticeable thing it's doing there is the BBC dip. I left that in since I think it sounds OK.
In.vincible is offline  
post #1637 of 5021 Old 04-05-2017, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1848 Post(s)
Liked: 651
^ In.vincible,

You might be interested in the various curves given by Harmon and other audio specialist as shown below. Compare that to the standard Audyssey curve.

In.vincible likes this.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #1638 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 01:56 AM
Member
 
janila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I ran the Audyssey with the app and everything worked as expected. It would be great if the AVR could save and instantly load at least two complete data sets to allow comparing more subtle changes but other than that everything seems nice.

One thing left me a bit puzzled. The AVR says that Reference curve is being used no matter what I do in the app. Does this mean that after loading a preset from the app the AVR remembers what was set in the app even if it says Reference, but if I change the curve in the AVR to Flat and then back to Reference the curve will be the factory Reference curve with the midrange compensation?

If so, is the factory Reference curve a combination of High Frequency Roll Off 2 and Midrange Compensation on for all channels? And the factory Flat curve a combination of High Frequency Roll Off 1 and Midrange Compensation off for all channels?
janila is offline  
post #1639 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 02:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
I ran the Audyssey with the app and everything worked as expected. It would be great if the AVR could save and instantly load at least two complete data sets to allow comparing more subtle changes but other than that everything seems nice.

One thing left me a bit puzzled. The AVR says that Reference curve is being used no matter what I do in the app. Does this mean that after loading a preset from the app the AVR remembers what was set in the app even if it says Reference, but if I change the curve in the AVR to Flat and then back to Reference the curve will be the factory Reference curve with the midrange compensation?

If so, is the factory Reference curve a combination of High Frequency Roll Off 2 and Midrange Compensation on for all channels? And the factory Flat curve a combination of High Frequency Roll Off 1 and Midrange Compensation off for all channels?
No. If you load the Audyssey EQ from the app (having disabled the midrange compensation), you are overwriting the previous "factory Reference curve" run using the on board Audyssey program.
janila likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-06-2017 at 02:05 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1640 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos4Lyfe View Post
Has anybody had any 4K pass through issues w/ their 7011? Sorry if this has been posted here (there's alot to skim through), but I have had this issue for quite some time.

When connecting the Oppo 203 or PS4 Pro, I only get audio and video if I connect to the front HDMI port....when either is connected to ANY HDMI port on the rear of the AVR, I lose picture and get the "no signal detected" on my Sony.

Marantz, Oppo, nor Sony has an answer - I have spent hours researching this and talking on the phone w/ all of them. I know its not a defective unit, because I swapped to the Denon 6300, and had the same issue. So I switched back to a different 7011, and have the same issue. All the gear is in a cabinet, so it's not a huge deal, but I always have the front panel open with a wire connected to it.

Any ideas? And yes, all firmware is up to date on all devices. I had thought about maybe shutting off some kind of upscaling on the Marantz, but not sure if that is possible? And I think I tried that when it first happened back in November.

Thanks!
Any other SR7011 owners having issues passing 4k video using either the Oppo 203 or PS4 Pro when connected to the rear HDMI inputs?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1641 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 02:36 AM
Member
 
janila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No. If you load the Audyssey EQ from the app (having disabled the midrange compensation), you are overwriting the previous "factory Reference curve" run using the on board Audyssey program.
Sorry, I don't understand the last sentence. So the app curve is saved as the Reference curve in the AVR? So if I select Flat and then Reference in the AVR I will end up with the curve that was loaded from the app?

Which settings are saved in the Reference curve? High Frequency Roll Off, Midrange Compensation and the graphically edited Curve fused to a single curve?

How about the filter range? Does that also bypass the High Frequency Roll Off (and Midrange Compensation if set low enough) and is that also saved to the AVR Reference curve?
janila is offline  
post #1642 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by janila View Post
Sorry, I don't understand the last sentence. So the app curve is saved as the Reference curve in the AVR? So if I select Flat and then Reference in the AVR I will end up with the curve that was loaded from the app?

Which settings are saved in the Reference curve? High Frequency Roll Off, Midrange Compensation and the graphically edited Curve fused to a single curve?

How about the filter range? Does that also bypass the High Frequency Compensation (and Midrange Compensation if set low enough) and is that also saved to the AVR Reference curve?
1. Correct.
2. Correct.
3. What is saved is whatever you choose to save as you can save multiple variations of the same curve, loading the one you prefer use to the AVR when you want to use it.

Also, best to move Audyssey app specific questions to the dedicated thread ---> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-pre-pros.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1643 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 03:56 AM
Member
 
janila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Correct.
2. Correct.
3. What is saved is whatever you choose to save as you can save multiple variations of the same curve, loading the one you prefer use to the AVR when you want to use it.

Also, best to move Audyssey app specific questions to the dedicated thread ---> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-pre-pros.html
Thanks! I set the filter to the Schröder frequency of 250 Hz and I'm loving the result!
janila is offline  
post #1644 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 04:06 AM
paf
Member
 
paf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom.
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. The Channel Level Adjust values all start out at 0. Any change +/- setting is then applied to the value set in Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones.
2. When running Audyssey, (on the SR6011 and SR7011) the Sub EQ HT feature will set the level/delay of each sub separately prior to Audyssey EQ'ing the subs together. The sub that got set to -12db needs to have the volume/gain knob reduced to about 9 o'clock and the sub that got set to +12db needs to have the volume/gain knob raised higher (although is more likely simply defective).
3. There is only one LFE signal (which is mirrored to each sub), so only one LFE icon displays.
thanks again for the info jdsmoothie and with this info I turned down BOTH subwoofers to
the 9 o'clock and rerun the audyssey the first thing it measured was both subwoofers and
audyssey detected both subwoofers were too low in volume so I raised both subwoofers to
10 o'clock and started again this time all was ok.

After the full calibration Audyssey had set both subwoofers at -8.5db

just wondering do you turn off any of these.. dynamic EQ / dynamic volume / and Audyssey LFC
paf is offline  
post #1645 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 04:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by paf View Post
thanks again for the info jdsmoothie and with this info I turned down BOTH subwoofers to
the 9 o'clock and rerun the audyssey the first thing it measured was both subwoofers and
audyssey detected both subwoofers were too low in volume so I raised both subwoofers to
10 o'clock and started again this time all was ok.

After the full calibration Audyssey had set both subwoofers at -8.5db

just wondering do you turn off any of these.. dynamic EQ / dynamic volume / and Audyssey LFC
Dynamic EQ - ON for all sources all the time

Dynamic Volume - OFF except at night time when you don't want to disturb others or during the daytime when you want to boost lower level dialog

LFC - OFF except when you don't want to disturb others in adjacent rooms as it will reduce the lower level frequencies from passing through the walls
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1646 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,284
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1632 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVbuf View Post
Another query sir... When I am playing ATMOS content still I see as Dolby True-HD signal (info window) rather than ATMOS. Is it because currently I don't have ATMOS setup? Until I configure in amp assign for ATMOS configuration I could only see Dolby True-HD in info window?

Sorry for my English. I am using translator.

Dolby Atmos will do as little as 2.0.2 !
I have now a 3.0.2 system running (also no subwoofer), so fronts, a center and 2 front Height speakers, and i get Dolby Atmos in the display when i play a DA file.

Dolby is the only one of the 3 that will handle as low as 2.0.2, DTSX "needs" at least 5.1, and Auro will need the same.
But to get Dolby Atmos you need at least 2 (front) Height speakers.
AVbuf likes this.

Last edited by CBdicX; 04-06-2017 at 08:32 AM.
CBdicX is online now  
post #1647 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Dynamic EQ - ON for all sources all the time

Dynamic Volume - OFF except at night time when you don't want to disturb others or during the daytime when you want to boost lower level dialog

LFC - OFF except when you don't want to disturb others in adjacent rooms as it will reduce the lower level frequencies from passing through the walls
Personally the whole system sounds really flat to me without Dynamic EQ is off. Having it on makes a HUGE noticeable amazing difference. Reason enough for me to but Marantz again.

LFC really kills any punch the system has though so I never have it on.
Mark Oliver is offline  
post #1648 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
 
youthsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having issues with OSD Overlay, with 4K/60? I seem to be with my 5011
If I back down my sources to 1080p, overlay works great. going to 4k/60, it doesn't. Same settings, just changing source resolution.
I sent an email to Marantz to get their opinion, too. Just curious if anyone else is seeing this. I searched the thread, but saw nothing super conclusive
Is this just something the 5011 won't support? Should I upgrade to a 6011 (haha)?
youthsonic is offline  
post #1649 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by youthsonic View Post
Anyone else having issues with OSD Overlay, with 4K/60? I seem to be with my 5011
If I back down my sources to 1080p, overlay works great. going to 4k/60, it doesn't. Same settings, just changing source resolution.
I sent an email to Marantz to get their opinion, too. Just curious if anyone sels is seeing this. I searched the thread, but saw nothing super conclusive
Is this just something the 5011 won't support? Should I upgrade to a 6011 (haha)?
Correct. The SR6011 is the lowest model with the capability to overlay GUI on 4k/60.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1650 of 5021 Old 04-06-2017, 10:44 AM
Member
 
youthsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. The SR6011 is the lowest model with the capability to overlay GUI on 4k/60.
Hmm... OK. Guess that seals the deal, then

Thanks!
youthsonic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
analog or toslink headphones sr6011 , audio outputs , marantz receiver ethernet playback noise , NR-1607

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off