*Official* Marantz 2016 NR-1607, SR-5011/6011/7011 owner's thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7309Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 09:01 AM
Member
 
ss9168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
ARC "goes through" TV audio because that's where it's coming from: ARC (Audio Return Channel) is the audio connection from the TV to the receiver. It's used for OTA, streaming using the TV's internal apps, and to forward the audio coming from devices which are connected to the TV and which are not connected to the receiver.

If your FIOS cable box is connected to the receiver, then it uses a completely different input cable connection. You have to be able to tell the receiver which of the two different audio inputs you want to use: FIOS or TV.

However, if your problem is really that the receiver is automatically switching to the TV input when you turn on the TV but you want the receiver to stay on whatever signal input it already was using, whether it was FIOS or Blu-ray, then you need to rurn Off the receiver's option "TV Audio Switching". It's on the receiver's HDMI Setup page, right after to the ARC setting. By default, it's On.

Would it be better to just run an optical in to the receiver from the TV and strictly use the HDMI cable going to the TV for video?
ss9168 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9168 View Post
Would it be better to just run an optical in to the receiver from the TV and strictly use the HDMI cable going to the TV for video?
That depends on the model of TV you have and how well its HDMI CEC and ARC interact with the receiver. In many cases an optical connection is the better choice, but not always. Most TVs seem to be limited to forwarding only stereo over ARC. Some can forward 5.1 Dolby Digital. A very few (some VIZIO P series models in particular) can forward Dolby Digital Plus with Atmos over ARC. An optical connection can provide either lossless stereo PCM or lossy 5.1 Dolby Digital, but not DD+ with Atmos.

Some manufacturers' implementations of CEC really don't interact well at all with equipment made by other companies. The original HDMI CEC standard was just too lax and easily interpreted in different ways. As a result, it might or might not work appropriately for your particular combination of equipment. Since enabling CEC usually is required for ARC to work at all, this might be a consideration for you.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #153 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone

I configured my SR7010 as follow -
Amp Assign is 7.1ch (bi-amp)
Speaker for Bi-amp - front wide/height 2
floor layout - 5ch &SB
Height speakers - 2CH top middle
Now - when I play Dolby Atmos bluray I see that SBR/SBL speakers are not active and TMR/TML are active
when I play TRUEHD 7.1 bluray - SBR/SBL are active. (TML/TMR are not active)
when I change Amp assign to 9.1CH (without bi-amp) then all TMR/TML/SBR/SB are active.
How can I configure Sr7010 to be with Bi-amp and SBR/SBL active?

thanks in advance
Haim
haimsh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by haimsh View Post
Hi everyone

I configured my SR7010 as follow -
Amp Assign is 7.1ch (bi-amp)
Speaker for Bi-amp - front wide/height 2
floor layout - 5ch &SB
Height speakers - 2CH top middle
Now - when I play Dolby Atmos bluray I see that SBR/SBL speakers are not active and TMR/TML are active
when I play TRUEHD 7.1 bluray - SBR/SBL are active. (TML/TMR are not active)
when I change Amp assign to 9.1CH (without bi-amp) then all TMR/TML/SBR/SB are active.
How can I configure Sr7010 to be with Bi-amp and SBR/SBL active?

thanks in advance
Haim
You're using 9 channels to drive your speakers (5.1 + SB + Bi-Amp = 5+2+2 = 9). When you add Top Middle (+2) to that configuration, you'll be using a total of 11 channels. This might be possible if you add two external channels of amplification, which you don't mention. (The receiver contains only 9 amplifiers.) I write "might" because I'm not sure if the receiver will actually let you configure it that way.

Hopefully you're aware that using a receiver to do bi-amping (often called passive bi-amping) really gains almost nothing in audio quality. The receiver sends exactly the same audio signals to both speaker connections. The audio signal is filtered by exactly the same passive crossover filters in the speakers whether or not the speakers' jumpers are removed.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #155 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken DL View Post
Useful thread for me as I'm considering upgrading an old Marantz SR7000 to a new model. Before I saw this thread, I was considering picking up a SR7009 on Amazon for $999 (50% off list). I thought it was a great deal and meet most of my needs, as the next-newest model. Then I discovered it's missing HDCP 2.2, which will prevent it from passing through 4K Blu-ray discs that will have this copy protection. The SR7010 would work, for about $1000 more. Ouch.

Now I see that Marantz is on the verge of bringing out the SR7011. So to those who follow these releases more closely, I ask: Do you think there will be a similar price drop (50% off) on the SR7010 soon? Any predictions when? This might just be my best fit, as I don't think I'll need the features of the SR7011 any time soon. I'm just not that close to the bleeding edge.

Advice appreciated.
Not anytime soon, no.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #156 of 5029 Old 08-24-2016, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
You're using 9 channels to drive your speakers (5.1 + SB + Bi-Amp = 5+2+2 = 9). When you add Top Middle (+2) to that configuration, you'll be using a total of 11 channels. This might be possible if you add two external channels of amplification, which you don't mention. (The receiver contains only 9 amplifiers.) I write "might" because I'm not sure if the receiver will actually let you configure it that way.

Hopefully you're aware that using a receiver to do bi-amping (often called passive bi-amping) really gains almost nothing in audio quality. The receiver sends exactly the same audio signals to both speaker connections. The audio signal is filtered by exactly the same passive crossover filters in the speakers whether or not the speakers' jumpers are removed.
Thanks a lot Selden. You enlighened my eyes.
Haim
haimsh is offline  
post #157 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:05 AM
Member
 
ss9168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there a way to turn off the setting in speakers for the side surround but leave the rears on? I can't figure that one out in the 6011
ss9168 is offline  
post #158 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9168 View Post
Is there a way to turn off the setting in speakers for the side surround but leave the rears on? I can't figure that one out in the 6011
Nope. You can't configure Rear Surrounds without the Side Surrounds first being configured; however, if using banana plugs, you could simply unplug the connections to the SL/SR speaker posts.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #159 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:13 AM
Member
 
ss9168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Nope. You can't configure Rear Surrounds without the Side Surrounds first being configured; however, if using banana plugs, you could simply unplug the connections to the SL/SR speaker posts.

My issue is I don't have side surrounds. Do I lose anything in the rear if the sides show active but aren't used?
ss9168 is offline  
post #160 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9168 View Post
My issue is I don't have side surrounds. Do I lose anything in the rear if the sides show active but aren't used?
When you only have a 5.1 setup, you actually do have "side" surrounds and must connect them to the "Surround" speaker posts. You have simply chosen to physically place them behind you.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #161 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:17 AM
Member
 
ss9168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
When you only have a 5.1 setup, you actually do have "side" surrounds and must connect them to the "Surround" speaker posts. You have simply chosen to physically place them behind you.
So should I move the speakers I have wired to rear to side?
ss9168 is offline  
post #162 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9168 View Post
So should I move the speakers I have wired to rear to side?
Are you referring to physically moving them or just changing the wire connection? At the very least you must move the wire from the "Surround Back" posts to the "Surround" posts. In a 5.1 setup, the surround speakers are ideally placed from 90-110 degrees from the side position rather than directly behind you (although, obviously in some instances, behind the main listening position is the only possible location (ie. due to physical or WAF constrainsts)). With a 7.1 setup, you would mount the additional two speakers directly behind you.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-25-2016 at 06:37 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #163 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 06:35 AM
Member
 
ss9168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Are you referring to physically moving them or just changing the wire connection? At the very least you must move the wire from the "Surround Back" posts to the "Surround" posts. In a 5.1 setup, the surround speakers are ideally placed from 90-110 degrees from the side position rather than directly behind you. It's only with a 7.1 setup would you mount the additional two speakers directly behind you.
Mine is a physical post question. Right now they are wired to SB L/R
ss9168 is offline  
post #164 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9168 View Post
Mine is a physical post question. Right now they are wired to SB L/R
Just to try to phrase JD's answer slightly differently: You don't have to move the speakers. Leave them where they are. Just change their connections on the back of the receiver to the speaker binding posts named Surround (sometimes called Side Surround). Then run the Audyssey calibration.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #165 of 5029 Old 08-25-2016, 11:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Also, the SR7011 will be able to take advantage of the new Audyssey phone app which will allow tweaking of the Audyssey curve.


Hi JD. Can you expand on that a little?


Does this mean that there will be an actual graphic EQ, or (Lord please!) even a parametric EQ that can be adjusted for each channel post calibration, like Pioneer's MCACC? Or perhaps this just means one can choose between "rock," "pop" etc. (lets hope not).

HT: KEF Reference 1 - Anthem AVM60 & MCA525 - Martin Logan Focus - DefTech XTR-20BP - Dual SVS SB16 Ultra
Office 2CH: KEF LS50 - Crown - Bluesound
Stage: Allen & Heath Dlive s5000 - Westone AMPRO 30 - AKG mics - Crown Amps
WAF is currently at DEFCON ORANGE
adrummingdude is offline  
post #166 of 5029 Old 08-26-2016, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrummingdude View Post
Hi JD. Can you expand on that a little?


Does this mean that there will be an actual graphic EQ, or (Lord please!) even a parametric EQ that can be adjusted for each channel post calibration, like Pioneer's MCACC? Or perhaps this just means one can choose between "rock," "pop" etc. (lets hope not).
No details at this time.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #167 of 5029 Old 08-27-2016, 07:02 AM
Member
 
twinturbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hey guys, I was wondering if the SR7011 has been released ? Anyone actually using it ?
twinturbo11 is offline  
post #168 of 5029 Old 08-27-2016, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbo11 View Post
Hey guys, I was wondering if the SR7011 has been released ? Anyone actually using it ?
Not likely released until October. The SR6011 was just released 2 weeks ago.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #169 of 5029 Old 08-27-2016, 07:32 AM
Member
 
twinturbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not likely released until October. The SR6011 was just released 2 weeks ago.

Thanks man. Out of curiosity, has anyone compared the 6011 and 6010 ? are they pretty much identical sound quality , or has something been upgraded?
twinturbo11 is offline  
post #170 of 5029 Old 08-27-2016, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbo11 View Post
Thanks man. Out of curiosity, has anyone compared the 6011 and 6010 ? are they pretty much identical sound quality , or has something been upgraded?
Not that I am aware of no, however, other than the additional amps the other major difference will be the capability to use the new Audyssey phone app ($20)with the SR6011 to modify the Audyssey EQ curve.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #171 of 5029 Old 08-27-2016, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 88
All, along with other equipment I'm looking at upgrading my receiver to 1606 or 1607, probably the 1606 as I see no difference.

I started in wall speakers a year ago but never finished. I bought RC85i for the front L&R but never replaced the center or rear 4.

My room is only 12x16 feet so not big.

Can/Should I use another 85i for a center speaker ?

Can/Should I drop the 4 rear speakers down to a 5.5" or 6.5"?

Options and help would be appreciated.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Sweeney is offline  
post #172 of 5029 Old 08-28-2016, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
What resolution is playing?

Is there a way to see what resolution is playing on the Marantz 6011? When Info is pressed, only "flac" is displayed. I can see the sampling rate of the input file. Is the output rate the same?

Also, thinking I would get better sound, I connected an hdmi cable from my computer to the 6011 home media hdmi input, but there is no sound, any suggestions?

Btw, I love the 6011!
tomtb16 is offline  
post #173 of 5029 Old 08-29-2016, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 329
When is the new DTS X Neural vs Dolby Surround boundary gone? There would be a firmware upgrade around this time?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #174 of 5029 Old 08-29-2016, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
When is the new DTS X Neural vs Dolby Surround boundary gone? There would be a firmware upgrade around this time?
Look for it to be released towards the end of the year for your SR6010.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #175 of 5029 Old 08-29-2016, 10:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Does anyone know if it's possible to do a 6.2.2/4 Atmos setup with the SR6011 (or any receiver for that matter)?

My room layout sucks, and I was thinking of going from 7.2 to an Atmos setup, but given the tight back wall, a single rear surround speaker might make the most sense.
tcramer is offline  
post #176 of 5029 Old 08-30-2016, 04:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Look for it to be released towards the end of the year for your SR6010.


Thanks for this info!

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #177 of 5029 Old 08-30-2016, 07:55 AM
Member
 
kaledii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I see that the Denon high end models have been announced and manuals are up on their website.
What's caught my attention is that Front Wide speaker option has been dropped for these models and presumably the SR7011 (based on a picture of the rear). Am I the only one to have noticed this? This seems a step backwards to me and I only recently installed a speaker layout to include front wides. I currently have the SR7009 and a 13.2 layout with front height and middle height alongside the front wide and conventional 7.2 layout. I'm planning to upgrade to the SR7011 for Heos, HDCP 2.2 etc, but what should I consider doing with the my speaker layout? Can I configure the front wides as extra left and rights (I have a MM8077 power amp so amplification isn't an issue) or will this screw the calibration?
kaledii is offline  
post #178 of 5029 Old 08-30-2016, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaledii View Post
I see that the Denon high end models have been announced and manuals are up on their website.
What's caught my attention is that Front Wide speaker option has been dropped for these models and presumably the SR7011 (based on a picture of the rear). Am I the only one to have noticed this? This seems a step backwards to me and I only recently installed a speaker layout to include front wides. I currently have the SR7009 and a 13.2 layout with front height and middle height alongside the front wide and conventional 7.2 layout. I'm planning to upgrade to the SR7011 for Heos, HDCP 2.2 etc, but what should I consider doing with the my speaker layout? Can I configure the front wides as extra left and rights (I have a MM8077 power amp so amplification isn't an issue) or will this screw the calibration?
Correct. Denon and Marantz and Onkyo (and likely Pioneer as well) have all dropped Front Wide speaker capability from their 2016 models. As you've got them in place, you could certainly try wiring them in parallel as additional FL/FR speakers, although Audyssey will have to EQ them together.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #179 of 5029 Old 08-30-2016, 10:49 AM
Member
 
kaledii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. Denon and Marantz and Onkyo (and likely Pioneer as well) have all dropped Front Wide speaker capability from their 2016 models. As you've got them in place, you could certainly try wiring them in parallel as additional FL/FR speakers, although Audyssey will have to EQ them together.
Thanks for confirming. Do you have any insight into why Front Wides have been dropped. I guess that also means we won't see any 13 channel processing from the likes of Marantz any time soon?

I know technically I can use the internal amps to power one set of speakers as L&R, whilst using the preouts to the power amp for the other pair. However, will activating both pairs during calibration cause any significant issues, or should I disconnect one pair during calibration?
kaledii is offline  
post #180 of 5029 Old 08-30-2016, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,279
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22741 Post(s)
Liked: 12383
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaledii View Post
Thanks for confirming. Do you have any insight into why Front Wides have been dropped. I guess that also means we won't see any 13 channel processing from the likes of Marantz any time soon?

I know technically I can use the internal amps to power one set of speakers as L&R, whilst using the preouts to the power amp for the other pair. However, will activating both pairs during calibration cause any significant issues, or should I disconnect one pair during calibration?
Dropped due to low usage ... although I am one of those who have enjoyed using them as well.

No info on 13CH processing as it can also apply to 6 height speakers.

Audyssey would try to calibrate them as a single speaker which may or may not sound as good as simply doing the real FL/FR alone, so as I suggested, since you've got them hooked up already, give it a go both ways and see which you prefer.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
analog or toslink headphones sr6011 , audio outputs , marantz receiver ethernet playback noise , NR-1607

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off