The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33138Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 21,018
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4471 Post(s)
Liked: 5820
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its all relative. Apparently your past AVR was not a recent Yamaha model. -20 is a pretty common listening level. I typically listen at -15. I'd avoid using the input trim to boost levels, as this could result in clipping. Input trim is for balancing one input to the others. In most cases its not needed.
Yeah, when I watch TV I usually set my 3060'a volume at about -21 or -22. For movie disks with lossless audiotracks, I ordinarily listen at between -15 and -20. Only rarely do I use a volume level higher than -15 and never, ever, higher than -10.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+; Apple TV 4K
gwsat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have the 2060 model for a few years now. It sounds fantastic playing flac over streaming!! I just bought a Parasound Integrated and compared them both.
tractng is offline  
post #3093 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,734
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post
I have the 2060 model for a few years now..
Time machine?
Stanton, muzz, aflorida and 1 others like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3094 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
If you find those prices please let us all know.
Best Buy Harmony Smart Control hub with basic remote.

69.95 [email protected]@ks like in store sale......
dashcam88 likes this.

Twin Pioneer AVR Locomotives-Elite SC 97, SC 1222 7.2.4, DOLBY Atmos and DTS X, (Front Pre Out,) JBL Pro Synthesis LS Series Speakers, F L R-LS80, Cen-LS, S L R-LS60, SB L R-LS60, 4 Dolby Atmos Enabled Klipsch R41SA, Twin Klipsch R120SW. Mitz 73740 DLP, Sony UBP-X800, ATV G4, Yamaha ATS 1060 Sound Bar, True Depth Firestorm 2.0 3D Glasses, Harmony Hub with Utlimate 1 Remote, Broadlink RM Pro2, EYE Pad Air, Winegard FL6550A
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #3095 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Time machine?
Haha, its a 2040 model. I kept on remembering its a 2060.
tractng is offline  
post #3096 of 7189 Old 02-03-2017, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok, showing my age here. I have a RX-990 and I know that times have changed. I have definitive surrounds 2 front, 2 middle and 2 rears, and will be looking for rear speakers.
I have been looking at the Yamaha 3060. Pro's, cons help is this a good choice.
As we say in the motorcycle world I don't want to start an oil thread ( what is the best oil) but will this be a good choice and do I need this much? My internet is fair at best so I will have to start renting blue ray, dvd etc to watch movies. The old Yamaha does not really have surround.
How hard is the set up?
Help!!! Newbie.
handensco is offline  
post #3097 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 02:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Time machine?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3098 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
casino187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread

Is there a way to lock the front panel of the avr so that no buttons work? I'm about to have a toddler and would rather just use the remote only for a while. I'm guessing she will love to press buttons on this thing. I am aware of the memory lock feature but I'm looking for a button lock of some sort. Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yamaha RX-A3060, Emotiva XPA-3, 120" SI Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 Gain, Epson 6040UB Projector, 2 x Bowers and Wilkins 683 S2 - Fronts, Bowers and Wilkins HTM61 S2 Center,
4 x Bowers and Wilkins CWM664 In wall Surrounds,4 x RSL C34 In ceiling speakers for Atmos, 2 x SVS SB16-Ultra Subs, Seating: 4 x Seatcraft Sonoma Recliners
My terribly shot media room
casino187 is offline  
post #3099 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Except for tweaking of settings, my living room home theater is now complete! I'm totally delighted with the new 65" LG B6. For those interested, I've added some thoughts and pics in the last post of my signature theater thread. Those with very bright rooms that may be considering a 2016 OLED may have great reason to check it out -- you will be pleased!
Ayabe likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #3100 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by handensco View Post
Ok, showing my age here. I have a RX-990 and I know that times have changed. I have definitive surrounds 2 front, 2 middle and 2 rears, and will be looking for rear speakers.

I have been looking at the Yamaha 3060. Pro's, cons help is this a good choice.

As we say in the motorcycle world I don't want to start an oil thread ( what is the best oil) but will this be a good choice and do I need this much? My internet is fair at best so I will have to start renting blue ray, dvd etc to watch movies. The old Yamaha does not really have surround.

How hard is the set up?

Help!!! Newbie.


I own a 3060, and have had receivers since the 80's. Unless you're going with 4 Atmos ceiling speakers, I wouldn't buy the 3060. If you are, it's a great choice. There's some complexity to it, but experimenting, reading the manual and reading this thread will all be very helpful. if you do buy it and If you want Atmos, but can live with only 2 overheads, I'd get the 2060, it'll save you some coin and still do what you need it to. If Atmos and DTS:X aren't important to you, I'd go further down the product line. Hope this is helpful and best of luck!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
gwsat and Ayabe like this.
healthnut is offline  
post #3101 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,831
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3248 Post(s)
Liked: 2552
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
Except for tweaking of settings, my living room home theater is now complete! I'm totally delighted with the new 65" LG B6. For those interested, I've added some thoughts and pics in the last post of my signature theater thread. Those with very bright rooms that may be considering a 2016 OLED may have great reason to check it out -- you will be pleased!
Congrats!
richlife likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #3102 of 7189 Old 02-04-2017, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by handensco View Post
Ok, showing my age here. I have a RX-990 and I know that times have changed. I have definitive surrounds 2 front, 2 middle and 2 rears, and will be looking for rear speakers.
I have been looking at the Yamaha 3060. Pro's, cons help is this a good choice.
As we say in the motorcycle world I don't want to start an oil thread ( what is the best oil) but will this be a good choice and do I need this much? My internet is fair at best so I will have to start renting blue ray, dvd etc to watch movies. The old Yamaha does not really have surround.
How hard is the set up?
Help!!! Newbie.
Healthnut gave you a great response already but I wouldn't be too intimidated by all the latest doodads and options and most are available on the lower models like the streaming options, smart phone control, etc.; all of the more modern features if you're coming from an older setup.

The whole Yamaha line is pretty user-friendly, I've been out of the game for more than a decade and was able to get a great sounding system going in no time. You can tweak to your hearts content but you can also just plug in your mic, let YPAO do it's thing, perhaps manually switch to small speakers and boom!, your system is going sound pretty great, almost guaranteed.

LG OLED65E6P, Yamaha RX-A3060, Emotiva XPA Gen 3 5 Channel, ELAC UNI-FI FS U5 SLIM/C5 Center/B5 SLIM Surrounds/S12 EQ Sub, Xbox One S, PS4, Harmony Elite
Ayabe is offline  
post #3103 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 12:59 AM
Member
 
ajreynol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Parkland, FL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey guys, having a technical issue and could use your insight.

I recently picked up a 3060 and am having some trouble making it work with my Xbox One S and Projector.

The basic setup is Xbox One S --> 3060 --> JVC 620 Projector.

I have set the receiver to mode 1 in an attempt to get all the check marks for hdr and all that stuff for 4K viewing.

When I boot up the Xbox and receiver then switch the input to my projector, the receiver seems to get stuck in a cycle of trying to load the video signal, then failing and repeating.

I'm pretty sure my cables are all certified for maximum 4K performance, but I have not tried going straight from Xbox --> Projector just yet.

Is there anything special I need to do to make the One S do 4K HDR with all the proper green checkmarks? If the Xbox is known to cause problems, I have no problem returning it for a standard 4K BD player. I just thought I'd ask here first as I'm 100% sure others have (or attempted) this sort of setup.

Any insight will be greatly appreciated.
ajreynol is offline  
post #3104 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 04:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have 2060 for a few days running my 5.1.4 setup. I am total newbie for AVRs and surround... I choose Dolby Surround for CableTV content and non Atmos content but I am confusing with this info for cable channels in PCM 2.0. Upmix is 5.0.4.


When the content is DD I got upmix 5.1.4.

Is this regular or my setup is wrong?
_voyager_ is offline  
post #3105 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,734
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by _voyager_ View Post
I have 2060 for a few days running my 5.1.4 setup. I am total newbie for AVRs and surround... I choose Dolby Surround for CableTV content and non Atmos content but I am confusing with this info for cable channels in PCM 2.0. Upmix is 5.0.4.

When the content is DD I got upmix 5.1.4.

Is this regular or my setup is wrong?
Are your main speakers set to "small"? If not then you won't get anything in the sub channel from stereo sources.
ChromeJob and aflorida like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3106 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajreynol View Post
Hey guys, having a technical issue and could use your insight.



I recently picked up a 3060 and am having some trouble making it work with my Xbox One S and Projector.



The basic setup is Xbox One S --> 3060 --> JVC 620 Projector.



I have set the receiver to mode 1 in an attempt to get all the check marks for hdr and all that stuff for 4K viewing.



When I boot up the Xbox and receiver then switch the input to my projector, the receiver seems to get stuck in a cycle of trying to load the video signal, then failing and repeating.



I'm pretty sure my cables are all certified for maximum 4K performance, but I have not tried going straight from Xbox --> Projector just yet.



Is there anything special I need to do to make the One S do 4K HDR with all the proper green checkmarks? If the Xbox is known to cause problems, I have no problem returning it for a standard 4K BD player. I just thought I'd ask here first as I'm 100% sure others have (or attempted) this sort of setup.



Any insight will be greatly appreciated.


I think you'd be better off going straight into the projector from the Xbox. As to your more specific questions regarding specific xbox settings, you'd likely find more help on an Xbox thread.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
healthnut is offline  
post #3107 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Are your main speakers set to "small"? If not then you won't get anything in the sub channel from stereo sources.
That's it. Thanks
_voyager_ is offline  
post #3108 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I could not decide and need your generous advices...
I own a Yamaha RX-A2040 and have a 5.1.4 set up for DOLBY ATMOS.
I would like to upgrade my AVR to Yamaha RX-A2050 or 2060 just for DTS:X.
The price difference between 2050 and 2060 is very small.
But the main issue is; as 2nd Hand Market sucks for electronics here in Istanbul, I have to add as much cash as my 2040's 2nd value, in order to buy a new 2050.
Is it worth for an upgrade just mainly for additional DTS:X.
MB_HT is offline  
post #3109 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB_HT View Post
I could not decide and need your generous advices...
I own a Yamaha RX-A2040 and have a 5.1.4 set up for DOLBY ATMOS.
I would like to upgrade my AVR to Yamaha RX-A2050 or 2060 just for DTS:X.
The price difference between 2050 and 2060 is very small.
But the main issue is; as 2nd Hand Market sucks for electronics here in Istanbul, I have to add as much cash as my 2040's 2nd value, in order to buy a new 2050.
Is it worth for an upgrade just mainly for additional DTS:X.
Do you have any DTS:X source or discs? It's not at this point very common, so unless you have a library of DTS:X, I would hold off.

On the other hand, I've found that my existing DTS MA HD blurays are outstanding when played with a DTS:X setup. But they also sound great with an Atmos setup. Keep in mind that with the A3060 I have the Enhanced DSP available which can exploit those discs.

Again, that makes me think that you would be better off (unless you really NEED or desearately WANT DTS:X) to wait and see what comes out for 2017. Understand though, that the Enhanced DSP could be a feature that will always be reserved for the top tier.

Good luck.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #3110 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 21,018
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4471 Post(s)
Liked: 5820
Let me add my vote supporting richlife's fondness for the Yamaha RX-A3060's Enhanced DSP. It does a great job of matrixing DTS-HD MA x.1 audio to 7.1.4. I will also report that I share richlife's experience in not having seen many native DTS:X disks. I have bought a healthy number of UHD HDR disks over the past few weeks. So far, most of them have TrueHD Atmos soundtracks but only one, Jason Bourne, has DTS:X.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+; Apple TV 4K
gwsat is offline  
post #3111 of 7189 Old 02-05-2017, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Based on your experience, which DSP is the best for upmixing 5.1 to 5.1.4? AVR is 2060?
_voyager_ is offline  
post #3112 of 7189 Old 02-06-2017, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lanier View Post
I have my projector on the second HDMI output but the receiver still looks for the handshake on HDMI one (my tv). I'm trying to figure out how to turn off my TV while the projector is on (the light from the tv is distracting). If I manually turn off the tv, the receiver cuts the video feed to the projector. Is there a setting that I'm missing? I have the 3060 if that helps.
I can't remember exactly what my problem was as it happened a couple of years ago with my RX-A3000 receiver, but your problem reminded me of my issue. I had one HDMI going to my TV, and a second HDMI going to my projector in the same room. When I first hooked everything up, everything worked perfectly on my TV, but as soon as I tried my projector I wasn't getting a signal. I thought maybe the HDMI cord going to my projector was defective, so I switched the cord from HDMI Out 1 to Out 2, and vice versa, and suddenly everything started working. Maybe that will work for you, or maybe it's already resolved.

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3113 of 7189 Old 02-06-2017, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
sgip2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyg83 View Post
Just a heads up. I couldn't get Dolby Vision to pass through my Receiver so I contacted Yamaha and they told me it is not supported.
So just wanted to let anyone interested know that if they have a Dolby Vision tv and a Chromecast Ultra then you are basically out of luck unless you hook devices directly to the tv and then use ARC.
How long are your HDMI cables? I had a similar problem getting my Xbox One S to detect the TV properly. I ended up needing an "active" HDMI cable from the Yamaha to the TV.
sgip2000 is offline  
post #3114 of 7189 Old 02-06-2017, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
How long are your HDMI cables? I had a similar problem getting my Xbox One S to detect the TV properly. I ended up needing an "active" HDMI cable from the Yamaha to the TV.
cables are 6ft . Has nothing to do with them. Yamaha already stated it won't work.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #3115 of 7189 Old 02-06-2017, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shortyg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by _voyager_ View Post
Based on your experience, which DSP is the best for upmixing 5.1 to 5.1.4? AVR is 2060?
Honestly this question is kind of impossible to answer. Your speakers and your room/ room layout will make every dsp sound completely different than everyone else. Try a few and see which you like best. It only takes a second to switch between them.
Surround decoder would be the only DSP that isn't really changing the way it sounds just upmixing to the extra speakers. I would start with that.
richlife likes this.
shortyg83 is offline  
post #3116 of 7189 Old 02-06-2017, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Southern California
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
I can't remember exactly what my problem was as it happened a couple of years ago with my RX-A3000 receiver, but your problem reminded me of my issue. I had one HDMI going to my TV, and a second HDMI going to my projector in the same room. When I first hooked everything up, everything worked perfectly on my TV, but as soon as I tried my projector I wasn't getting a signal. I thought maybe the HDMI cord going to my projector was defective, so I switched the cord from HDMI Out 1 to Out 2, and vice versa, and suddenly everything started working. Maybe that will work for you, or maybe it's already resolved.

Unfortunately, I still have the issue. I do get video on my projector. My problem is that I would like for the tv to be off while the projector is on. Is there a way to setup the receiver to allow this?

Optoma UHZ65
Elite Starling Tab Tension 2 135"
Yamaha RX-A3060
Klipsch RP-280FA Klipsch RP-450C Klipsch RP-250S Klipsch CDT-2650C II
Dual Klipsch R-115SW's
Robert Lanier is offline  
post #3117 of 7189 Old 02-07-2017, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,734
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lanier View Post
Unfortunately, I still have the issue. I do get video on my projector. My problem is that I would like for the tv to be off while the projector is on. Is there a way to setup the receiver to allow this?
Many displays keep the HDMI port "hot" when they are in standby. This can upset the device at the other end of the cable. Make sure that things like CEC and HDMI pass-through are all turned off. If the display has a "quick-start" standby mode, turn that off too.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #3118 of 7189 Old 02-07-2017, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TrojanHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Is there an idiots guide to YPAO floating around somewhere? I finally got my 3060 set up in the new living room and I'm sitting at 5.1.4 for the moment with the sub in the wrong spot. Ran regular YPAO and then tweaked some speaker size / cross over settings. It sounds great as is, but I need to get the last two speakers up (rears, have to figure out the wall mount bracket because it didn't come with the threads I need to mount to the speaker) and then I want to really spend some time getting the sound dialed in.

I see a lot of references to REW - how does that work with YPAO, do you just take the results and manually tweak the settings? With my old setup, I had a BFD pro as a parametric EQ for the sub, is that "feature' built in to the 3060?

I'm really digging the AVR though, what a fine sounding piece of equipment.
TrojanHorse is offline  
post #3119 of 7189 Old 02-07-2017, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
iang153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrojanHorse View Post
Is there an idiots guide to YPAO floating around somewhere? I finally got my 3060 set up in the new living room and I'm sitting at 5.1.4 for the moment with the sub in the wrong spot. Ran regular YPAO and then tweaked some speaker size / cross over settings. It sounds great as is, but I need to get the last two speakers up (rears, have to figure out the wall mount bracket because it didn't come with the threads I need to mount to the speaker) and then I want to really spend some time getting the sound dialed in.

I see a lot of references to REW - how does that work with YPAO, do you just take the results and manually tweak the settings? With my old setup, I had a BFD pro as a parametric EQ for the sub, is that "feature' built in to the 3060?

I'm really digging the AVR though, what a fine sounding piece of equipment.
You might take a look at this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...q-results.html
TrojanHorse and richlife like this.
iang153 is offline  
post #3120 of 7189 Old 02-07-2017, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by iang153 View Post
You might take a look at this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...q-results.html
Wow, that is actually VERY impressive. And @TrojanHorse keep in mind that, aside from adding another sub band (15.5Hz, I think) for manual EQ, YPAO for the A3060 was improved over the A3050. Hopefully someone else can remember just how it was improved. (Man, I'm getting SO old!)

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off