The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 120 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 12:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Would I be able to tell the difference between the 1060 and the 2060 in a blind test?
The 2060 has two more channels and a bit more power, but would the sound quality be be same?
My speakers are the SVS Ultra

Last edited by jake51; 03-15-2017 at 12:36 AM.
jake51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 01:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumby1 View Post
Well, got my 2060 system setup and just got the yamaha 800 ceiling speakers installed tonight. Also got my Dolby Atmos demo disc by chance as well. Set it all up and calibrated and ran the disc through its paces. Overall I am underwhelmed, maybe I expected a lot more from the 4 overhead speakers. If I turn them off I can tell something is missing, so maybe they are doing what they are supposed to. I only have 1 other atmos disc which is the good dinosaur. When I put either disc in they dont list atmos anywhere, on the Yamaha display or the TV. The receiver just says Dolby Surround and the TV display says Dolby Digital and Dolby Surround. Am I missing something? Should I see an Atmos label somewhere to verify it is an Atmos signal? I have read through most of the manual and did not find anywhere where it says it should state Atmos. Any help appreciated.
1. Yup.
2. Yup. As noted on p. 81 of your Owner's manual, use either "Straight" or "DD Surround" decode modes.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3573 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
When I was looking a month or so ago there was no mention at all of AVRs on Dolby's DV site. I don't think there is any DV licencing or certification for AVRs. I don't think they have to do anything more than get out of the way, so passthrough would be just fine.
If that were true, then Yamaha would not have indicated it's not currently possible for the 2016 models to pass DV.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-15-2017 at 03:12 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3574 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 01:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbolton View Post
Thanks! Isn't it typical for Yamaha to release their new models around the April/May timeframe? I'm not in a huge rush to upgrade so if it's possible they add more support for Dolby Vision maybe it's worth waiting a couple months?
These upper level models were released in July 2016 so the expectation is their replacements would be released July 2017.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3575 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 02:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If that were true, then Yamaha would not have indicated it's not possible for the 2016 models to pass DV.
I haven't seen this! Link?
jong1 is online now  
post #3576 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 02:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
I haven't seen this! Link?
Was discussed in this thread a few weeks ago; however, all you need do is contact Yamaha to confirm.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3577 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 485
All I can find is one person's feedback from Yamaha support, which in my experience is far from definitive. Could mean anything or nothing. But, if there is a real definitive statement from Yamaha I'd be interested.
jong1 is online now  
post #3578 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
All I can find is one person's feedback from Yamaha support, which in my experience is far from definitive. Could mean anything or nothing. But, if there is a real definitive statement from Yamaha I'd be interested.
Just a phone call away.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3579 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Sorry, as I said, a phone call to a CSR is never going to get an authoritative response to this kind of question, whether they said yes Or no! Even a reply from someone senior in a given country may be unaware of work going on to fix any issue.

So, you don't have a link to back up your statement? If that's true, especially with other manufacturers stating they WILL support DV via a firmware update (https://www.heise.de/newsticker/meld...e-3614979.html), we should just wait for things to be clarified and not spread FUD.
jong1 is online now  
post #3580 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 03:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
Would I be able to tell the difference between the 1060 and the 2060 in a blind test?
The 2060 has two more channels and a bit more power, but would the sound quality be be same?
My speakers are the SVS Ultra
Hard to say as we don't have your ears or room dynamics; however, easier to decide if you want any of the features only offered on the A2060 (ie. able to process 4 Atmos/DTS:X height/presence speakers, Zones 3/4 capability, dual Sub EQ, and GUI on Zone video).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3581 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
These upper level models were released in July 2016 so the expectation is their replacements would be released July 2017.
I'm waiting to see what the 3070 will offer up (possibly) support for Dolby Vision and HDMI 2.1

Sony 75X900F / MediaLight Quad 6500K
Sony X800
Denon X4400H / Outlaw 5000 (5.2.4 Atmos) AIRCOM T9
Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-52 II, Klipsch RP-500SA
SVS PB-3000 / PB-2000
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #3582 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post
I'm waiting to see what the 3070 will offer up (possibly) support for Dolby Vision and HDMI 2.1
Dolby Vision - Likely
HDMI 2.1 (hasn't even been released yet) - not until 2018
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3583 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
gumby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South of Houston
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
I don't even have my new 3060 yet so I don't know how much I'll be able to help, but do you know if your blu-ray player is sending PCM or bit-stream? I think it needs to be bit-stream to play Atmos. Come to think of it, I don't think you'd see Dolby Digital if your Blu ray was sending PCM, but maybe that part is wrong.
As a matter of fact it was sending PCM. Had a conversation with Yamaha today and they were very helpful. Narrowed it down to probably being on the Sony Blu ray settings. Got home and checked and it was. Not sure which one I checked, but I think I changed 2 or 3 things. Not a very good way to troubleshoot, but it worked after I fooled with it. He basically told me to turn off any type of SAP type sound and enhancements and see if it had a bit-stream option. The settings weren't clear, but it did work. Also got it to work on my HTPC using a LG Blu ray player.

Bottom line, huge improvement in sound, much more like I was expecting. Now I can play and tweak to my hearts content. The only issue right now is I do not have my surround speakers permanently mounted and they are a bit (About a foot) too high and what I feel is a bit too far forward. They are almost right on the side of me, but the rear Atmos speakers are behind me. The front and the rear Atmos speakers are separated by about 8 feet. Most of the drawings I have seen show the surround speakers slightly behind you, instead of on the side, and the rear Atmos speakers behind you, but in front of the surrounds.
gumby1 is offline  
post #3584 of 7127 Old 03-15-2017, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
Yeah I get that, but Dolby have never talked about AVRs in any of their white papers - just sources and displays. So, either they forgot! which I guess is possible, or they really don't care about making AVR makers jump through hoops any more than they do cable makers. But we are all speculating at this point it's true!
No sense adding any more to posts since this one as this says it all. Speculation is mostly just "hope".

What that Denon announcement MAY say, is that given that Denon will "support" DV on a low end, it adds more oomph to the fact that the upper ends could add DV with firmware.

My hope is that Yamaha will not leave their 2016/2017 owners disappointed by not providing that firmware upgrade. Many units were bought in the mid-2016 timeframe onward after which Dolby Vision was being heavily promoted. My OPPO 203 was an interest explicitly because of the Dolby Vision promise and the Yamaha capability -- whether passthru was acknowleded or not.

All just castles in the air, yes, but sure would be nice if reality met expectation.
atbroome likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS

Last edited by richlife; 03-15-2017 at 07:56 PM.
richlife is offline  
post #3585 of 7127 Old 03-16-2017, 08:42 PM
Member
 
kavanoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
When visiting a friend, my wife saw Musiccast and liked it very much. I borrowed a low end Yammy AVR with Musiccast and have been using it for a few weeks. Wife is sold to the functionality and I'll use that to get an Aventage 2060 or 3060 so I enjoy the sound and versatility for years to come. I completed reading "Yamaha Aventage 2016 Models" thread and finished about 10% of this one. I am not in a hurry so I want to see what 2017 models bring before I make my decision.

My question is, if I finish reading this thread, should I still go back and read 2015 models thread which was frequently mentioned in the earlier pages of this thread or will this one be sufficient?
binhton likes this.
kavanoz is offline  
post #3586 of 7127 Old 03-16-2017, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by kavanoz View Post
When visiting a friend, my wife saw Musiccast and liked it very much. I borrowed a low end Yammy AVR with Musiccast and have been using it for a few weeks. Wife is sold to the functionality and I'll use that to get an Aventage 2060 or 3060 so I enjoy the sound and versatility for years to come. I completed reading "Yamaha Aventage 2016 Models" thread and finished about 10% of this one. I am not in a hurry so I want to see what 2017 models bring before I make my decision.

My question is, if I finish reading this thread, should I still go back and read 2015 models thread which was frequently mentioned in the earlier pages of this thread or will this one be sufficient?
I was in a similar situation last summer -- interested in the 2016s which were just released or about to be. Started on the 2015 thread and ended up reading the whole thing just because it was so d****** informative! On the way, I also completed and have stayed with this 2016 thread and all I can say is that my "impression" THEN was that the 2015 thread was worth the read even after taking in this one. But a LOT of time and water has passed, so this thread probably has MOST of the good stuff. But I think what I liked most about the 2015 was the "extra" non-Yamaha audio info.

You might want to consider skimming 2015 and dive in more as desired. But honestly, by July that year, I think I was pushing on just to be sure of gleaning all. Meantime there is also the Atmos thread, the immersive audio thread, and on and on. And the equipment list grew and grew... Just not a safe place to play!
kavanoz and binhton like this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS

Last edited by richlife; 03-16-2017 at 09:24 PM.
richlife is offline  
post #3587 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 01:27 AM
Member
 
seainc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hi guys,
I'm puzzled. When connect my Sony UBP-X800 4K player directly to 2016 Sony X850D 4K TV, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 player will display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix.

But using the same cables, I connect UBP-X800 player to RX-A3060 HDMI-in then out to Sony TV HDMI-in ports, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 player will "NOT" display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix. I tried all the HDMI-in ports on 3060, all yield the same result.

It seems the problem is at 3060 but I don't know how to correct it, any idea how to corrct it? Thanks

Last edited by seainc; 03-17-2017 at 01:38 AM.
seainc is online now  
post #3588 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 01:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by seainc View Post
Hi guys,
I'm puzzled. When connect my Sony UBP-X800 4K player directly to 2016 Sony X850D 4K TV, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 will display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix.

But using the same cables, I connect UBP-X800 to RX-A3060 HDMI-in then out to Sony TV HDMI-in ports, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 will "NOT" display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix. I tried all the HDMI-in ports on 3060, all yield the same result.

It seems the problem is at 3060 but I don't know how to correct it, any idea how to corrct it? Thanks
Have you changed the Advanced Setup - 4k Mode (p. 155 Owner's manual) to Mode 1 yet?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	651
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	2031529  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3589 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by seainc View Post
Hi guys,
I'm puzzled. When connect my Sony UBP-X800 4K player directly to 2016 Sony X850D 4K TV, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 player will display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix.

But using the same cables, I connect UBP-X800 player to RX-A3060 HDMI-in then out to Sony TV HDMI-in ports, the build-in Netflix app in UBP-X800 player will "NOT" display 4K/UHD contents from Netflix. I tried all the HDMI-in ports on 3060, all yield the same result.

It seems the problem is at 3060 but I don't know how to correct it, any idea how to corrct it? Thanks
I don't have your TV or player, so cannot say if this is definitely the issue, but is your 3060 in 4K Mode 1, it should be. Default is Mode 2.

Edit: great minds!

Last edited by jong1; 03-17-2017 at 01:45 AM.
jong1 is online now  
post #3590 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 02:12 AM
Member
 
seainc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Have you changed the Advanced Setup - 4k Mode (p. 155 Owner's manual) to Mode 1 yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
I don't have your TV or player, so cannot say if this is definitely the issue, but is your 3060 in 4K Mode 1, it should be. Default is Mode 2.

Edit: great minds!


It was on MODE 2, I set it to MODE 1, now Netflix app is showing 4K UHD contents. Thank you both for the answer.

Another question, on the 3060 what MODE should the DTS be, 1 or 2? Thanks
seainc is online now  
post #3591 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 02:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,992
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22008 Post(s)
Liked: 11934
Quote:
Originally Posted by seainc View Post
It was on MODE 2, I set it to MODE 1, now Netflix app is showing 4K UHD contents. Thank you both for the answer.

Another question, on the 3060 what MODE should the DTS be, 1 or 2? Thanks
The 4k Mode applies to the video not audio.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3592 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 03:19 AM
Member
 
seainc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 4k Mode applies to the video not audio.

Got it, thanks
seainc is online now  
post #3593 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jm10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by kavanoz View Post
When visiting a friend, my wife saw Musiccast and liked it very much. I borrowed a low end Yammy AVR with Musiccast and have been using it for a few weeks. Wife is sold to the functionality and I'll use that to get an Aventage 2060 or 3060 so I enjoy the sound and versatility for years to come. I completed reading "Yamaha Aventage 2016 Models" thread and finished about 10% of this one. I am not in a hurry so I want to see what 2017 models bring before I make my decision.

My question is, if I finish reading this thread, should I still go back and read 2015 models thread which was frequently mentioned in the earlier pages of this thread or will this one be sufficient?
You will have more versatility with the 3060/70. A lot more processing power and more pre-outs just in case you want to add external amps and use the receiver as a pre-amp. Waiting for the 2017 models to see whats coming and compare is a wise choice. I could't as my old Demons 4308 & 4810 died in separate moments but with very similar lifetimes. I got a SR7010, but had so many issues I ended up returning it... then I needed my drug so much (music / HT) and ended up getting a 3060. Happy so far, except from some low-end potential improvements that I am first trying to handle with my limited sub placement options.

BTW, I was yesterday doing just a background listening of Nora Jones Come Away With Me SACD and I continue enjoying the 3060; she was just there, with me. I am now playing with front speaker placement and I deeply recommend to everyone to play with toe in-out and a 22-30 angle separation. I used a >cheap tool< to have an approximation of the angle separation and it was confirmed by the receiver.
richlife likes this.

Last edited by jm10; 03-17-2017 at 05:08 AM.
jm10 is offline  
post #3594 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is there a discernable difference in SQ between the 1060 and 2060?

Sony XBR70 850
Pioneer SC-81
Martin Logan Motion 40's
Martin Logan Motion 8
Rythmik LVX12
primetime74 is offline  
post #3595 of 7127 Old 03-17-2017, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime74 View Post
Is there a discernable difference in SQ between the 1060 and 2060?
No
richlife and primetime74 like this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #3596 of 7127 Old 03-18-2017, 11:53 AM
Member
 
paradise_newf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
External Amp w/1060 and zone 2

Hey folks.

Just purchased a 1060 and have a question. I want to connect an external 2 Channel Amp to power the front 2 Channels.
And I want to use the internal amps to power up a single pair of Zone 2 Speakers. However, coming from a Yamaha 3010, I don't see an easy way to accomplish this.

I've searched the forum and also checked out this Yamaha link (http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/...k__u/5119/4103) but I'm still puzzled.

Is this doable with this model or do I have to jump the 2060?

Thanks in advance folks.
paradise_newf is offline  
post #3597 of 7127 Old 03-18-2017, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 94
The first 2 pictures below show the RX-A3060 options that can be changed on the receiver via the URL. The last 3 show the options that can be changed on the WXA-50 MusicCast Amp via the URL, and there's many more options compared to the RX-A3060.

Is there something that can be clicked on to see more options for the 3060?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1765.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	2034289   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1766.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	131.6 KB
ID:	2034297   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1764.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	137.6 KB
ID:	2034305   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1763.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	141.4 KB
ID:	2034313   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1762.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	2034321  


xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3598 of 7127 Old 03-18-2017, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by paradise_newf View Post
Hey folks.



Just purchased a 1060 and have a question. I want to connect an external 2 Channel Amp to power the front 2 Channels.

And I want to use the internal amps to power up a single pair of Zone 2 Speakers. However, coming from a Yamaha 3010, I don't see an easy way to accomplish this.



I've searched the forum and also checked out this Yamaha link (http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/...k__u/5119/4103) but I'm still puzzled.



Is this doable with this model or do I have to jump the 2060?



Thanks in advance folks.


I believe so, depending on how many channels you're connecting.

You'd use the pre-outs for your front, then plug in your zone 2 speakers to SP1 or SP2. Then choose the power amp assign with [Front]+1.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
post #3599 of 7127 Old 03-18-2017, 12:38 PM
Member
 
paradise_newf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetmeat View Post
I believe so, depending on how many channels you're connecting.

You'd use the pre-outs for your front, then plug in your zone 2 speakers to SP1 or SP2. Then choose the power amp assign with [Front]+1.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for your fast response.

I'm connecting a 2 Channel PowerAmp to power the front 2 Channels.
I want to use the internal amps of the 1060 to Power the Centre and 2 Rear Speakers.
And I want to allocate the other 2 Channels to Power Zone 2.
paradise_newf is offline  
post #3600 of 7127 Old 03-18-2017, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by paradise_newf View Post
Thanks for your fast response.



I'm connecting a 2 Channel PowerAmp to power the front 2 Channels.

I want to use the internal amps of the 1060 to Power the Centre and 2 Rear Speakers.

And I want to allocate the other 2 Channels to Power Zone 2.


So a total of 5 channels in the main zone, and 2 in zone 2 - correct?

If so, then I think what I said above should work, although I'm not an expert (and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn last night either).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
paradise_newf likes this.

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off