The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33137Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I just got the RX 770. I know this isn't the right thread but I don't see one for the new receivers. I'm new to Yamaha, and I have no idea what sound mode to use nevermind I have zero idea on how to get through the menus.

What sound modes do you all use?????
fonz5000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
whitey019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitey019 View Post
I have a both a RX-A1000 and a RX-A3060 and I'm having difficulty with the song order when streaming FLACS from my PC (Server). It works fine on the 1000, but the 3060 is alphabetical. I looked, but I can't find any sorting function. This happens on several android devices that I have. I tried folders, albums, albums artists and artist and the order is always alphabetical. HELP! I'm old school and can't listen to songs out of order.
Strange, everything works correctly today and I did absolutely nothing. Although, we had thunderstorms roll through last night so it is possible the the power went out and whatever was wrong got reset. That's a possible problem with these modern devices that never get turned off (network standby) as they don't often get rebooted.
whitey019 is offline  
post #4923 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
TomcatTLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
You'll have a hard time here finding anyone with an A3060 who doesn't like it. For many, it's performance and capability is so much beyond expectation, we've become a near cult.
... Amen to that and you do not really realize that unless you have to go without something for awhile ! After two weeks I finally received my new replacement 3060 and in the mean time I had been using an older but great AVR (I won't divulge the brand) for it's time. Upon the new 3060's arrival I felt an immediate tinge of "WTF (Frick)" when I saw a big hole on the side of the shipping box (photo attached) !
Thankfully there was no mark/damage to the 3060, disconnected the other AVR, replaced it with the 3060 ... and what a "DELIGHT" to have it back. No dropped Audio (consistent problem with the other AVR I had been using) and Atmos back in the soundwaves (many movies I would not watch because I knew I could not fully enjoy them without the upgraded audio formats)! Tomorrow I'll do the full YPAO Setup and be good to go till the DV update! The 3060 really does make a significant audio difference and experience when watching any form of video content !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yamaha Shipping Damage June2017 3 (2).jpg
Views:	83
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	2197049  
richlife likes this.

Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha 3060, Oppo 203, Oppo 103D, LG 65E7P, Sony UBP-X800
TomcatTLC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jm10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
My last 3 preamps where a 4520CI, a 7702 and a 7702II, and I love my 3060 so far.
That's saying a lot. I am coming from 4308CI, 4810CI and a SR7010. I have only found a slight weakness on my A3060 and I solved it the lazy way... another AutoEQ but for the sub I did not wanted to go the REW + Manual SubEQ route; few free time lately.
jm10 is offline  
post #4925 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by edpracer View Post
Yep I had a 3900 as well and it is still in use by one of my friends. I upgraded to a 3020 in 2012 and loved it as well. I purchased a Vizio 70 in M series and I started getting HDMI disconnect issues where the port would go to sleep for 12 seconds. So being a UHD set I thought it could be a receiver issue and I told the wife that I had to eliminate it as a suspect. So I went and purchased a 3060 and just recently bought some add on Pioneer Atmos speakers and some bookshelf Pioneer Atmos speakers. After all that the dog hates the new setup and I had to buy Sennheiser HT Headphones.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #4926 of 7182 Old 06-20-2017, 08:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
While it is peripheral to this topic, it you are interested in the personal disc calibration aspects of UHD HDR for your HTs (displays and projectors), be sure to check out this marvelous set of posts (3) by Stacey Spears in the OPPO Owners Forum. He talks about what is going into the new "Spears and Munsil V3" for next year. (At least, I think that's what it might be called.)

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post53765201
gwsat, mavang and TelumehtarAVS like this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #4927 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 09:56 AM
Member
 
macuniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I upgraded my AVR recently (A3060). I'm impressed with the sound quality of this unit; really crisp and detailed audio. I'm still trying to get used to the user interface and having some issues understanding how Yamaha handles global (settings that apply to all sources) and local (settings that apply only to one specific input). This distinction was very clear and intuitive with my previous AVR, Onkyo 818.

One example is setting YPAO Volume On or Off for each input source independently. Option key indicates its setting applies to all inputs, not only to the currently set input source.

Any pointers? I must be missing something really simple/fundamental here.
macuniverse is offline  
post #4928 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by macuniverse View Post
One example is setting YPAO Volume On or Off for each input source independently. Option key indicates its setting applies to all inputs, not only to the currently set input source.

Any pointers? I must be missing something really simple/fundamental here.
Get familiar with setting up SCENE parameters and explore all the options available in there. You can turn things like YPAO volume on and off any time, but if you use a SCENE to start out, you'll always begin in the same place.
TomcatTLC likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4929 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
qirex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I'm looking at the 870 or 1070 and have a couple questions:
  1. Does anyone have a 1060 or 860 and uses them to drive 4 ohm speakers? I'm considering the KEF LS50 and they're known to be tough to drive. Most of my listening will be at low volumes but I want to make sure.
  2. Is there any trickiness with 4K HDMI switching? It seems even new receivers aren't dealing with 4k/HDR/HDCP 2.2 well (I glanced at the Pioneer Elite thread) and my main reason for this upgrade is 4k support.
qirex is online now  
post #4930 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by qirex View Post
I'm looking at the 870 or 1070 and have a couple questions:
  1. Does anyone have a 1060 or 860 and uses them to drive 4 ohm speakers? I'm considering the KEF LS50 and they're known to be tough to drive. Most of my listening will be at low volumes but I want to make sure.
  2. Is there any trickiness with 4K HDMI switching? It seems even new receivers aren't dealing with 4k/HDR/HDCP 2.2 well (I glanced at the Pioneer Elite thread) and my main reason for this upgrade is 4k support.
I can't help with #1 , but those of us in the Yamaha camp have been watching with quiet baffellemt all the issues folks are having with other AVRs. I don't know what Yamaha is doing differently but I'm glad they are.
TelumehtarAVS likes this.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #4931 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Norixone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by veger69 View Post
I have a temporary situation where my theater is not done yet. I have a Yamaha RX-V540 receiver temporarily doing amplification duty for the Auralic Vega. What is the correct way to set volume control. What volume should the Vega be at if I want to control volume with the Yamaha? The Vega has its own volume controls typically I would hook it right to a amp but no room for separates right now
I have the Vega connected to the XLR on my 5100 preamp. I have set the volume on the Vega 100% and activated the digital acctuator on the 5100. By not doing so I would get clipping unless I brought the volume on the Vega below 75%, which is not recommended as the digital volume of the Vega would reduce resolution.

I do not know if your amplifier offers the same features.
Norixone is offline  
post #4932 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2086 Post(s)
Liked: 1093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
@jessiedart



First image is what I get for 5.1 in surround decode or with a DSP active. Second is with "straight".

Note I'm in a wonky config right now until the installer comes to put in my actual ceiling spkrs this weekend, but clearly the decoders and DSP will matrix.
Delve into the manual for the options and configurations. Not all models will do 7.1.4 or 7.1.2 ... that "7" is what you want for your Surround Back Left and Surround Back Right speakers to be active. Some AVRs give you those … OR … the front or rear presence speakers.

From your pics, you've got presence speakers hooked up and active, not surround back.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #4933 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2086 Post(s)
Liked: 1093
Folks there are a few new threads for the 2017 AVRs, but if there isn't one for your model ... start one for yours! Asking questions in the 2016 threads is going to get confusing. :} Just my 2¢.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #4934 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
qirex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Folks there are a few new threads for the 2017 AVRs, but if there isn't one for your model ... start one for yours! Asking questions in the 2016 threads is going to get confusing. :} Just my 2¢.
I asked here because the 2017 ones haven't shipped yet and I'm curious what people's experiences using their 2016 models is like since they look largely similar. Plus if I see a deal on a 1060 I might grab it.
qirex is online now  
post #4935 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
YPAO Angle

Still a new user, love the amp, but haven't done a full fledged YPAO because I won't have all the speakers installed (ceiling atmos, yay) until this weekend.

I have a few questions about the Angle/Height measurement:
1) Can this be added to a multi-position YPAO that's already been done, or does it require redoing the full procedure from scratch?
2) Are the angle measurements made (x3, x4?) for each of the 8 positions, or does that set of measurements get done only once?

I ask because the apparatus clearly appears intended to be used with the microphone moving to the various spots on the stand in succession, and I'm assuming its important to ensure it (the stand thingy) doesn't move at all in between microphone shifts. I don't have a tripod or boom I can use as a firm-fixed anchor point for the thing. I normally just rest the microphone on a tower of pillows on the couch, but I'm not confident in my ability to keep the apparatus entirely stable while I shift the microphone around however many times while doing the Angle measurement.

Thanks for anyone's insights on this.

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
post #4936 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Delve into the manual for the options and configurations. Not all models will do 7.1.4 or 7.1.2 ... that "7" is what you want for your Surround Back Left and Surround Back Right speakers to be active. Some AVRs give you those … OR … the front or rear presence speakers.

From your pics, you've got presence speakers hooked up and active, not surround back.
Yeah the pics were from my setup, demonstrating that the DSP options and SDU will matrix other speakers in the setup. @jessiedart couldn't get his surround backs to fire at all when using anything other than 7.1 as source content. We don't know which setup/model he has (to my recollection) but if he is getting SB firing on 7.1 content then he should be able to adjust settings to get them to matrix properly from a 2ch or 5.1ch source. No replies from OP so who knows.

Good suggestion though, he might have the SBs switching off for some reason (different speaker pattern?), or they are on the RP posts instead of SB.
ChromeJob likes this.

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
post #4937 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 1078
Does anyone have their Yamaha connected to SVS's Elevation speakers as an Atmos set up? Im thinking about buying the 2070 connecting 4 elevation speakers for a 5.1.4 setup.
helvetica bold is offline  
post #4938 of 7182 Old 06-22-2017, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
whitey019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post
Does anyone have their Yamaha connected to SVS's Elevation speakers as an Atmos set up? Im thinking about buying the 2070 connecting 4 elevation speakers for a 5.1.4 setup.
Not exactly. I have a 3060 with SVS Prime satellites with the SoundPath Pivoting Speaker Bracket, which I'd buy again over the elevation speakers. These are a great deal, especially through the SVS outlet.

Note: I don't see the Prime Satellite mounting bracket anymore. Maybe they discontinued it as I bought them before the elevation speakers were available.
whitey019 is offline  
post #4939 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 05:11 AM
Member
 
macuniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Get familiar with setting up SCENE parameters and explore all the options available in there. You can turn things like YPAO volume on and off any time, but if you use a SCENE to start out, you'll always begin in the same place.
Thanks for the tip. I tried it before but took a while to understand how it works.
macuniverse is offline  
post #4940 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
abba1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Question: In the Options Menu...''Dialogue Level'' (not Lift)...is the same thing accomplished by raising the center channel level in the manual set-up?
abba1 is offline  
post #4941 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by abba1 View Post
Question: In the Options Menu...''Dialogue Level'' (not Lift)...is the same thing accomplished by raising the center channel level in the manual set-up?
This has been my assumption - but allowing you to easily reverse and/or live-tweak the effect without altering the YPAO calibration and how the music decoding and DSPs work.

Additionally, if used in conjunction with the dialog lift, I would expect it to move in lock-step with the other channels involved in that effect (front presence, in addition to center) for how the center channel signal is steered.

I rather like having it a separate unique setting.

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
post #4942 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
Still a new user, love the amp, but haven't done a full fledged YPAO because I won't have all the speakers installed (ceiling atmos, yay) until this weekend.

I have a few questions about the Angle/Height measurement:
1) Can this be added to a multi-position YPAO that's already been done, or does it require redoing the full procedure from scratch?
2) Are the angle measurements made (x3, x4?) for each of the 8 positions, or does that set of measurements get done only once?

I ask because the apparatus clearly appears intended to be used with the microphone moving to the various spots on the stand in succession, and I'm assuming its important to ensure it (the stand thingy) doesn't move at all in between microphone shifts. I don't have a tripod or boom I can use as a firm-fixed anchor point for the thing. I normally just rest the microphone on a tower of pillows on the couch, but I'm not confident in my ability to keep the apparatus entirely stable while I shift the microphone around however many times while doing the Angle measurement.

Thanks for anyone's insights on this.
I had similar concerns with this. Minimize the pillows and use a large folio type book on top set so that it feels firm. Then don't touch it all except to carefully move the mic from on position to the other.
Hresna likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #4943 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
I had similar concerns with this. Minimize the pillows and use a large folio type book on top set so that it feels firm. Then don't touch it all except to carefully move the mic from on position to the other.
Thanks Rich. Do the 4 measurements get done for all 8 listening positions, or only the first one?

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
post #4944 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
veger69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norixone View Post
I have the Vega connected to the XLR on my 5100 preamp. I have set the volume on the Vega 100% and activated the digital acctuator on the 5100. By not doing so I would get clipping unless I brought the volume on the Vega below 75%, which is not recommended as the digital volume of the Vega would reduce resolution.

I do not know if your amplifier offers the same features.


Thanks I've got the Vega set to 100 and so far no clipping using the Yamaha to control volume.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

7.2.4 Anthem AVM60
Marantz MM9000, MM7055, Odyssey Stratos Stereo Extreme amps
Revel F52's and C52 center (4)M106 surrounds (4) C763L ceiling
Zappiti One HDR 4K, OPPO UDP-203
veger69 is offline  
post #4945 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
TomcatTLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Northeast, USA
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
Thanks Rich. Do the 4 measurements get done for all 8 listening positions, or only the first one?
Hiya Hresna, I just completed the Auto Speaker Setup and regarding the Angle/Height Measurement it is the same for both the One Listening Position and for the Multi Listening Position which only requires the Angle/Height Measurement be taken at the primary seating position OM Pages 57-58 and 60-61.

Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha 3060, Oppo 203, Oppo 103D, LG 65E7P, Sony UBP-X800
TomcatTLC is offline  
post #4946 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Sorry, quick question. Do the Yamaha receivers not show a 4K picture on the tv when the video setting is set to Direct ???? I assumed I just wanted to let my Sony 930d do the upscaling but I can't get the DIRECTV 4k channel 104 to work unless I make the Yamaha 770 do the processing????
fonz5000 is offline  
post #4947 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonz5000 View Post
Sorry, quick question. Do the Yamaha receivers not show a 4K picture on the tv when the video setting is set to Direct ???? I assumed I just wanted to let my Sony 930d do the upscaling but I can't get the DIRECTV 4k channel 104 to work unless I make the Yamaha 770 do the processing????
There are some weird issues with DTV receivers. It doesn't really matter if you have that input set to process if the input is 4K. Do whatever works. Just be sure the AVR is set to HDMI mode-1.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4948 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
fonz5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonz5000 View Post
Sorry, quick question. Do the Yamaha receivers not show a 4K picture on the tv when the video setting is set to Direct ???? I assumed I just wanted to let my Sony 930d do the upscaling but I can't get the DIRECTV 4k channel 104 to work unless I make the Yamaha 770 do the processing????
There are some weird issues with DTV receivers. It doesn't really matter if you have that input set to process if the input is 4K. Do whatever works. Just be sure the AVR is set to HDMI mode-1.
HDMI mode-1 ???? Sorry, this is my first Yamaha receiver. The menu is definitely not as user friendly as Denon or Onkyo.
fonz5000 is offline  
post #4949 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomcatTLC View Post
Hiya Hresna, I just completed the Auto Speaker Setup and regarding the Angle/Height Measurement it is the same for both the One Listening Position and for the Multi Listening Position which only requires the Angle/Height Measurement be taken at the primary seating position OM Pages 57-58 and 60-61.
Awesome, thanks Tomcat. I read just about every word of the manual on running YPAO but couldn't quite figure out (or missed) whether it the four-position stand gets used for all points or not. Somewhat relieved its just one set of four (and not 36measurements all told).

Everything gets hooked up tomorrow (the .4 in my 7.2.4) and I will excitedly do a full YPAO in time for my 4k UHD screening of John Wick 2 (which fun enough, my wife is even more excited about than I am, she just told me a second ago)
TomcatTLC likes this.

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos

Last edited by Hresna; 06-23-2017 at 03:51 PM.
Hresna is offline  
post #4950 of 7182 Old 06-23-2017, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sweetmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonz5000 View Post
Sorry, quick question. Do the Yamaha receivers not show a 4K picture on the tv when the video setting is set to Direct ???? I assumed I just wanted to let my Sony 930d do the upscaling but I can't get the DIRECTV 4k channel 104 to work unless I make the Yamaha 770 do the processing????


Do you mean Through? 4K passes through my 3060 to my projector just fine.

What do you mean the DIRECTV 4k channel won't work? Are you not getting a picture? How long of a HDMI cord are you using? Do you have multiple displays hooked up to your 3060 that support different resolutions?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

xbr75x900E and JVC RS420 with Elite 120" screen
Receiver - Yamaha RX-A3060/RX-A3000, WXA-50 MusicCast Amp for Zone 2
L/C/R - B&W CM9/CMC2, Side - DS3, Rear - CM5, F/R Atmos - CCM663
Subs - SVS PB12+ and PB13 Ultra
Harmony Elite, ATV 4K, Nvidia Shield Pro, HDHomeRun Extend
Sweetmeat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off