The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 225 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33157Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 7337 Old 10-27-2018, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,487
Mentioned: 318 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3400 Post(s)
Liked: 8682
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
My A1060 stopped working today all of sudden, no light, no display. I opened and checked fuse and it is showing continuity. What should I do now? Any fix?
its still under warranty, so open a ticket with support or return it to the dealer you purchased it from.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 10-27-2018 at 10:12 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 7337 Old 10-27-2018, 10:36 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
It should be under warranty but I don’t have receipt. I received from someone who purchased it originally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
My A1060 stopped working today all of sudden, no light, no display. I opened and checked fuse and it is showing continuity. What should I do now? Any fix?
its still under warranty, so open a ticket with support or return it to the dealer you purchased it from.
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6723 of 7337 Old 10-28-2018, 02:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,946
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3315 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
It should be under warranty but I don’t have receipt. I received from someone who purchased it originally.
Call Yamaha
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6724 of 7337 Old 10-28-2018, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: France
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Call Yamaha.
Thanks Bond 007

Did call Yamaha first ….pleased call our partner to repair! Learning is you may lost your Yamaha RX-Axx et anytime without notice! Reason is Yamaha did not implemant proper firmware recovery mode - Meaning after 2 years you pay yourself on behalf or Yamaha
Today I'm playing music with my first 31 years old dual amplifier!
Any experience on bad Firmware update?
rgds
Tonny
Ftonny is offline  
post #6725 of 7337 Old 10-29-2018, 05:54 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Thank you! I called Yamaha and they took care of it. They went above and beyond, gave very high customer satisfaction experience, I am not going anywhere but Yamaha for any future AVR purchase. Not only they said they will fix it but also mentioned that if you are not happy with repair then they will send another unit!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
It should be under warranty but I don’t have receipt. I received from someone who purchased it originally.
Call Yamaha
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6726 of 7337 Old 10-29-2018, 06:35 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
What is good speaker wire, I need 16 gauge or more. Don’t want to break the bank but don’t want very cheap wire either. Good quality with low price is what I am looking for. Thank you!
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6727 of 7337 Old 10-29-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
What is good speaker wire, I need 16 gauge or more. Don’t want to break the bank but don’t want very cheap wire either. Good quality with low price is what I am looking for. Thank you!
Monoprice wire is all you need...
hdfonz likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6728 of 7337 Old 10-29-2018, 08:25 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Wouldn’t 12 gushed be over kill, none of my speaker are more than 20 feet away.
Speakers will need like 4, 8, 8, 12, 12 feet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceh383 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
What is good speaker wire, I need 16 gauge or more. Don’t want to break the bank but don’t want very cheap wire either. Good quality with low price is what I am looking for. Thank you!
Monoprice wire is all you need...
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6729 of 7337 Old 10-29-2018, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
Wouldn’t 12 gushed be over kill, none of my speaker are more than 20 feet away.
Speakers will need like 4, 8, 8, 12, 12 feet.
12ga might be overkill but, it won't hurt anything either. Look around their site, they do have other options.
When I ran my wires I never wanted to have to do it again so I went with 12ga. My front 3 are <10ft, but the ATMOS and rears are >25ft.


Buy once, cry once
TomcatTLC likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6730 of 7337 Old 10-31-2018, 07:26 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
The &quot;Official&quot; Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread

I have Yamaha RX-A1060, my all speakers are Klipsch 8 ohm (two VF36, one Center Chanel VC25, and 2 bookshelf VB15). But my surround sound speakers are 4 ohm Panasonic from my old set. Can I mix 4 ohm with 8 ohm? There is setting in the receiver to set ohm. By default it is set at 8, but what number you set when you mix 4 and 8 ohm speakers?
I am thinking VB15 as FR and FL. VC25 as center. And both VF36 in the front too as FPL and FPR. And two surround in back as SR and SL, any suggestions on setup?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by sonicviewelite; 10-31-2018 at 07:33 PM.
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6731 of 7337 Old 10-31-2018, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
I have Yamaha RX-A1060, my all speakers are Klipsch 8 ohm (two VF36, one Center Chanel VC25, and 2 bookshelf VB15). But my surround sound speakers are 4 ohm Panasonic from my old set. Can I mix 4 ohm with 8 ohm? There is setting in the receiver to set ohm. By default it is set at 8, but what number you set when you mix 4 and 8 ohm speakers?
I am thinking VB15 as FR and FL. VC25 as center. And both VF36 in the front too as FPL and FPR. And two surround in back as SR and SL, any suggestions on setup?
Leave it set at 8Ω, you will be fine. All changing the setting will do is drop the rail voltage, which could cause the receiver to go into protection mode easier.
sonicviewelite likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6732 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 03:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
Thank you! I called Yamaha and they took care of it. They went above and beyond, gave very high customer satisfaction experience, I am not going anywhere but Yamaha for any future AVR purchase. Not only they said they will fix it but also mentioned that if you are not happy with repair then they will send another unit!
Talking about Yamaha service, when they couldn't resolve the slight sparkles I was getting at 18Gbps with 2 2060s (and demonstrated to my dealer that it was not the cable, of course) they upgraded me to a 3060 that didn't have the problem for free! 2 years later still all great.

Yes, great customer service &#x1f642;.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #6733 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 04:40 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceh383 View Post
Leave it set at 8Ω, you will be fine. All changing the setting will do is drop the rail voltage, which could cause the receiver to go into protection mode easier.


So setting 8 ohm mean less voltage compared to 4 ohm? Which setting cause system to go to protection mode fast 8 or 4? Don’t want the AVR to stop frequently


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6734 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
So setting 8 ohm mean less voltage compared to 4 ohm? Which setting cause system to go to protection mode fast 8 or 4? Don’t want the AVR to stop frequently
Setting it to a lower Ω setting lowers the rail voltage and can cause going into protection mode.


Here's an article on the subject, probably more reading than you want to do

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6735 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 08:40 PM
Member
 
sonicviewelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Thank you giving more information on impedance setting.
Now I will set it at 8 ohm.
By the way how is banana clips from Monoprice, there are mixed reviews. Need few clips actually 10 set. Monoprice clips are brass and copper.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ceh383 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
So setting 8 ohm mean less voltage compared to 4 ohm? Which setting cause system to go to protection mode fast 8 or 4? Don’t want the AVR to stop frequently
Setting it to a lower Ω setting lowers the rail voltage and can cause going into protection mode.


Here's an article on the subject, probably more reading than you want to do [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/eek.gif[/IMG]
sonicviewelite is offline  
post #6736 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
Thank you giving more information on impedance setting.
Now I will set it at 8 ohm.
By the way how is banana clips from Monoprice, there are mixed reviews. Need few clips actually 10 set. Monoprice clips are brass and copper.
THESE are the ones I'm using. No failures with them in 5 years, so I guess they work as they should.

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6737 of 7337 Old 11-01-2018, 10:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 627
Actually lowering the impedance setting protects the receiver so it won't go into protection mode so easily. Using it at 8 ohms with 4 ohm speakers could cause the protection circuits to kick in due to heat and other issues more often.

However, you want to generally leave it in the 8 ohm mode as this is the only way to get your receiver amps to produce their max power. The impedance setting is a safety thing - the UL or ETL or CSA test for safety is very tough. The lower impedance settings reduce amp power so they will pass the stringent safety test.

If you're running lower impedance speakers, the lower setting will guarantee nothing bad will happen - the amp will not overheat and set fire to your house no matter what content you play. But if you use your receiver for normal content like movies and such, you can use the high impedance setting because most of the content will not be as bad as the worst case scenarios the safety labs test with.

However, if you do enter protection mode, you have two options - either reduce the volume you play your content at so you aren't pushing the amps so hard, or lower the impedance setting, being aware it will lock out some of your amps power and may cause you to run out of power.
Worf is offline  
post #6738 of 7337 Old 11-02-2018, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6129
8ohm vs 4ohm on an AVR is a joke. As said above, run 8ohm. If your speakers are too demanding at that point, buy an amp.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #6739 of 7337 Old 11-02-2018, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicviewelite View Post
Thank you giving more information on impedance setting.
Now I will set it at 8 ohm.
By the way how is banana clips from Monoprice, there are mixed reviews. Need few clips actually 10 set. Monoprice clips are brass and copper.
There are 2 issues with the Monoprice Banana Plugs... First, they are too long, second, the back part is screwed off and then there are 2 little screws that secure the wire so you will need a very small flat head screwdriver, if your wire is a heavy gauge wire, they won't fit into the banana plug,then you screw the cover back on. Some people like the banana plugs with the tiny screws. As for me, I didn't want the bother. SO... my recommendation is to go to Amazon and look at their banana plugs. They carry banana plugs like Monoprice (or they may carry Monoprice). The three banana plugs that I like are those that you stick the wire through the back, then bend the wire back and crimp them down by the banana plug front part. You never have to worry if the wire will come out when screws get loose. The brands are: Amazonbasics, Mediabridge, and Sewell. All three are basically the same.

Best of luck.
jdhelaman is offline  
post #6740 of 7337 Old 11-02-2018, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Actually lowering the impedance setting protects the receiver so it won't go into protection mode so easily. Using it at 8 ohms with 4 ohm speakers could cause the protection circuits to kick in due to heat and other issues more often.

However, you want to generally leave it in the 8 ohm mode as this is the only way to get your receiver amps to produce their max power. The impedance setting is a safety thing - the UL or ETL or CSA test for safety is very tough. The lower impedance settings reduce amp power so they will pass the stringent safety test.

If you're running lower impedance speakers, the lower setting will guarantee nothing bad will happen - the amp will not overheat and set fire to your house no matter what content you play. But if you use your receiver for normal content like movies and such, you can use the high impedance setting because most of the content will not be as bad as the worst case scenarios the safety labs test with.

However, if you do enter protection mode, you have two options - either reduce the volume you play your content at so you aren't pushing the amps so hard, or lower the impedance setting, being aware it will lock out some of your amps power and may cause you to run out of power.
I agree with this, however, there is more to it than heat issues. You can get some receivers to to shut down by over stressing the power supply, this can happen with either setting. Power supply output is limited when using the 4Ω setting, so it is easier to stress it to its limits.
Either way, leave it at 8Ω and keep an eye the temperature...

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6741 of 7337 Old 11-03-2018, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Silverfoxvtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Puyallup Wa
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Need help hooking up Yamaha 2060

I love listening to my Apple TV music playlist while watching regular tv, like CNN..and want the music playing through my sound system while watching tv at the same time. Is this possible or do I need a separate system, and mute the tv sound while playing music

Chuck
A1E 65
Yamaha 2060 Emotiva XPA Gen3,Klipsch RF-711,Klipsch RC-6411,Klipsch RP-250S Speedwoofer
Apple TV 4k,Amazon Fire TV
Silverfoxvtx is offline  
post #6742 of 7337 Old 11-03-2018, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverfoxvtx View Post
I love listening to my Apple TV music playlist while watching regular tv, like CNN..and want the music playing through my sound system while watching tv at the same time. Is this possible or do I need a separate system, and mute the tv sound while playing music
It depends on all of the components.
I like watching sports while listening to music. I can do it be using the second video output on the TV box going to the TV and selecting the audio input I want to use, but switching the audio between the two is a pain in the a$$.
On another note, why would you want a "news" channel on the screen while listening to music?...Makes no sense to me

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6743 of 7337 Old 11-03-2018, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Silverfoxvtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Puyallup Wa
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceh383 View Post
It depends on all of the components.
I like watching sports while listening to music. I can do it be using the second video output on the TV box going to the TV and selecting the audio input I want to use, but switching the audio between the two is a pain in the a$$.
On another note, why would you want a "news" channel on the screen while listening to music?...Makes no sense to me
Just lately watching a news channel with all the Trump ****

Chuck
A1E 65
Yamaha 2060 Emotiva XPA Gen3,Klipsch RF-711,Klipsch RC-6411,Klipsch RP-250S Speedwoofer
Apple TV 4k,Amazon Fire TV
Silverfoxvtx is offline  
post #6744 of 7337 Old 11-03-2018, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 3405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverfoxvtx View Post
Just lately watching a news channel with all the Trump ****
Not wanting to derail the thread, but I have a feeling we are on opposite ends of the political spectrum

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is online now  
post #6745 of 7337 Old 11-04-2018, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 5,143
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverfoxvtx View Post
I love listening to my Apple TV music playlist while watching regular tv, like CNN..and want the music playing through my sound system while watching tv at the same time. Is this possible or do I need a separate system, and mute the tv sound while playing music
On some Yamahas, you can select a different HDMI input as the background for audio-only inputs, rather than wallpaper. I don’t think this will apply to a video input like an Apple TV. But if you use Airplay from another Apple device, you could use the regular TV (I presume a set top box (STB)) as the background.

YMMV depending upon AVR model.

“Ever heard of the Sullivan Act?” “Oh that's all right, Detective, we're married.”
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #6746 of 7337 Old 11-04-2018, 08:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,946
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3315 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverfoxvtx View Post
I love listening to my Apple TV music playlist while watching regular tv, like CNN..and want the music playing through my sound system while watching tv at the same time. Is this possible or do I need a separate system, and mute the tv sound while playing music
Not possible with CNN.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6747 of 7337 Old 11-06-2018, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhelaman View Post
There are 2 issues with the Monoprice Banana Plugs... First, they are too long, second, the back part is screwed off and then there are 2 little screws that secure the wire so you will need a very small flat head screwdriver, if your wire is a heavy gauge wire, they won't fit into the banana plug,then you screw the cover back on. Some people like the banana plugs with the tiny screws. As for me, I didn't want the bother. SO... my recommendation is to go to Amazon and look at their banana plugs. They carry banana plugs like Monoprice (or they may carry Monoprice). The three banana plugs that I like are those that you stick the wire through the back, then bend the wire back and crimp them down by the banana plug front part. You never have to worry if the wire will come out when screws get loose. The brands are: Amazonbasics, Mediabridge, and Sewell. All three are basically the same.

Best of luck.
I have to agree. Replaced all mine with these Sewell from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct...na+plugs&psc=1

Simple install -- unscrew, run the wire up the middle of the base, fold wire over, screw the plug back on and you're set. I like to fan the wire over the base "jaw". Give a good, tight and very secure connection.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #6748 of 7337 Old 11-11-2018, 09:10 AM
Member
 
zubinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: long island ny
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hello Gents just a quick question about speaker configurations on my RX-A2060. In addition to the speaker output can I connect an additional speaker via Optical and have sound simultaneously from all? Thanks for confirming. I’m going to try and get better dialogue sound by adding a ZVOX speaker via optical but just want to make sure the 2060 supports multiple simultaneous outputs.

Thanks again.
zubinh is offline  
post #6749 of 7337 Old 11-11-2018, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
I have to agree. Replaced all mine with these Sewell from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct...na+plugs&psc=1

Simple install -- unscrew, run the wire up the middle of the base, fold wire over, screw the plug back on and you're set. I like to fan the wire over the base "jaw". Give a good, tight and very secure connection.
Well, not all of the monoprice banana plugs are the type with the small screws. I've been using these kind:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...oaAuTVEALw_wcB

for years now (100's of them) and have had no problems with them. The wire is attached the same as with the Sewell ones. They are longer...but half the price...
PioManiac likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #6750 of 7337 Old 11-11-2018, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Well, not all of the monoprice banana plugs are the type with the small screws. I've been using these kind:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...oaAuTVEALw_wcB

for years now (100's of them) and have had no problems with them. The wire is attached the same as with the Sewell ones. They are longer...but half the price...
I'd agree. Had I seen these, I would have gotten them. No problems at all with any Monoprice products I've used.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , a3060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off