The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 237 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7081 of 7127 Old 06-02-2019, 08:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,160
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3160 Post(s)
Liked: 7689
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
I dont need the 11th channel. Sticking with 5.2.4. So i guess its the 2070. Doesnt the 3070 have different amps for better sound though?
Different DAC's, not amps.

BTW, you're posting in the wrong forum,
the RX-A3070/2070/1070 thread is here:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...rs-thread.html

Specs are listed on page 1

ESS SABRE PRO Premier DAC™ ES9026PRO
Our flagship RX-A3070 model features ESS’s state of the art 32-bit SABRE PRO Premier DAC ES9026PRO. ESS’s patented 32-bit Hyper Stream, Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) compensation fun32-bit beast-mode. Our flagship RX-A3070 model features ESS’s state of the art 32-bit SABRE PRO Premier DAC ES9026PRO. ESS’s patented 32-bit Hyper Stream, Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) compensation function works to minimize noise levels. In combination with the Yamaha original D.O.P.G. (DAC On Pure Ground) concept, which eliminates the potential difference between audio circuit stages to reduce ground noise, it dramatically enhances silence and resolution over the entire audio range for rich and expressive reproduction of even the most delicate sounds


XLR Input
The RX-A3070 comes equipped with XLR balanced audio input terminal that have an outstanding reputation in the world of professional audio and are highly sensitive to noise in the mix. In combination with a Blu-ray Disc™ playBalanced audio. The receiver comes equipped with an XLR balanced audio input terminals. In combination with a Blu-ray Disc™ player such as our BD-A1060, or CD player such as our CD-S3000 / S2100 equipped with balanced output terminals, this enables high-quality signal transmission with reduced degradation of sound quality due to external noise. The balanced input terminals feature gold-plated connections produced by Neutrik, a company with a long history of experience working with Yamaha mixing consoles.
ChromeJob likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7082 of 7127 Old 06-02-2019, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So will the 3070 sound better? Sorry i am in the wrong forum this is my last question. I will not use the XLR's.
sound2017 is offline  
post #7083 of 7127 Old 06-02-2019, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,160
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3160 Post(s)
Liked: 7689
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
So will the 3070 sound better? Sorry i am in the wrong forum this is my last question. I will not use the XLR's.
Only your ears can tell whether you will notice a difference.

Do you have speakers worth $300/pair or $3000/pair?

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 06-02-2019 at 08:51 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7084 of 7127 Old 06-02-2019, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
So long as everything with HDMI is running into the AVR, and the TV is running through HDMI OUT, you ought to be able to tune the TV to the game (over the air? 75 ohm cable into the TV?) while still playing music on the Apple TV. If switching inputs on the TV switches the AVR to the TV HDMI-ARC audio, then select the input for the ATV again. If this insists on changing the TV, then turn off HDMI Control (aka HDMI-CEC) on teh AVR and try again. Should work.
I was suggesting the same thing. Watch the TV channel from a OTA antenna, and then simply tune in the Apple TV with what ever input it's connected to.

You're solution confuses me a little however. You mentioned as long as everything is hooked up via HDMI, but then you mention OTA signals going to the TV. So if there's a 75 ohm cable going to the TV, what does that have to do with the TV being hooked up to the receiver via HDMI? If there's worry about the audio being played back from the TV through the HDMI back to the receiver...you mentioned turning off HDMI Control. If that doesn't work, he can just unplug the HDMI connection either at the receiver or the TV.

In my case, I do have an OTA signal going to the TV via a 75 ohm cable. It's easy at that point to tune to the TV to the OTA signal, then select the input source of the audio I want to hear. One thing he could do is take the audio out from the Apple TV and hook that up to an available audio input, and then select that audio input to play the audio from the Apple TV while the TV is playing the video from a OTA signal. However in my case, my TV does not have the feature where the audio can go from the TV back through the receiver via HDMI...so I never ran into that issue that could rear it's ugly head.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #7085 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebarnman View Post
…You're solution confuses me a little however. You mentioned as long as everything is hooked up via HDMI, but then you mention OTA signals going to the TV. So if there's a 75 ohm cable going to the TV, what does that have to do with the TV being hooked up to the receiver via HDMI? If there's worry about the audio being played back from the TV through the HDMI back to the receiver...you mentioned turning off HDMI Control. If that doesn't work, he can just unplug the HDMI connection either at the receiver or the TV. …
Using HDMI-ARC vs SPDIF for audio back from the TV.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #7086 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
PioManic: I have the DIY Sound Group 1099's right here:
https://www.diysoundgroup.com/home-t...sive-1099.html

They dont need much power to get loud. 99db sensitivity.
sound2017 is offline  
post #7087 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 11:11 AM
Member
 
jjurroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
So long as everything with HDMI is running into the AVR, and the TV is running through HDMI OUT, you ought to be able to tune the TV to the game (over the air? 75 ohm cable into the TV?) while still playing music on the Apple TV. If switching inputs on the TV switches the AVR to the TV HDMI-ARC audio, then select the input for the ATV again. If this insists on changing the TV, then turn off HDMI Control (aka HDMI-CEC) on teh AVR and try again. Should work.

My specific scenario would be watching DirecTv on HDMI 1 while listening to music that's coming from a Chromecast on HDMI 3. Is this possible?
jjurroz is offline  
post #7088 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,160
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3160 Post(s)
Liked: 7689
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
PioManic: I have the DIY Sound Group 1099's right here:
https://www.diysoundgroup.com/home-t...sive-1099.html

They dont need much power to get loud. 99db sensitivity.
Well personally, I would probably opt for the 3070 model, But that's just how I roll

If the price spread was say ~$300 over the 2070, and you keep it for just 3 years, the difference is only $100/year....$0.27/day ...peanuts!
Keep it 6 years, the difference becomes even less significant over time. I use that to justify a lot of upgrades

The bitter taste of regret over a poor decision can last a lot longer than the sweet short term gratification of saving a few bucks on purchase day.

YMMV
rboster and ChromeJob like this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 06-03-2019 at 12:51 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #7089 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 8
SONY TV's with ARC and Yamaha audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Sony broke ARC with updates early this year that are supposed to have been resolved by the re-release of the Oreo update last week.
Just an update that for the most part, Sony did fix most of my ARC problems with audio. However, once in a while, the built-in speakers will fire up along with the Yamaha receiver together. A quick power down and up of the entire system is a quick fix or I can go through menues on the TV to swtich audio sources around a few times. It so infrequent that I'm OK with the present scenario although now my poor 82 year old mother is complaining about her Sony TV and low-end Yamaha home theater receiver I bought her! She claims that everything she starts her "Watch TV" macro on her Harmony remote, the audio is terrible until she powers down and restarts. Seems like Sony has not totally fixed this problem but since I know now that this is a Sony roblem and not a Yamaha problem this will be my last post about this topic here. Thanks all.
TrendSetterX likes this.
BMWbill is offline  
post #7090 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Will the DAC's in the 3070 make it sound better than the 2070?
sound2017 is offline  
post #7091 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 04:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,160
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3160 Post(s)
Liked: 7689
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
Will the DAC's in the 3070 make it sound better than the 2070?
Well better DAC's sure as heck won't make it sound worse
How much better will be determined by several factors:

  • Quality of your speakers
  • Quality of the source being played
  • How well your room is setup/configured/treated/corrected and calibrated
  • Whether your ears are sensitive enough to distinguish a difference after all of the above

If you're watching Netflix with a streamed compressed 5.1 DD audio track, well, not so much.
High Res uncompressed 24-bit 96KHz stereo music, WAY more likely to make a noticeable difference.
TrendSetterX likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #7092 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok cool thank you. So would I notice a difference with a 4k UHD movie on my BenQ LK970 with the 3070 over the 2070?
sound2017 is offline  
post #7093 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,160
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3160 Post(s)
Liked: 7689
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
Ok cool thank you. So would I notice a difference with a 4k UHD movie on my BenQ LK970 with the 3070 over the 2070?


4K/UHD(Ultra High Definition) is a Video format
a BenQ LK970 is a Laser Projector that only displays Video signals.
So How is that remotely related to an AVR's audio DAC's?

Did you read anything I posted in reference to the "AUDIO"?
Better question, Do you even know what a DAC "is" and how it relates to audio performance?

DAC is an acronym for Digital to Analogue Converter, Your source material is in Digital format,
But your speakers and subs are only capable of receiving Analogue signals from the processor. (AVR/Pre-Pro)

You clearly don't understand anything that's been posted in response to your inquiries,
So it's highly unlikely you will have your system setup properly to notice any difference,
...and $384 DIY speakers won't likely take advantage of better DAC's anyway, so buy the 2070.

You said one last question...4 questions ago,
and you're still posting in the wrong thread

I'm out...

ChromeJob likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 06-03-2019 at 08:24 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #7094 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I thought maybe sound was better with a 4k movie as well as video.
sound2017 is offline  
post #7095 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
I thought maybe sound was better with a 4k movie as well as video.
Not necessarily. Depends on the film and the release of the film. Some HD BluRays have the same atmos/dtx sound track as the UHD version.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #7096 of 7127 Old 06-03-2019, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok thanks i wasnt sure.
sound2017 is offline  
post #7097 of 7127 Old 06-04-2019, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjurroz View Post
My specific scenario would be watching DirecTv on HDMI 1 while listening to music that's coming from a Chromecast on HDMI 3. Is this possible?
Check your manual, but I frankly doubt it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound2017 View Post
Ok thanks i wasnt sure.
Please continue your inquiry in the appropriate RX-A*070 thread.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 06-04-2019 at 09:04 PM.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #7098 of 7127 Old 06-06-2019, 02:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjurroz View Post
My specific scenario would be watching DirecTv on HDMI 1 while listening to music that's coming from a Chromecast on HDMI 3. Is this possible?
1. I'm taking a wild guess here, but I think that's only possible in that situation if you're able to connect the audio outs from Chromecast via optical, coaxial or regular pin type (RCA) audio cables to one of the audio only inputs on the back of the Yamaha. Then within the Zone 2 selection; select the audio of the source the Chromecast is connected. That output from the Zone 2 then needs to be connected to an amp that could then power a set of speakers so you can hear what's coming from Chromecast.


2. There is a HDMI Zone out 2, and you might be able to pick Chromecast out for the HDMI Zone out 2, but trying to get the audio from that connection would require a devise that can accept a HDMI connection so you can get the audio from that (possibly another TV or another receiver with it's own set of speakers) so you can hear the audio from Chromecast.

If non of that works, just pick your choice of any type of audio out from Chromecast, connect that output to a set of self powered speakers.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #7099 of 7127 Old 06-06-2019, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,127
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjurroz View Post
My specific scenario would be watching DirecTv on HDMI 1 while listening to music that's coming from a Chromecast on HDMI 3. Is this possible?
Hi jjurroz, possible solution if cable box is capable. Beside having DirecTV on HDMI 1 to receiver also run Component video output from DirecTV box directly to the TV for video. Once that’s done, while listening to music from Chromecast on HDMI 3 input...switch to the appropriate input on the TV to watch the game (if the game gets exciting and you momentarily want to hear it just switch the receiver to HDMI 1 input).
JChin is online now  
post #7100 of 7127 Old 06-06-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi jjurroz, possible solution if cable box is capable. Beside having DirecTV on HDMI 1 to receiver also run Component video output from DirecTV box directly to the TV for video. Once that’s done, while listening to music from Chromecast on HDMI 3 input...switch to the appropriate input on the TV to watch the game (if the game gets exciting and you momentarily want to hear it just switch the receiver to HDMI 1 input).

I like your solution much more than mine as it would be simpler, but like you say...only if the satellite receiver has another type of video output. Any of these connections would work if it has it...Component, S-Video and Composite.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #7101 of 7127 Old 06-07-2019, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
mzs22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I recently switched from a two channel amp to a three channel for my Yamaha 3060 and have been getting a static like noise while switching inputs and when the audio starts and stops while watching blu rays or other sources, I had the on screen menu brought up and while switching between dsp modes it was also doing it.
mzs22 is offline  
post #7102 of 7127 Old 06-07-2019, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,284
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzs22 View Post
I recently switched from a two channel amp to a three channel for my Yamaha 3060 and have been getting a static like noise while switching inputs and when the audio starts and stops while watching blu rays or other sources, I had the on screen menu brought up and while switching between dsp modes it was also doing it.
Could be just coincidence, but a couple of years ago I was using a 3070 with two Outlaw Audio 2200s mono-block amps for front L&R and decided to try using my Outlaw Audio 7140 7 channel amp for the 7 bed channels instead. Upon making the switch I also experienced noise when switching inputs and at other points (memory a bit foggy on others). My 'fix' was to switch back to the two 2200s as before. Later on I gave the 7140 to my Son who used it with a Yamaha CX-A5100 that I also gave him without any issues, so I don't feel that there was a problem with the 7140, but perhaps something in my hookups, or maybe an incompatibility between the 3070 and the 7140l?

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #7103 of 7127 Old 06-07-2019, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
mzs22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Could be just coincidence, but a couple of years ago I was using a 3070 with two Outlaw Audio 2200s mono-block amps for front L&R and decided to try using my Outlaw Audio 7140 7 channel amp for the 7 bed channels instead. Upon making the switch I also experienced noise when switching inputs and at other points (memory a bit foggy on others). My 'fix' was to switch back to the two 2200s as before. Later on I gave the 7140 to my Son who used it with a Yamaha CX-A5100 that I also gave him without any issues, so I don't feel that there was a problem with the 7140, but perhaps something in my hookups, or maybe an incompatibility between the 3070 and the 7140l?
I am going to do a little more trouble shooting today I have tried swapping out rca cables with no difference, I am not sure what else I can do. I will start unhooking other components and see if that does anything
mzs22 is offline  
post #7104 of 7127 Old 06-08-2019, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
A programmable universal remote would do the job. I don't think you can do it with the Yamaha remote.
Ok, thanks. I just didn't want the ZONE 2 amp running when there was no source.... stupid of Yamaha to not have the ability to turn off the entire unit.
nlemaire is offline  
post #7105 of 7127 Old 06-08-2019, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,162
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2790 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlemaire View Post
Ok, thanks. I just didn't want the ZONE 2 amp running when there was no source.... stupid of Yamaha to not have the ability to turn off the entire unit.
the power button on my supplied Yamaha remote shuts off all zones (AV controller app also has all zones off button under zones)

the power button the AVR front panel is labeled main zone for a reason (but if you open the flap there are controls for other zones too)


(I have the 2070)

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #7106 of 7127 Old 06-13-2019, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
If I select in the Yamaha 3060's menu that I don't have a center channel speaker (for one showing of a movie,) then later re-select in the menu that I do have a center channel speaker, will that mess up any of the settings such as distance or any of the equalization that had been applied to it?


Thanks

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #7107 of 7127 Old 06-14-2019, 03:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,767
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebarnman View Post
If I select in the Yamaha 3060's menu that I don't have a center channel speaker (for one showing of a movie,) then later re-select in the menu that I do have a center channel speaker, will that mess up any of the settings such as distance or any of the equalization that had been applied to it?


Thanks
No
Bond 007 is offline  
post #7108 of 7127 Old 06-14-2019, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
No

Thanks for the response. Yesterday I had a friend over to demonstration the upgrades I've had done to my system. The problem is my center channel is only good if you're directly in front of it. If you're off to either side of the couch, you can still hear where the center channel sound is coming from, but the dialog is intelligible.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #7109 of 7127 Old 06-23-2019, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebarnman View Post
... The problem is my center channel is only good if you're directly in front of it. If you're off to either side of the couch, you can still hear where the center channel sound is coming from, but the dialog is intelligible.
Well, that's what you want! If you mean unintelligible, try using dialog adjust to boost it, Dynamic Range leveling, run YPAO with the mic in 2-3 positions where people may be listening (mic held at ear-level).

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #7110 of 7127 Old 06-23-2019, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Well, that's what you want! If you mean unintelligible, try using dialog adjust to boost it, Dynamic Range leveling, run YPAO with the mic in 2-3 positions where people may be listening (mic held at ear-level).
Yes thanks you, unintelligible is what I meant! I'll go ahead and try dialog boost to see how that works. At the same time, for me that would be a bad thing for me to run YPAO since I just had my system professionally calibrated and doing so would totally mess up the incredible way this system sounds right now.

I think however dialog boost only boosts the dialog in the center channel, but won't make it sound any different when off axis since I believe that's a function of the center channel. I can try it; I'll let you know.

I do have one little trick up my sleeve for such an occasion. If I have a friend or two over, I simply tell the 3060 there is NO center channel. Doing so sends the dialog information to the mains so it's clearly heard across the room.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off