The "Official" Yamaha RX-A1060, RX-A2060 and RX-A3060 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 7127 Old 07-17-2016, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Can anybody suggest, then, any reason why I should consider either the RX-A2060 or 3060 instead of the 1060?
I can tell you why I am considering the 2060. The 3060 is 11.2 and the 2060 9.2 channels. I need front and rear Dolby Atmos configuration. The 1060 is only 7.2 so you can only get 2 front Dolby Atmos and no rear. To get the rear Atmos speakers you need at a minimum 9.2, so thats why I am looking at the 2060. If you dont care about Atmos then the 1060 is a good choice.

Comcast Xfinity with 150MB/s download speed
LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D DISPLAY
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K UHD Bluray player / Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc
Marantz SR-6011 AVR
Playstation 4/Blu-Ray 3D/Playstation 3/Playstation 2/Playstation
Xbox One/Xbox 360 with HD-DVD/Xbox

Last edited by videofx; 07-17-2016 at 09:21 PM.
videofx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 7127 Old 07-17-2016, 10:20 PM
Member
 
huddadudda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Posted in the other thread but I got my A3060 Friday and set it up today. Not sure whats going on but I had it turned up to about vol 4 and the receiver shutoff twice. Wondering if anyone else has seen this. Running it in 6 ohms with Snell Acoustic speakers. Was using the Dolby Atmos demo disc. Soon Ill be moving to Klipsh Atmos and selling my Snell 7.2 setup. I also noticed if using the iOS Yamaha app to calibrate the speakers when changing position it freezes and "enter" doesn't work. Seems like a app bug.
huddadudda is offline  
post #63 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 12:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,990
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11930
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I have had an RX-V3900 for 7 years and had an RX-V2400 for 5 years before that. My 3900 has been wonderful but I am getting ready to upgrade my HT system by adding a 4K HDTV and other 4K compatible components, including a new Yamaha receiver. The 3900, of course, is not 4K compatible. The model who's specs are closest to the 3900 is the RX-A1160. My current speakers, a 7.1 system from Hsu, are terrific so I see no reason to replace or add to them. I'm not ready to undertake the hassle of putting in an Atmos system. Can anybody suggest, then, any reason why I should consider either the RX-A2060 or 3060 instead of the 1060? Any feedback will be gratefully considered.
Depends on your feature/input/output requirements. If you never expect to expand beyond 7.1 (adding either heights or a second sub) and don't need Zones 3/4 capability, the A1060 would meet your needs. If you do want to add Zones 3/4 support, heights, and/or a second sub, the A2060 would be required. And if you want the previously listed features and/or the best audio quality, the "flagship" A3060 would be your best choice.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 01:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by huddadudda View Post
Posted in the other thread but I got my A3060 Friday and set it up today. Not sure whats going on but I had it turned up to about vol 4 and the receiver shutoff twice. Wondering if anyone else has seen this. Running it in 6 ohms with Snell Acoustic speakers. Was using the Dolby Atmos demo disc. Soon Ill be moving to Klipsh Atmos and selling my Snell 7.2 setup. I also noticed if using the iOS Yamaha app to calibrate the speakers when changing position it freezes and "enter" doesn't work. Seems like a app bug.
Switch 3060 back to 8 ohm.
Madmax67 likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #65 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Mecak View Post
If I recall, The RX-V3900 was Yamaha's top-of-the-line receiver at the time. So the equivalent now is the RX-A3060. No question.

Cheers,
Craig.
Thanks for the reminder that the RX-V3900 was Yamaha's top of the line. This caused me to go back and check the 3900'a specs. This revealed that it was a 140W receiver, not 100, which had been my recollection. Consequently, I will definitely be getting the RX-A3060.

P.S. Just talked to my AV contractor and changed the receiver spec to the RX-A3060 from the 2060. Thanks again for your input.

Last edited by gwsat; 07-18-2016 at 07:11 AM.
gwsat is offline  
post #66 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
Thanks for the reminder that the RX-V3900 was Yamaha's top of the line. This caused me to go back and check the 3900'a specs. This revealed that it was a 140W receiver, not 100, which had been my recollection. Consequently, I will definitely be getting the RX-A3060.

P.S. Just talked to my AV contractor and changed the receiver spec to the RX-A3060 from the 2060. Thanks again for your input.
Wattage is the last spec to be considered (if at all) when choosing a receiver. But if you can easily afford the 3060 there should never have been any question.
Madmax67 likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #67 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Wattage is the last spec to be considered (if at all) when choosing a receiver. But if you can easily afford the 3060 there should never have been any question.
You are right that wattage is just one spec among many to be considered. I looked at it simply because wattage is generally a decent indicator of the other capabilities of a receiver. Anyway, I talked to my AV guy and had him put the 3060 in his bid, which I have accepted.

I have had a lot of good AV gear over many years but most of it added to my system on my own. My new system will not only be a turn key job done by a contractor, it will be the most grand I have ever had. I am excited.
gwsat is offline  
post #68 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
it will be the most grand I have ever had. I am excited.
Congrats and enjoy.
gwsat likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #69 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 09:59 AM
Member
 
Anton G A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
Thanks for the reminder that the RX-V3900 was Yamaha's top of the line. This caused me to go back and check the 3900'a specs. This revealed that it was a 140W receiver, not 100, which had been my recollection. Consequently, I will definitely be getting the RX-A3060.

P.S. Just talked to my AV contractor and changed the receiver spec to the RX-A3060 from the 2060. Thanks again for your input.



You won't be disappointed. Enjoy !
gwsat likes this.
Anton G A is offline  
post #70 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 11:00 AM
Member
 
huddadudda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Switch 3060 back to 8 ohm.


Thats my thought too but then it seems a bit underwhelming as the volume needs to be -5db just to get decent volume. Snells need some power to really make them open up.
huddadudda is offline  
post #71 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by huddadudda View Post
Thats my thought too but then it seems a bit underwhelming as the volume needs to be -5db just to get decent volume. Snells need some power to really make them open up.
Get an external amp.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #72 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Can anybody suggest, then, any reason why I should consider either the RX-A2060 or 3060 instead of the 1060?
I can tell you why I am considering the 2060. The 3060 is 11.2 and the 2060 9.2 channels. I need front and rear Dolby Atmos configuration. The 1060 is only 7.2 so you can only get 2 front Dolby Atmos and no rear. To get the rear Atmos speakers you need at a minimum 9.2, so thats why I am looking at the 2060. If you dont care about Atmos then the 1060 is a good choice.
I'm also looking at the new Yammies, but I believe you need to 3060 to get front and rear Atmos.
healthnut is offline  
post #73 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
I'm also looking at the new Yammies, but I believe you need to 3060 to get front and rear Atmos.
2060 will do 5.1.4 but 3060 will do 7.1.4.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #74 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,990
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11930
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
I'm also looking at the new Yammies, but I believe you need to 3060 to get front and rear Atmos.
Only if you want 7.1.4, otherwise, the A2060 can do 5.1.4.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #75 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Anton G A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
I'm also looking at the new Yammies, but I believe you need to 3060 to get front and rear Atmos.
Another distinction of the 3060 is it's ability to do Virtual Rear Presence reproduction.
Anton G A is offline  
post #76 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anton G A View Post
Another distinction of the 3060 is it's ability to do Virtual Rear Presence reproduction.
That's neat! I'm glad I am getting the 3060 because, setting up a 7.1.4 Atmos system will just be a matter of having my AV guy install 4 in-ceiling Atmos speakers. Not easy and not cheap but doable. I'm still not sure I will ever do it but it's nice to know how.
gwsat is offline  
post #77 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
2060 will do 5.1.4 but 3060 will do 7.1.4.


Thanks for the clarification. How much of an enhancement are the rear surrounds? Has anyone tested them with and without and discerned a meaningful difference?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
healthnut is offline  
post #78 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
Thanks for the clarification. How much of an enhancement are the rear surrounds? Has anyone tested them with and without and discerned a meaningful difference?
I have had a 7.1 system for a number of years and love it. With a 7.1 HD audio track on a BD movie, it is spectacular. I also like it when I use DD PLIIx on my 3900 to matrix 5.1 audio to virtual 7.1. PLIIx works well. My AV guy suggested that I might want to use the rear surrounds in my current setup as rear Atmos speakers. That way, I would only have to buy 2 new Atmos speakers for the front. I don't want to do that, though. I plan to just wait and when the time comes, spring for 4 new in-ceiling Atmos speakers.
gwsat is offline  
post #79 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
Thanks for the clarification. How much of an enhancement are the rear surrounds? Has anyone tested them with and without and discerned a meaningful difference?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lots of people have. With the proper source and setup the difference should be significant.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #80 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I plan to just wait and when the time comes, spring for 4 new in-ceiling Atmos speakers.
That is wise.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #81 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I also like it when I use DD PLIIx on my 3900 to matrix 5.1 audio to virtual 7.1. PLIIx works well.
Speaking of; I got my 2060 running over the weekend.
Sure enough, DPLII is no longer on the list of Sur Decoders
DSU might be a great all-around upmixer, but I wonder if it correctly detects and accurately upmixes specifically PLII-encoded materials? I still play plenty of PlayStation 2 games that have specific modes for PLII surround.
kitti is offline  
post #82 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
That is wise.
I was first an audiophile and then a home theater fanatic and have been for more than 50 years. The new system I am buying marks the first time I have ever used an AV contractor to design and install a system. I had decided on a 4K HDTV and HT receiver before I brought my AV guy onboard but he has put together the system for me. The result is several ultra high end components, which I would never have bought on my own but the benefit is that everything will be turn key and will have capabilities I never dreamed of before. For the first time, I won't have to worry about connecting components, programming remotes, and a zillion other details. That's what I'm paying my AV guy premium prices for. At the end of the day, we get what we pay for.
gwsat is offline  
post #83 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Speaking of; I got my 2060 running over the weekend.
Sure enough, DPLII is no longer on the list of Sur Decoders
DSU might be a great all-around upmixer, but I wonder if it correctly detects and accurately upmixes specifically PLII-encoded materials? I still play plenty of PlayStation 2 games that have specific modes for PLII surround.
I just texted my AV guy and asked him to try to find out why Yamaha has dropped DD PLIIx from its 2016 RX-A lineup. I can't imagine why Yamaha would do that but there it is. Will report what I find out.
gwsat is offline  
post #84 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I have had a 7.1 system for a number of years and love it. With a 7.1 HD audio track on a BD movie, it is spectacular. I also like it when I use DD PLIIx on my 3900 to matrix 5.1 audio to virtual 7.1. PLIIx works well. My AV guy suggested that I might want to use the rear surrounds in my current setup as rear Atmos speakers. That way, I would only have to buy 2 new Atmos speakers for the front. I don't want to do that, though. I plan to just wait and when the time comes, spring for 4 new in-ceiling Atmos speakers.


Appreciate your thoughts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
healthnut is offline  
post #85 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I just texted my AV guy and asked him to try to find out why Yamaha has dropped DD PLIIx from its 2016 RX-A lineup. I can't imagine why Yamaha would do that but there it is. Will report what I find out.
Good luck getting a sensible answer.
They dropped it in 2015.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #86 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
I still play plenty of PlayStation 2 games that have specific modes for PLII surround.
Seems unlikely. PLII is for upmixing 2.0.
No loss really with DSU.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #87 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
I was first an audiophile and then a home theater fanatic and have been for more than 50 years. The new system I am buying marks the first time I have ever used an AV contractor to design and install a system. I had decided on a 4K HDTV and HT receiver before I brought my AV guy onboard but he has put together the system for me. The result is several ultra high end components, which I would never have bought on my own but the benefit is that everything will be turn key and will have capabilities I never dreamed of before. For the first time, I won't have to worry about connecting components, programming remotes, and a zillion other details. That's what I'm paying my AV guy premium prices for. At the end of the day, we get what we pay for.
The benefits of years of hard work.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #88 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Seems unlikely. PLII is for upmixing 2.0.
No loss really with DSU.
Well...
PLII upmixer in AVRs is for upmixing either plain 2ch or upmixing matrix-encoded 2ch soundtracks.
Materials can be matrix-encoded from a 5.1 soundtrack (technically only 4.0, but whatever) down to 2ch before distribution, specifically to be accurately and predictably upmixed from 2ch back up to 5.1 in people's homes. This is what many PlayStation 2 games do internally, on the fly. Somewhat confusingly, the encoder part of PLII is traditionally called "Dolby Surround". No joke!

Some PS2 games output DD or DTS directly on the S/PDIF, but most are either stereo or PLII matrix-encoded.

Also, they didn't drop it in 2015. It was dropped in 2016. They had it in 2015. I know because my 1050 has it.
kitti is offline  
post #89 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Also, they didn't drop it in 2015. It was dropped in 2016. They had it in 2015. I know because my 1050 has it.
My bad.
This thread has been around so long I thought I had read about it in the 50 series thread.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #90 of 7127 Old 07-18-2016, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 20,964
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4434 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
The benefits of years of hard work.
That and getting so old, the price didn't bother me much anymore.
gwsat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
1060 , arc , computer , dolby atmos , lgtv , OLED65C6P , RX-A1060 , RX-A3060 , savant , Sonos , Yamaha , yamaha 1060

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off