Owner's Thread for Pioneer SC-LX701 / SC-801 / SC-LX901 Receviers - Page 51 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1684Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 2366 Old 09-08-2018, 03:51 PM
Member
 
z06gal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdsjedi44 View Post
Are you in the ATV beta, because Atmos on it has not been released to the general public yet

I am sorry. I should have indicated that I am running the latest beta but I had not tried Vudu. Atmos plays back perfectly so it must be an iTunes issue. I know it is beta but the stable release is in the next couple weeks so hopefully they get it sorted. I will just use Vudu till then
z06gal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 2366 Old 09-08-2018, 04:22 PM
Member
 
thumpermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Owner's Thread for Pioneer SC-LX701 / SC-801 / SC-LX901 Receviers

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdsjedi44 View Post
Are you in the ATV beta, because Atmos on it has not been released to the general public yet


This is correct. Tried like hell to get it to work only to find out it’s not public yet.

Same with Jack Ryan on Prime with Xbox One.

Oops.. tapa had not showed me your beta post prior to my posting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thumpermike is offline  
post #1503 of 2366 Old 09-17-2018, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 24
My AirPlay quit working. From itunes on my PC it will turn on the receiver, but it won't play. Same thing from my iphone. I can change volume, but still no audio and what would normally show the album art doesn't show either. Any ideas?

7.2.4, Pioneer SC-LX801, Onkyo M-5010
SVS Ultra Center, SVS Ultra Towers (L+R)
SVS Ultra Bookshelves (surround/back)
Earthquake Sweetspot (ceiling)
Twin PB16-Ultra Subs
BigART71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1504 of 2366 Old 09-20-2018, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
McLuvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigART71 View Post
My AirPlay quit working. From itunes on my PC it will turn on the receiver, but it won't play. Same thing from my iphone. I can change volume, but still no audio and what would normally show the album art doesn't show either. Any ideas?

I know this is a pain to do but try a factory reset as that usually clears up any issues like this. I had to do that recently with ours and it fixed all of the little quirks I was experiencing.
Archibald1 and BigART71 like this.
McLuvin is offline  
post #1505 of 2366 Old 09-26-2018, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just bought a SC-LX801 yesterday and started by config wi-fi. Then I started the firmware upgrade that passed 70% and next time I looked at it the display showed "ERROR!! 8-05""

The unit sets it self in "recovery mode" and the display says "RECOVERY: NET" or "Recovery: USB" if I hold the standby/on button when It starts up.

The same error code comes up regardless network or USB is used for update. Have tried a lot of different firmware-editions from Pioneers homepage but no one works for me.

The SC-LX801 just keep saying "Recovery". And I can't access the menu or nothing.

Thru the network/ip I succeeded to navigate in to the network settings of the 801. The DHCP settings seems ok but the unit says it is a SC-LX701!!?? Something truly went wrong at the first firmware update and now it won't accept any firmware.

Do someone have any thoughts or answers?


Regards
junior81 is offline  
post #1506 of 2366 Old 09-27-2018, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Send a message via Skype™ to Tuan
Anyone running an SC-LX701 with a 2018 Samsung QLED or NU8000 series TV with an Xbox One X? Does VRR/Freesync work? Contemplating replacing my Denon X4200W and this is one of the potential models.
coolguy949 likes this.
Tuan is offline  
post #1507 of 2366 Old 09-30-2018, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
kizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just purchased the LX801 for a great price. I really needed a receiver that could power my Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos speakers.

I will admit, I was a little hesitant to purchase since they were released in 2016 and still relatively expensive. However it still holds up well spec wise when compared to other receivers (especially in power).

With no update in almost three years. Is this the end of line of high end receivers from Pioneer?
kizzo is offline  
post #1508 of 2366 Old 09-30-2018, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by kizzo View Post
With no update in almost three years. Is this the end of line of high end receivers from Pioneer?
What's missing to warrant a new model?

Lots of higher end stuff has longer cycles. They tend to wait for new tech to stabilize and see what features are used.

I don't read anything into The time since the 7/8/901 release.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1509 of 2366 Old 10-01-2018, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
Anyone else still use analog inputs?

Am I correct that only 4 of the sources can use analog video inputs, those being the first 4 (default names DVD, SAT, GAME, and STREAM)?

So my LD and VCR have to be on those.

Similarly, only limited sources can use analog or optical audio inputs, so the cassette need to go to one of them (1st 4 plus CD and TV)


I see no option for analog record out, audio or video. Did I miss something?


Oh, and the front/AUX input is what? HDMI 1.3? 1.4? 2.0? HDCP?

What can it not do? 4k? HDR?
I own the 701 and I have a Sony DVD changer I had to run through the analog inputs (analog out is all it has.) It was a small chore to "logically" hook those inputs to one of the 701 HDMI inputs, but it was managed and works great.

My bigger task was to hook my Sony Minidisc in to optically record closing title music from favorite movies, among other sources. Unfortunately, the 701 doesn't have a optical out for that purpose. Purchased an iArk HDMI audio extractor to hook into the Zone 2 HDMI out but didn't have any success getting it to strip out the audio to optical. I'll have to revisit that sometime. Ah, the joys of working with older equipment.
hamio is offline  
post #1510 of 2366 Old 10-01-2018, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamio View Post
Ah, the joys of working with older equipment.
Yeh, real shame they keep abandoning well established stuff.

Sure, reduce the number of older inputs/outputs, but keep some.

Not sure what they gain by only mapping analog in to a few inputs, or dropping record/monitor outputs. Staples of AVRs for decades. And few reasonable alternatives.

Last edited by ST Dog; 10-02-2018 at 04:57 AM.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1511 of 2366 Old 10-02-2018, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
kizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
What's missing to warrant a new model?

Lots of higher end stuff has longer cycles. They tend to wait for new tech to stabilize and see what features are used.

I don't read anything into The time since the 7/8/901 release.
That's actually a good point. Built for the long-term.
kizzo is offline  
post #1512 of 2366 Old 10-05-2018, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLuvin View Post
I know this is a pain to do but try a factory reset as that usually clears up any issues like this. I had to do that recently with ours and it fixed all of the little quirks I was experiencing.
That worked for awhile. Then it stops working. Twice now in the midst of playing the unit just turns off. When I try to reconnect it says it's in use by another device. I know no others are hooked up to it. It's very frustrating to say the least.
BigART71 is offline  
post #1513 of 2366 Old 10-08-2018, 05:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've noticed that according to the Superfi website (UK retailer) the SC-LX 701 and 801 are both discontinued. Is this wrong or can we expect replacements for 701, 801 and presumably 901 to be announced shortly?
MJIM is offline  
post #1514 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sliven, Bulgaria
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New update SC-LX701 from today 2139-8000-5070-0010

Hi everyone,
Someone knows what's new in today's update 2139-8000-5070-0010 because I was looking for information, but I find it only for past updates. BTW I'm from Bulgaria. Thanks!
Dimitar Simitchiev is offline  
post #1515 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimitar Simitchiev View Post
Hi everyone,
Someone knows what's new in today's update 2139-8000-5070-0010 because I was looking for information, but I find it only for past updates. BTW I'm from Bulgaria. Thanks!

Hmm Where did you find that update?
All I can find from pioneer.eu is: Version 2129-7000-4060-0010 and that one is from early september this year.
Usually Pioneer always brings a document with "changes" from each firmware update.
Some1ne is offline  
post #1516 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimitar Simitchiev View Post
Hi everyone,
Someone knows what's new in today's update 2139-8000-5070-0010 because I was looking for information, but I find it only for past updates. BTW I'm from Bulgaria. Thanks!
SC-LX701,SC-LX801,SC-LX901 : 2139-8000-5070-0010

CHANGE HISTORY:

[2139-8000-5070-0010]
"Adds setting of Preset Volume for Sonos Connect.
For detail about updated function, please refer to the link below.
http://jp.pioneer-audiovisual.com/manual/sup/upd/sonosconnect_pio.pdf"
Adds support for pass-through function of HLG(Hybrid Log-Gamma) HDR signal.
"Enhanced security.
Depending on the Firmware version, update will be needed 2 times."
Minor bug fixes and improvements stability.



Parasound Halo Integrated, Pioneer SC-LX 901, Oppo-205, Revel F208 + Heco Aurora Center 30 + Heco Victa Prime 202, Takstar HF 580
vavan is offline  
post #1517 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some1ne View Post
Hmm Where did you find that update?
All I can find from pioneer.eu is: Version 2129-7000-4060-0010 and that one is from early september this year.
Usually Pioneer always brings a document with "changes" from each firmware update.
Download SC-LX701,SC-LX801,SC-LX901 Firmware ( 220.0 MB)
PIOAVR1022_HAHAHAHAHAHPHP_N_116.zip
https://intl.pioneer-audiovisual.com...HPHP_N_116.zip



Parasound Halo Integrated, Pioneer SC-LX 901, Oppo-205, Revel F208 + Heco Aurora Center 30 + Heco Victa Prime 202, Takstar HF 580

Last edited by vavan; 10-11-2018 at 05:59 AM.
vavan is offline  
post #1518 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sliven, Bulgaria
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
Download SC-LX701,SC-LX801,SC-LX901 Firmware ( 220.0 MB)
PIOAVR1022_HAHAHAHAHAHPHP_N_116.zip
.....
Well, I did not think there, but I just checked the US Pioneer site. Thank you and sorry for my English language if I've made
mistakes!
Dimitar Simitchiev is offline  
post #1519 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 05:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
Download SC-LX701,SC-LX801,SC-LX901 Firmware ( 220.0 MB)
PIOAVR1022_HAHAHAHAHAHPHP_N_116.zip
https://intl.pioneer-audiovisual.com...HPHP_N_116.zip

Thank you for the info and link but the link doesnt work for me.
Some1ne is offline  
post #1520 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kazan, Russian Federation
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some1ne View Post
Thank you for the info and link but the link doesnt work for me.
I'm sorry, fixed that url above



Parasound Halo Integrated, Pioneer SC-LX 901, Oppo-205, Revel F208 + Heco Aurora Center 30 + Heco Victa Prime 202, Takstar HF 580
vavan is offline  
post #1521 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 07:51 PM
Newbie
 
rfan2nio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some1ne View Post
Thank you for the info and link but the link doesnt work for me.
SC-LX901 801 701 FW Oct 11 2018
Version 2139-8000-5070-0010

It adds the Amazon Music and volume setting on Sonos, among others.

Link on "Change History" on Pioneer USA website suddenly is broken. I was able to view it this morning.

I successfully downloaded and installed latest update this morning and I have the Amazon Music now at my 801.

Last edited by rfan2nio; 10-11-2018 at 07:54 PM.
rfan2nio is offline  
post #1522 of 2366 Old 10-11-2018, 07:58 PM
Member
 
thumpermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
When I turned my unit on tonight, it prompted an update. After my last update bricked my SC-97... I’m a little scared to even try. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thumpermike is offline  
post #1523 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 03:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Need help configuring LX-701

I got my LX-701 earlier this week & hooked up a 5.4.1 setup.

I am not able to configure the following:

1. My rear speakers only get sound if I hook them as R&L surrounds & not Surr Back right/left.
2. How do I turn on the upmixing (DTS Neurall or other) with 5.1 content to send the sound to the ceiling atmos ones.
3. It shows 1020-xxx Firmware version, shall I go for an update?
4. My fronts are bookshelves but it shows them as 'Large' & won't let me switch to 'Small'. Any suggestions ?
musicallife is offline  
post #1524 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vavan View Post
SC-LX701,SC-LX801,SC-LX901 : 2139-8000-5070-0010

CHANGE HISTORY:

[2139-8000-5070-0010]
"Adds setting of Preset Volume for Sonos Connect.
For detail about updated function, please refer to the link below.
http://jp.pioneer-audiovisual.com/manual/sup/upd/sonosconnect_pio.pdf"
Adds support for pass-through function of HLG(Hybrid Log-Gamma) HDR signal.
"Enhanced security.
Depending on the Firmware version, update will be needed 2 times."
Minor bug fixes and improvements stability.
DO NOT Download this update if you use a Mac to listen to Audio over HDMI.

I can no longer change the volume. It just says "SONOSPreset.Vol" when I try to adjust the volume, and there's no option to disable this. God I hate Sonos.
Hyper4mance2k is offline  
post #1525 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicallife View Post
I got my LX-701 earlier this week & hooked up a 5.4.1 setup.

I am not able to configure the following:

1. My rear speakers only get sound if I hook them as R&L surrounds & not Surr Back right/left.
2. How do I turn on the upmixing (DTS Neurall or other) with 5.1 content to send the sound to the ceiling atmos ones.
3. It shows 1020-xxx Firmware version, shall I go for an update?
4. My fronts are bookshelves but it shows them as 'Large' & won't let me switch to 'Small'. Any suggestions ?
Bumping it up... need help on urgently. I am stuck currently.
musicallife is offline  
post #1526 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicallife View Post
I got my LX-701 earlier this week & hooked up a 5.4.1 setup.

I am not able to configure the following:

1. My rear speakers only get sound if I hook them as R&L surrounds & not Surr Back right/left.
?

Surround back is only used in a 7.x.x setup so thats correct there not working in a 5.x.x setup

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1527 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicallife View Post
I got my LX-701 earlier this week & hooked up a 5.4.1 setup.

I am not able to configure the following:


2. How do I turn on the upmixing (DTS Neurall or other) with 5.1 content to send the sound to the ceiling atmos ones.
3. It shows 1020-xxx Firmware version, shall I go for an update?
4. My fronts are bookshelves but it shows them as 'Large' & won't let me switch to 'Small'. Any suggestions ?
I havent tried dts upmixer I just leave it on dolby surround which is dolbys upmixer

I always update

are you running a sub? if no sub you cant set small as there is no where to send the bass.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1528 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
I havent tried dts upmixer I just leave it on dolby surround which is dolbys upmixer

I always update

are you running a sub? if no sub you cant set small as there is no where to send the bass.
Thanks for responding. You are right, my sub is not yet hooked up, which brings me to my next question. What are my options on LX701 to connect a sub?
musicallife is offline  
post #1529 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 09:50 PM
Member
 
thumpermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Owner's Thread for Pioneer SC-LX701 / SC-801 / SC-LX901 Receviers

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpermike View Post
When I turned my unit on tonight, it prompted an update. After my last update bricked my SC-97... I’m a little scared to even try. Lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper4mance2k View Post
DO NOT Download this update if you use a Mac to listen to Audio over HDMI.



I can no longer change the volume. It just says "SONOSPreset.Vol" when I try to adjust the volume, and there's no option to disable this. God I hate Sonos.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well.. FML. Against my own advice, I went ahead and did the update.

I too can not adjust my own damn volume! Stuck in SONOApresetVol. And I’m not going through a mac... just my normal 7.1.4

F U Pioneer. I’m so done with you.







Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by thumpermike; 10-13-2018 at 09:54 PM.
thumpermike is offline  
post #1530 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Surround back is only used in a 7.x.x setup so thats correct there not working in a 5.x.x setup
but for simple 5.1.x I should have rear signal, currently I see nothing going to those rears except when testing....What am I missing here ?
musicallife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
5.1.4 , 590 , 7.1.4 , 701 , atmos , av receivers , jbl studio , Pioneer , pioneer receiver , pioneer sc-lx801 , receiver , sc lx 801 , sc lx 901

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off