Owner's Thread for Pioneer SC-LX701 / SC-801 / SC-LX901 Receviers - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1684Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 2366 Old 10-13-2018, 10:22 PM
Member
 
thumpermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I was able to go into the system setup and shut off the Sonos input and restore volume control.

I’m trying to watch this Skyscraper movie on my Xbox One X and it says it’s receiving and decoding Atmos but I’m only getting Stereo.

I want my SC-97 back. SMH.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thumpermike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I was hoping the latest update would fix the bug I'm having with airplay not working. I reset the unit and it works fine once or twice, than it stops working again.
BigART71 is offline  
post #1533 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicallife View Post
but for simple 5.1.x I should have rear signal, currently I see nothing going to those rears except when testing....What am I missing here ?
you said you had sound when connected to rear (side) surround but not when connected to surround back. I was point out that surround back is channel 6 and 7. rear (side) surround is your only surround channels ( 4&5) in a 5 channel layout. there should be no sound on surround back ever if set to 5.x. now if your not getting content out of surround (side) L&R during movie then maybe not in a surround listening mode?

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1534 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question HELP, I bought a Pioneer SC-LX801 & JBL 590s, and I am in over my head

So the most I have ever tangled with was a mid 2000 year Denon 7.1 which I had setup as a 5.1. I currently have 2 x JBL Studio 590's and they have a few hookup options for driving them, 1 single speaker wire, or seperate or dual seperate channel per speaker. Originally I was told that the Pioneer SC-LX801 could handle these speakers well. I was planning to push these as rear channel pair. I have a set of Pioneer Atmos bookshelfs for the front, and I have a Klipsch 5.1 surround set I was going to use temporarily as center, mid fronts and mid rear or as possible atmos speakers mounted near the ceiling. Most of it is easy accept the Atmos and JBL Studio 590's, I want to get the most from them using the SC-LX801 but I have no idea where to start.
DeGumbia is offline  
post #1535 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeGumbia View Post
So the most I have ever tangled with was a mid 2000 year Denon 7.1 which I had setup as a 5.1. I currently have 2 x JBL Studio 590's and they have a few hookup options for driving them, 1 single speaker wire, or seperate or dual seperate channel per speaker. Originally I was told that the Pioneer SC-LX801 could handle these speakers well. I was planning to push these as rear channel pair. I have a set of Pioneer Atmos bookshelfs for the front, and I have a Klipsch 5.1 surround set I was going to use temporarily as center, mid fronts and mid rear or as possible atmos speakers mounted near the ceiling. Most of it is easy accept the Atmos and JBL Studio 590's, I want to get the most from them using the SC-LX801 but I have no idea where to start.
I wanted to also add I have been considering the JBL JBL Studio 520C as a center channel to better match the Studio 590's, also I'd like to know if its more advisable to put the 590's as a front pair and use the Pioneer Atmos bookshelf speakers in the rear instead. My biggest concern is hooking up the 590's I was told originally I should seperate the plate on them and dual drive them setting up an extra atmos out as 590 2xL/2xR using the same signal to each. but that's where I get lost.
DeGumbia is offline  
post #1536 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicallife View Post
but for simple 5.1.x I should have rear signal, currently I see nothing going to those rears except when testing....What am I missing here ?
Nothing goes to Surround Back in 5.1.

5 channel uses Surround L/R that are supposed to be on the sides. Been like that for 20+ years, since the first 5 channel systems.

The rear speakers, Surr Back, are for a 7 channel setup.

You are misunderstanding the setup.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1537 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeGumbia View Post
I wanted to also add I have been considering the JBL JBL Studio 520C as a center channel to better match the Studio 590's, also I'd like to know if its more advisable to put the 590's as a front pair and use the Pioneer Atmos bookshelf speakers in the rear instead. My biggest concern is hooking up the 590's I was told originally I should seperate the plate on them and dual drive them setting up an extra atmos out as 590 2xL/2xR using the same signal to each. but that's where I get lost.
Leave the plates in place and just run normal speaker wire, theres nothing to gain by bi wiring ( other than the increase in wire thickness ) and by passive bi-amping.

I would run the 590 as front along with the 520c. By atmos bookshelf speakers you mean the have up firing modules?

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1538 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper4mance2k View Post
DO NOT Download this update if you use a Mac to listen to Audio over HDMI.

I can no longer change the volume. It just says "SONOSPreset.Vol" when I try to adjust the volume, and there's no option to disable this. God I hate Sonos.
this is from the corosponding onkyo thread maybe the same change will fix it

"Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
What version are you at now?
I am on version 2139-8000-5070-0010

// Roger

Update ! i found a new funktion for Sonos under Setup\Hardware\Works with Sonos..
Changed it so Off mode so now its working..

// Roger"

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1539 of 2366 Old 10-14-2018, 05:25 PM
Member
 
thumpermike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
this is from the corosponding onkyo thread maybe the same change will fix it



"Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post

What version are you at now?

I am on version 2139-8000-5070-0010



// Roger



Update ! i found a new funktion for Sonos under Setup\Hardware\Works with Sonos..

Changed it so Off mode so now its working..



// Roger"


I did the same about 7-8 posts ago.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thumpermike is offline  
post #1540 of 2366 Old 10-17-2018, 02:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
Leave the plates in place and just run normal speaker wire, theres nothing to gain by bi wiring ( other than the increase in wire thickness ) and by passive bi-amping.

I would run the 590 as front along with the 520c. By atmos bookshelf speakers you mean the have up firing modules?
Is there no way to bridge 2 of the channels as a single channel to put out more power to the Studio 590's? If not could you recommend an affordable seperate amp to power the Studio 590's, I was told they sound best around 200watts, appoaching 250watts, I am no sure if the 250watts is a continuous or peak rating. As far as the Atmos bookshelf yes they have top firing and front firing speakers. I haven't opened them yet to see if they are wired seperately or single plug. They are not the Andrew Jones Elite model, but the cheaper Pioneer Atmos bookshelf speakers (SP-BS22A-LR). The pictures show 2 seperate sets of plugs so I believe they are wired on sepeate channels front firing and Atmos top firing.
DeGumbia is offline  
post #1541 of 2366 Old 10-17-2018, 07:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sliven, Bulgaria
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pioneer and Onkyo roll out eARC and MQA updates

Perhaps someone has seen this news on What Hi-Fi website, but it's just for 7.2-channel SC-LX502 and 9.2-channel VSX-LX503 AV receivers. Are our SC-LX701 / 801/901 models will receive a similar update or there is a hardware limitation, because they are models from 2016? I'm just curious about that.
Dimitar Simitchiev is offline  
post #1542 of 2366 Old 10-17-2018, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeGumbia View Post
Is there no way to bridge 2 of the channels as a single channel to put out more power to the Studio 590's? If not could you recommend an affordable seperate amp to power the Studio 590's, I was told they sound best around 200watts, appoaching 250watts, I am no sure if the 250watts is a continuous or peak rating. As far as the Atmos bookshelf yes they have top firing and front firing speakers. I haven't opened them yet to see if they are wired seperately or single plug. They are not the Andrew Jones Elite model, but the cheaper Pioneer Atmos bookshelf speakers (SP-BS22A-LR). The pictures show 2 seperate sets of plugs so I believe they are wired on sepeate channels front firing and Atmos top firing.
Not possible to bridge and increase on these AVRs ( or any avrs that Im aware of ) but if your just looking for 200w its probably not worth it to get an amp. you need to double power for just 3db. now of you like to run hard it can help but you might want a stronger amp. personally Im a fan of the crown XLS line like a xls2502.
.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #1543 of 2366 Old 10-19-2018, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Apple Airplay 2 support

Hey does anyone know of a possible Airplay 2 support update?



Thanks
Tom Hunt is offline  
post #1544 of 2366 Old 10-19-2018, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimitar Simitchiev View Post
Perhaps someone has seen this news on What Hi-Fi website, but it's just for 7.2-channel SC-LX502 and 9.2-channel VSX-LX503 AV receivers. Are our SC-LX701 / 801/901 models will receive a similar update or there is a hardware limitation, because they are models from 2016? I'm just curious about that.
As far as I understand it, to fully unfold and decode MQA at the highest level possible specific hardware to do so in a receiver is required.

http://www.mqa.co.uk/customer/how-it-works


NAD M17 V2 (processor) + NAD M27 (multichannel amp)
REVEL CONCERTA2 (5.0 speakers) + SVS SB-2000 LIMITED EDITION (dual subwoofers)
PIONEER UDP-LX500 (uhd bd player)
LG OLED65GX (oled tv)
RickyDeg is offline  
post #1545 of 2366 Old 10-20-2018, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sliven, Bulgaria
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyDeg View Post
As far as I understand it, to fully unfold and decode MQA at the highest level possible specific hardware to do so in a receiver is required.
Thank you for the answer!
For MQA I understand, but what is the situation about eARC update. Anyway the hope is still alive for eARC update!
Dimitar Simitchiev is offline  
post #1546 of 2366 Old 10-22-2018, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Owner's Thread for Pioneer SC-LX701 / SC-801 / SC-LX901 Receviers

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpermike View Post
I was able to go into the system setup and shut off the Sonos input and restore volume control.

I’m trying to watch this Skyscraper movie on my Xbox One X and it says it’s receiving and decoding Atmos but I’m only getting Stereo.

I want my SC-97 back. SMH.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Where can you switch off Sonos input ? I’m stuck with sonos preset volume on my Xbox one input.

Edit- Nvm I found it
thumpermike likes this.

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"

Last edited by thomasphoenix; 10-22-2018 at 09:41 AM.
thomasphoenix is offline  
post #1547 of 2366 Old 10-22-2018, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Thomasdk1405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Hi - question - if I move my sub around do I need to start all over with mcacc pro ? Like full auto or will the mcacc pro eq do the job with phase / distance and so on?
Regards Thomas
Thomasdk1405 is offline  
post #1548 of 2366 Old 10-29-2018, 01:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasdk1405 View Post
Hi - question - if I move my sub around do I need to start all over with mcacc pro ? Like full auto or will the mcacc pro eq do the job with phase / distance and so on?
Regards Thomas
That is something I'd recommend. Pioneer does that as well in their manual. Since output from speakers are (more-or-less) effected by room placement changes and/or when introducing something new in the listening space (such as plants, new sofa etc) the acoustic environment may change. Giving MCACC a chance to identify this might be a good idea. Then again, if the repositioned subwoofer sounds good to your ears without having re-run MCACC you may wanna leave it be. Otherwise I'd recommend saving your initial Memory setting and saving the new measurement in another slot.


NAD M17 V2 (processor) + NAD M27 (multichannel amp)
REVEL CONCERTA2 (5.0 speakers) + SVS SB-2000 LIMITED EDITION (dual subwoofers)
PIONEER UDP-LX500 (uhd bd player)
LG OLED65GX (oled tv)
RickyDeg is offline  
post #1549 of 2366 Old 10-29-2018, 10:12 AM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just joined the club with a new SC-LX701. Haven't set it up yet, but excited. It will replace an Onkyo TX-NR809 to allow 4k pass-through. I will have to find a way to re-purpose it as I love the sound.

I'm sure I'll have more questions as I dig into the setup, but has anyone compared upscaling via the AVR vs the TV for non-UHD material? I've always wondered why AVR's bother with this since the destination is going to do it anyway and as far as I know you can't turn it off at the tv.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #1550 of 2366 Old 10-29-2018, 05:43 PM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 38
At the risk of talking to myself, here are 2 more questions about the 701:

1. Does anyone use banana plugs with this receiver? The manual does not mention them, just bare wire.

2. What's the deal with HDMI 2.0b? The AVR spec shows HDMI 2.0a, but the xbox one x supports 2.0b. What is the difference and should I be rethinking my purchase to get a receiver that supports 2.0b?

Thanks, all!

Edit: I see there was a firmware update to 2.0b earlier this year. I couldn't find anything on it online, even if firmware update was an option, but looks it's all good.

Last edited by JustaSheep; 10-29-2018 at 06:00 PM.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #1551 of 2366 Old 10-29-2018, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
At the risk of talking to myself, here are 2 more questions about the 701:

1. Does anyone use banana plugs with this receiver? The manual does not mention them, just bare wire.

2. What's the deal with HDMI 2.0b? The AVR spec shows HDMI 2.0a, but the xbox one x supports 2.0b. What is the difference and should I be rethinking my purchase to get a receiver that supports 2.0b?

Thanks, all!

Edit: I see there was a firmware update to 2.0b earlier this year. I couldn't find anything on it online, even if firmware update was an option, but looks it's all good.
I use banana plugs.

Not sure on the HDMI stuff.
JustaSheep and hamio like this.
BigART71 is offline  
post #1552 of 2366 Old 10-29-2018, 11:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
but has anyone compared upscaling via the AVR vs the TV for non-UHD material? I've always wondered why AVR's bother with this since the destination is going to do it anyway and as far as I know you can't turn it off at the tv.
Sometimes the AVR does better, sometimes the display.
I had similar with Composite/SVideo in the past. Some devices did better than others and you had to compare to see which was better.

I use my 701 to upscale as it does better than my display.

It also might hep with some displays that are slow to sync/switch. Or maybe prevent HDMI issues with multiple displays.
JustaSheep and vavan like this.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1553 of 2366 Old 10-30-2018, 03:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
Just joined the club with a new SC-LX701.
CONGRATS! Hopefully you'll enjoy it! I've had my 901 for 2 weeks and surprisingly impressed by it! I downsized from a substantial separates duo to this simplified solution without regretting a single thing. Even the sonics have improved a bit, which still shocks me. I think possibly my speakers mesh with Pioneer better.

For what it's worth, on the European model we have to remove tiny plugs in the speaker connections, but once that is done banana inserts work fine.
JustaSheep and hamio like this.


NAD M17 V2 (processor) + NAD M27 (multichannel amp)
REVEL CONCERTA2 (5.0 speakers) + SVS SB-2000 LIMITED EDITION (dual subwoofers)
PIONEER UDP-LX500 (uhd bd player)
LG OLED65GX (oled tv)
RickyDeg is offline  
post #1554 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyDeg View Post
For what it's worth, on the European model we have to remove tiny plugs in the speaker connections
I'm curious about that. Got a link to pics or other info?

Seems odd to partially disable a 5-way binding post. They've been a staple of the audio market for decades.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1555 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 10:43 AM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hello, all and thanks for the replies earlier.

So, I've finally had a chance to setup the unit and run MCACC. I haven't done any critical listening yet, but nothing is obviously offensive or out of whack so far.

I am having trouble with the video pass-through, though. The xbox one x is not recognizing the TV has all the options/capability it should. For comparison, if I plug the xbox directly into the TV's hdmi, all the expected data-flow options are available. The ones lacking through the Pioneer are as follows:
  • 4k 10-bit at 50hz
  • 4k 10-bit at 60hz
  • HDR10 for gaming

I have the xbox plugged into the Game HDMI in on the Pioneer, which is set to HDCP 2.2 (no changes have been made to hdmi settings or labels). I also just updated the firmware. Is there an explicit setting for video passthrough? I was not able to find one. 4k upscaling is off.

So, am I missing something? Is the unit not compatible? I'm pretty sure I did my research correctly and that it is capable after the firmware updates. I am using the same HDMI cables as prior to the switch, so I know it is not them.

Any input would be appreciated.

Edit: Scratch all that! Found the issue. There's a setting several menu layers deep in the display that is auto-disabled if you change the devices connected. This is the setting that allows the full range of abilities to be recognized. I suppose if you connect something incompatible, the display may not work at all, so it turns it off.

Edit2: I would like for someone to confirm there is no explicit setting to allow HDMI video pass-through. Thanks!
RickyDeg likes this.

Last edited by JustaSheep; 11-03-2018 at 11:00 AM.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #1556 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
I'm curious about that. Got a link to pics or other info?

Seems odd to partially disable a 5-way binding post. They've been a staple of the audio market for decades.
Well, that's the European Union for you! They regulated this for 230V European amplifiers years ago. Most manufacturers follow this regulation, though not all. It's not a problem however since all you need to remove the tiny plugs is a small screw driver - you simply slide them out gently and you are free to use banana connections.

(you can see the small black plugs in the binding posts below...)



NAD M17 V2 (processor) + NAD M27 (multichannel amp)
REVEL CONCERTA2 (5.0 speakers) + SVS SB-2000 LIMITED EDITION (dual subwoofers)
PIONEER UDP-LX500 (uhd bd player)
LG OLED65GX (oled tv)
RickyDeg is offline  
post #1557 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickyDeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaSheep View Post
I would like for someone to confirm there is no explicit setting to allow HDMI video pass-through. Thanks!
I been looking for that myself but haven't found such a setting.

How do you like the sonic performance...?


NAD M17 V2 (processor) + NAD M27 (multichannel amp)
REVEL CONCERTA2 (5.0 speakers) + SVS SB-2000 LIMITED EDITION (dual subwoofers)
PIONEER UDP-LX500 (uhd bd player)
LG OLED65GX (oled tv)
RickyDeg is offline  
post #1558 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 03:53 PM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyDeg View Post
I been looking for that myself but haven't found such a setting.

How do you like the sonic performance...?
I have yet to find an explicit setting, but the problem I was trying to overcome is fixed, so I think it is safe to say no setting is needed.

As for the sonics, I have to give it some more time. I just plugged it in this morning. Voices and highs sound good, so far. It seems the mid-bass is a little flat/muddy, though. It looks like Stereo mode is not currently using 2.1 so I assume MCACC set my fronts to large. They are capable down to 50Hz and roll off around 40Hz. I will see what MCACC has done and tweak from there. Given that, I wonder what it has done with the crossover point. I would normally set the crossover to 50 for 2-channel and 80(THX) for movies.

I was very happy with the Onkyo it replaced, but I expect this to match or surpass it. The music was clear, good separation between instruments and wide sound-stage. Of course, I'm not doing an a-b comparison, so it is just from memory. For reference, though, the avr before the Onkyo 809 was a lower level Denon and it was definitely muddy compared to the Onkyo(though maybe not a fair comparison).

Once I get more time with it and am able to tweak it to my liking, I will reply with findings.
RickyDeg likes this.
JustaSheep is offline  
post #1559 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyDeg View Post
Well, that's the European Union for you! They regulated this for 230V European amplifiers years ago.
"the European safety standard BS\EN600 65 for consumer electronics effectively ban the use of the 4mm 'banana' type plug for connecting loudspeakers to amplifiers. The reasoning behind the prohibition of cable-mounted 4mm (and smaller-sized) plugs is that they can be inserted into a European mains socket with possibly fatal consequences."

Wow, nanny state at it's finest.

I have a dual market VSX-D608 from '99
(120/240 switch, radio tuning switch, etc.)

It didn't have that in the binding posts.
RickyDeg likes this.

Last edited by ST Dog; 11-03-2018 at 05:04 PM.
ST Dog is offline  
post #1560 of 2366 Old 11-03-2018, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
MOTOWNN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: ATLANTA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Been lurking around the boards for a while now so figured it was time to join the "MADNESS" LOL I just sent back my Pioneer SC-LX801 after having endless problems with the Appleairplay not working unless I unplugged the unit , and the HDMI jacks freezing up constantly needless to say Pioneer tech was absolutely no help whatsoever!

So this next go round ill be ordering the Marantz SR8012 and never looking back , and never again will I buy a Pioneer/Oynkyo product!
MOTOWNN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
5.1.4 , 590 , 7.1.4 , 701 , atmos , av receivers , jbl studio , Pioneer , pioneer receiver , pioneer sc-lx801 , receiver , sc lx 801 , sc lx 901

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off