[Help] Low volume on surround/rear speakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Ellebob
  • 1 Post By jdomi
  • 1 Post By djc11369

post #1 of 13 Old 09-01-2016, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Unhappy [Help] Low volume on surround/rear speakers

Hi all,

First post here and would like some help. My setup is described below in my signature.

I am experiencing very low volume on my 4 ceiling speakers (2 surrounds and 2 surrounds back). I have changed their calibration many times, changed from small to large speakers. It's a brand new installation and all wiring is good, using banana plugs, longer wire is less than 20ft.

Currently, they are setup at 80Hz, -10db, YPAO is flat.

Newbie here, so please go easy and explain for me.

7.1 Dolby Atmos Setup = Samsung UN60D8000 TV, Yamaha RX-V781 AVR, Klipsch RP-450C Reference Premiere Center Channel Speaker, 2 Klipsch Klipsch RP-280F Reference Premiere Floorstanding Speakers, 4 Klipsch CDT-5800-C II 8" In-Ceiling Pivoting Speakers, 1 Polk Audio PSW505 Subwoofer, Samsung BD-J7500 Blu-Ray Player
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 09-01-2016, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 42
YPAO set them at -10db? Thats your problem there. How many times have you run YPAO? What brand/model are your ceiling speakers? *Edit* nevermind - just read your sig. If your ceiling speakers are still low after another YPAO run you will want to adjust/calibrate levels preferably with a spl meter or by ear.

Last edited by MandM; 09-01-2016 at 03:23 PM.
post #3 of 13 Old 09-01-2016, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter

@MandM

I already ran YPAO like 100 times. The calibration I currently have is by ear.