New Yamaha TSR 5810 / RXV 581 in stores - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 88 Old 01-25-2017, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Budget?

Purpose? High fidelity stereo music? (Probably not, if you want "punch".) Cinema with 7.1 surround, or 5.1.2 Atmos effects?

Maybe someone can recommend a "punch"-y system. A quick look suggests that you might like a Klipsch HDT-600. It's a 5.1 system (powered subwoofer). Klipsch is famous for highly efficient speakers, which can play loud without kilowatts of power. $400 at Amazon.

(My own 5810 talks to a motley set of speakers: "bookshelf" fronts and a sub from Hsu Research, a Sony SSCS8 center, and a couple of Fluance bipolar "presence" speakers, all at the front of the room. Placing rears would be awkward, although I don't face Wife Acceptance Factor issues.)
Thanks, its for watching movies & playing games, in the process of setting home heather with LED projector

Budget = $500 to $750 including Sub-woofer
MoRafiq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 88 Old 01-25-2017, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1707
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoRafiq View Post
Thanks, its for watching movies & playing games, in the process of setting home heather with LED projector

Budget = $500 to $750 including Sub-woofer
There must be hundreds of choices in that price range.

One suggestion: Sony SSCS5 bookshelf speakers, SSCS8 center, SACS9 sub, for a 3.1 system ($474 at Amazon). The SSCS3 floor standing speakers can probably go louder, for another $208.

Not sure what to suggest for rears or ATMOS speakers of you wanted to go to a 7.1 or 5.1.2 system. If you want 7 speakers, you could go less expensive on the fronts, like Dayton B652-Air (cheapish, but with an AMT tweeter). Not sure that they'd be loud enough to injure your hearing or annoy the neighbors, but they're supposed to be a bargain. (I haven't heard them myself.)

(later) I see that newegg.com has a bunch of Klipsch "reference" speakers on sale through Tuesday (Feb 1). You could get two floorstanding speakers, a center, a sub, and two surrounds for $600. Not bad for a very capable 5.1 system. https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...0S6-0033-002K6

Note: the fronts and the surrounds are priced per speaker, not as pairs.

Last edited by bobknavs; 01-25-2017 at 08:42 PM.
bobknavs is offline  
post #63 of 88 Old 01-31-2017, 01:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello Room,

I'm having an issue playing movies like Deepwater Horizon and Star Trek Beyond. When I play movies that are Dolby Atmos, the center channel stops working. I've checked the setting on the receiver Yamaha TSR-5810 and everything seems to be where it belongs. Now, on the Panasonic DMP-BDT270 dvd player is where I think the problem lies, if I change the language on the dvd player the center speaker starts to work. Even with the dialog overcast it seems to work fine but not on straight English.

I put my old player back on Sony BDP-S580 with the same movies and the center speaker works just fine.

Am I missing something with the connection between the receiver and Panasonic player? I've messed with every single setting on here...

My speaker setup 5.1.2

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
lsoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 88 Old 02-08-2017, 01:33 PM
Member
 
greinstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio dropping out!

The audio from various sources--cable box or roku has started going out with the only way to fix is turning the receiver on and off. Bad unit or am I missing something?

Thanks for any advice.
greinstein is offline  
post #65 of 88 Old 02-08-2017, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1707
Quote:
Originally Posted by greinstein View Post
Audio dropping out!

The audio from various sources--cable box or roku has started going out with the only way to fix is turning the receiver on and off. Bad unit or am I missing something?

Thanks for any advice.
Do you mean stopping completely or just intermittent drop-outs?

I've had a few drop-outs, lasting less than a second, but it's source dependent. (Cable TV. Not internet radio, not BluRay disks through a player.)
bobknavs is offline  
post #66 of 88 Old 02-08-2017, 03:43 PM
Member
 
greinstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Do you mean stopping completely or just intermittent drop-outs?

I've had a few drop-outs, lasting less than a second, but it's source dependent. (Cable TV. Not internet radio, not BluRay disks through a player.)
Stopping completely.
greinstein is offline  
post #67 of 88 Old 02-08-2017, 10:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I played both episodes of the new 24 from Amazon through my nVidia Shield connected to this receiver, got 4 brief audio dropouts about half a second to a second each, during the first episode. None during the second episode.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #68 of 88 Old 02-10-2017, 11:32 PM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is there a firmware change log somewhere for this receiver?
rstark18 is online now  
post #69 of 88 Old 02-16-2017, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
whyidie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
Is there a firmware change log somewhere for this receiver?

Latest is posted on Yamahas site :

http://download.yamaha.com/search/de...asset_id=68454


Quote:
Yamaha is pleased to offer the following firmware update to ensure the best possible performance and latest features for your AV receiver.


This firmware includes
1, Added Playlist and Queue function
2, Compatibility with AAC format(internet radio)
3, Improved design of Source Screen
4, Added Disklavier Link function (for MusicCast models with AUX input)
5, Other operation improvement

CHECK THE UNIT’S FIRMWARE VERSION PRIOR TO THIS UPDATE
On the remote control, press the SETUP button.
Select “Network” > “Network Update”. Your current firmware version is displayed on TV. If your firmware version is 1.15 or higher, the AV receiver is already up-to-date.

If not, conduct firmware update by following the instruction below.

Registered Date : 10/25/2016
Language : English
whyidie is offline  
post #70 of 88 Old 02-16-2017, 11:15 PM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyidie View Post


Thanks. Do you know if there is a change log somewherr for previous versions?
rstark18 is online now  
post #71 of 88 Old 02-23-2017, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
whyidie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
Thanks. Do you know if there is a change log somewherr for previous versions?
Couldn't find anything. Was curious as one of the fw releases seemed to boost surround levels but couldn't find which.
whyidie is offline  
post #72 of 88 Old 03-09-2017, 04:52 PM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can the Tone settings be set differently for multiple inputs? My airplay input needs slightly more treble than my TV and I don't want to have to adjust it every time.
rstark18 is online now  
post #73 of 88 Old 03-09-2017, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mf15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: philly burbs
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
Can the Tone settings be set differently for multiple inputs? My airplay input needs slightly more treble than my TV and I don't want to have to adjust it every time.
Hit the option button on the remote you should be able to control the tone for different inputs.
Old Mike

Vizio-d58u-d3, Yamaha-TSR-7810
Fronts-JBL-S38II, Center-Infinity Extra Center Two
Sides-Klipsch KB-15, In-Ceiling-Yamaha NSIC600WH
SUB-Bic-F12, Technics SL-D2 Turntable
5.1.2
mf15 is online now  
post #74 of 88 Old 03-09-2017, 05:58 PM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mf15 View Post
Hit the option button on the remote you should be able to control the tone for different inputs.
Old Mike
Doing that sets the Tone for all inputs not just the one currently selected.
rstark18 is online now  
post #75 of 88 Old 06-26-2017, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
wildwillie6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bridgewater, Va.
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yamaha TSR-5810 vs. Onkyo TX-NR656

I too saw a good price at Costco for the 5810 ($349) and wondered about this unit vs. the Onkyo TX-NR656. Any obvious advantages or disadvantages? (I'm replacing the receiver of a 10-year-old Onkyo home theater in a box, so hoping for a nice boost to quality in either case.)
wildwillie6 is offline  
post #76 of 88 Old 06-27-2017, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,927
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
Cool New Yamaha TSR 5810 / RXV 581 in stores

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwillie6 View Post
I too saw a good price at Costco for the 5810 ($349) …
The price you saw was a $40 rebate that ended after 6/19 …  CORRECTION it's been extended through 6/30. It's $389 when the rebate expires. Just FYI.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #77 of 88 Old 07-26-2017, 01:03 PM
Member
 
thptrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can someone help clarify an ARC question for me. I have the 5810 connected to a new Samsung TV. I used the 5810's HDMI OUT ARC to connect to the Samsung's ARC HDMI input. Do I need to select input AV2 on the 5810 to get the sound to play that is coming from the Samsung?
thptrek is offline  
post #78 of 88 Old 07-27-2017, 01:48 AM
Member
 
rstark18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by thptrek View Post
Can someone help clarify an ARC question for me. I have the 5810 connected to a new Samsung TV. I used the 5810's HDMI OUT ARC to connect to the Samsung's ARC HDMI input. Do I need to select input AV2 on the 5810 to get the sound to play that is coming from the Samsung?


No. All audio/video goes through the HDMI port.
rstark18 is online now  
post #79 of 88 Old 07-27-2017, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,927
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
New Yamaha TSR 5810 / RXV 581 in stores

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstark18 View Post
No. All audio/video goes through the HDMI port.
Nope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thptrek View Post
Can someone help clarify an ARC question for me. I have the 5810 connected to a new Samsung TV. I used the 5810's HDMI OUT ARC to connect to the Samsung's ARC HDMI input. Do I need to select input AV2 on the 5810 to get the sound to play that is coming from the Samsung?
Check your manual under "Audio Return Channel." On the 481, it's on AV4 by default (p. 126), on the 681/781 (p. 148) it's on AV2 (OM references).

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #80 of 88 Old 08-29-2017, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Has anyone updated this AVR lately?
Does/will it have Dolby Surround Upmix and DTS Neutral:X?
tinhvo is offline  
post #81 of 88 Old 08-29-2017, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,712
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2205 Post(s)
Liked: 1460
It should already have that as it is a 7.2 receiver with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X. Of course that only works if you have 7 speakers configured.

https://www.crutchfield.com/S-9Tqyw9...-RX-V581.html?

7-channel amplifier
80 watts per channel into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.09% THD, with 2 channels driven
Dolby® and DTS® surround sound decoding
Dolby Atmos and DTS:X for more enveloping home theater sound
supports a 5.1.2 Atmos setup with multiple placement patterns for height channels
tinhvo likes this.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #82 of 88 Old 08-29-2017, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Anyone here have an nVidia Shield TV streaming box?

I have a 2-3 second audio dropout issue on Amazon and other apps with 5.1 channel surround. I've replaced all cables (HDMI, ethernet, etc) to no effect.

I have the 2015 Shield on ethernet connection (briefly tried wi-fi, didn't help) and HDMI to Yamaha TSR-5810 reciever, then HDMI to TV.

This issue does NOT rear its ugly head with my 2nd-gen Fire TV hooked up the same way to the same receiver and TV. But dammit, I like the Shield better than the FTV otherwise.

Trying to figure out if the problem is in the Shield or the Yamaha.

Thanks!

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
post #83 of 88 Old 08-30-2017, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 595 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I got that now.
It's probably there from day one but I didn't explore it until now.
Anyway, changing Surround Decode to switch between Dolby Surround and DTS Neural:X.
tinhvo is offline  
post #84 of 88 Old 10-18-2017, 04:38 PM
Member
 
thptrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anybody connecting this avr to Apple TV 4k? I can’t seem to get a full 4k hdr10 4:2:2 signal to pass through. I have been able to set it to Mode 2 and get a 4:2:0 signal to go through. I think it should be able to pass the 422 signal but been frustrated so far. I’m using all new high speed cables.

75" Samsung UN75MU6300, Yamaha TSR-5810, BA CR7 fronts, BA CR1 Center, BA micros surrounds, ELAC A4 presence, Samsung UBD-M9500, Directv HR-54 system, Apple TV 4K

Last edited by thptrek; 10-18-2017 at 05:13 PM.
thptrek is offline  
post #85 of 88 Old 10-25-2017, 02:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,927
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 1109
Are your HDMI cables "certified," with a QR code linking to the independent certification? If not, try swapping out for those.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #86 of 88 Old 10-25-2017, 08:41 AM
Member
 
thptrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It was my cables. Older cables could not handle full hdr10. I replaced them and all is good. Picture looks great

75" Samsung UN75MU6300, Yamaha TSR-5810, BA CR7 fronts, BA CR1 Center, BA micros surrounds, ELAC A4 presence, Samsung UBD-M9500, Directv HR-54 system, Apple TV 4K
thptrek is offline  
post #87 of 88 Old 11-04-2017, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
bustamelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does anyone know if there's a way to have the AVR display the current sound program rather than the input source? Or better still to toggle between the two every n seconds? I also have an RX-A2000 which does this and I'm thinking it has to be something obvious that I'm missing.
bustamelon is online now  
post #88 of 88 Old 11-04-2017, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
bustamelon- hit the info button on remote- it toggles between various options showing on AVR-
ChromeJob likes this.
bgrpph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off