Will my receiver handle 4 ohm speakers? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By jmh547
  • 2 Post By domain
  • 1 Post By Selden Ball
  • 1 Post By Pete7874

post #1 of 14 Old 01-09-2017, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will my receiver handle 4 ohm speakers?

I was thinking about taking advantage of the current Amazon sale on Elac Uni-Fi F5s, and then I saw that they are rated at 4 ohms. I currently have a Yamaha RX-V471 AV receiver (specs here: http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...v471_black__u/). I'm a newbie to the audio stuff, so bear with me:

1. Can I run 4 ohm speakers with this AV receiver, or would that be bad for the receiver and/or bad for the speakers?

2. Even if the 4 ohm speakers can be run without breaking anything, am I putting a Pinto engine in a Ferrari? In other words, should I consider a receiver upgrade a necessary part of my speaker upgrade?

3. If I do need to upgrade my receiver, what's the best way to do it--replace the receiver entirely, or add a separate amplifier to it? Can I even add a separate amplifier to my Yamaha? Are there any specific receivers/amplifiers you would recommend for these speakers?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-09-2017, 05:43 PM

Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Take a look at page 12 and 72 in the manual, it appears 6 ohms is the minimum

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Madmax67 likes this.
post #3 of 14 Old 01-09-2017, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the diplomatic version of "RTFM!"

That's kinda what I thought...and it makes my speaker upgrade a little pricier...I may lower my sights to the 6-ohm Debut F5. Unless it makes sense/is possible/is even a good idea to add a 4-ohm capable power amp on top of my existing AV receiver.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 01-09-2017, 06:58 PM

Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 37