Lyngdorf MP-50 | 12 Channel AV Processor; 9.1.6 with matrixed Wides and Top Middles - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1333Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3308 Old 03-11-2020, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomrunner View Post
I have upgraded my MP-50 to firmware 3.7.0, yes, it's Roon-ready now!


Has anyone noticed that on Android the remote control software can no longer do post-processing such as "Dolby upmixer"?

Interesting observation to feedback on my original questions here: After using windows web browser to adjust "post-processing", I was able to use my Android app to do the adjustment. I don't know why, but case closed.
BassMojo likes this.
randomrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3308 Old 03-18-2020, 06:35 PM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by arieldr View Post
Taken from the release notes:

SW 3.7.0
- Roon Ready support
- Fixed problem with setting Channel Gains from Web UI
- Added LFE 10dB Boost for PCM/DolbyDigital/DTS (MP-50)
- Fixed problem with Rear Dolby Enabled speakers
- Fix/Hack for No LFE in Dolby in legacy setups
- Added option to redirect LFE high part to main speakers.
- Fix for HDMI audio off setting (MP-60 & MP-50 with HDMI upgrade only)
I don’t get this... I show the LFE channel on previous firmware to be level matched with other channels and certainly not 10db low.
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3243 of 3308 Old 03-21-2020, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Joey_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Is this for " Added LFE 10dB Boost for PCM/DolbyDigital/DTS (MP-50)" firmware 3.7.0 Dolby, truehd Dts Hd-Mstr and so on or only for the old standard codecs?
Joey_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3244 of 3308 Old 03-21-2020, 01:59 PM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Bypassing Mp-50 for 4k 60hz

For those of you sending 4k 60hz to a display/projector and using the MP-50 (without updated hdmi card) how are you getting audio processing? What is the most reliable way to do this? Is splitting HDMI with HDFury the best way to go? I’m looking to use a PS4 4K with my MP-50 and an Epson 6050ub. Thanks in advance for any advice.
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3245 of 3308 Old 03-30-2020, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Anyone else experiencing recurrences of the center channel distortion issue since the f/w update?

Has happened to me several times.

Power-cycling fixes it, but not always on the first try.
rramacha likes this.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3246 of 3308 Old 03-30-2020, 05:44 PM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Anyone else experiencing recurrences of the center channel distortion issue since the f/w update?

Has happened to me several times.

Power-cycling fixes it, but not always on the first try.
I get distortion, but in all channels, not just the center every time I turn it on. Switching the source (to any other source) then returning to original source fixes it every time.
noah katz likes this.
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3247 of 3308 Old 03-30-2020, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
Switching the source (to any other source) then returning to original source fixes it every time.

That would be less disruptive; will try it, thanks.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3248 of 3308 Old 03-30-2020, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Zero issues here.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #3249 of 3308 Old 03-30-2020, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 108
I have had distortion a few times, power cycling fixed it. It happened while I was using Apple TV
tassop is offline  
post #3250 of 3308 Old 03-31-2020, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Yes, I've only had the issue with ATV.

I emailed Lyngdorf about it.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3251 of 3308 Old 03-31-2020, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Whoracle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Yes, I've only had the issue with ATV.

I emailed Lyngdorf about it.
I also still have this problem, distorted sound from center channel from APT when upmixing is on. Reported this to Lyngdorf a while ago. So maybe if more people report this problem they will actually do something about it.
noah katz likes this.
Whoracle is offline  
post #3252 of 3308 Old 04-04-2020, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
I get distortion, but in all channels, not just the center every time I turn it on. Switching the source (to any other source) then returning to original source fixes it every time.

It worked - thanks!

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3253 of 3308 Old 04-08-2020, 10:58 AM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Can someone please explain to me how the MP-50 handles 13 channels in 7.2.4? I ‘m currently at 7.2.2 with two top middle height channels. If I go to 7.4.4 by adding a front height pair, how does the 12 channel limitation come into play? Are some of the channels combined? For example, are the two subs are no longer stereo but combined? Or could the two front heights be combined instead? Do you have control over any of this?
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3254 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 11:19 AM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Where did everyone go?

This thread is deader than a doornail. No one stuck at home and using their MP-50/MP-60 to get a little enjoyment out of life in these times? Here’s a podcast review of a MP-60 I stumbled across to liven things up around here.
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3255 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 11:21 AM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
Can someone please explain to me how the MP-50 handles 13 channels in 7.2.4? I ‘m currently at 7.2.2 with two top middle height channels. If I go to 7.4.4 by adding a front height pair, how does the 12 channel limitation come into play? Are some of the channels combined? For example, are the two subs are no longer stereo but combined? Or could the two front heights be combined instead? Do you have control over any of this?
Anyone using an MP-50 with more than 12 channels?
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3256 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
Can someone please explain to me how the MP-50 handles 13 channels in 7.2.4? I ‘m currently at 7.2.2 with two top middle height channels. If I go to 7.4.4 by adding a front height pair, how does the 12 channel limitation come into play? Are some of the channels combined? For example, are the two subs are no longer stereo but combined? Or could the two front heights be combined instead? Do you have control over any of this?
I guess we're just busy enjoying movies and music

The 12-channel limitation would only apply to the Dolby and DTS processing for the 7.1.4 speakers. There's only one LFE channel. Stereo bass is a post processing Lyngdorf feature, so you only have to worry about the MP-50's 16-channel output limit.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #3257 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
I was hoping someone more knowledgeable than I would answer, but I'll give it a shot.

7.1.4 is covered by the discrete channels, and the 3 additional subs by the auxiliary channels.

I'd ask at the UK forum https://www.avforums.com/threads/lyn...ssion.1580956/ which as a lot more MP-50 users using multiple subs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
Can someone please explain to me how the MP-50 handles 13 channels in 7.2.4? I ‘m currently at 7.2.2 with two top middle height channels. If I go to 7.4.4 by adding a front height pair, how does the 12 channel limitation come into play? Are some of the channels combined? For example, are the two subs are no longer stereo but combined? Or could the two front heights be combined instead? Do you have control over any of this?

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3258 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
rramacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
I was hoping someone more knowledgeable than I would answer, but I'll give it a shot.

7.1.4 is covered by the discrete channels, and the 3 additional subs by the auxiliary channels.

I'd ask at the UK forum https://www.avforums.com/threads/lyn...ssion.1580956/ which as a lot more MP-50 users using multiple subs.
I posted in MP 60 and also wrote to Lyngdorf. Lyngdorf seems closed during COVID.

How do I enable my Sub’s play while playing Stereo Content. When I go to web UI its only showing 2.0.0

Thanks guys for any help.
rramacha is offline  
post #3259 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 08:41 PM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckymomo View Post
I guess we're just busy enjoying movies and music

The 12-channel limitation would only apply to the Dolby and DTS processing for the 7.1.4 speakers. There's only one LFE channel. Stereo bass is a post processing Lyngdorf feature, so you only have to worry about the MP-50's 16-channel output limit.
Ah, yes. That makes perfect sense. That’s great news. I’ll be fully discrete with nothing sacrificed on the stereo bass if I add the front heights. Thanks!
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3260 of 3308 Old 04-11-2020, 08:58 PM
Member
 
bennyjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rramacha View Post
I posted in MP 60 and also wrote to Lyngdorf. Lyngdorf seems closed during COVID.

How do I enable my Sub’s play while playing Stereo Content. When I go to web UI its only showing 2.0.0

Thanks guys for any help.
Perhaps if you show us screenshots from the web UI we can figure it out. Are subs selected in the speaker config menu? Dis you run adjust subs prior to running RP? Do your subs play on verify speakers?
bennyjammin is offline  
post #3261 of 3308 Old 04-12-2020, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
rramacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjammin View Post
Perhaps if you show us screenshots from the web UI we can figure it out. Are subs selected in the speaker config menu? Dis you run adjust subs prior to running RP? Do your subs play on verify speakers?
Thanks for helping me out.

Subs selected in the speaker menu - Yes.
Adjust Subs Prior to RP - Yes
Subs Play on Verify Speakers - Yes

I am attaching screen shot.

I also get subs play on HDMI 1 - Kaleidescape Strato, HDMI 3 - Sony 4K Player and HDMI 4 - Apple TV.

Only while playing Roon it shows input as 2.0.0 and output as 2.0.0. I do see my Seaton Submersive fash signal while playing Roon.

Thanks Again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_A05F9C2BCBE2-1.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	78.5 KB
ID:	2709016  
rramacha is offline  
post #3262 of 3308 Old 04-12-2020, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Fredstwofeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Send a message via AIM to Fredstwofeet
The .1 would indicate that there is a LFE signal being processed, which is not the case with a stereo signal, however based on your front speakers x-over being set at 80hz, all of the frequencies below that 80 hz. should be directed to the subs.
rramacha likes this.
Fredstwofeet is offline  
post #3263 of 3308 Old 04-12-2020, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Guys, anyone had a look into the "hidden" Q&Awebsite of Lyngdorf? I posted this on avforums, but maybe someone else reading here, so maybe before I jump into the MP-60, checking for some flaws.

(I can't post links, so please change the xttps for https)

xttps://lyngdorf.com/faq_category/mp-60/

There is Questions regarding codecs:

"Question: Besides HDR10 and Dolby Vision, does the MP-60 support HDR10+, HLG or Advanced HDR by Technicolor?

Answer: Dolby Vision works, both standard and low latency. It is tested with LG (standard) and Sony (low latency).
HDR10 should work, but there is the color banding bug at the moment. Lattice should provide firmware to fix it.
HDR10+ will not work, as it requires jumbo info frames and these chips do not support those.
HLG should work, there is no technical limitation as far as we know.
Advanced HDR by Technicolor will not work, as it requires jumbo info frames and these chips do not support those."

So basically the takeaway is that the Lattice Sil9396 chips, which are used, are not supporting HDR10+ and Advanced HDR by Technicolor.

Anyone having those issues mentioned regarding HDR10? i.e color banding? Or any other issues, as it will be my home cinema pre, and needs to handle the major codecs properly. Also any hints on HDMI 2.1 for MP-60? Will it be upgradeable ?

Thanks!
NangNang is offline  
post #3264 of 3308 Old 04-12-2020, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
rramacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fredstwofeet View Post
The .1 would indicate that there is a LFE signal being processed, which is not the case with a stereo signal, however based on your front speakers x-over being set at 80hz, all of the frequencies below that 80 hz. should be directed to the subs.
Thanks. So even the output shows 2.0.0 you mean it is sending.1 to my twin subs.

Cheers

Raj
rramacha is offline  
post #3265 of 3308 Old 04-14-2020, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Anyone else experiencing recurrences of the center channel distortion issue since the f/w update?



Has happened to me several times.



Power-cycling fixes it, but not always on the first try.


I’m on 3.7, I had the same issue on Apple TV, occasionally, happened 3x so far if I remember correctly, After that no more, not sure why. Maybe have it start up to other source instead of ATV ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ronildoq is offline  
post #3266 of 3308 Old 04-14-2020, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoracle View Post
Thats interesting, I've been complaining about the LFE level being off for a while, and Lyngdorf denined there was a problem. But glad thats fixed..


Glad that is fixed now. I have confirmed the channel balance seems correct now, so Glad that is fixed !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ronildoq is offline  
post #3267 of 3308 Old 04-14-2020, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Actually haven't had an issue w/ATV 4k for some time; actually don't remember if I ever did.

Turns out the problem was only w/BD, not DVD or UHD.

I thought I had the JVC Color Space set to Auto, but after messing with a lot of settings I ended up back there and now it seems to work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ronildoq View Post
I’m on 3.7, I had the same issue on Apple TV, occasionally, happened 3x so far if I remember correctly, After that no more, not sure why. Maybe have it start up to other source instead of ATV ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3268 of 3308 Old 04-17-2020, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,681
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2564 Post(s)
Liked: 962
I downloaded Dolby Atmos test tones (mp4 file) onto a flash drive, inserted it into USB1 on the back of the MP-50, opened the audio streamer and USB1, but the file does not show.

For some reason it won't play on my Panasonic UB900 disc player; it does on my computer so I assume the file is ok.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #3269 of 3308 Old 04-20-2020, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Actually haven't had an issue w/ATV 4k for some time; actually don't remember if I ever did.



Turns out the problem was only w/BD, not DVD or UHD.



I thought I had the JVC Color Space set to Auto, but after messing with a lot of settings I ended up back there and now it seems to work.


I’ve confirmed it’s happened 3x now, if it starts up to Apple TV I have this issue. Change to another source, then switched it back and it it’s gone, worked !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
noah katz likes this.
ronildoq is offline  
post #3270 of 3308 Old 05-03-2020, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
danam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: paris - france
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hi, do you know if the MP-50 will get the DTS-X Pro feature or will it be only available for the MP-60 owners ?
danam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
lyngdorf , mp-50 , owner's , processor , surround

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off