Lyngdorf MP-50 | 12 Channel AV Processor; 9.1.6 with matrixed Wides and Top Middles - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1282Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by normandia View Post
Still awaiting to know if they support DSD?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
This is only a guess but to implement Room Perfect you will need PCM so I would think not.
From my testing DSD input is not supported. It must be converted in the player and sent as PCM, 176.4kHz/24-bit max.
Marc Alexander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
normandia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lewes, DE
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Thanks Marc.

Theater: Lyngdorf MP-50 7.3.4, Sony VW675ES, Revel Ultima Salon2/Voice2/Gem2(4)/Paradigm Be Atmos (4), Mark Levinson amps (53 L/R, 532 Center biamped, 531H side/surrounds), Atmos amp: Sherbourn, Oppo 203, Roku Ultra Premier+, DTV 4k, Velodyne 1812 Signature (LFE), Velodyne DD-15.
FR: Marantz 8802A (and/or 7703), Sony XBR 4k TV, Meridian A350 LCR onwall, Dali in-wall surrounds, Atmos Martin Logan in-ceiling, REL sub, Oppo 105 (and/or 103), DTV, AppleTV, Sony 4k Media Server.
normandia is offline  
post #1353 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Danger View Post
I did contact them directly - the dealers on this thread are my friends. I'm aware of what is factual and what is likely. I am posting almost verbaitm what has been said as of yesterday and again, i have asked for confirmation on the current Mp50 upgrade path, which they have been quite clear on saying there is none until their investigation is completed.

None of the dealers in the UK are quite sure what, when or how the current units will be upgraded. It's fairly speculative at present.

will it be complimentary or for a fee?

Selling in AVS Classifieds
Seaton Catalyst 12c (3) and 8c (4) Speakers
madhuski is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Rock Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
will it be complimentary or for a fee?
I would imagine it's going to cost something. Just for the record I cannot imagine it being non upgradeable - I'd just like a firm yes from one of them.

I will personally tackle them to the floor at ISE 2018 for answers. I didn't reveal who I was affiliated with so the answer would be generic.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Rock Danger is offline  
post #1355 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 12:51 PM
Member
 
clark_kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
Hey Noah, have you solved this issue yet? I'm in the same boat - have the MX-880. I did email Lyngdorf, and they sent me the IR codes in NEC format. Just need to convert them into HEX. A little disspointed though to see no discrete inputs, though CCP does have them for the MX-160

Spoiler!
I was looking over the list of IR codes. The picture of the remote does not appear to have a "Info" button but it looks like there is a "code" for Info. Does anyone know if the code will actually work or what the "Info" might display? How would you get these codes into a Logitech remote?
clark_kent is offline  
post #1356 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
We have read the raves about the MP-50. Hear are the cons I have encountered so far:
  • You must restart RoomPerfect every time you make a change to the speaker config. No matter how small the change.
  • RoomPerfect takes longer than other REQs I have experienced before.
  • There doesn't seem to be a way to abandon a measurement in progress with out wiping all RoomPerfect data. I wanted to demonstrate wides and RP to some guests but I had to abandon an added measurement which seemed to be hung-up on a speaker.
  • If you enable matrixed/summed WIDES or TOP MIDDLES the summing is always engaged (even in 2ch stereo) with no way to disable it aside from changing the speaker config, resetting RP. I am moving the matrixed channels to their own dedicated amplifier so I can control the amp via trigger. Even though I like the way 9.1.6 sounds so far I need to be able to toggle the matrixed channels.
  • The remote is awkward. It looks nice but is the most basic AVR remote I've ever owned. It's going to take some extra work on my part unless Harmony adds the MP-50 to their database.
  • The first second of audio is cutoff when locking onto a new audio stream. I can duplicate this with almost any source. I've seen reports of the same or even longer in other SSP thread (Theta Casablanca IVa being near 5 secs!). So… annoying, but not a huge deal.
  • The PS4 Pro supports 2160p60 at 4:2:0 but shows that HDR is not supported at 4k or even 2k with the MP-50 in the loop (no matter how HDCP/EDID settings are adjusted). The result is 8-bit color when gaming in 4k with PS4 Pro or XB1s. I have pre-ordered a HDFury Vertex to work around this for the time being.
  • You can only see partial information on incoming signals. It shows resolution (720p, 1080p, 2160p) but not frame-rate (24/25/30/50/60). It shows audio sampling rate but not bitrate (kbps).
  • The user's manual seems incomplete in many areas and some items don't show up properly via the remote and OSD vs the web GUI.

This is what comes to mind so far. I don't regret the purchase at all. It is not true 9.1.6 but it makes 7.1.4 sound better [to me in my room] IMO. The SQ easily exceeds that of the D+M X4300H/AV7702mkII. Netflix's overly compressed DD+ sounds amazingly good and Vudu's Atmos even better.
normandia and 65Goat like this.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1357 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
Hey Noah, have you solved this issue yet? I'm in the same boat - have the MX-880. I did email Lyngdorf, and they sent me the IR codes in NEC format. Just need to convert them into HEX. A little disspointed though to see no discrete inputs, though CCP does have them for the MX-160

Spoiler!
Quote:
Originally Posted by clark_kent View Post
I was looking over the list of IR codes. The picture of the remote does not appear to have a "Info" button but it looks like there is a "code" for Info. Does anyone know if the code will actually work or what the "Info" might display? How would you get these codes into a Logitech remote?
I have a ticket open with Harmony and it appears that they will get these IR codes added for me. I will keep the thread updated.
@clark_kent INFO likely just activates the front display and OSD (unless full bypass is selected) and cycles through A/V input & output info, same as hitting OK on the factory remote. I haven't noticed any degredation of PQ leaving the OSD on and it still works with HDR10 and DV.

Last edited by Marc Alexander; 10-06-2017 at 04:25 PM.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1358 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,819
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
I have a ticket open with Harmony and it appears that they will get these IR codes added for me. I will keep the thread updated.
@clark_kent INFO likely just activates the front display and OSD (unless full bypass is selected) and cycles through A/V input & output info, same as hitting OK on the factory remote. I haven't noticed any degredation of PQ leaving the OSD on and it still works with HDR10 and DV.

cool- i opened one also yesterday. they said i needed to get he hex codes from lyngdorf. i emailed thenbut haven't heard back.

Selling in AVS Classifieds
Seaton Catalyst 12c (3) and 8c (4) Speakers
madhuski is online now  
post #1359 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
normandia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lewes, DE
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
We have read the raves about the MP-50. Hear are the cons I have encountered so far:
  • The first second of audio is cutoff when locking onto a new audio stream. I can duplicate this with almost any source. I've seen reports of the same or even longer in other SSP thread (Theta Casablanca IVa being near 5 secs!). So… annoying, but not a huge deal.
Agree with all your comments, and I harp on the cutoff as it really is irritating to me. I would appreciate Lyngdorf hearing about this from you with specific sources, through whomever (your dealer), as they have heard from me relentlessly.
While underappreciated, I get the delay through coax inputs as well, so it is more than just an HDMI sync problem. I've never had any equipment with a coax delay prior to this. You may wish to attempt to confirm this as well.

Theater: Lyngdorf MP-50 7.3.4, Sony VW675ES, Revel Ultima Salon2/Voice2/Gem2(4)/Paradigm Be Atmos (4), Mark Levinson amps (53 L/R, 532 Center biamped, 531H side/surrounds), Atmos amp: Sherbourn, Oppo 203, Roku Ultra Premier+, DTV 4k, Velodyne 1812 Signature (LFE), Velodyne DD-15.
FR: Marantz 8802A (and/or 7703), Sony XBR 4k TV, Meridian A350 LCR onwall, Dali in-wall surrounds, Atmos Martin Logan in-ceiling, REL sub, Oppo 105 (and/or 103), DTV, AppleTV, Sony 4k Media Server.
normandia is offline  
post #1360 of 3176 Old 10-06-2017, 07:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by normandia View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
We have read the raves about the MP-50. Hear are the cons I have encountered so far:
  • The first second of audio is cutoff when locking onto a new audio stream. I can duplicate this with almost any source. I've seen reports of the same or even longer in other SSP thread (Theta Casablanca IVa being near 5 secs!). So? annoying, but not a huge deal.
Agree with all your comments, and I harp on the cutoff as it really is irritating to me. I would appreciate Lyngdorf hearing about this from you with specific sources, through whomever (your dealer), as they have heard from me relentlessly.
While underappreciated, I get the delay through coax inputs as well, so it is more than just an HDMI sync problem. I've never had any equipment with a coax delay prior to this. You may wish to attempt to confirm this as well.
The Bryston SP3 was very slow at locking on a digital signal also. My 80.3 is immediate but then it can?t match the resulting audio quality. Why can?t we have both?

Main Kef: Reference 205/2 & 202/2c, Surrounds: Kef XQ40, Velodyne Optimum 12, Integra DHC 80.3, Ayre K-5xeMP, Oppo BDP-103, Parasound Halo A31, ATI AT528nc. Second B&W: 685 (3), CCM618, Def Tech Powerfield 1500, Onkyo TX-NR1008, Zone 2 Klipsch AW650.
jima4a is offline  
post #1361 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
The Bryston SP3 was very slow at locking on a digital signal also. My 80.3 is immediate but then it can?t match the resulting audio quality. Why can?t we have both?
I wonder if it has to do with Auro3D? Perhaps newer SSPs are now checking for Auro encoded within LPCM in addition to all of the other codecs, causing extra delay. They should at least fix this on the SPDIF and USB inputs I would think.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1362 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
cool- i opened one also yesterday. they said i needed to get he hex codes from lyngdorf. i emailed thenbut haven't heard back.
I am using the Harmony hub (I like it!), which won't learn the IR commands from the factory remote (yes, I switched from the default of RF). I am PM'ing you my case # so we can perhaps cross-reference and get quick resolution.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1363 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Can anyone confirm that Dolby Vision is working with the MP50?
DrMichael is offline  
post #1364 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
Can anyone confirm that Dolby Vision is working with the MP50?
Yes, I am using Chromecast Ultra through the MP-50 for Vudu and Netflix in 2160p24 4:2:2 12-bit Dolby Vision. I do not have a Dolby Vision UHD player but it should work as long as you set the player to 4:2:2 12-bit.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1365 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 02:17 PM
Member
 
diamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4k sources that work with the MP-50?

This may seem like an odd question, but has anyone here successfully gotten their MP-50 to display 4k Source material in the USA? What devices worked for you?

My dealer and I are stymied by the apparent inability of mine to display 4k content from a DirecTV 4k Genie, a BluRay Player (Sony XBP-1000ES), or an Amazon FireTV. Handshake seemingly works, audio works, but I just get a blue screen on video. Have tried numerous permutations of new cables, various output settings, and different sources from each device. It seems not to matter what the output resolution is set to (i.e. it’s not even downscaling 4k content correctly).

All of the devices work fine when connected directly to the Projector (Sony VPL-VW1000ES).

Even more confounding, the MP-50 can successfully upscale other content to 4k and display it on the projector. Just no 4k sources.

We’ve had multiple interactions with their Tech Support, but so far haven’t been able to resolve it. So I figured I’d check in here to see if others had seen similar issues. I suspect it’s a specific hardware problem with my unit (groan).
diamar is offline  
post #1366 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own little world!
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamar View Post
This may seem like an odd question, but has anyone here successfully gotten their MP-50 to display 4k Source material in the USA? What devices worked for you?

My dealer and I are stymied by the apparent inability of mine to display 4k content from a DirecTV 4k Genie, a BluRay Player (Sony XBP-1000ES), or an Amazon FireTV. Handshake seemingly works, audio works, but I just get a blue screen on video. Have tried numerous permutations of new cables, various output settings, and different sources from each device. It seems not to matter what the output resolution is set to (i.e. it’s not even downscaling 4k content correctly).

All of the devices work fine when connected directly to the Projector (Sony VPL-VW1000ES).

Even more confounding, the MP-50 can successfully upscale other content to 4k and display it on the projector. Just no 4k sources.

We’ve had multiple interactions with their Tech Support, but so far haven’t been able to resolve it. So I figured I’d check in here to see if others had seen similar issues. I suspect it’s a specific hardware problem with my unit (groan).
I have a Murideo SIXG and SIXA 4k pattern generator and signal analyzer. I set up various 4k resolutions and bit depth and the only signal the MP-50 will pass is 4k 23.98 4:2:2. Basically 9ghz. I was surprised that it would not pass 4k60 4:2:2.

EDIT: The MP-50 will output the correct resolution based on the input, however, the internal switching will not pass an image above 4k 23.98 to the output.

John



Last edited by netroamer; 10-07-2017 at 07:04 PM.
netroamer is offline  
post #1367 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Yes, I am using Chromecast Ultra through the MP-50 for Vudu and Netflix in 2160p24 4:2:2 12-bit Dolby Vision. I do not have a Dolby Vision UHD player but it should work as long as you set the player to 4:2:2 12-bit.
For some reason I cannot get the Dolby Vision to pass from the Apple 4K tv. Appears to just be HDR 10
DrMichael is offline  
post #1368 of 3176 Old 10-07-2017, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
I am also re-running the Room Perfect and when I go to verify the sub it says to turn up the sub volume but there is no sound coming from the subs. I started running RP and the LFE channel is on during the calibration....Is this something to be concerned about or should I let it run its course?
DrMichael is offline  
post #1369 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 04:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by netroamer View Post
I have a Murideo SIXG and SIXA 4k pattern generator and signal analyzer. I set up various 4k resolutions and bit depth and the only signal the MP-50 will pass is 4k 23.98 4:2:2. Basically 9ghz. I was surprised that it would not pass 4k60 4:2:2.

EDIT: The MP-50 will output the correct resolution based on the input, however, the internal switching will not pass an image above 4k 23.98 to the output.
The MP-50 HDMI chipset is 2.0-lite, 300MHz/10.2Gbps.

It can pass ≤2160p30 HDR at 4:2:2 12-bit and 2160p60 HDR only at 4:2:0 10-bit.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1370 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 04:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
For some reason I cannot get the Dolby Vision to pass from the Apple 4K tv. Appears to just be HDR 10
What DV content are you testing? Netflix? Does DV kick in bypassing the MP-50?
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1371 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 04:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamar View Post
This may seem like an odd question, but has anyone here successfully gotten their MP-50 to display 4k Source material in the USA? What devices worked for you?

My dealer and I are stymied by the apparent inability of mine to display 4k content from a DirecTV 4k Genie, a BluRay Player (Sony XBP-1000ES), or an Amazon FireTV. Handshake seemingly works, audio works, but I just get a blue screen on video. Have tried numerous permutations of new cables, various output settings, and different sources from each device. It seems not to matter what the output resolution is set to (i.e. it’s not even downscaling 4k content correctly).

All of the devices work fine when connected directly to the Projector (Sony VPL-VW1000ES).

Even more confounding, the MP-50 can successfully upscale other content to 4k and display it on the projector. Just no 4k sources.

We’ve had multiple interactions with their Tech Support, but so far haven’t been able to resolve it. So I figured I’d check in here to see if others had seen similar issues. I suspect it’s a specific hardware problem with my unit (groan).
Have you tried setting HDMI out to Full Bypass? I have no problems getting 8-bit 4k through the MP-50 (10-bit HDR at 60fps is another story).
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1372 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
What DV content are you testing? Netflix? Does DV kick in bypassing the MP-50?
The ATV is odd in that it forces the resolution of HDR all the time no matter the content. So when I rent a movie on DV it is just being broadcasted as HDR10. Netflix does not even show DV available.
DrMichael is offline  
post #1373 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
diamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Have you tried setting HDMI out to Full Bypass? I have no problems getting 8-bit 4k through the MP-50 (10-bit HDR at 60fps is another story).
Yes, I’ve tried Full Bypass. It generally yields a “pink snow” screen (but I still get sound). Whenever I switch *from* Full Bypass to one of the other resolutions, I’ll get a brief (1 second or so) video feed before it goes back to blue screen.
diamar is offline  
post #1374 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Rock Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Have you tried setting HDMI out to Full Bypass? I have no problems getting 8-bit 4k through the MP-50 (10-bit HDR at 60fps is another story).
The shield had an update to force different resolutions out - I set it to 4:2:2 / 12bit rec 2020 which seems to work.. I'm not sure if it is - According to the info on the JVC projector it says 8bit, HDR and deep colour is blurred out.

No 10bit HDR of any kind.. I think I've tied myself up in knots over all 3 devices and now not sure which way is up.
Rock Danger is offline  
post #1375 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own little world!
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
I am also re-running the Room Perfect and when I go to verify the sub it says to turn up the sub volume but there is no sound coming from the subs. I started running RP and the LFE channel is on during the calibration....Is this something to be concerned about or should I let it run its course?
I encountered the same issue with the subs from Aux 1 & 2. When I went to verify speakers, the subs had tone as L/sub and R/sub. I had Claus from Lyngdorf on the phone at the time and he had no answer as to why. He told me to go ahead and just run RP. The process went well, achieving a 98% room knowledge, but I am not happy with the result. I am waiting to contact Claus next week to get more into this.
DrMichael likes this.

John



Last edited by netroamer; 10-08-2017 at 11:11 AM.
netroamer is offline  
post #1376 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
netroamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my own little world!
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamar View Post
Yes, I’ve tried Full Bypass. It generally yields a “pink snow” screen (but I still get sound). Whenever I switch *from* Full Bypass to one of the other resolutions, I’ll get a brief (1 second or so) video feed before it goes back to blue screen.
I saw the same flash when changing resolutions on the pattern generator feeding the MP-50. I wil run the tests again.

John


netroamer is offline  
post #1377 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrMichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by netroamer View Post
I encountered the same issue with the subs from Aux 1 & 2. When I went to verify speakers, the subs had tone as L/sub and R/sub. I had Claus from Lyngdorf on the phone at the time and he had no answer as to why. He told me to go ahead and just run RP. The process went well, achieving a 98% room knowledge, but I am not happy with the result. I am waiting to contact Claus next week to get more into this.
Same situation here...let me know what he says! Thanks!
DrMichael is offline  
post #1378 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,675
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3088 Post(s)
Liked: 1844
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
The Bryston SP3 was very slow at locking on a digital signal also. My 80.3 is immediate but then it can?t match the resulting audio quality. Why can?t we have both?
You can have both. They just have to tweak the internal mute timings -- possibly other settings (The SSP-800 fix was more involved), as commented a few pages back. The first step is to acknowledge the problem, then dive in.
normandia likes this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #1379 of 3176 Old 10-08-2017, 09:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Danger View Post
The shield had an update to force different resolutions out - I set it to 4:2:2 / 12bit rec 2020 which seems to work.. I'm not sure if it is - According to the info on the JVC projector it says 8bit, HDR and deep colour is blurred out.

No 10bit HDR of any kind.. I think I've tied myself up in knots over all 3 devices and now not sure which way is up.
If a Lumagen Pro is not on your radar take a look at the upcoming HDFury Vertex (Shipping Nov 1). When and if I opt to upgrade the MP-50 HDMI I can always sell the Vertex.

I'm staying away from the 4k AppleTV until bitstream/Atmos is supported. I have the ATV 4.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #1380 of 3176 Old 10-09-2017, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,114
Mentioned: 270 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5938 Post(s)
Liked: 5498
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
For some reason I cannot get the Dolby Vision to pass from the Apple 4K tv. Appears to just be HDR 10
Dr., are you still unable to watch DV? Are you by chance connecting to a 2016 LG OLED?

I've been researching the new 4k AppleTV and see that it only supports 25p/30p/50p/60p output… no 24p (60p is default). This is an issue for LG OLEDx5y6P models as they can only accept Dolby Vision up to 30p. 2016 LG owners' (like myself) best option would be to manually set the ATV output to 30p for viewing DV content.

Hopefully, Apple will add 24p as an option. Once they add DD+ bitstream output I will purchase.
Marc Alexander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
lyngdorf , mp-50 , owner's , processor , surround

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off