Lyngdorf MP-50 | 12 Channel AV Processor; 9.1.6 with matrixed Wides and Top Middles - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1263Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Extreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Size comparison: MP-50 vs SP4 (both units are 3RU):



The Byston & StormAudio chassis will be hard to fit in racks with shelves under 20" (depth).
Interesting.
I don’t have a door in my rack so what matters to me is the distance from the rear of the SP4 to the front-mounted feet.
If the SP4 protrudes in front of the rack is not a big problem.
In order to fit the feet on the SP4 onto my shelf this distance must not exceed 16’’.
From your picture this will be a tight fit.....

Edit:
After digging deep I finally found the dimensions.
It says total depth is 18.25’’.
I believe there is 2.25’’ from front feet to front of unit, so I reckon it will work in my case.

Bryston SP4/ATI AT527/Panasonic DP-UB9000/LG OLED 65E6V

Last edited by Extreman; 05-25-2019 at 05:29 AM.
Extreman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 2,542
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1174 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
They say that Focus 1 postion needs to be at ear hight. If the ears are below the back of the chair is it a poblem getting accurate readings for Focus 1 due to reflections from the back of the chair?
In such a case, as I did, recline the chair further so the mic is not blocked in any direction. Then maneuver the mic to head height ear position. This should achieve a more accurate mic reading without the reflective leather chair in close proximity.

Interesting how the MP-50 appears to have significantly less ventilation slots than the 160. Apparently McIntosh is much more concerned about heat temps within the case than Lyngdorf.

Also had no idea how large/deep the SP4 is. The processor is huge... and to think the Storm is a fair amount taller.

Last edited by G-Rex; 05-25-2019 at 06:08 AM.
G-Rex is offline  
post #2853 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 08:00 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Size comparison: MP-50 vs SP4 (both units are 3RU):



The Byston & StormAudio chassis will be hard to fit in racks with shelves under 20" (depth).


Ha! It never felt/looked big to me. The photo sure would say it’s pretty large in comparison. However, since I rack mount everything in a full size rack I probably wouldn’t necessarily pay attention.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Trinnov Altitude 16, Magico A3, Magico ACC, Magico A1s, Dual Rythmik FV25HP
Amps- ATI AT523NC, AT524NC, AT528NC
Kaleidescape Terra Server/Strato, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV4k, XFinity X1
Sony VPL-VW5000, 136" 2.35:1 Stewart Studiotek 100 screen, Lumagen Pro 4242
dinamigym is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2854 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
My apologies to all. I thought I had posted the pics the Storm thread (I'm using Tapatalk). I'm going to reply over there.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2855 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 869 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Well there's no way I'm going to go to the trouble to make the switch, and it would be irksome not to be able to hear the entire native soundtrack after all the trouble and expense I've gone to get the capability.

It's pushing me in the direction of the HTP-1, though it remains to be seen if it will get DTS:X Pro.

Here's what I wrote to Lyngdorf:


Ah, I see my mistake; I was thinking that because DTS:X Pro was creating the Wide channels by matrixing, they weren't discrete, but it's the same as far as the MP-50 is concerned.

Another question if I may:

I just learned that a reboot/re-run of RoomPerfect is needed to switch between matrixed Wides and discrete Wides.

This would be far too inconvenient for me to consider.

I suppose I could stay with matrixed at all times since native soundtracks are the minority of what's available, but that's not an appealing solution.

Can you explain why this is necessary?
Only one speaker configuration can be loaded at a time. So you just load a backup file anytime you want to switch. Takes 2-3 minutes to load.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #2856 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,354
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
In such a case, as I did, recline the chair further so the mic is not blocked in any direction. Then maneuver the mic to head height ear position. This should achieve a more accurate mic reading without the reflective leather chair in close proximity.
:
In my case my seats dont recline so the mic is always within the back of the chair for Focus 1 position. I wonder if Im better to place the mic higher than the back of the chair to avoid reflections from the seat cover?

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #2857 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,128
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckymomo View Post
Only one speaker configuration can be loaded at a time. So you just load a backup file anytime you want to switch. Takes 2-3 minutes to load.

Oh, so RP only needs to be run once for each configuration.

Not nearly as bad, but still quite undesirable.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #2858 of 3062 Old 05-25-2019, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
In my case my seats dont recline so the mic is always within the back of the chair for Focus 1 position. I wonder if Im better to place the mic higher than the back of the chair to avoid reflections from the seat cover?
No, just cover the seatback with several blankets/comforters.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2859 of 3062 Old 05-28-2019, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,354
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 773
I wonder why Lyngdorf state measure all over the room high and low, front and back for RP, but McIntosh say only the back 2/3rds of the room?

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #2860 of 3062 Old 06-13-2019, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Can anyone kindly tell me whether the video scaler on the MP-50 can be turned off? I understand that it has flexibility with respect to input resolutions and use of EDID data, but I also read that it upscales everything to 4K. I am thinking about buying an MP-50 but would prefer if it could pass through all video signals directly and unscaled.
tassop is offline  
post #2861 of 3062 Old 06-13-2019, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
Quote:
Originally Posted by tassop View Post
Can anyone kindly tell me whether the video scaler on the MP-50 can be turned off?
Yes, scaling can be turned off or specified to upscale to 4k, 1080p, or 720p. Too bad it is limited to HDMI 1.4 throughput. The HDMI 2.0b should be available in August but will likely have some differences in functionality.
tassop likes this.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2862 of 3062 Old 06-13-2019, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Yes, scaling can be turned off or specified to upscale to 4k, 1080p, or 720p. Too bad it is limited to HDMI 1.4 throughput. The HDMI 2.0b should be available in August but will likely have some differences in functionality.

Thank you Marc. I didn't realise that Lyngdorf was so far behind with respect to HDMI 2.0 implementation. I think it might be wise for me to wait until they actually ship units with the 2.0b boards as standard. Do you know whether they plan to charge existing owners for the upgrade boards?
tassop is offline  
post #2863 of 3062 Old 06-13-2019, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
Quote:
Originally Posted by tassop View Post
Thank you Marc. I didn't realise that Lyngdorf was so far behind with respect to HDMI 2.0 implementation. I think it might be wise for me to wait until they actually ship units with the 2.0b boards as standard. Do you know whether they plan to charge existing owners for the upgrade boards?
"Lyngdorf Audio factory upgrades will cost $1,300, including roundtrip shipping." http://lyngdorf.com/news-advanced-hd...d-for-q2-2018/

I was told that they planned sell two versions of the MP-50 with HDMI 2.0b having a higher MSRP respectively. But that was back in early 2018.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2864 of 3062 Old 06-14-2019, 12:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
"Lyngdorf Audio factory upgrades will cost $1,300, including roundtrip shipping." http://lyngdorf.com/news-advanced-hd...d-for-q2-2018/

I was told that they planned sell two versions of the MP-50 with HDMI 2.0b having a higher MSRP respectively. But that was back in early 2018.
I was just advised by the Australian distributor for Lyngdorf that current MP-50's are HDMI 2.0 compliant. Lyngdorf's website doesn't state this though.
tassop is offline  
post #2865 of 3062 Old 06-14-2019, 12:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,631
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1156 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Assume they are all 2.0 compliant. Current model just has 9 ghz chips vs 18 ghz (upgrade).....
tassop likes this.
SJHT is online now  
post #2866 of 3062 Old 06-14-2019, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Assume they are all 2.0 compliant. Current model just has 9 ghz chips vs 18 ghz (upgrade).....
I see. it seems that the MP-50 will still pass through the full video from a UHD movie disc without any problems. I don't do gaming etc so I shouldn't be inconvenienced to much by the current limitation. I would like to use the MP-50 to switch video sources too. Kind of seems a waste otherwise.
tassop is offline  
post #2867 of 3062 Old 06-14-2019, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
philipbtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by tassop View Post
I see. it seems that the MP-50 will still pass through the full video from a UHD movie disc without any problems. I don't do gaming etc so I shouldn't be inconvenienced to much by the current limitation. I would like to use the MP-50 to switch video sources too. Kind of seems a waste otherwise.
Anything above a UHD disc at 24Hz can be an issue, Netflix, some UHD discs are 50/60Hz etc. if it doesn't have 18Gbit chip.

Room| Treated | Sound| Front: Ino Audio i32s, Center: Ino Audio i16s, Surrounds: 6 x Ino a2, 6 x Ino a1, Subs: 6 x Ino Infra-Y|
Picture | Epson TW9300, Seymour Center Stage UF 130.4" retractable 2.35:1 |
Electronics | Arcam AVR390(Dirac Live), 3x Ncore nc400 monoblocks, Emotiva XPA-2 Gen2, EP4000, Panasonic UB700, Allo Katana + Isolator 1.2(Roon bridge/DAC), ATV 4K |
philipbtz is offline  
post #2868 of 3062 Old 06-14-2019, 11:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipbtz View Post
Anything above a UHD disc at 24Hz can be an issue, Netflix, some UHD discs are 50/60Hz etc. if it doesn't have 18Gbit chip.
I haven't encountered any HDR content on Netflix at 50/60Hz. YouTube has quite a bit though. Live sports in HDR/HLG is also 60p.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2869 of 3062 Old 06-16-2019, 12:03 PM
Member
 
arisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Long time since my last post on the forum.
Been busy with my stereo system but now it is really working out well and I feel it is a done deal ;-)
So I have no need anymore to also try to make the ultimate "tradeoff" in the movie room for both 2ch music and movies. Now it will be a dedicated blueray/movies/concerts only room 7.1(4).4... but currently my speaker config is Auro 3D and not ATMOS.. So I realize now that this was a vaste of energy and money given the fact that I already have all the 5 or 6 pieces of Auro 3D mch music recordings that will ever be made... and even those sound better on my stereo system.

My buddy @stjernholm visited and he was surely happy about many things (in particular the headroom, dynamics and bass in my movie room but not so crazy about my center channel and height channel presentation including panning effects for regular DTS/DD with the Dolby or Neural:X upmixers. The center channel is below the canvas and currently too low compared with the L+R. That I can hopefully fix by placing the L+R a bit lower to improve the panning effect and timbre match between the L+C+R.. But also the height channels are placed according to a Auro 3D 5.1.4 setup with 4 active 2-way box Adam speakers located right above the front and side channels.

What I wonder is how can I make this better for ATMOS without too much fuzz? Add 2 in-ceiling speakers above the listening position and keep the front height speakers?? Suggestions of some good in-ceiling speakers in that case? It is not a big room but the ceiling speakers need to keep up with all the Adams, which might be a challenge... And how would I specify such a setup with the MP-50?

thanks, Erik

Movie: MP-50 7.4.4, Adam Audio S5X-V, Tensor Center, SVS 2xPB16 2xPC13, Isovolt 3k, microRendu+ultracap
Stereo: dCS Bartok, ASR Emitter II Excl, Paradigm Persona 9H, Adyton Isovolt 6k, Roon

Last edited by arisholm; 06-16-2019 at 12:10 PM.
arisholm is offline  
post #2870 of 3062 Old 06-16-2019, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by arisholm View Post
Been busy with my stereo system but now it is really working out well and I feel it is a done deal ;-)
So I have no need anymore to also try to make the ultimate "tradeoff" in the movie room for both 2ch music and movies.
Do you feel that the MP-50 is not up to the task for critical 2 channel listening? Furthermore, is your reasoning the MP-50 itself, your surround set up is not optimal for 2 channel or the room doesn't allow for 2 channel optimization. One of the reasons that I am eyeing the MP-50 (after the new board is released) is for a one-box solution and I am spending more and more time with 2 channel listening. Thanks in advance.
BassMojo is online now  
post #2871 of 3062 Old 06-17-2019, 02:21 AM
Member
 
arisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassMojo View Post
Do you feel that the MP-50 is not up to the task for critical 2 channel listening? Furthermore, is your reasoning the MP-50 itself, your surround set up is not optimal for 2 channel or the room doesn't allow for 2 channel optimization. One of the reasons that I am eyeing the MP-50 (after the new board is released) is for a one-box solution and I am spending more and more time with 2 channel listening. Thanks in advance.
No I think that the MP-50 can do a very good job for critical 2 channel listening and as a one-box solution in a multi-channel setup it is hard to beat. I think most people would be very, very happy to listen to 2 channel music in my MP-50 based movie room, and so am I ;-) But it depends on your insanity level of course. In addition to the movie room, I wanted a no compromise dedicated stereo system in my living room. That has become so good now that there is no point in even trying to make the MP-50 based 7.4.4 channel movie room compete with that for 2 ch. So now I can instead optimise the movie room for movies, in terms of speaker & sub placement etc. I found that I prefer a different speaker+sub placement for stereo vs multichannel in that room, due to some limitations in that room where I cannot achieve the optimal impulse response, bass tightness, extension/headroom, stereo perspective and multichannel blend at the same time. I have to choose a bit between "correctness" vs "fun factor"... Also the Adam studio monitors in my movie room are indeed superb and with insane headroom, but they do not have quite the level of refinement of the Persona 9H speakers in my living room. These are tradeoffs that I do not need to worry as much about any more... This has to do with cost as well. There is much more that could be said about this but that is the short story :-)

PS: If I could have only ONE listening room and AV man cave, it would include the MP-50 ;-)
BassMojo likes this.

Movie: MP-50 7.4.4, Adam Audio S5X-V, Tensor Center, SVS 2xPB16 2xPC13, Isovolt 3k, microRendu+ultracap
Stereo: dCS Bartok, ASR Emitter II Excl, Paradigm Persona 9H, Adyton Isovolt 6k, Roon

Last edited by arisholm; 06-17-2019 at 02:51 AM.
arisholm is offline  
post #2872 of 3062 Old 06-17-2019, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by arisholm View Post
No I think that the MP-50 can do a very good job for critical 2 channel listening and as a one-box solution in a multi-channel setup it is hard to beat. I think most people would be very, very happy to listen to 2 channel music in my MP-50 based movie room, and so am I ;-) But it depends on your insanity level of course. In addition to the movie room, I wanted a no compromise dedicated stereo system in my living room. That has become so good now that there is no point in even trying to make the MP-50 based 7.4.4 channel movie room compete with that for 2 ch. So now I can instead optimise the movie room for movies, in terms of speaker & sub placement etc. I found that I prefer a different speaker+sub placement for stereo vs multichannel in that room, due to some limitations in that room where I cannot achieve the optimal impulse response, bass tightness, extension/headroom, stereo perspective and multichannel blend at the same time. I have to choose a bit between "correctness" vs "fun factor"... Also the Adam studio monitors in my movie room are indeed superb and with insane headroom, but they do not have quite the level of refinement of the Persona 9H speakers in my living room. These are tradeoffs that I do not need to worry as much about any more... This has to do with cost as well. There is much more that could be said about this but that is the short story :-)

PS: If I could have only ONE listening room and AV man cave, it would include the MP-50 ;-)
Excellent, thank you for elaborating on your experience.
hollandjw likes this.
BassMojo is online now  
post #2873 of 3062 Old 06-17-2019, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,128
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 796
In the setup section of the manual it says

HDMI CEC settings
Set enable CEC and use ARC channel as audio input to Off or On.


Can it be set to ARC On and CEC Off, which I can do w/Marantz 7702MkII?

I just got a Harmony remote and it says to turn CEC off, presumably to avoid loss of sync of commands from CEC doing things the remote doesn't know about.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #2874 of 3062 Old 06-17-2019, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,747
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5659 Post(s)
Liked: 5232
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
In the setup section of the manual it says



HDMI CEC settings

Set enable CEC and use ARC channel as audio input to Off or On.





Can it be set to ARC On and CEC Off, which I can do w/Marantz 7702MkII?



I just got a Harmony remote and it says to turn CEC off, presumably to avoid loss of sync of commands from CEC doing things the remote doesn't know about.
Noah, are you sure you have ARC running with CEC disabled on the Marantz? It isn't possible on the MP-50 and I don't believe it is possible at all. My current Denon is not connected but I believe you that while you can disable HDMI control bit CEC is still enabled w/ ARC.

Harmony and the MP-50 can work just fine together with CEC enabled. Partially because the MP-50's CEC capabilities are very limited.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #2875 of 3062 Old 06-17-2019, 10:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 23,128
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Noah, are you sure you have ARC running with CEC disabled on the Marantz?
I think so; when Power Off Control was On, if the TV or 7702 were powered on, the other one would also turn on; when I changed it to Power Off Control = Off, they that doesn't happen.

In both cases ARC was on, and I get TV Audio from the 7702 Monitor 1 HDMI connector.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Harmony and the MP-50 can work just fine together with CEC enabled.
In any case that's what matters; thanks, Marc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190617_213229.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	327.1 KB
ID:	2581366  

Noah

Last edited by noah katz; 06-17-2019 at 11:34 PM.
noah katz is offline  
post #2876 of 3062 Old 06-26-2019, 02:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I have just received my MP-50 and am going through the setup now. I was running 2 X 12" subs previously and it seems that the only way that I can use them both with the Lyngdorf is by using a Y-cable or similar from the LFE output. The menu doesn't seem to allow more than one LFE output. Is anyone using 2 LFE subs with their MP-50?
tassop is offline  
post #2877 of 3062 Old 06-27-2019, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
meinkino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lightbulb

You can run two subwoofers on the LFE port using a Y-splitter. Well, I assume you knew this .
Second possibility: If you are able to place the subwoofers somehow symmetrical in the front (ideally in the corners, due to Lyngdorf), you can connect the subs to the AUX1 (left sub) and AUX2 (right sub) ports.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tassop View Post
I have just received my MP-50 and am going through the setup now. I was running 2 X 12" subs previously and it seems that the only way that I can use them both with the Lyngdorf is by using a Y-cable or similar from the LFE output. The menu doesn't seem to allow more than one LFE output. Is anyone using 2 LFE subs with their MP-50?
meinkino is offline  
post #2878 of 3062 Old 06-28-2019, 01:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by meinkino View Post
You can run two subwoofers on the LFE port using a Y-splitter. Well, I assume you knew this .
Second possibility: If you are able to place the subwoofers somehow symmetrical in the front (ideally in the corners, due to Lyngdorf), you can connect the subs to the AUX1 (left sub) and AUX2 (right sub) ports.
Thank you for your advice. I hadn't picked up the ability of the MP-50 to use Aux inputs to handle both LFE and bass. I'll give that a go.

I am finding limitations with the video circuitry in that Apple TV 4K won't play 4K material through the unit. Hopefully the new video board will be out soon.
tassop is offline  
post #2879 of 3062 Old 07-01-2019, 04:57 AM
Member
 
Xyrric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I should receive my MP-50 this afternoon and have been looking at the manual on-line.

I would like your recommendations on speaker size and how to connect my subwoofers.

My front 3 are PMC MB2SE speakers. I have two subs, a JL audio Fathom F113 and a JTR Captivator 2400ULF.

From what I understand from the manual my front speakers could be set to XL (full range) as they play down to 20Hz. Would there be any reason to set them to L and send anything below 40 HZ to the subs?

The side surrounds and rear speakers are MK IW300 speakers with a frequency response of 80hz-22khz. On that basis I'm thinking their size shouldn't be set to M (cutoff frequency 80Hz) but rather S (cutoff frequency 100Hz) or even XS (cutoff frequency 120Hz)?

The subs are obviously dissimilar. I am lucky enough to be able to place them in the front corners and so could use AUX1 (left sub) and AUX2 (right sub) but with one being sealed and the other ported is that the best option?

Thanks in advance
Xyrric is offline  
post #2880 of 3062 Old 07-01-2019, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The crossover frequency I would always determine with REW. My NV-140 go down to 25Hz, in the separation 80Hz have an extinction, at 120Hz but no.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
lyngdorf , mp-50 , owner's , processor , surround

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off