Owner's thread for the Sony STR-DN1080 AVR - Page 72 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2206Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2131 of 2710 Old 11-03-2018, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi there, I just set up my first home theater system and the installation went as smooth as can be expected. I am facing an issue however when my Optoma UHD60 is sometimes responding to my DN1080 remote control. For instance, sometimes when I press the right arrow button on the Sony remote, the projector menu button pops up. They're connected with a Ruipro HDMI optical cable.

Has anyone else has any issues with this and is there any fix?
buntym is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2132 of 2710 Old 11-04-2018, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by buntym View Post
Hi there, I just set up my first home theater system and the installation went as smooth as can be expected. I am facing an issue however when my Optoma UHD60 is sometimes responding to my DN1080 remote control. For instance, sometimes when I press the right arrow button on the Sony remote, the projector menu button pops up. They're connected with a Ruipro HDMI optical cable.

Has anyone else has any issues with this and is there any fix?
Do they share the same remote code or something? With you AVR turned off, what happens when pointing the remote at the projector and pressing the arrow button?

-

grolschie is offline  
post #2133 of 2710 Old 11-05-2018, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Speaker selection

Hi all....I am buying this unit after 2 failed Onkyo. I have a set (like 7.1)of 8ohm speakers.....I notice the specs for the receiver points to 6ohms but will this unit be fine with those speakers?
khidbz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2134 of 2710 Old 11-05-2018, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by khidbz View Post
Hi all....I am buying this unit after 2 failed Onkyo. I have a set (like 7.1)of 8ohm speakers.....I notice the specs for the receiver points to 6ohms but will this unit be fine with those speakers?
8ohm are the optimal speakers to use. It also works with 6ohm speakers.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2135 of 2710 Old 11-06-2018, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Since receiving the amp 2 days ago i had 2 occasions where the amp was OFF, i pointed the remote control towards the unit but it wouldnt turn on (there was nothing between the remote and the amp). I had to press the power button on the amp to start it.

Any idea why?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6000 using Tapatalk
Ok, so today i decided to reset the receiver to factory defaults. After restoring it, when i turned it off using the remote i noticed the red standby led, It wasnt there before when i turned off the receiver.

Then i remembered that when i connected the receiver for the first time when i got it, i saw the red standy led. But after updating the firmware i didn't see it anymore. I think that the firmware update somehow messed things up.

Anyway, now that the red standby led is visible, I'll see if the power on issue i had is reproduced.

Note to self: reset the receiver to factory default after each firmware update.

Last edited by Adidas1; 11-06-2018 at 10:23 AM.
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2136 of 2710 Old 11-06-2018, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Note to self: reset the receiver to factory default after each firmware update.
If I'm not mistaken, I think Sony suggests that in the directions. I have all of my settings written down in a text document so I don't have to fiddle around with it...just plug the settings in and go.
mrdjman is offline  
post #2137 of 2710 Old 11-06-2018, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdjman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Note to self: reset the receiver to factory default after each firmware update.
If I'm not mistaken, I think Sony suggests that in the directions. I have all of my settings written down in a text document so I don't have to fiddle around with it...just plug the settings in and go.
That won't record the auto-cal EQ data though, right?

-

grolschie is offline  
post #2138 of 2710 Old 11-06-2018, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Of course, i calibrated it again and changed the settings as i need.
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2139 of 2710 Old 11-06-2018, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Ok, so today i decided to reset the receiver to factory defaults. After restoring it, when i turned it off using the remote i noticed the red standby led, It wasnt there before when i turned off the receiver.
Its state depends on settings. https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn1...001224862.html
priitv8 is offline  
post #2140 of 2710 Old 11-07-2018, 12:04 AM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^
Thanks.
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2141 of 2710 Old 11-07-2018, 03:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolschie View Post
That won't record the auto-cal EQ data though, right?

Well, you manually write everything down (or take pics of the various screens)… I think you can see what things are set as by auto cal. Auto cal doesn't work with mine due to the 'non-standard' positioning of my speakers (although, it worked the first time I ran it, but I digress...).
mrdjman is offline  
post #2142 of 2710 Old 11-12-2018, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, have a new issue, this time with USB sound drops every ~7 seconds.

Scenario:
1. Receiver connected to LG TV via hdmi
2. USB DOK connected to front of receiver
3. Play a song from the DOK
4. TV is open and receiver UI displayed on screen
5. Using TV remote switch to a different hdmi input, for example watch TV

what happens is that while USB music is playing, every 7 seconds there is a drop in sound.
When i return the TV input to show the receiver UI, sound drops stop.

* Tried same scenario with hdmi cable connected to my PC that is streaming music. Did not happen.

Does this happen to you?
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2143 of 2710 Old 11-12-2018, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Well, have a new issue, this time with USB sound drops every ~7 seconds.
Big files? Fast USB drive?

-

grolschie is offline  
post #2144 of 2710 Old 11-12-2018, 10:30 PM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Flac files. Sandisk Fit 128 GB, USB 3.1
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2145 of 2710 Old 11-12-2018, 11:32 PM
Member
 
WontonNoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how did you guys fix the problem of height channels not producing any sound for any DTS:X tracks? the only way to get sound from the 2 height channels is if you set it to 5.1.2 FH.

https://us.community.sony.com/s/ques...language=en_US
WontonNoodle is offline  
post #2146 of 2710 Old 11-12-2018, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
animeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Any updates on the 1080 / 810 DTS:X through upfiring or ceiling speakers issue? I just bumped into this issue today and I'm not too happy about it.


Better yet, does anyone know what the technical limitation is? Would love to know why the receiver can't support upfiring or ceiling mounted DTS:X content.

Last edited by animeking; 11-12-2018 at 11:56 PM.
animeking is offline  
post #2147 of 2710 Old 11-13-2018, 12:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 75
This FH and FD stuff is not about content. It is about receiver configuration.
I set and left mine in FH, adjusted the distance of front height speakers and listen to both DTS:X and Atmos.
priitv8 is offline  
post #2148 of 2710 Old 11-13-2018, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Well, have a new issue, this time with USB sound drops every ~7 seconds.

Scenario:
1. Receiver connected to LG TV via hdmi
2. USB DOK connected to front of receiver
3. Play a song from the DOK
4. TV is open and receiver UI displayed on screen
5. Using TV remote switch to a different hdmi input, for example watch TV

what happens is that while USB music is playing, every 7 seconds there is a drop in sound.
When i return the TV input to show the receiver UI, sound drops stop.

* Tried same scenario with hdmi cable connected to my PC that is streaming music. Did not happen.

Does this happen to you?
Ok. Seems kind of Handshake issue between the receiver and my LG TV (PK550).

Tried the following, in all these cases, sound drop reproduced:

1. Different DOK
2. Different HDMI cables
3. Connect the cable to a different HDMI port on the TV
4. TV input set to different input then showing receiver UI

In these cases sound drop did not reproduce and media played OK:

1. Disconnect HDMI cable from receivet
2. Disconnect HDMI cable from TV
3. TV turned off
4. TV input set to show receiver UI

Any known handshake issues with this receiver and LG (not only) TV's?

Thanks.
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2149 of 2710 Old 11-13-2018, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Home Screen

I have my LG OLED hooked up to my Sony STR1080 in my basement. I had to use HDMI over HDbaseT to get the signal all the way there. So this ends up getting plugged into the TV Optical input on the receiver. I also have a FireTV hooked up into the receiver into one of the HDMI inputs (SAT/CATV I think).

My questions is... since I cannot use the TV HDMI inputs, how can i access the home screen menu on the receiver?? It is the only way to access/change some features.
Petro Petropoulos is offline  
post #2150 of 2710 Old 11-13-2018, 06:02 PM
Member
 
WontonNoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by animeking View Post
Any updates on the 1080 / 810 DTS:X through upfiring or ceiling speakers issue? I just bumped into this issue today and I'm not too happy about it.


Better yet, does anyone know what the technical limitation is? Would love to know why the receiver can't support upfiring or ceiling mounted DTS:X content.
lol same here when I played a DTS X movie and heard 0 sound coming out of the height speakers. I can't believe this hasn't been made a bigger deal or even touched upon in any reviews. Makes you wonder how believable reviews can be... like this is a huge bug. setting the config to FH when your speakers are actually behind/above you would change the sound quite a bit wouldnt it?
WontonNoodle is offline  
post #2151 of 2710 Old 11-14-2018, 03:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 75
[QUOTE=WontonNoodle;57104502]
Quote:
Originally Posted by animeking View Post
setting the config to FH when your speakers are actually behind/above you would change the sound quite a bit wouldnt it?
You can call me half-deaf, but I dont hear significant difference!
Only things I did after changing from FD to FH:
1) autocal again
2) speaker distance set to total sound travel from speaker to ceiling + down to listener.
I assumed the main difference between the two settings is the delays.
At any rate, my Atmos experience did not get worse and I got DTS:X. So I am happy with the result.
priitv8 is offline  
post #2152 of 2710 Old 11-14-2018, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 6
This is the exact receiver I am looking to purchase based on reviews. I'm glad everyone has great things to say about them.
steve1971 and Rodney Nicotine like this.
Strukkalvis is offline  
post #2153 of 2710 Old 11-15-2018, 05:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strukkalvis View Post
This is the exact receiver I am looking to purchase based on reviews. I'm glad everyone has great things to say about them.
If you get it you wont be disappointed. I've had my 1080 for a few month's now and I am loving it. The Atmos and DTSX is unreal. When I first set mine up I Auto Calibrated it and made a few adjustments of my own and havent touched the settings since.
Rodney Nicotine likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #2154 of 2710 Old 11-15-2018, 06:16 AM
Member
 
gusbuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sony significantly drops price on this receiver

As of today, major price drop on this Sony STR-DN1080. I am close to buying. What is everyone's overall satisfaction during your ownership? DO you regret not getting something from Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, or Onkyo? I will be using in a 16x22 family room with just a 5.1 speaker setup. Speakers are on-wall B&W FPM-5's for center and two fronts, FPM 4's for the surrounds, and B&W PV-1 sub. ALso currently have a 7 year old Sony KDL60-EX700 TV which I may be replacing soon as well. All thoughts and opinions greatly appreciated!
gusbuf is offline  
post #2155 of 2710 Old 11-15-2018, 06:26 AM
Member
 
Adidas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I owned for a few months a Denon AVRX2300WBKE2. i returned it because i felt it doesn't have enough power. i had to turn the volume dial almost till the end to hear at high volume.
the Sony got lots of power, volume dial is at 30% and i can hear at high volume.
Rodney Nicotine likes this.
Adidas1 is offline  
post #2156 of 2710 Old 11-15-2018, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
buckycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gusbuf View Post
As of today, major price drop on this Sony STR-DN1080. I am close to buying. What is everyone's overall satisfaction during your ownership? DO you regret not getting something from Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, or Onkyo? I will be using in a 16x22 family room with just a 5.1 speaker setup. Speakers are on-wall B&W FPM-5's for center and two fronts, FPM 4's for the surrounds, and B&W PV-1 sub. ALso currently have a 7 year old Sony KDL60-EX700 TV which I may be replacing soon as well. All thoughts and opinions greatly appreciated!
I replaced a Denon AVR 1913 with the Sony and couldn't be happier.
Rodney Nicotine likes this.
buckycat is offline  
post #2157 of 2710 Old 11-15-2018, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by gusbuf View Post
As of today, major price drop on this Sony STR-DN1080. I am close to buying. What is everyone's overall satisfaction during your ownership? DO you regret not getting something from Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, or Onkyo? I will be using in a 16x22 family room with just a 5.1 speaker setup. Speakers are on-wall B&W FPM-5's for center and two fronts, FPM 4's for the surrounds, and B&W PV-1 sub. ALso currently have a 7 year old Sony KDL60-EX700 TV which I may be replacing soon as well. All thoughts and opinions greatly appreciated!
It is especially good fit, if you also have a Bravia TV.
The only thing, I am longing for on this AVR, is the missing display of currently decoded and playing speakers. More expensive ES-series models have this (except for the bottom-line STR-ZA810ES, which is basically relabeled DN1080).
Stream and decoding info could be visible on OSD as well.
priitv8 is offline  
post #2158 of 2710 Old 11-16-2018, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
GonzarTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas1 View Post
Ok. Seems kind of Handshake issue between the receiver and my LG TV (PK550).

Tried the following, in all these cases, sound drop reproduced:

1. Different DOK
2. Different HDMI cables
3. Connect the cable to a different HDMI port on the TV
4. TV input set to different input then showing receiver UI

In these cases sound drop did not reproduce and media played OK:

1. Disconnect HDMI cable from receivet
2. Disconnect HDMI cable from TV
3. TV turned off
4. TV input set to show receiver UI

Any known handshake issues with this receiver and LG (not only) TV's?

Thanks.
Yes, what this guy said. I have seen similar where it was somehow losing the handshake every 5-10 seconds between new Sony TV/this 1080 receiver/USB, and the TV would then try and switch to using its speakers instead. It seems to have had something to do with ARC between the two, and it cuts the channel out while they re-establish the handshake and who is doing what. Swapping the cable fixed for me.

Inadvertently, I did learn later that if I told the TV to disable its speaker capability completely, the old cable worked again. I speculate this eliminating the handshake/voting contest issues that sometimes happen with ARC and new devices in the chain.

Good luck!
GonzarTheGreat is offline  
post #2159 of 2710 Old 11-17-2018, 02:14 PM
Member
 
WontonNoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there a way to automatically set it so that when you play a 7.1 movie with a 5.1.2 setup that it switches to 7.1 without having to go into the menu and change the speaker layout? if you play 7.1 with 5.1.2 set up it just plays sound out of the 5 speakers nothing out of the 6th and 7th speaker.
WontonNoodle is offline  
post #2160 of 2710 Old 11-17-2018, 02:57 PM
610
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WontonNoodle View Post
is there a way to automatically set it so that when you play a 7.1 movie with a 5.1.2 setup that it switches to 7.1 without having to go into the menu and change the speaker layout? if you play 7.1 with 5.1.2 set up it just plays sound out of the 5 speakers nothing out of the 6th and 7th speaker.
Have you tried using the Atmos upmix?
610 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
avr , back speakers no sound , dolby atmos , harmony , receiver advice , receiver setup , remote , Sony , str-dn1080 , sync , television , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off