Owner's thread for the Sony STR-DN1080 AVR - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2211Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2890 Old 10-05-2019, 04:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolschie View Post
PM'ed my email.
Just thanking Grolschie on this topic for his precious help, I can confirm that Network StandBy can be angled on the EU version of the DN-1080!
Mickey016 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2890 Old 10-05-2019, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey016 View Post
Just thanking Grolschie on this topic for his precious help, I can confirm that Network StandBy can be angled on the EU version of the DN-1080!
*Enabled
Mickey016 is offline  
post #2853 of 2890 Old 10-05-2019, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Grolschie. The factory reset did the trick.
canontb81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2854 of 2890 Old 10-05-2019, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by canontb81 View Post
Thanks Grolschie. The factory reset did the trick.
No problem. Glad to hear it's sorted!

-
StrRemote Pro for Sony STR-DN1080 (Android) |
Sony STR-DN1080 | Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3 |
Xbox One S
grolschie is online now  
post #2855 of 2890 Old 10-05-2019, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey016 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey016 View Post
Just thanking Grolschie on this topic for his precious help, I can confirm that Network StandBy can be angled on the EU version of the DN-1080!
*Enabled
No problem.

My 'StrRemote Pro' app can enable it on EU models. However, I haven't really promoted this feature specifically due to the high power consumption and increased heat when the receiver is powered off (more than 30w), when Network Standby is enabled.

-
StrRemote Pro for Sony STR-DN1080 (Android) |
Sony STR-DN1080 | Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3 |
Xbox One S
grolschie is online now  
post #2856 of 2890 Old 10-07-2019, 12:08 PM
Member
 
jnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My STR-DN1050 (6-7 years old) seems to be on its way out. The centre channel output becomes very soft, unless I restart or change inputs. I do like the Sony sound and UI and I think I would prefer to stick with a Sony. Our setup is 5.1 and I doubt Atmos is in our future based on our room layout. 7.1 is definitely out of the question.

Most of our AV devices are plugged in to the TV and the sound runs over ARC to the receiver. Our Nintendo Switch, Sonos, and turntable are connected directly to the receiver. So I don't need a multitude of HDMI inputs, but need to be have analog audio inputs. I also want to stick with Sony for the ARC, since our TV is Sony. I know it shouldn't matter, but ARC compatibility seems to be all over the place.

Since we use Sonos, networking ability is not required.

The power output on the 590 is a little less, but we don't listen at loud levels so I do not believe that is an issue. We usually have the 1080 between 12-20 on the volume dial. I occasionally go as high as 30-35 but that's rare (only when the kids and wife are not home).

I bought the 1050 years ago because it was the top receiver in the Sony series, excluding the ES stuff, and I am OK paying the $800 CDN for the STR-DN1080 if there is a compelling reason to do so. But in looking at new receivers, I am thinking the STR-DH590 would be enough and I can pocket the $450 price difference compared to the STR-DN1080. Is there anything I am missing in my logic? Or is there a better way forward? I like the idea of separates but don't like the prices.
jnak is offline  
post #2857 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 03:08 AM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
My STR-DN1050 (6-7 years old) seems to be on its way out. The centre channel output becomes very soft, unless I restart or change inputs. I do like the Sony sound and UI and I think I would prefer to stick with a Sony. Our setup is 5.1 and I doubt Atmos is in our future based on our room layout. 7.1 is definitely out of the question.

Most of our AV devices are plugged in to the TV and the sound runs over ARC to the receiver. Our Nintendo Switch, Sonos, and turntable are connected directly to the receiver. So I don't need a multitude of HDMI inputs, but need to be have analog audio inputs. I also want to stick with Sony for the ARC, since our TV is Sony. I know it shouldn't matter, but ARC compatibility seems to be all over the place.

Since we use Sonos, networking ability is not required.

The power output on the 590 is a little less, but we don't listen at loud levels so I do not believe that is an issue. We usually have the 1080 between 12-20 on the volume dial. I occasionally go as high as 30-35 but that's rare (only when the kids and wife are not home).

I bought the 1050 years ago because it was the top receiver in the Sony series, excluding the ES stuff, and I am OK paying the $800 CDN for the STR-DN1080 if there is a compelling reason to do so. But in looking at new receivers, I am thinking the STR-DH590 would be enough and I can pocket the $450 price difference compared to the STR-DN1080. Is there anything I am missing in my logic? Or is there a better way forward? I like the idea of separates but don't like the prices.
If the 1050 does everything you want, perhaps it could be (affordably) repaired?

-
StrRemote Pro for Sony STR-DN1080 (Android) |
Sony STR-DN1080 | Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3 |
Xbox One S
grolschie is online now  
post #2858 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
I bought the 1050 years ago because it was the top receiver in the Sony series, excluding the ES stuff, and I am OK paying the $800 CDN for the STR-DN1080 if there is a compelling reason to do so. But in looking at new receivers, I am thinking the STR-DH590 would be enough and I can pocket the $450 price difference compared to the STR-DN1080. Is there anything I am missing in my logic? Or is there a better way forward? I like the idea of separates but don't like the prices.
The DN1080 is currently on sale for $600, and an open box for the DH590 is $300. Black Friday is about 6 weeks away so maybe another $50-100 off if you can wait.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2859 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 07:16 AM
Member
 
jnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
The DN1080 is currently on sale for $600, and an open box for the DH590 is $300. Black Friday is about 6 weeks away so maybe another $50-100 off if you can wait.
Where do you see it on sale for $600? Bestbuy has open box ones for $600, but new ones are still $800.

But yeah, waiting until Black Friday makes sense, good call on that.
jnak is offline  
post #2860 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
Where do you see it on sale for $600? Bestbuy has open box ones for $600, but new ones are still $800.

But yeah, waiting until Black Friday makes sense, good call on that.
I missed the Open box in the title of the $600 item. There is also refurb for $550 which is not bad if it includes full warranty and microphone.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2861 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
I bought the 1050 years ago because it was the top receiver in the Sony series, excluding the ES stuff, and I am OK paying the $800 CDN for the STR-DN1080 if there is a compelling reason to do so. But in looking at new receivers, I am thinking the STR-DH590 would be enough and I can pocket the $450 price difference compared to the STR-DN1080. Is there anything I am missing in my logic?
The situation with analogue inputs on contemporary Sony AVR-s is rather sad. Nowadays you'd need an ES-series if you need a lot of them or want to have a phono input as well.
STR-DN1080 only has 4 of them and they are all multiplexed with HDMI inputs.
The STR-DN1080

The STR-ZA5000ES
priitv8 is offline  
post #2862 of 2890 Old 10-08-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
jnak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
The situation with analogue inputs on contemporary Sony AVR-s is rather sad. Nowadays you'd need an ES-series if you need a lot of them or want to have a phono input as well.
STR-DN1080 only has 4 of them and they are all multiplexed with HDMI inputs.
The 1050 is similar. Because I don't use all the HDMi inputs, it's not a problem for me. As long as I have four inputs total I can use (two analog, two HDMI) and as long as none of the analog inputs gets matched to the HDMI ARC input, I'm good. For now, at least.

But yes, analog inputs (and preamp outputs) are a dying item on most entry-level receivers.
jnak is offline  
post #2863 of 2890 Old 10-09-2019, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
vapore0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
Where do you see it on sale for $600? Bestbuy has open box ones for $600, but new ones are still $800.

But yeah, waiting until Black Friday makes sense, good call on that.
Amazon has it for $448 right now.
https://www.amazon.com/Sony-STR-DN10...SIN=B06XKRWWSG


Id say that is a good price.

Sony x900e, Sony STR-DN1080, Sony Core Series speakers (5.1.2), NVidia Shield TV, Synology 4 bay NAS (12TB total)
vapore0n is offline  
post #2864 of 2890 Old 10-09-2019, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnak View Post
...as long as none of the analog inputs gets matched to the HDMI ARC input, I'm good.
The analog TV input (right column, between Zone 2 out and Subwoofer out) is exactly that - multiplexed with TV input (ARC). You can reassign, though.
priitv8 is offline  
post #2865 of 2890 Old 10-10-2019, 09:44 AM
Member
 
lrodptl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xfinity remote,LG OLED55B8PUA and the DN1080

Just bought a new LG OLED55B8PUA and whenever I use the Xfinity remote to start everything up,the HOME menu for the Receiver pops up. The Xfinity remote will not work on this menu,so I have to use the TV remote. Anyone know how to rectify that? Also,one setup question. During easy setup it requests that the Sub crossover freq is set all the way up but what about after setup? Thanks.
lrodptl is offline  
post #2866 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 01:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone tried to use the Music Centre on Android together with a Serviio DLNA server? I'm having a weird issue with Serviio not showing up in the list when I go to "Home Network". I'd be interested to know if others have the same problem, Oddly enough it works on my iPad.

/M
depechefan is offline  
post #2867 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just got my dn1080. Hooking it up to my X900f. I only have 5.1 today.

The way I hooked it up to my old receiver is to have all components (Xbox, Cable Box, Shield) hooked up to the TV then using HDMI ARC to the receiver to pass audio. Since I really didn't customize the audio settings for each device (I kept it on TV Surround for everything), it worked out really well as I had been using the TV Onscreen Menu to easily change inputs.

Is there a reason NOT to set it up this way and have the devices connected to the receiver first then to the TV? Seems less convenient as switching inputs is then done at the receiver vs on screen TV menu.

What's do you guys recommend?
Kamran Jahadi is offline  
post #2868 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 06:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrodptl View Post
Just bought a new LG OLED55B8PUA and whenever I use the Xfinity remote to start everything up,the HOME menu for the Receiver pops up. The Xfinity remote will not work on this menu,so I have to use the TV remote. Anyone know how to rectify that?
I have the same 3 items as you. The Home menu is cause by the interaction of the CEC function between the TV and AVR. If you do not need to use ARC (watch apps on the TV like Netflix, Prime, YouTube) then turn CEC off to solve the problem. Alternatively you could turn off CEC and use an optical audio cable connection between the TV and AVR. I use a Harmony remote and have extra commands during the startup to get everything synced after the Home screen annoyance.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2869 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamran Jahadi View Post
Just got my dn1080. Hooking it up to my X900f. I only have 5.1 today.

The way I hooked it up to my old receiver is to have all components (Xbox, Cable Box, Shield) hooked up to the TV then using HDMI ARC to the receiver to pass audio. Since I really didn't customize the audio settings for each device (I kept it on TV Surround for everything), it worked out really well as I had been using the TV Onscreen Menu to easily change inputs.

Is there a reason NOT to set it up this way and have the devices connected to the receiver first then to the TV? Seems less convenient as switching inputs is then done at the receiver vs on screen TV menu.

What's do you guys recommend?

As long as you have BraviaSync (AKA CEC) enable you can still switch inputs directly from the TV menu/screen when your devices are plugged into the 1080, the input menu on the TV will display the ports and usually the devices plugged into the ports on the 1080. You are correct that in your scenario you won't really gain any thing over using ARC except the additional HDMI ports plus cable management might be easier using the ports on the 1080.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #2870 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 09:31 AM
Member
 
lrodptl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
I have the same 3 items as you. The Home menu is cause by the interaction of the CEC function between the TV and AVR. If you do not need to use ARC (watch apps on the TV like Netflix, Prime, YouTube) then turn CEC off to solve the problem. Alternatively you could turn off CEC and use an optical audio cable connection between the TV and AVR. I use a Harmony remote and have extra commands during the startup to get everything synced after the Home screen annoyance.
Thanks. So I can keep the ARC connection but turn off CEC? How do I turn off CEC? Thank you.
lrodptl is offline  
post #2871 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
As long as you have BraviaSync (AKA CEC) enable you can still switch inputs directly from the TV menu/screen when your devices are plugged into the 1080, the input menu on the TV will display the ports and usually the devices plugged into the ports on the 1080. You are correct that in your scenario you won't really gain any thing over using ARC except the additional HDMI ports plus cable management might be easier using the ports on the 1080.
Actually getting behind the TV is way easier than the stereo as it sits on a stand vs wall mount. Good to know that I can still switch inputs via TV menu/screen if plugging directly to receiver. One other issue though, my video settings are customized for specific inputs. ie, Game mode for Xbox and PS4, vs other settings for video only devices. If i were to have a single input to the TV from the receiver then is it possible to still have video settings specific to the devices hooked up to the receiver?
Kamran Jahadi is offline  
post #2872 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrodptl View Post
Thanks. So I can keep the ARC connection but turn off CEC? How do I turn off CEC? Thank you.
No. If you need to use ARC then CEC must be turned on. The alternative is the turn off CEC and use an optical audio cable, but this does not handle some audio streams.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2873 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by depechefan View Post
Has anyone tried to use the Music Centre on Android together with a Serviio DLNA server? I'm having a weird issue with Serviio not showing up in the list when I go to "Home Network". I'd be interested to know if others have the same problem, Oddly enough it works on my iPad.

/M
Have you considered using a DLNA controller app instead of Music Center? For example, there's an app called AllCast. It's available on iOS and Android. It searches for your DLNA media players, and then your DLNA media server. (I haven't figured out how to play a whole folder yet though, if it can do that, LOL, but there are probably other apps out there).

-
StrRemote Pro for Sony STR-DN1080 (Android) |
Sony STR-DN1080 | Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3 |
Xbox One S

Last edited by grolschie; 10-11-2019 at 01:55 PM.
grolschie is online now  
post #2874 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all,

New STR-DN1080 owner here. I have owned it for two weeks now and have ran into some intermittent issues. The device chain is as follows:

Roku Ultra connected to DN1080 with a 6ft. certified HDMI cable. Both devices are in a open air media rack in the basement. The DN1080 then connects to my Sony XBR65x930e with a 25ft. Monoprice DynamicView Active HDMI cable.

The problem: Every so often audio will cease to function. Audio from the Roku does not play on the DN1080 nor does it get passed through to the TV. I cycled through the audio modes and when "Direct" is selected "DCAC" flashes erratically. I swapped HDMI cables but the issue remained. The only fix has been to unplug the receiver. If I unplug/plug in the receiver works as new but the issue returns 24-48 hours later. Also, while the problem is occurring, I directly connected the Roku to the TV with the same 25ft. HDMI cable and that works. Spotify Connect works and plays audio during this issue as well which leads me to believe either the HDMI cables or board in the receiver is to blame.

Any ideas? I have until 10/25 to return it.

Thanks!
StarNut is offline  
post #2875 of 2890 Old 10-11-2019, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by depechefan View Post
Has anyone tried to use the Music Centre on Android together with a Serviio DLNA server? I'm having a weird issue with Serviio not showing up in the list when I go to "Home Network". I'd be interested to know if others have the same problem
I use exact same combo daily (MC for iOS, though). Works without issues.
2 thoughts:
a) your MC should also register in Serviio connected devices list. Do you see it there?
b) you can also try Sony TV side view for browsing Home DLNA servers and handing playback over to the DLNA Renderer (DN1080).
If neither works, you must be having a networking issue of some sort.
priitv8 is offline  
post #2876 of 2890 Old 10-12-2019, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarNut View Post
Hello all,

New STR-DN1080 owner here. I have owned it for two weeks now and have ran into some intermittent issues. The device chain is as follows:

Roku Ultra connected to DN1080 with a 6ft. certified HDMI cable. Both devices are in a open air media rack in the basement. The DN1080 then connects to my Sony XBR65x930e with a 25ft. Monoprice DynamicView Active HDMI cable.

The problem: Every so often audio will cease to function. Audio from the Roku does not play on the DN1080 nor does it get passed through to the TV. I cycled through the audio modes and when "Direct" is selected "DCAC" flashes erratically. I swapped HDMI cables but the issue remained. The only fix has been to unplug the receiver. If I unplug/plug in the receiver works as new but the issue returns 24-48 hours later. Also, while the problem is occurring, I directly connected the Roku to the TV with the same 25ft. HDMI cable and that works. Spotify Connect works and plays audio during this issue as well which leads me to believe either the HDMI cables or board in the receiver is to blame.

Any ideas? I have until 10/25 to return it.

Thanks!
Suggest you try a different 6' HDMI cable between the Roku and the DN1080. It's unrelated but setting the DN1080 to AFD works well.
BPlayer is offline  
post #2877 of 2890 Old 10-12-2019, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarNut View Post
Hello all,

New STR-DN1080 owner here. I have owned it for two weeks now and have ran into some intermittent issues. The device chain is as follows:

Roku Ultra connected to DN1080 with a 6ft. certified HDMI cable. Both devices are in a open air media rack in the basement. The DN1080 then connects to my Sony XBR65x930e with a 25ft. Monoprice DynamicView Active HDMI cable.

The problem: Every so often audio will cease to function. Audio from the Roku does not play on the DN1080 nor does it get passed through to the TV. I cycled through the audio modes and when "Direct" is selected "DCAC" flashes erratically. I swapped HDMI cables but the issue remained. The only fix has been to unplug the receiver. If I unplug/plug in the receiver works as new but the issue returns 24-48 hours later. Also, while the problem is occurring, I directly connected the Roku to the TV with the same 25ft. HDMI cable and that works. Spotify Connect works and plays audio during this issue as well which leads me to believe either the HDMI cables or board in the receiver is to blame.

Any ideas? I have until 10/25 to return it.

Thanks!
Suggest you try a different 6' HDMI cable between the Roku and the DN1080. It's unrelated but setting the DN1080 to AFD works well.
Thanks for the suggestion. I have tried three different 6ft cables and the issue still returns. Also, I do have AFD enabled when everything is working.
StarNut is offline  
post #2878 of 2890 Old 10-14-2019, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
vapore0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrodptl View Post
Just bought a new LG OLED55B8PUA and whenever I use the Xfinity remote to start everything up,the HOME menu for the Receiver pops up. The Xfinity remote will not work on this menu,so I have to use the TV remote. Anyone know how to rectify that? Also,one setup question. During easy setup it requests that the Sub crossover freq is set all the way up but what about after setup? Thanks.
For the Sub question.


The AMP is asking for the Sub xover to be set all the way up because the AMP wants to do the xover itself.
I find that the internal AMP xover works pretty good and have not need to set my Sub's manually.
You should try them both to see which one you like the best.

Sony x900e, Sony STR-DN1080, Sony Core Series speakers (5.1.2), NVidia Shield TV, Synology 4 bay NAS (12TB total)
vapore0n is offline  
post #2879 of 2890 Old 10-15-2019, 07:12 PM
Member
 
nuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the DN1080 and hooked it up as a 4K upgrade to my old DN1030. Passthrough and images are great but the sound while nice is a step down compared to the DN1030.

Am I doing something wrong? I calibrated both with DCAC / Engineer, using Dolby Pro Logic MV for the 1030 and Dolby Surround Movie for the 1080 with incoming Dolby Digital Plus source.

Comparing both receivers back to back shows a "punchier" more "crisp" sound on the 1030 and more muddled on the 1080. I couldn't believe it. Things are slightly quieter on the 1080 as well with volume on 37 (half) for both it is a clear step louder on the older receiver. I checked with family members too and they could clearly tell the same difference.

Is there something in the settings I'm missing on the 1080?
nuck44 is offline  
post #2880 of 2890 Old 10-15-2019, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuck44 View Post
Just got the DN1080 and hooked it up as a 4K upgrade to my old DN1030. Passthrough and images are great but the sound while nice is a step down compared to the DN1030.

Am I doing something wrong? I calibrated both with DCAC / Engineer, using Dolby Pro Logic MV for the 1030 and Dolby Surround Movie for the 1080 with incoming Dolby Digital Plus source.

Comparing both receivers back to back shows a "punchier" more "crisp" sound on the 1030 and more muddled on the 1080. I couldn't believe it. Things are slightly quieter on the 1080 as well with volume on 37 (half) for both it is a clear step louder on the older receiver. I checked with family members too and they could clearly tell the same difference.

Is there something in the settings I'm missing on the 1080?
The bench test graphs look quite different between some of the models:

STR-DN1080

STR-DN1060

STR-DN1050

STR-DN1040

STR-DN1030


Clearly something changed from the 1050 onwards. The 1030 and 1040 graphs look clean and linear until about 100w. The 1040 looks very clean!

The graph shape of the 1050 onwards looks very different.

However, there's more to the sound of a receiver than just the power output. But clean is good.

-
StrRemote Pro for Sony STR-DN1080 (Android) |
Sony STR-DN1080 | Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3 |
Xbox One S
grolschie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
avr , back speakers no sound , dolby atmos , harmony , receiver advice , receiver setup , remote , Sony , str-dn1080 , sync , television , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off