"OFFICIAL" 2017 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 136286Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 12512 Old 02-22-2018, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Teeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I recently bought a Samsung UBD-M9500 Blu-ray player which has two HDMI outs (one for video, one for audio). Is there any REAL advantage to sending video directly to my display (82MU8000) rather than my AVR-x3400h? I’d prefer to run everything through the receiver, unless there’s an obvious video quality difference sending it direct to display.

————————————
5.2.2 HT: Denon AVR-x3400h receiver, Definitive Mythos speakers (One’s front, Three center, Gems rear, Di 6.5R’s in ceiling), Dual Rythmik FV18 subs, Samsung UN82MU8000 tv, Samsung UBD-M9500 blu-ray, Sonos Connect music streamer
Teeter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 12512 Old 02-22-2018, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeter View Post
I recently bought a Samsung UBD-M9500 Blu-ray player which has two HDMI outs (one for video, one for audio). Is there any REAL advantage to sending video directly to my display (82MU8000) rather than my AVR-x3400h? I’d prefer to run everything through the receiver, unless there’s an obvious video quality difference sending it direct to display.
Only you can decide that.
joe221 likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3693 of 12512 Old 02-22-2018, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Noted. I have updated post 1 to reflect this. Still using 1080p so no 4k experience.
1080p? Is that still around?
joe221 likes this.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 12512 Old 02-22-2018, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
1080p? Is that still around?
It is until my Panny plasma dies.
bluemoon737, whipit and Culpepper like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3695 of 12512 Old 02-22-2018, 08:32 PM
Member
 
LennS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Fernando Valley, CA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I read on post #1 that the x4400 has AL32 processing. How does this differ from the x3400. Will the x4400 have a much better sound, more fullness, etc or would it not be noticeable compared to the x3400. Thanks.
LennS is offline  
post #3696 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Question Denon AVR-X1400H - Sound mode - What to choose?

Hi,

I'm a completely new owner of a AVR-X1400H receiver and run into a few questions that I do not seem to find a good answer to in the manual:

When playing DVD or Blu Ray movies I see that the sound mode selected by the AVR varies (according to input signal I guess). I play DVDs and Blu Rays from a PS3 and my setup is 5.1

On one movie for example I can have the following options:

Stereo
Dolby Digital
Dolby D + DolbyS
Dolby D + Neural:X
Multi Ch Stereo

On another movie these may be the options:

Stereo
DTS-HD MSTR
DTS-HD + DolbyS
DTS-HD + Neural:X
DTS-HD + Virtual:X
Multi Ch Stereo

And another can have these options:

Stereo
Dolby Surround
DTS Neural:X
DTS Virtual:X
Multi Ch Stereo

And finally:

Stereo
Dolby TrueHD
DolbyTHD + DolbyS
DolbyTHD + Neural:X
Multi Ch Stereo

Now, my question is what mode do I select in each case?

I would assume that for a movie with 5.1 sound Stereo and Multi Ch Stereo is never selected, but the AVR seem to default to one of the options that include two modes, for example Dolby D + DolbyS, DTS-HD + DolbyS or DolbyTHD + DolbyS

I would expect that the best option would be either Dolby Digital, DTS-HD MSTR or Dolby TrueHD and not those that includes another mode as well. Or am I wrong?

What do you choose when you watch a movie?
Hoggorm is offline  
post #3697 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoggorm View Post
I would expect that the best option would be either Dolby Digital, DTS-HD MSTR or Dolby TrueHD and not those that includes another mode as well.
To get the "purest" sound, this is what I'm guessing as well, but eager to hear from those with more expertise.

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #3698 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 09:28 AM
Member
 
woodymogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Telford, UK
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoggorm View Post
Hi,

I would expect that the best option would be either Dolby Digital, DTS-HD MSTR or Dolby TrueHD and not those that includes another mode as well. Or am I wrong?

What do you choose when you watch a movie?
I'm a relatively new 4400 owner and have it set up with a 5.1.4 speaker array. This gives me the options you mentioned and I normally let the receiver pick the DD/DTS audio track plus the upmixer (when available - Atmos and DTS X don't need any additional decoding) associated with that track (eg DD plus Dolby Surround or DTS plus Neural X) as these options use all the speakers. Without using one of the upmixers you'd only use, say, 5.1 or 7.1 speakers which would be the 'purest' form of audio as the amp isn't adding any additional decoding.

It's really best just to try them out and see what sounds best to you. I prefer to use to additional upmixing and stick to the proprietary brands (DS for Dolby tracks and Neural X for DTS sources) but you may prefer not to tamper with the original source or 'mix and match' the decoders
mttpalmer likes this.
woodymogs is offline  
post #3699 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Regardless of how many actual seats are in your listening room and where they are physically located, ideally you will want to run all 6 (MultEQ) or 8 (MultEQ XT/XT32) positions using the included "rocketship" cardboard mic stand or a camera tripod or (boom mic stand + mic adapter) within no more than a 2'-3' radius around the #1 mic position (ie. main listening position (MLP) or roughly ear height of the center of "your" head) in order to provide the most data points for the Audyssey filters.
Haven't run Audyssey for several years on my 3808CI (I know!-I Know!) I picked up an S930H so I need to run it...Thought I had to place the Mic in different locations around the room...If I'm interpreting correctly what you suggest, The best method is to run all tests around one seat/chair location? The front, sides, and rear of one chair?

I just ran it...LOL!!!! It instructed me exactly the way you have it...Used to be all over the room!

Last edited by HuskerHarley; 02-23-2018 at 11:34 AM.
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #3700 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
It is until my Panny plasma dies.

JD, that is never a good reason. Not for someone with “addicted” in their description. Something has to give. A new 4K TV or name change.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #3701 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe221 View Post
JD, that is never a good reason. Not for someone with “addicted” in their description. Something has to give. A new 4K TV or name change.
Hah! The "addicted" label comes with going over 10,000 posts.
joe221 and Madmax67 like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3702 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post
Haven't run Audyssey for several years on my 3808CI (I know!-I Know!) I picked up an S930H so I need to run it...Thought I had to place the Mic in different locations around the room...If I'm interpreting correctly what you suggest, The best method is to run all tests around one seat/chair location? The front, sides, and rear of one chair?

I just ran it...LOL!!!! It instructed me exactly the way you have it...Used to be all over the room!
Correct. Just focus on the main listening position (MLP).
HuskerHarley and Culpepper like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3703 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
tk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Hey all. I’m trying to decide on a new receiver. I’ve kinda narrowed it down to the X1300 or X1400 due to budget. I know they have Audyssey XT and not XT32. With that being said, do these models have a built-in equalizer to make adjustments or do you have to use an external device of some kind ? If external, what kind of device ?
I posted this question in a thread about The Perfect Equalizer or something and got no replies. I’ll also post this in the 2016 thread.
tk123 is offline  
post #3704 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 05:09 PM
Member
 
DigitalMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quick question. I have the x3400 and running a 5.1 system. I've already run Audyssey but would like to add a bit more bass to my movie watching. I noticed there are a few different areas to increase the LFE. What would be be best option. Just go to manual setup and run the test tone for the subs and notch it up a bit or under Audio I see a Subwoofer Level Adjust.

Any help would be appreciated.
DigitalMe is offline  
post #3705 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mtucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Escondido CA.
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMe View Post
Quick question. I have the x3400 and running a 5.1 system. I've already run Audyssey but would like to add a bit more bass to my movie watching. I noticed there are a few different areas to increase the LFE. What would be be best option. Just go to manual setup and run the test tone for the subs and notch it up a bit or under Audio I see a Subwoofer Level Adjust.
Any help would be appreciated.
Just bought my AVR-X3400H today, but I also just read the first few posts of this thread (double dose of good info) and I saw a section on that. It suggested the manual/test tones over SLA. "1. Subwoofer Level Adjust (SLA) " Post #4 in this thread.

Last edited by mtucker; 02-23-2018 at 05:59 PM.
mtucker is offline  
post #3706 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Hah! The "addicted" label comes with going over 10,000 posts.

Not an excuse, only a reason.
Time for the upgrade! Don’t say you’re waiting for 8K!

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #3707 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 06:15 PM
Member
 
DigitalMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, was going through that and must have missed it. Lots of info on that first page.
DigitalMe is offline  
post #3708 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk123 View Post
Hey all. I’m trying to decide on a new receiver. I’ve kinda narrowed it down to the X1300 or X1400 due to budget. I know they have Audyssey XT and not XT32. With that being said, do these models have a built-in equalizer to make adjustments or do you have to use an external device of some kind ? If external, what kind of device ?
I posted this question in a thread about The Perfect Equalizer or something and got no replies. I’ll also post this in the 2016 thread.
You can download the MultEQ Editor app (iOS/Android, $20) and make adjustments to the Audyssey EQ performed using the smart phone/tablet.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3709 of 12512 Old 02-23-2018, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
tk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can download the MultEQ Editor app (iOS/Android, $20) and make adjustments to the Audyssey EQ performed using the smart phone/tablet.
Ok. Cool. Thank you JD.
tk123 is offline  
post #3710 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR-X2400H:

Very quick stupid question from someone who just started using AVR's for HDMI routing:

When playing an audio-only source, the TV will display "DENON" on the display. Is there any option, trick, or workaround to disable this screen so the TV will automatically go to standby?
voltij is offline  
post #3711 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,563
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22890 Post(s)
Liked: 12511
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltij View Post
AVR-X2400H:

Very quick stupid question from someone who just started using AVR's for HDMI routing:

When playing an audio-only source, the TV will display "DENON" on the display. Is there any option, trick, or workaround to disable this screen so the TV will automatically go to standby?
Nope. Rather simply don't power on the TV or turn the TV off.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3712 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
MarkyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Hi,

I'm looking at replacing my 10 year old 3808CI with a new X3400H. (I'm adding a couple of ceiling Atmos speakers).

My question has to do with the following from the excellent info post at the beginning of this thread:

"Another option is with any video source (to include HDMI) can be selected while listening to USB, Tuner, or network sources using the "OPTION - Video Select" setting. On the models with a CD analog audio input (ie. S930H, X2400H, X3400H, X4400H, X6400H) you can connect an external source to the CD analog or optical input (as long as there is no video assigned to CD) and listen to it while watching a separate HDMI video source."

What I specifically want to be able to do if I have my cable DVR HDMI connected to the AVR instead of the TV, is be able to listen to the coaxial digital audio input (not optical) while watching the video from the DVR. (ie. listen to music while watching baseball).

So, from the above, if I use the CD input (with no video assigned to it) and the audio for that CD input is coming from one of the coax inputs, would that do the trick?

Thanks!

LG OLED55C6P, Panasonic UB-820, Sony UBP-X800, Zidoo X9S, Denon AVR-X3400H, vintage Carver M1.0T amp, Axiom M60v3 Mains & VP100 Center, Original SVS 20-39pci Cylinder sub, Phase Tech Surrounds & 2 Polk RC60i Atmos. Desktop system: Fully restored (by me) vintage Marantz 2275 stereo receiver from 1976 driving a pair of Axiom M2v3's, BIC 10" Sub.
MarkyM is online now  
post #3713 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 06:32 AM
Member
 
LowDUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I bought a 2400 to replace an older onkyo. I'm really like it so far. I was wondering I know it will do 5.1.2 out of the box. Is there a way to do 5.1.4 by adding an additional amp? I'm tried to search but am getting more confused.
LowDUB is offline  
post #3714 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
sam_canavo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kitchener .Ontario ,Canada
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Local radio

So did a factory reset about a week ago got everything running again, except now I dont get local radio when going to tunein.
I had one station in my favorites that is local and tells me not supported in my country.
Network is fine, and can log in to heos and account is set to Canada, any thoughts?
I do have a config file saved, I have never reloaded one, what all does this restore? Dont need to have everything restored just my favorites from Internet Radio.

Denon 3400h, Kef Q100s, PSB C1, Sub Series 125 and Paradigm adp-190s, Atrium4 Front Heights
55 Q80r, Optoma HD 2200, ps3 and HTPC- Living Rm

Yamaha YAS108, 55 lg lk520-Bed Rm
sam_canavo is offline  
post #3715 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Is anyone else not able to download new firmware? I have 2 x4400h not able to accept download, it fails. I have factory reset and have it a go, it failed. I have tried wireless and wired from my Nighthawk X6S R8000P router, and wired from the modem. The AVR has great internet connectivity. I've set up a HEOS account through the AVR, connect with Audyssey multeq editor app etc.Click image for larger version

Name:	20180224_140039.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	2366230Click image for larger version

Name:	20180224_140049.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	2366232Click image for larger version

Name:	20180224_140142.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	2366234Click image for larger version

Name:	20180224_140058.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	2366236

Home theatre: 65" Sony X950G / LG UBKM9 / Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series TF,TR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System

Last edited by camd5pt0; 02-24-2018 at 01:13 PM.
camd5pt0 is offline  
post #3716 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
theaterofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 138
The update doesn't work because you still have the marketing sticker on the front - take it off and upgrade connectivity should be restored. Or, if you insist on keeping the sticker on, you can just do a reset of the AVR and go from there.
joe221, sddp and mrtickleuk like this.
theaterofpain is offline  
post #3717 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
sam_canavo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kitchener .Ontario ,Canada
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 27
That must be my problem with local radio station on TuneIn as well, damn stickers
joe221 likes this.

Denon 3400h, Kef Q100s, PSB C1, Sub Series 125 and Paradigm adp-190s, Atrium4 Front Heights
55 Q80r, Optoma HD 2200, ps3 and HTPC- Living Rm

Yamaha YAS108, 55 lg lk520-Bed Rm
sam_canavo is offline  
post #3718 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,104
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2307 Post(s)
Liked: 2603
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDUB View Post
Is there a way to do 5.1.4 by adding an additional amp?
Nope. 7 channels. 7 amps. Have to jump up to the X4*00 series for 5.1.4.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #3719 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaterofpain View Post
The update doesn't work because you still have the marketing sticker on the front - take it off and upgrade connectivity should be restored. Or, if you insist on keeping the sticker on, you can just do a reset of the AVR and go from there.
But if I take off the sticker, then how will anyone else knows what it does ? Lol
But yeah I have reset, and I've tried on both of my x4400h. I would imagine I'm not alone

Home theatre: 65" Sony X950G / LG UBKM9 / Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series TF,TR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System
camd5pt0 is offline  
post #3720 of 12512 Old 02-24-2018, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Lawndale CA but basically a beach guy from Hermosa
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeter View Post
I recently bought a Samsung UBD-M9500 Blu-ray player which has two HDMI outs (one for video, one for audio). Is there any REAL advantage to sending video directly to my display (82MU8000) rather than my AVR-x3400h? I’d prefer to run everything through the receiver, unless there’s an obvious video quality difference sending it direct to display.

I planned to post this anyway and your post is oddly relevant - maybe.

Disclaimer - I am total newbie when it comes to decent AV equipment (I'm a tube guitar amp guy, if that gives you a clue) and 90% of the terminology is and probably will always will be lost on me. Luckily I have an audiophile friend that helps me "make things work".

Anyway - I recently bought an AVRX4400H and some Elac speakers to replace a $350 soundbar (yeah, a bit of a jump!) and ran into one problem nobody could solve - until yesterday.

If my Samsung UBD-M9500 BluRay player was connected to ANY HDMI input and the power cord connected anywhere - the same wall source, a different breaker, even (in a desperate test) a neighbor's power - I'd get random 3-4 second audio & video dropouts every couple of minutes. It didn't matter if the player was powered up or not. Just connected to HDMI and an AC power source.

It didn't matter if I was watching TV (through a Tivo), a recording, disc, TV app like Netflix or YouTube (or an app on another device like an Apple TV or any internal Denon apps), streaming using an Alexa device etc. And I tried any of a dozen different 4K hi speed HDMI cables, none over 6', routed in every possible way. And it didn't matter whether the BluRay was connected to the the BluRay, DVD, Media Device - whatever - HDMI input on the Denon.

And it STILL happened when I yanked the Samsung 9500 and tried my old Samsung 8500 (which I use in my den).

After endless emails and a few calls to Denon I was about to give up - so I called the vendor, OneCall, to try their support. If they couldn't solve it I was going to return it and buy a different brand.

But the guy I got knew of a VERY obscure issue that's apparently not documented well. There's some feature called "Anynet" on the Samsung BluRay players - and I guess some other Samsung gear - that allows you to use one of their remotes for multiple devices. If it is turned "on" it *may* cause this type of problem.

It's buried deep in the Samsung menus among other things I'd never bother with. I had no idea what he was talking about and it took a few minutes to even find. But turning it off *worked*. Everything has been fine since last night!

So if anyone runs into a similar problem - find the "Anynet" option in the Samsung menus and turn that *#&Y% green light OFF!

It seems ridiculous to me that some obscure, unrelated remote control option could cause EVERYTHING to drop out randomly. I sure hope I don't run into any other bizarre issues or I may never solve them. The most complicated thing I'm doing right now is streaming Amazon music through it. Maybe someday I'll figure out how to actually "name" the Denon something normal - and be able to use *its* remote instead of juggling fivE!

I hope that helps someone! I apologize if anything wasn't real clear or if terminology was wrong. I simply don't know any better!
waja, joe221, mtucker and 2 others like this.
silverface is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
2400h , 3.0 , 4 ohm , 4200 , 4300 , 4400 , 7.1 , 7.1 setup , 7.2 , alexa , atmos , Audyssey , avr , avr-s730h , avr-x2400h , avrs730h , bi-amp , blueray , bluetooth , connectivity , Denon , denon x2400h remote controller , dolby surround up mixer , dts neural up mixer , Emotiva , enhanced 4k , hdmi , help please , Home Theater , ipod , lan , lpcm 7.1 , multi ch in , Netflix , Pioneer , pre amp , pre out , ps4 , receiver , Samsung , setup , subwoofer denon test tone , wifi , x3400h , x520bt , xbox one , zone 2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off