"OFFICIAL" 2017 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 140 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 136049Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,059
Mentioned: 703 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22046 Post(s)
Liked: 11961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quicksilv3r View Post
No it’s not stated. CEC is hit or miss just like the ARC feature. You could get a pallet of 50 Denon receivers and maybe 3/4 could turn off via CEC and the other 1/4may not. It’s the flakiness of HDMI CEC. It’s not perfect.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
So true ... regardless of AVR brand.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Would you guys say the x4400 is compatible to the yamaha rx-a2070?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

Last edited by Joe879; 03-21-2018 at 05:27 PM.
Joe879 is offline  
post #4173 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,059
Mentioned: 703 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22046 Post(s)
Liked: 11961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe879 View Post
Would you guys say the x4400 is cmarison to the yamaha rx-a2070?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
Yup. Except it can expand to 7.1.4 using an external 2CH amp whereas the A2070 cannot.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4174 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
That's the way mine was shipped as well. Everything was fine.
Opened the box and as expected all the supporting styrofoam is cracked/broken. That tells how much dumping around of the box must have happened during the shipment.
There is no visible anything that is worry some on the unit itself. I am going to leave it tonight (to get it to room temperature) and will connect tomorrow.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #4175 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
3400

just fyi- I purchased a 3400 from bb and got no video output at all. tried everything I could think of and finally called tech support. they had me got through everything I had already tried, hooked me up with a tech2 who told me to replace it. the 2nd unit acted exactly the same way - with tech support giving the exact same response. so I took it back got a Yamaha a1070 and no problems at all.
think I'm burnt on d&m.the Marantz sr8001 that this unit replaced had to be sent down to sacramento 2x at a total cost of almost $500 for repairs+ shipping. I lost 2 hdmi inputs over the last year which is what led me to replace it before it crapped out completely(the Yamaha a3090 that the Marantz replaced is still in use by my grandson).
anyway, if you get no video out on this unit(imagine some of the others in the same series use same electronics) don't waste your time troubleshooting it, just take it back and replace.
fyi bb(we don't have magnolia) shipping is stellar got the first unit next day and the 2nd unit 2days after I took the 1st in at 4:30 pm.
mik2h is offline  
post #4176 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,670
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 24280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not denying the fact that doing so provides more protection, rather simply that some do and some don't. Best to ask first if important.
Do you double box

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1.) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Aircom T-8, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is offline  
post #4177 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 11:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,665
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2050 Post(s)
Liked: 2375
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
I hear you. Is it actually stated anywhere that CEC is NOT supposed to power on Denon receivers? I would have gone with another manufacturer in that case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What CEC powers on and off doesn't have anything to do with Denon. It's a half baked standard that holds no 2 manufactures to the same implementation. It's broken by "design" not by Denon. See what I did there.
PJL99 likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #4178 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 11:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,665
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2050 Post(s)
Liked: 2375
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Opened the box and as expected all the supporting styrofoam is cracked/broken. That tells how much dumping around of the box must have happened during the shipment.
There is no visible anything that is worry some on the unit itself. I am going to leave it tonight (to get it to room temperature) and will connect tomorrow.
Make sure to shake the receiver in your hands a bit if you can to see if anything is loose inside the unit when you take it out of the styrofoam. One other owner had something break loose inside his receiver during shipping and shaking it once out of the box made him aware of it early to attempt a replacement.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #4179 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,059
Mentioned: 703 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22046 Post(s)
Liked: 11961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt2026 View Post
Do you double box
Yes, of course. We've seen what UPS can do.
azz7686 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4180 of 11697 Old 03-21-2018, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,059
Mentioned: 703 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22046 Post(s)
Liked: 11961
Quote:
Originally Posted by mik2h View Post
just fyi- I purchased a 3400 from bb and got no video output at all. tried everything I could think of and finally called tech support. they had me got through everything I had already tried, hooked me up with a tech2 who told me to replace it. the 2nd unit acted exactly the same way - with tech support giving the exact same response. so I took it back got a Yamaha a1070 and no problems at all.
think I'm burnt on d&m.the Marantz sr8001 that this unit replaced had to be sent down to sacramento 2x at a total cost of almost $500 for repairs+ shipping. I lost 2 hdmi inputs over the last year which is what led me to replace it before it crapped out completely(the Yamaha a3090 that the Marantz replaced is still in use by my grandson).
anyway, if you get no video out on this unit(imagine some of the others in the same series use same electronics) don't waste your time troubleshooting it, just take it back and replace.
fyi bb(we don't have magnolia) shipping is stellar got the first unit next day and the 2nd unit 2days after I took the 1st in at 4:30 pm.
No video from two brand new units would most likely point towards either a setting issue or an HDMI cable issue rather than two defective units. Was the source 1080p or 4k? If 4k, then were you using "Premium" certified 4k/18gpbs HDMI cables? Did you try changing the <4k Signal Format> setting to "Enhanced"?
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4181 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 03:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
rjruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nazareth, PA, USA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quicksilv3r View Post
No it’s not stated. CEC is hit or miss just like the ARC feature. You could get a pallet of 50 Denon receivers and maybe 3/4 could turn off via CEC and the other 1/4may not. It’s the flakiness of HDMI CEC. It’s not perfect.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I've had problems in the past with CEC powering on the AVRs when I power on the TVs in my two home theater systems, one is a Denon AVR and the other is a Yamaha AVR.


In both cases it was another device connected to the AVR that was causing the problem. On the Denon it was a Roku Ultra. On the Yamaha it was an Android IPTV box. Had to install one these https://www.amazon.com/Lindy-HDMI-Ad.../dp/B00DL48KVI on each of those devices to correct the problem.


The Denon AVR was working fine with the Roku Ultra until the Roku got a firmware update. Then the problem started.

Last edited by rjruby; 03-22-2018 at 03:55 AM.
rjruby is offline  
post #4182 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 04:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,455
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 491
The last 2 times I have powered on my S930H, it has displayed an ad for the HEOS/Denon AVR mobile apps. It’s the same one that was displayed during the initial setup. No video is displayed or audio plays until you click “Next” twice and then click “Done”. How can I stop this ad from displaying in the future?

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is online now  
post #4183 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 04:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Make sure to shake the receiver in your hands a bit if you can to see if anything is loose inside the unit when you take it out of the styrofoam. One other owner had something break loose inside his receiver during shipping and shaking it once out of the box made him aware of it early to attempt a replacement.
Thanks. I will give it a shake before I connect it tonight.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #4184 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 04:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, of course. We've seen what UPS can do.
Yeah. Call me OCD, but I also like my original packaging as pristine as the unit itself.
The (intact) integrity of the package makes it reusable without a hitch in case you need to ship it for something else.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #4185 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,059
Mentioned: 703 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22046 Post(s)
Liked: 11961
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
The last 2 times I have powered on my S930H, it has displayed an ad for the HEOS/Denon AVR mobile apps. It’s the same one that was displayed during the initial setup. No video is displayed or audio plays until you click “Next” twice and then click “Done”. How can I stop this ad from displaying in the future?
In speaking with Denon CSR, it turns out this message should only appear upon initial setup; however, has been reported to continue displaying beyond setup on some units. Refer to post 5 and do a microprocessor reset to try to stop the message from appearing again.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-23-2018 at 03:36 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4186 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 05:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon S730 Lip Sync Issues...

Forgive me if this is somewhere on this forum – I didn’t find it (though I found plenty of helpful stuff throughout the years -- in other words, long-time reader, first-time poster.)

I’m having lip-sync issues on certain devices sometimes, and it’s the "sometimes" that’s making it hard to ID the issue.

I just upgraded from a Pioneer Receiver (no 4K) to the Denon AVR S730h. And I added a Sony UBP X8004k blu ray player. My TV is a Vizio 4k m-series. With the Pioneer, I didn’t use the CEC ARC function because it would control my Pioneer settings when I didn’t want it to.

The Denon works great, but sometimes the lip-sync is off on the Sony Blu-rays (4K and standard), and once in a while on the Vizio's YouTube and Amazon apps. (No issues with the DVR or Roku). And sometimes it works fine. I’ve tried disabling ARC, and either way the issue persists. The Denon has a feature to adjust for lip sync, but I don’t want to have to pause every movie and try to fix the issues.

Do I need a new HDMI cable connecting the Denon and Vizio? (I have a 4k-enabled cable.) Is it an issue with the Denon, Vizio, or Sony player?

Thanks!
mflanny is offline  
post #4187 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,427
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 2888
Roku

I didn't find an answer in my search and the 4400 manual wasn't clear. I currently have my Roku stick connected via HDMI on the TV, with audio optical out to the Marantz receiver. The TV supports ARC while the older Marantz does not. In order to have audio when I watch through the Roku, I have to go into my receiver input setup to change the TV audio function mode. Is there a much simpler way to do this with the 4400, IOW, where the audio and video are combined into one?
Aliens is offline  
post #4188 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Astennu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfeoblu View Post
one final question if i may...I will get a pair of ELAC atmos modules this weekend...I'm thinking of placing them on top of the surrounds and leaving the paradigm Micro bookshelf speakers as front height. Will this give me a more "enveloping" sound experience? I currently have a pair of cheap bookshelf speakers as Rear height and I do "feel" a fuller sound with atmos movies etc but I hope using the ELAC would make it even better! I got greedy, I know!
I hope nobody tells me to also get ELAC for the front!!! my ceiling is only 8-9 feet high and flat. I sit about 12 feet away from my 65 inch tv
thanks
E
I'm no fan of atmos modules that use reflection via with the sealing to get the sound to the listening position. I rather have cheaper speakers mounted on the wall/sealing.

As for your current bookshelfs they are similar to my Jamo S622's. since they have smaller drivers they need to cross over at higher frequency's (90-100Hz)
Bigger bookshelf's can do more bass (crossover at 60Hz) and play louder if needed.

i have not tested a lot of atmos content yet. so far i do not get the feeling that the Jamo's are insufficient for the height effect's. But i will have to do some more testing. Maybe i might upgrade them to SVS Prime bookshelf's but they might be to heavy for the current mounts and they are way bigger.

So far the Height effect's are not as detailed as music / speech so in my opinion it's less important to use really expensive speakers for the height channels. The rear surround speakers are more important. And in my opinion for movie's the center speaker is the most important and after that the front speakers.
mrtickleuk likes this.

HT Setup: Sony 75X940E - Denon X4400W 5.2.4: - SVS Ultra Bookshelf (Front) - SVS Ultra Center - SVS Prime Bookshelf (surround) - 4x Jamo S622 (Height) - Dual SVS PC2000 Sub's
Astennu is offline  
post #4189 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
I didn't find an answer in my search and the 4400 manual wasn't clear. I currently have my Roku stick connected via HDMI on the TV, with audio optical out to the Marantz receiver. The TV supports ARC while the older Marantz does not. In order to have audio when I watch through the Roku, I have to go into my receiver input setup to change the TV audio function mode. Is there a much simpler way to do this with the 4400, IOW, where the audio and video are combined into one?
Why not connect the Roku directly to the 4400?

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #4190 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not denying the fact that doing so provides more protection, rather simply that some do and some don't. Best to ask first if important.
Every purchase I have made from AVScience came double-boxed.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC top front, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #4191 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Denon S730H into LG 65C7P HDMI 2, ATV4K into Denon HDMI 3. 730 setup as 3.1, R&L front, center, and SW speakers. So, watching Blade Runner 2049, done in Dolby Atmos, what should my Denon display be showing? I know that I don't get Atmos as setup, but I'm not sure what I should be getting. During the movie I experienced subdued volume in parts of the movie, at some points the volume was turned all the way up. When I paused the movie the volume from the ATV4K nearly blew the roof off. Perhaps I should have altered the audio setting? OTOH, since there's no OSD with 4K content, I'm at a loss WRT just what my options are with the 730.
zinfella is offline  
post #4192 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,455
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
First I've heard of this. Try setting the "Upgrade Notification" setting (p. 201 Owner's manual) to OFF. Otherwise, I will try to find out and respond back with the result in this post.


I changed that setting and will see how it goes. Thanks.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is online now  
post #4193 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjruby View Post
I've had problems in the past with CEC powering on the AVRs when I power on the TVs in my two home theater systems, one is a Denon AVR and the other is a Yamaha AVR.


In both cases it was another device connected to the AVR that was causing the problem. On the Denon it was a Roku Ultra. On the Yamaha it was an Android IPTV box. Had to install one these https://www.amazon.com/Lindy-HDMI-Ad.../dp/B00DL48KVI on each of those devices to correct the problem.


The Denon AVR was working fine with the Roku Ultra until the Roku got a firmware update. Then the problem started.


Thanks for the feedback. Any idea why the HDMI adapter solved the problem? I just may try that. I was a little suspicious of my TV (Sony X900E), but I tried using the Apple TV with the TV unhooked, and it still didn’t work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
nihilan is offline  
post #4194 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 09:09 AM
Member
 
michaelcoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Do I need certified HDMI cables for my Denon to work properly on a 1080p tv
I was going to wait until I picked up a 4k tv to upgrade my hdmi cables


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by michaelcoker; 03-22-2018 at 09:28 AM.
michaelcoker is offline  
post #4195 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,670
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 24280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, of course. We've seen what UPS can do.
Thanks JD

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1.) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Aircom T-8, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is offline  
post #4196 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 09:47 AM
Member
 
0100010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Any idea why the HDMI adapter solved the problem? I just may try that. I was a little suspicious of my TV (Sony X900E), but I tried using the Apple TV with the TV unhooked, and it still didn’t work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Some devices "absorb" HDMI CEC messages; meaning they receive it, but don't forward it on to the next / other devices in the chain like they should. That device linked above, if memory serves has the CEC pin (13?) not connected at all, so it prevents whatever is behind it from interacting with CEC completely.

Insert signature here.
LR : E65-C3 | HW-MS750 | SWA-W700
HT : ES 120" | JVC RS-520 | Oppo-203 | Denon X3400H 5.1.2 | ELAC A4.2 B6.2 C6.2 F6.2 & VTF-15MK2
0100010 is offline  
post #4197 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mohawk Valley, NY
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I watched The Dark Knight, and in some scenes I could barelyhear the conversations. Maybe it was theway it was filmed. These are mysettings:
FL -6.5
FR -7.5
C -8
SW -8.5
SL -6.5
SR -4.5
SBL -8.5
SBR -10.0
Should I bump up the center speaker?

TV – Sony XBR-65X930E, Legacy Sony KDL-52XBR9, Receiver – Denon AVRX3400H
Fronts - Klipsch R-28F, Center - Klipsch R-25C
Surrounds – El Crapo, Surround Rears – El Crapo
Sub – SVS PB12-NSD
Blu-ray Player –Sony UBPX700, Legacy Panasonic DMP-BD210, Remote – Legacy Harmony 1
Artie Barnes is offline  
post #4198 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artie Barnes View Post
I watched The Dark Knight, and in some scenes I could barelyhear the conversations. Maybe it was theway it was filmed. These are mysettings:
FL -6.5
FR -7.5
C -8
SW -8.5
SL -6.5
SR -4.5
SBL -8.5
SBR -10.0
Should I bump up the center speaker?
Similar to the issue I had with Blade Runner 2049, which I had to run at near full volume, and all the way up at times. I will say that it did sound good and with great bass most of the time, like when it wasn't having those subdued volume scenes. For me, 2049 was a rental from iTunes.

I'm hoping that JD will have an answer for this. Meanwhile, I'm gonna call Apple Care to see what they might know.
Artie Barnes likes this.
zinfella is offline  
post #4199 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: S. Ca
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Dear All,

I am having issues with my Denon X4400h.

I have the Receiver connected to Samsung F8500 via HDMI 3 (ARC). All Anynet options on TV are off since I use the Harmony 650.

The receiver keeps on turning back on after I press off on my Harmony 650 to turn off all devices.

If I click on Help on my Harmony 650 it goes through the options to turn of the receiver again and it works but does anyone have any ideas on why
ski pete is offline  
post #4200 of 11697 Old 03-22-2018, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
Similar to the issue I had with Blade Runner 2049, which I had to run at near full volume, and all the way up at times. I will say that it did sound good and with great bass most of the time, like when it wasn't having those subdued volume scenes. For me, 2049 was a rental from iTunes.

I'm hoping that JD will have an answer for this. Meanwhile, I'm gonna call Apple Care to see what they might know.
I pretty much drew a blank with Apple Care. The person that I talked to, while very courteous, had no answers, save to say that they saw 2049 in a theater, and it had audio issues, in their opinion. Of course I can't argue with that, but maybe someone more knowledgeable could.
zinfella is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
2400h , 3.0 , 4 ohm , 4200 , 4300 , 4400 , 7.1 , 7.1 setup , 7.2 , alexa , atmos , Audyssey , avr , avr-s730h , avr-x2400h , avrs730h , bi-amp , blueray , bluetooth , connectivity , Denon , denon x2400h remote controller , dolby surround up mixer , dts neural up mixer , Emotiva , enhanced 4k , hdmi , help please , Home Theater , ipod , lan , lpcm 7.1 , multi ch in , Netflix , Pioneer , pre amp , pre out , ps4 , receiver , Samsung , setup , subwoofer denon test tone , wifi , x3400h , x520bt , xbox one , zone 2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off