"OFFICIAL" 2017 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 223 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 136223Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MiBz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Based on testing I have seen from places like Audioholics. I had a Yamaha up until last week. This is far away better. I'm just not high on Yamaha anymore.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Ok I get. You're a man of few words and I respect that. LOL
Thanks for your thoughts
MiBz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,087
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1759 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiBz View Post
Ok I get. You're a man of few words and I respect that. LOL
Thanks for your thoughts
If you on Audioholics and check out the review Gene did of an Aventage receiver you would see. I swore them off after that. Plus if you decide to add an external amp as I have their preouts do not put out enough voltage as Denon does to fully drive your amp. They are known to have low voltage from their preouts.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #6663 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 02:16 PM
Member
 
n1ghtcrawl3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, the HEOS app must be able to recognize the X3400H; otherwise, you won't be able to stream one of the dozen or so music services from the app to the AVR.

Refer to post 5 of this thread and do a "Network Reset."
That worked! Thanks @jdsmoothie !
n1ghtcrawl3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6664 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
parapet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Looks like they brought back Web Control for the 2018 models, any news about bringing it back with a firmware update for the 2016/2017 models?
Also, I'm currently using DeRemote app to control my AV8801, is anyone here using that app? Can someone confirm that it will work with the AVR-X4400H?
Thanks in advance.
parapet is offline  
post #6665 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Travisx2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by parapet View Post
Looks like they brought back Web Control for the 2018 models, any news about bringing it back with a firmware update for the 2016/2017 models?
Also, I'm currently using DeRemote app to control my AV8801, is anyone here using that app? Can someone confirm that it will work with the AVR-X4400H?
Thanks in advance.
That could happen, I guess we'll have to wait and see!

I use DeRemote with my '44 and it works great (DeRemote is awesome haha)

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Travisx2112 is offline  
post #6666 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
parapet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travisx2112 View Post
That could happen, I guess we'll have to wait and see!

I use DeRemote with my '44 and it works great (DeRemote is awesome haha)

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Thank you!

DeRemote is awesome indeed! It hasn't been updated in a while though and the 4400 isn't on the supported devices list so that is great to hear.
parapet is offline  
post #6667 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 07:49 PM
Member
 
bdlchicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
930H center channel audio issue

With the latest firmware installed on a 45 day old S930H, I'm having occasional audio cutouts coming from a Tivo Roamio over HDMI. So far I've only heard it while watching a previously recorded program which seems like it's a Tivo issue. Have restarted both devices. Pumping the volume UP does restore the audio, and the drop seems to mainly affect the center channel as I can still hear background and music when the voices drop out. Anybody else experience something like this?
bdlchicago is offline  
post #6668 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,963
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by vett93 View Post
Could you please explain what that means? Thanks.
Sorry, it's been a long day. The standard and enhanced HDMI setting is for troubleshooting issues with older cable/satellite boxes(not an option on 2016 models.) There's a maintenance mode as well on the X models but I think the 2016 X series has this as well. There's also power button pushes for a soft reset in the 2017 models instead of pulling the power cord with my 2016 model.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html

Last edited by Madmax67; 07-11-2018 at 09:37 PM.
Madmax67 is offline  
post #6669 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,963
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiBz View Post
Ya Denon discounts more than Yamaha, at least for their Aventage lineup.

I can pretty much get the A2070 & X4400H at the same price, so I'm having a difficult time deciding between them so I turned to my AVS brothers for guidance on your experiences between the two
The Yamaha has DSP's that their owners actually seem to like and use and their scenes feature offers some nice customizing for switching quickly between differing amp assign settings(5.1.4 heights/5.1.4 top) and their mobile remote gets good reviews over the Denon but Denon has improved theirs . The higher Yamaha A series have 2 inch deeper enclosures than their comparable Denon model and they run cooler in tighter spaces but take up more room as well plus you have any banana plugs plus RCA inputs to consider for a shorter AV rack. Denon will handle low frequency correction better than Yamaha with SubEQ HT and most Yamaha owners will readily admit that but they like the PEQ in the Yamaha and the open sound it tends to produce. I'm a big fan of Audyssey XT32 and SubEQ HT. So much so that the lack of it might have made my decision to get either the X4300H or the A2060 a harder pick of one over the other. There is the new MultEQ mobile app for limiting room correction with the Denon under whatever cuttoff frequency you might want but I haven't used it yet as I'm happy with my receiver led results over a mobile devices using the twenty dollar app. Nice feature though for not a lot of money. Both receivers would serve you well but only the X4400 will allow you a 7.2.4 main zone setup through a 2 channel amp expansion.
MiBz, dancolt and dfa973 like this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html

Last edited by Madmax67; 07-12-2018 at 11:11 AM.
Madmax67 is offline  
post #6670 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,963
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiBz View Post
Thanks JD.

Looking the S&V reviews on both I noticed the amp output on the Yamaha drops significantly when driving 7 channels vs the Denon, which is really surprising with Yamaha's marketing of their Aventage models.
That's Yamaha's built in protection circuit kicking in with a full range signal and no bass mgmt. I spent about a year living in the Yamaha owners threads before I decided to get another Denon and no one there has any problems driving their Yammy's to high levels with real world content. Yamaha makes quality amps.
MiBz likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #6671 of 12282 Old 07-11-2018, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,963
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
If you on Audioholics and check out the review Gene did of an Aventage receiver you would see. I swore them off after that. Plus if you decide to add an external amp as I have their preouts do not put out enough voltage as Denon does to fully drive your amp. They are known to have low voltage from their preouts.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
That's on models lower than the A2070.
MiBz likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #6672 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 02:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,087
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1759 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
That's on models lower than the A2070.
To each their own, I'm no longer a fan or customer.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #6673 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 03:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,963
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
To each their own, I'm no longer a fan or customer.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Not a problem and I respect the fact that you actually owned one and I didn't. Just seperating the pre amp output voltage for certain models. For the record there's no real reason why all of their receivers pre amp outputs shouldn't be putting out 2V RMS.
ahblaza likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #6674 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 04:34 AM
Member
 
jimmix93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 9
There is someone here using the 20$ App Denon MultiEQ Editor?
simple man likes this.
jimmix93 is offline  
post #6675 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmix93 View Post
There is someone here using the 20$ App Denon MultiEQ Editor?
MultEQ Editor app questions are better posted in the dedicated app thread ....

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...-pre-pros.html
jimmix93 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6676 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,588
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by labboypro View Post
No, just the base warranty (and whatever, if anything, my cc attached to it... I'll have to look up which card I purchased with). It never dawned on me to pay for additional coverage... I've never had a single Denon product issue in 30+ years. The only other brands I've ever owned wer HK and one stint with Outlaw... primitive, mediocre support, and not overly impressive performance (decent, but perhaps over-hyped). Also, I used to sell the Denon car line back in the mid 1980's, and never once had a legitimate warranty-related issue ( a few "I used the cassette door as an ashtray" type issue). I may have to rethink that should I have need to buy in the future.
Only issues I have had with electronics have been Onkyo receivers.......
Ted99 and DonoMan like this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #6677 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Travisx2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by parapet View Post
Looks like they brought back Web Control for the 2018 models, any news about bringing it back with a firmware update for the 2016/2017 models?

The more I think about this, the more I miss the web control on my 3311. I might even try to return my 4400 for the 4500 for it, as ridiculous as that sounds, haha.

Last edited by Travisx2112; 07-12-2018 at 09:57 AM.
Travisx2112 is offline  
post #6678 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Travisx2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travisx2112 View Post
The more I think about this, the more I miss the web control on my 3311. I might even try to return my 4400 for the 4500 for it, as ridiculous as that sounds, haha.
Since I've got this new AVR, I noticed that upgrading from my AVR-3311 to the X4400H and running the new Audyssey was a night and day difference in sound quality.

I figured it might just be a placebo as those things generally are, but looking at the curves the new Audyssey ended up with, it fixed my mismatched surround, rear surround speakers, and my center up to also better match the fronts, which my old receiver never did, or at least didn't do as well as this one does. Awesome!
dfa973 likes this.
Travisx2112 is offline  
post #6679 of 12282 Old 07-12-2018, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ToBeFrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travisx2112 View Post
Since I've got this new AVR, I noticed that upgrading from my AVR-3311 to the X4400H and running the new Audyssey was a night and day difference in sound quality.

I figured it might just be a placebo as those things generally are, but looking at the curves the new Audyssey ended up with, it fixed my mismatched surround, rear surround speakers, and my center up to also better match the fronts, which my old receiver never did, or at least didn't do as well as this one does. Awesome!
I concur. I went from an almost 10 year old Onkyo with only plain old Audyssey (not even XT) to the 4400 and the difference is night and day.
dfa973 likes this.
ToBeFrank is offline  
post #6680 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Travisx2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdlchicago View Post
With the latest firmware installed on a 45 day old S930H, I'm having occasional audio cutouts coming from a Tivo Roamio over HDMI. So far I've only heard it while watching a previously recorded program which seems like it's a Tivo issue. Have restarted both devices. Pumping the volume UP does restore the audio, and the drop seems to mainly affect the center channel as I can still hear background and music when the voices drop out. Anybody else experience something like this?
I had a cut out the day before yesterday while watching Netflix on my Roku Ultra. The audio dissappeared and the only thing that would bring it back was restarting the receiver (I had previously tried switching inputs, turning the volume up and down, restarting the show I was watching, nope, had to reboot..) Hopefully it doesn't happen again/too frequently.
Travisx2112 is offline  
post #6681 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 7194
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Considering there are no eARC capable TVs nor any eARC capable AVRs, this would be hard to test at this time.
AND, there are no streaming apps on any platforms which stream lossless HD audio, which would [need to] use eARC [and cannot be done with current ARC] out of the TV either!

So what's missing is content, software, TV hardware and AVR hardware. The entire end-to-end chain. So NO-ONE should be in the least concerned about a future feature that we don't have and can't use yet not being present.
ahblaza, camd5pt0 and Madmax67 like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 07-13-2018 at 12:47 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #6682 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
MarlinFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
AND, there are no streaming apps on any platforms which stream lossless HD audio, which would [need to] use eARC [and cannot be done with current ARC] out of the TV either!

So what's missing is content, software, TV hardware and AVR hardware. The entire end-to-end chain. So NO-ONE should be in the least concerned about a future feature that we don't have and can't use yet not being present.
Agreed! Reminds me of HDR10+

Now back to Denon talk..

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
camd5pt0 and mrtickleuk like this.
MarlinFan is offline  
post #6683 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
camd5pt0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I had to back out and double check that I wasn't in my KS8500 thread lol

Home theatre: 65" Sony X950G / LG UBKM9 / Sony UBD-X800 / Xbox One X Project Scorpio / PS4 Pro
Denon AVR-X4400H 7.1.4 config. / Plantronics Dolby Atmos RIG 600LX
Pioneer Andrew Jones L,R,C,SL,SR,SBL,SBR / (4) Polk Atrium 5 series TF,TR
SVS PB-2000 w/ SVS SoundPath Subwoofer Isolation System
camd5pt0 is offline  
post #6684 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No sound from subwoofer after setup. Reasons why this could be?

I completed the Audyssey XT32 setup with my 2 front speakers and 1 subwoofer, and here are the results: https://imgur.com/a/sd7ZTir

However, when I play something from my Apple TV or Spotify (through Wi-Fi/Spotify Connect), the subwoofer is completely silent even when I raise up the calibrated volume knob on it from 40% to 100%. I even played Blurred Lines on Spotify to check, and still nothing.

The receiver is Denon X3400H and the subwoofer is JBL 260P. I have used a single RCA cable to connect the Pre-Out 1 to the LFE input on the subwoofer. The other settings in the back of the subwoofer are in the pictures above. It's definitely on, and it definitely works when I'm doing the Audyssey setup, but not after.
rolledoff is offline  
post #6685 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,654
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2178 Post(s)
Liked: 1442
go into manual setting and change your front speakers to Small with a crossover at 80hz then your sub will be active for all sources. Spotify and other music sources are only 2.0, not 2.1. With the main speakers set to LARGE none of the lower bass frequencies are being sent to the sub.

I would also set your subwoofer level at the 10:00 position instead of 12 and run Audyssey again.
ccotenj, rolledoff and Madmax67 like this.

Afro GT

Last edited by afrogt; 07-13-2018 at 01:53 PM.
afrogt is offline  
post #6686 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
go into manual setting and change your front speakers to Small with a crossover at 80hz then your sub will be active for all sources. Spotify and other music sources are only 2.0, not 2.1. With the main speakers set to LARGE none of the lower bass frequencies are being sent to the sub.

I would also set your subwoofer level at the 10:00 position instead of 12 and run Audyssey again.
Oh wow, that was awesome. Wonder why it selected Large. I don't remember selecting that. That worked!

Also, I did have it at about the 10 o'clock position during the setup. It got to 12 in the picture as I was playing with it.

I use DirectTVNow on AppleTV for my TV signal. Are they 2.1 or 2.0?

Anyway, I have now set the crossover at 80Hz. But LFE is set at 120 Hz. Is that correct? The JBL 260P's frequency response is 29 Hz – 150 Hz. Thanks!

EDIT: I forgot my question is! Since I have somewhat crappy and small front speakers (for now), can I set the crossover at 150Hz and LFE at 150Hz also so the subwoofer will basically handle all frequencies below 150Hz?

Last edited by rolledoff; 07-13-2018 at 02:03 PM.
rolledoff is offline  
post #6687 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,243
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5245 Post(s)
Liked: 3413
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolledoff View Post
EDIT: I forgot my question is! Since I have somewhat crappy and small front speakers (for now), can I set the crossover at 150Hz and LFE at 150Hz also so the subwoofer will basically handle all frequencies below 150Hz?
Yes.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #6688 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolledoff View Post
Oh wow, that was awesome. Wonder why it selected Large. I don't remember selecting that. That worked!

Also, I did have it at about the 10 o'clock position during the setup. It got to 12 in the picture as I was playing with it.

I use DirectTVNow on AppleTV for my TV signal. Are they 2.1 or 2.0?

Anyway, I have now set the crossover at 80Hz. But LFE is set at 120 Hz. Is that correct? The JBL 260P's frequency response is 29 Hz – 150 Hz. Thanks!

EDIT: I forgot my question is! Since I have somewhat crappy and small front speakers (for now), can I set the crossover at 150Hz and LFE at 150Hz also so the subwoofer will basically handle all frequencies below 150Hz?
You can "raise" the speaker crossover setting to 150Hz only if it was set <150Hz after running Audyssey; however, there's no reason to set the LPF for LFE greater than the factory default of 120Hz up to 150Hz as the LFE signal only goes up to 120Hz.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6689 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolledoff View Post
Oh wow, that was awesome. Wonder why it selected Large. I don't remember selecting that. That worked!

Also, I did have it at about the 10 o'clock position during the setup. It got to 12 in the picture as I was playing with it.

I use DirectTVNow on AppleTV for my TV signal. Are they 2.1 or 2.0?

Anyway, I have now set the crossover at 80Hz. But LFE is set at 120 Hz. Is that correct? The JBL 260P's frequency response is 29 Hz – 150 Hz. Thanks!

EDIT: I forgot my question is! Since I have somewhat crappy and small front speakers (for now), can I set the crossover at 150Hz and LFE at 150Hz also so the subwoofer will basically handle all frequencies below 150Hz?
Speakers are set to LARGE if they can pass a 50Hz or lower signal in your room; however, the recommendation by Audyssey (when there is a dedicated subwoofer in the setup) is to reset any speakers set to LARGE, to SMALL/80Hz as it is the AVR that sets the speakers to LARGE, not Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6690 of 12282 Old 07-13-2018, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,654
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2178 Post(s)
Liked: 1442
Quote:
Since I have somewhat crappy and small front speakers (for now), can I set the crossover at 150Hz and LFE at 150Hz also so the subwoofer will basically handle all frequencies below 150Hz?
If the speaker calibration originally set your front speakers to Large they play way lower than 150Hz. Why would you want to raise them way up to 150hz? What speakers are they?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
2400h , 3.0 , 4 ohm , 4200 , 4300 , 4400 , 7.1 , 7.1 setup , 7.2 , alexa , atmos , Audyssey , avr , avr-s730h , avr-x2400h , avrs730h , bi-amp , blueray , bluetooth , connectivity , Denon , denon x2400h remote controller , dolby surround up mixer , dts neural up mixer , Emotiva , enhanced 4k , hdmi , help please , Home Theater , ipod , lan , lpcm 7.1 , multi ch in , Netflix , Pioneer , pre amp , pre out , ps4 , receiver , Samsung , setup , subwoofer denon test tone , wifi , x3400h , x520bt , xbox one , zone 2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off