"OFFICIAL" 2017 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 401 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 136223Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12001 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Well, 6200w does. I believe starting 6300 they drop it for some damn reason. I was hoping they brought it back for 6400. I am trying to do 9.2.4 or 6 with two receivers. It really doesn’t matter since I already have a 6200w. Just need another one
I think this guy here can get you back to 2015.
Spoiler!

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12002 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
Is there a way to disable the center channel speaker for a particular input? for example CD input.

like a phantom mode?



Obviously music directed to the center speaker in multi channel or surround modes sounded not too good.
Not other than pulling the banana plugs or speaker wire from that speaker. Multi channel music sounds fine to me with the center still in the mix. For the Dolby Surround Upmixer I'd try the center spread setting for music. It's under surround parameter when you select the DSU.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #12003 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Well, 6200w does. I believe starting 6300 they drop it for some damn reason. I was hoping they brought it back for 6400. I am trying to do 9.2.4 or 6 with two receivers. It really doesn’t matter since I already have a 6200w. Just need another one
All major brand mfr's that supported Front Wide in 2015, dropped support beginning with the release of their 2016 models. In 2018, Denon and Marantz brought back Front Wide support with their current "flagship" models, X8500H and AV8805, which remain the only major brand models that currently support Front Wide.
skylarlove1999 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12004 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
Is there a way to disable the center channel speaker for a particular input? for example CD input.
like a phantom mode?

Obviously music directed to the center speaker in multi channel or surround modes sounded not too good.
Yes. Select MUSIC - STEREO.
skylarlove1999 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12005 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
Quote:
Originally Posted by EB1000 View Post
I don't mean that if I increase the center channel trimm then the subwoofer level should also increase. I mean only the low end (20Hz to 80Hz) center channel content which is directed to the subwoofer should also increased by the same amount, so the overall tonal balance of the center channel only is preserved. I really don't understand why isn't it so? I use to own a Yamaha receiver and I don't remember it behaving this way.
A crossover is a combination of a high pass(low cut) and low pass(high cut) filter. Once you high pass a speaker those cut frequencies are no longer that individual speakers frequencies so it's a specious argument. Yamaha works exactly the same because what you're asking for doesn't exist in any receiver or pre pro that I'm aware of.



Quote:
Another example or manifestation of this bug is when listening to music using Auro-3D. I personally like this mode but I don't like using the center channel for stereo music because it affects channel separation. So I trim the center level down to -12db. This results in a noticeable bass boost because the bass portion of the center channel is still being sent to the subwoofer w/o any attenuation.
Again those are not the center speakers frequencies any longer. Balance out your sub levels instead. The subwoofer distance tweak (Google site:avsforum.com subwoofer distance tweak) can also be your friend when accounting for sub to center channel symmetry.



Quote:
I'm not talking about the speaker level settings, I'm talking about the level trim accessible using the options menu, which is intended for temporary tweaking of channel level.
The former setttings are just a shortcut to the latter so yes you're talking about both.



Quote:
It makes no sense to me to allow the user to trim levels if it messes up the tonal balance of the channel being trimmed.
What makes no sense is you're the only one I've ever heard bring this up in any of the 4 or 5 home audio sites I have frequented over the years. It's not broken. You can't fix it. Adjust your individual channel levels to your liking and move on because a -12dB level drop from the original offset is a self inlicted problem to which the fix is... don't do that!

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #12006 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 2520
#EB1000 I will say this though about the Yamaha reference. YPAO is well known for not EQing bass below 34 HZ and what EQ it does above that isn't much so what you probably experienced is that effect with the Yammy.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #12007 of 12282 Old 09-10-2019, 11:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 961 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Well, 6200w does. I believe starting 6300 they drop it for some damn reason. I was hoping they brought it back for 6400. I am trying to do 9.2.4 or 6 with two receivers. It really doesn’t matter since I already have a 6200w. Just need another one
You are correct. As Dolby started pushing Atmos almost all brands stopped front wide support.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #12008 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 04:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mp5475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylarlove1999 View Post
You are correct. As Dolby started pushing Atmos almost all brands stopped front wide support.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Plan is to pick up a 6400h and use my current 6200w to do 9.2.4.

With 6400h, I wil get Audyssey app, which will be nice.

I run 7.2.4 with 6200, wides instead of backs. I believe it will do 9.2.2 bu not sure.


JD, can 6200 do 9.2.2?
mp5475 is offline  
post #12009 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 05:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Plan is to pick up a 6400h and use my current 6200w to do 9.2.4.

With 6400h, I wil get Audyssey app, which will be nice.

I run 7.2.4 with 6200, wides instead of backs. I believe it will do 9.2.2 bu not sure.


JD, can 6200 do 9.2.2?
Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12010 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mp5475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup.

Thanks JD! BTW, do you have any left over or returned 6400?
mp5475 is offline  
post #12011 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Thanks JD! BTW, do you have any left over or returned 6400?
Sorry, but no.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12012 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skylarlove1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 961 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp5475 View Post
Thanks JD! BTW, do you have any left over or returned 6400?
Zorro Sounds is an authorized Denon dealer and has over 20k reviews on Amazon and they still have 6400 in stock.

https://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVRX640...gateway&sr=8-3

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
skylarlove1999 is online now  
post #12013 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Does anyone know if there's a way to disable the "DENON" logo that displays when the receiver is on with no signal on the selected input?

Being on Plasma and soon OLED my Harmony occasionally will turn off the player but not the receiver or TV, which isn't an issue for me because I notice it, but my significant other sometimes doesn't so I'm a bit worried about this potentially causing burn-in/image retention issues moving forward. I'd much rather it just go to all black.
teiresias is offline  
post #12014 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: S/E Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by teiresias View Post
Does anyone know if there's a way to disable the "DENON" logo that displays when the receiver is on with no signal on the selected input?



Being on Plasma and soon OLED my Harmony occasionally will turn off the player but not the receiver or TV, which isn't an issue for me because I notice it, but my significant other sometimes doesn't so I'm a bit worried about this potentially causing burn-in/image retention issues moving forward. I'd much rather it just go to all black.


You could consider setting up Auto Standby mode under the general settings to go into standby mode when no signal is detected for 15 to 60 minutes.

Spoiler!
ColtOne is offline  
post #12015 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quicksilv3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orangeville Canada
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by teiresias View Post
Does anyone know if there's a way to disable the "DENON" logo that displays when the receiver is on with no signal on the selected input?



Being on Plasma and soon OLED my Harmony occasionally will turn off the player but not the receiver or TV, which isn't an issue for me because I notice it, but my significant other sometimes doesn't so I'm a bit worried about this potentially causing burn-in/image retention issues moving forward. I'd much rather it just go to all black.


So do you not have your remote configured properly to shut everything off? My wife has no issues hitting the power button on my remote and the entire system turns off.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

tv: Samsung UN75MU800, Receiver: Denon AVR 730H, speakers: 4x M&K S-1B and M&K S85c for center, sub: MKsound V12 HTPC, Samsung UBP-K8500, Rogers Digital PVR, Chromecast Ultra
Quicksilv3r is offline  
post #12016 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quicksilv3r View Post
So do you not have your remote configured properly to shut everything off? My wife has no issues hitting the power button on my remote and the entire system turns off.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It's configured properly, it just must be placement of the TV and receiver such that if you don't point it just so one or both don't get the signal to go off. It's an original Harmony One, I probably should really update to an Elite with IR satellites to fix the issue.

Last edited by teiresias; 09-12-2019 at 07:03 AM.
teiresias is offline  
post #12017 of 12282 Old 09-11-2019, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post
Is there a way to disable the center channel speaker for a particular input? for example CD input.
like a phantom mode?

Obviously music directed to the center speaker in multi channel or surround modes sounded not too good.
Why would you want to use multi-channel or surround for 2-channel music? Just stick with stereo or direct. If you do want some kind of simulated surround, then something is likely to come from the center channel and there is no way to prevent that.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #12018 of 12282 Old 09-12-2019, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,074
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1632 Post(s)
Liked: 2235
Reminder about rules regarding street pricing and where to buy in the tech forum:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...ls-sticky.html
rboster is offline  
post #12019 of 12282 Old 09-12-2019, 07:27 AM
Member
 
sgondek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. Select MUSIC - STEREO.
:eeksurpri se:

Vizio P65, Denon X1400H AVR, DirecTV 4K, Sony UHD BlueRay UBP-X800, Apple TV 4K, Cambridge PSW-1 sub, Cambridge center channel, ELAC B4 fronts, Klipsch rears;
sgondek is offline  
post #12020 of 12282 Old 09-12-2019, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColtOne View Post
You could consider setting up Auto Standby mode under the general settings to go into standby mode when no signal is detected for 15 to 60 minutes.
Yeah, that did look like the only option. I really hoped I was missing an option to turn it off completely though as even 15 minutes is quite a long time.
teiresias is offline  
post #12021 of 12282 Old 09-12-2019, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does the Denon x1400h have a 12V trigger that would allow it to be "woken up" by the new Sonos Port? I tried googling a bit but not entirely sure what I was looking for. Thanks I advance.
mconnolly is offline  
post #12022 of 12282 Old 09-12-2019, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by mconnolly View Post
Does the Denon x1400h have a 12V trigger that would allow it to be "woken up" by the new Sonos Port? I tried googling a bit but not entirely sure what I was looking for. Thanks I advance.
Nope. There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 8 posts of this thread to include feature information of each model in post 1 which indicates the X3400H is the lowest model with a 12v trigger.
mjwagner likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12023 of 12282 Old 09-13-2019, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Nope. There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 8 posts of this thread to include feature information of each model in post 1 which indicates the X3400H is the lowest model with a 12v trigger.
Hmm, I thought these were Trigger OUTPUTS on my receiver. Time to get out the manual...
mconnolly likes this.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #12024 of 12282 Old 09-13-2019, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Hmm, I thought these were Trigger OUTPUTS on my receiver. Time to get out the manual...
Exactly. The jack is labeled TRIGGER OUT on the X3400H according to the manual. I am trying to get educated on what an AVR needs in order to be woken up by something like the Sonos Port ... trigger "IN"?
mconnolly is offline  
post #12025 of 12282 Old 09-13-2019, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mconnolly View Post
Exactly. The jack is labeled TRIGGER OUT on the X3400H according to the manual. I am trying to get educated on what an AVR needs in order to be woken up by something like the Sonos Port ... trigger "IN"?
I have not seen a way to do that. Most installers make the receiver the hub of the system, and use IT to control the other components.

In fact, I wish we could buy large flat TVs that were nothing but monitors: no speakers, no "Smart TV," no CEC, no apps, no hassles.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #12026 of 12282 Old 09-13-2019, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
tpro8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 59
One feature I find lacking is the inability of my X3400H to play 6 channel sound files from any source other than one of its HDMI ports.



Can anyone tell me if this is also true of the higher end models, like the X4500/X6500/X8500? How about the Marantz receivers?
I would like to be able to use Heos to play my growing library of SACD 6 channel music on my twonky server.

LG OLED65B6P
Denon X3400H, KEF LS50. KEF Kube8b, KEF R200c, KEF R50
tpro8 is offline  
post #12027 of 12282 Old 09-13-2019, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22614 Post(s)
Liked: 12307
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpro8 View Post
One feature I find lacking is the inability of my X3400H to play 6 channel sound files from any source other than one of its HDMI ports.



Can anyone tell me if this is also true of the higher end models, like the X4500/X6500/X8500? How about the Marantz receivers?
I would like to be able to use Heos to play my growing library of SACD 6 channel music on my twonky server.
All Denon/Marantz models capable of DSD over HDMI are limited to a maximum of 5.1 as noted in their respective Owner manuals.
mjwagner likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12028 of 12282 Old 09-16-2019, 12:46 PM
Member
 
jvphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Listen to PS4 Headphones but keep subwoofers on?

Hi all. I really like my home theater audio setup, but I play a lot of games that use game chat on my PS4. I was wondering if anyone knew of a way to use my PS4 gaming headphones but KEEP the couch shake and rumble of my subwoofers on? I have a Denon x3400 and the Playstation branded PS4 headphones. Thanks!
jvphotog is offline  
post #12029 of 12282 Old 09-16-2019, 01:35 PM
Member
 
D.R.Archer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ancaster,Ontario and Fort Myers,FL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 34
AVR-S-930h

I have been experiencing some unusual issues lately with the receiver like locking of inputs and distortion of sound. I have tried Restart with no joy. I am going to reset the microprocessor saving the settings but when I proceed through Settings; General; Save & Load ; the Save screen becomes half blank with white noise. Is there something I'm missing?
These issues seem to be mostly on my Roku input (DVD) and I hope it's not a bad hdmi input so I'll try another input but a suggestion regarding Save & Load would be appreciated .

Vizio P75, Denon AVR-X6300H, OPPO 203, Paradigm Studio Atmos setup, dual subs
Sony 65X900F, Denon X940H, Paradigm 5.1.2 setup with single sub

Last edited by D.R.Archer; 09-16-2019 at 01:48 PM.
D.R.Archer is offline  
post #12030 of 12282 Old 09-16-2019, 03:08 PM
Member
 
ejquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I haven't been able to find exactly the question I have - I have a 5.1 set up and a x4500h. Whenever I play TV or a movie, the receiver defaults to the surround mode and then "+DSur." So, for instance, I'll get "Dolby Digital +DSur" or "Dolby TrueHD +DSur." Am I correct that the Dolby Surround then artificially simulating height channels in my 5.1 set up? Or is it actually really doing nothing beyond the core "dolby digital.." etc? Do members with set ups like mine just set to the core processing mode without the dolby surround? I Can't say I've noticed much different between it being on and not, but I haven't experimented much.
ejquin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
2400h , 3.0 , 4 ohm , 4200 , 4300 , 4400 , 7.1 , 7.1 setup , 7.2 , alexa , atmos , Audyssey , avr , avr-s730h , avr-x2400h , avrs730h , bi-amp , blueray , bluetooth , connectivity , Denon , denon x2400h remote controller , dolby surround up mixer , dts neural up mixer , Emotiva , enhanced 4k , hdmi , help please , Home Theater , ipod , lan , lpcm 7.1 , multi ch in , Netflix , Pioneer , pre amp , pre out , ps4 , receiver , Samsung , setup , subwoofer denon test tone , wifi , x3400h , x520bt , xbox one , zone 2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off