MultEQ Editor: New App for Denon & Marantz AV Receivers & Pre/Pros - Page 166 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2656Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Forgive me, but can I use the app with several Denon products? I have 2 x4400’s and am probably going to pickup a 3600. Thanks!
rr14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,606
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4896 Post(s)
Liked: 5267
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr14 View Post
Forgive me, but can I use the app with several Denon products? I have 2 x4400’s and am probably going to pickup a 3600. Thanks!
Yes, absolutely. When you open the app and select to start a new calibration it will scan the local network for AVRs and you pick which one you want to use.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #4953 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr14 View Post
Forgive me, but can I use the app with several Denon products? I have 2 x4400’s and am probably going to pickup a 3600. Thanks!
++...what batpig said... Also, when you save the calibration file on the app's phone or tablet, you can choose a filename to remind you of which Denon the file is for.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4954 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalsnuffy View Post
Hi,

I am new to the app. I really appreciate all the fine work that has gone into this thread.

On one of my two systems where I have run the app in "beginner" mode (not many edits on my part) I would like to improve intelligibility from the center channel speaker. Dialog is a bit muffled. What kinds of changes do people generally make to improve vocals?

Also, at one time there was discussion about turning off the 20hz limit on subwoofers. Is that still "a thing" or was the limit removed from the app itself?

Thanks.
To improve the center dialog, First turn OFF MRC (midrange compensation) for the center speaker, and while u are at it , try it for all speakers and see if the rest of your speakers system benifit of it, u do that in the app. and if that dosn't help much and u still feel that the dialog is muffled , add a small gentle boost in the frq. range 2-4K use the curve Editor to do that.
about the roll-off below 20HZ issue, the news is that they have fixed it , but many users inculding me still have the issue.
originalsnuffy and noobtv like this.
marco1975 is offline  
post #4955 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post
Has anyone found how to solve the Disconnect Problem?

The app recognises my Denon X1500H, but half-way through the first speaker test, it loses connection.
Both the tablet and the Denon are wirelessly connected to my router, and both have a good signal.
I have noticed that the MultEQ Editor requires permission to access my sd card.
My tablet has heaps of storage, but no sd card.
I have found an old micro sd card (2GB) and have installed and formatted it.
Will report if that makes a difference.
Not sure if 2GB will be enough. 🤔
Nordo is offline  
post #4956 of 5119 Old 10-16-2019, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post
Has anyone found how to solve the Disconnect Problem?

The app recognizes my Denon X1500H, but half-way through the first speaker test, it loses connection.
Both the tablet and the Denon are wirelessly connected to my router, and both have a good signal.
I had the same issue. The Android tablet was a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition (SM-P600). Some have suggested that its 3GB of RAM isn't enough. (The app requires at least 2GB.) That's RAM, not flash storage. The AVR and tablet are connected to the router using WiFi.

I get better reliability running the app under Blue Stacks on a Win 10 X64 PC. The PC is hardwired to the router. Communication still fails pretty often on the first measurement, but on the subsequent try, the 8 measurements complete.

Good luck.
Nordo likes this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #4957 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 01:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I had the same issue. The Android tablet was a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition (SM-P600). Some have suggested that its 3GB of RAM isn't enough. (The app requires at least 2GB.) That's RAM, not flash storage. The AVR and tablet are connected to the router using WiFi.

I get better reliability running the app under Blue Stacks on a Win 10 X64 PC. The PC is hardwired to the router. Communication still fails pretty often on the first measurement, but on the subsequent try, the 8 measurements complete.

Good luck.
Thanks Bob.
My tablet is a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 with 16GB storage, but only 2GB of RAM.
I've spent the last week trying all sorts of fixes and work-arounds, and I'm at my wits end.
I have Win 10 (64bit), so I'll try Blue Stacks.
Thanks for the advice.
BTW - how do you get the MultEQ Editor app onto your pc if you have already downloaded it onto your tablet (without having to pay for it again)?
Nordo is offline  
post #4958 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbaucom View Post
make sure you measuring the level with dynamic eq turned off. That boosts the surround levels and may be why they are reading louder. The center should match the front left and right though even with dynamic eq on.
Perhaps, I’m wrong, but if you are using test tones from a disk, like I use the the “Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition”, you are instructed to set your Master Volume to “0”, then take your SPL readings. With the MV set to ZERO, I believe DynamicEQ, is basically OFF. DEQ starts to function as you go down in volume, progressively.

HDTV: Panasonic P55VT50 Plasma
AVR: Denon X3500H
SPEAKERS: Ohm (mains), Chane 2.4 (center), Rythmik F12G (sub), DefTech ProMonitor 80 (sats)
MEDIA PLAYER: Oppo BD83
Mactavish is offline  
post #4959 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post
Perhaps, I’m wrong, but if you are using test tones from a disk, like I use the the “Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition”, you are instructed to set your Master Volume to “0”, then take your SPL readings. With the MV set to ZERO, I believe DynamicEQ, is basically OFF. DEQ starts to function as you go down in volume, progressively.

Do you just want to argue about this? Why not set DynamicEQ off? There is no reason to add another unknown to the mix.
bigguyca is offline  
post #4960 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguyca View Post
Do you just want to argue about this? Why not set DynamicEQ off? There is no reason to add another unknown to the mix.
Huh...argue...

It’s NOT “unknown”. If you understand how DEQ works, there is no need to remember to turn it off, and add an unnecessary step, to the MIX!
jconjason likes this.

HDTV: Panasonic P55VT50 Plasma
AVR: Denon X3500H
SPEAKERS: Ohm (mains), Chane 2.4 (center), Rythmik F12G (sub), DefTech ProMonitor 80 (sats)
MEDIA PLAYER: Oppo BD83
Mactavish is offline  
post #4961 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post
Huh...argue...

It’s NOT “unknown”. If you understand how DEQ works, there is no need to remember to turn it off, and add an unnecessary step, to the MIX!

Unless you have access to the firmware for DEQ, or at least the internal test results, you don't know how it actually works as implemented. It is basic good practice to reduce the number of variables. Just trying to help here. Don't let your ego get in the way of good practice.
bigguyca is offline  
post #4962 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguyca View Post
Unless you have access to the firmware for DEQ, or at least the internal test results, you don't know how it actually works as implemented. It is basic good practice to reduce the number of variables. Just trying to help here. Don't let your ego get in the way of good practice.
Not sure how my “ego” is involved with sharing information?

FROM:
https://audyssey.zendesk.com/hc/en-u...eference-Level


“Audyssey Dynamic EQ is referenced to the standard film mix level. It makes adjustments to maintain the reference response and surround envelopment when the volume is turned down from 0 dB.”

HDTV: Panasonic P55VT50 Plasma
AVR: Denon X3500H
SPEAKERS: Ohm (mains), Chane 2.4 (center), Rythmik F12G (sub), DefTech ProMonitor 80 (sats)
MEDIA PLAYER: Oppo BD83
Mactavish is offline  
post #4963 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post
Perhaps, I’m wrong, but if you are using test tones from a disk, like I use the the “Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition”, you are instructed to set your Master Volume to “0”, then take your SPL readings. With the MV set to ZERO, I believe DynamicEQ, is basically OFF. DEQ starts to function as you go down in volume, progressively.
FYI. Dynamic EQ will operate above 0-dB on the master volume, but in reverse so that it preserve the reference balance, and without any measuring data one can't know for sure what exactly is happening when the master vol. at 0.
Nordo likes this.
marco1975 is offline  
post #4964 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguyca View Post
Unless you have access to the firmware for DEQ, or at least the internal test results, you don't know how it actually works as implemented. It is basic good practice to reduce the number of variables. Just trying to help here. Don't let your ego get in the way of good practice.
Now who's arguing?

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #4965 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,749
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1166 Post(s)
Liked: 977
This app worth the $20 if you're using something less than xt32? Just scooped a new Marantz 5013

"Rockbiter" DO SI18 sub build - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-d...o-si-18-a.html
Ambesolman's Cleverly Titled Theater build - https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-de...ter-build.html
ambesolman is offline  
post #4966 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,606
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4896 Post(s)
Liked: 5267
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambesolman View Post
This app worth the $20 if you're using something less than xt32? Just scooped a new Marantz 5013
The version of Audyssey doesn't have much to do with the worth of the app.

The ability to limit correction, toggle MRC on/off, etc. is valuable regardless.
ambesolman likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #4967 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post
Thanks Bob.
My tablet is a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 with 16GB storage, but only 2GB of RAM.
I've spent the last week trying all sorts of fixes and work-arounds, and I'm at my wits end.
I have Win 10 (64bit), so I'll try Blue Stacks.
Thanks for the advice.
BTW - how do you get the MultEQ Editor app onto your pc if you have already downloaded it onto your tablet (without having to pay for it again)?
I believe if you pay for an app on Google Play then you can install it on all the devices you're signed into.

At least that's how it has worked for me, I have a few apps that I've paid for once installed on both my phone and tablet.

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.
noobtv is offline  
post #4968 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco1975 View Post
FYI. Dynamic EQ will operate above 0-dB on the master volume, but in reverse so that it preserve the reference balance, and without any measuring data one can't know for sure what exactly is happening when the master vol. at 0.
Correct, that’s why in response to the very original OP I used the words “basically” off, as most don’t listen above “0db”. In the context of the original message, for measuring speaker output when using a test disk with properly recorded test tones (levels), your SPL meter shows exactly what’s happening with DEQ on or off at ZERO DB on the master volume when outputting said test tone, and that answer is...... nothing....

A little note on proper test tones for such use:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post58399078

HDTV: Panasonic P55VT50 Plasma
AVR: Denon X3500H
SPEAKERS: Ohm (mains), Chane 2.4 (center), Rythmik F12G (sub), DefTech ProMonitor 80 (sats)
MEDIA PLAYER: Oppo BD83

Last edited by Mactavish; 10-17-2019 at 05:44 PM.
Mactavish is offline  
post #4969 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
I believe if you pay for an app on Google Play then you can install it on all the devices you're signed into.

At least that's how it has worked for me, I have a few apps that I've paid for once installed on both my phone and tablet.
I have installed BlueStacks 4 on my windows 10 pc.
In BlueStacks I can view all the apps I have installed on my android tablet.
I can install any of those apps I select into BlueStacks, EXCEPT MultEQ Editor.
It's indicating that I have to pay again.

I've already paid $30.99 Au to find out that it doesn't work on my tablet.
I don't want to pay another $30.99 to find out that it doesn't work on my pc either.
Nordo is offline  
post #4970 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Why won’t the app (iOS) save the results to receiver? It keeps asking me to save the profile but then says is has a problem and asks to try to save again. Ios app/ tablet and receiver are on the same network and do connect together. Takes me through all 8 Mic positions then won’t save results.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #4971 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 10:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post
I have installed BlueStacks 4 on my windows 10 pc.
In BlueStacks I can view all the apps I have installed on my android tablet.
I can install any of those apps I select into BlueStacks, EXCEPT MultEQ Editor.
It's indicating that I have to pay again.

I've already paid $30.99 Au to find out that it doesn't work on my tablet.
I don't want to pay another $30.99 to find out that it doesn't work on my pc either.
I didn't have to re-buy it to install it under Blue Stacks.

Are any of the other apps that you can see under Blue Stacks paid ones? (Maybe a stupid question.)

I'm in the USA. I don't recall, but I assume that I logged into the Play Store with my Google account.
bobknavs is offline  
post #4972 of 5119 Old 10-17-2019, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Why won’t the app (iOS) save the results to receiver? It keeps asking me to save the profile but then says is has a problem and asks to try to save again. Ios app/ tablet and receiver are on the same network and do connect together. Takes me through all 8 Mic positions then won’t save results.
Not sure what you mean.

In the Android version, the profile is saved on the device. Uploading the saved profile to the AVR is a separate step.
bobknavs is offline  
post #4973 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 01:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post
I have installed BlueStacks 4 on my windows 10 pc.
In BlueStacks I can view all the apps I have installed on my android tablet.
I can install any of those apps I select into BlueStacks, EXCEPT MultEQ Editor.
It's indicating that I have to pay again.

I've already paid $30.99 Au to find out that it doesn't work on my tablet.
I don't want to pay another $30.99 to find out that it doesn't work on my pc either.
Are you logged into your Google account?
Nordo likes this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Sony UBP-X800M2 UHD-BD, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #4974 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Not sure what you mean.

In the Android version, the profile is saved on the device. Uploading the saved profile to the AVR is a separate step.
At the end of the calibration, the app asks to save to receiver. I press yes and after a few seconds it says it was not able to and gives me two options: try again, or, cancel. I keep pressing try again but it still won’t upload the results into the receiver.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #4975 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Michaeldef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Fla
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
At the end of the calibration, the app asks to save to receiver. I press yes and after a few seconds it says it was not able to and gives me two options: try again, or, cancel. I keep pressing try again but it still won’t upload the results into the receiver.
Do a soft reset on the receiver, that worked for me on same problem

Theater 1, Denon AVR X8500 H, 77 inch LG C9,Oled, RBH Signitures & surrounds,etc.SVS PC 4000 sub Oppo 95, Denon DVD 3930, Epson UB 5040 Projection
Michaeldef is offline  
post #4976 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaeldef View Post
Do a soft reset on the receiver, that worked for me on same problem
Just did that and it worked.
Thanks!

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #4977 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
rosstg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
I need to go back and try 250-500HZ for all speakers but this time with an spl meter in hand, the problem I found was what came across as a flat sound on the center overheads and surrounds and less sparkle. I believe a member on this thread said he bumped up the level on a few speakers when limiting correction. This may be true seeing one is removing peaks of who knows how many db at a particular frequency after Audyssey does its thing. Now if one wants to travel further down the rabbit hole , I believe in Kal Rubinson's review of the 8805 he had different limits on surrounds etc.. this is what's great about the app and I no longer ponder over Dirac and the others as its more than I need
I was close to buying a Nad with Dirac but I would miss DEQ too much. I applied house curves, limited MultiEQ to 500hz but I prefer it full range. I was watching Halloween 2018 last night with DEQ off and MultiEQ limited. The beginning where the doctor is talking in the hospital sounded less clear, I had a harder time understanding what he was saying. Bass was lacking as well. Turned DEQ back on with MultiEQ full range and bingo, I could hear every word clearer and the bass was back. The reference curve sounds better in my treated room.

OLED65B7P/ OPPO UDP-203/ DENON X4300H/ Klipsch RP 440c/ Klipsch RP 250f/ Klipsch RP 240s x4/ Klipsch RP 140sa/ Dual SVS PB-1000/ SVS SoundPath Isolation System/ Auralex Mopad riser for center channel/
rosstg is offline  
post #4978 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2409 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
At the end of the calibration, the app asks to save to receiver. I press yes and after a few seconds it says it was not able to and gives me two options: try again, or, cancel. I keep pressing try again but it still won’t upload the results into the receiver.
That's quite different from the Android version. There is no provision to save the file to the iPhone/iPad? Saving and editing the file are the main points to the app. Otherwise, you might as well just use the app in the AVR.
bobknavs is offline  
post #4979 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 1306
Of course, an iPad will save a calibration.

Spoiler!
RickD1225 is offline  
post #4980 of 5119 Old 10-18-2019, 03:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1136 Post(s)
Liked: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco1975 View Post
FYI. Dynamic EQ will operate above 0-dB on the master volume, but in reverse so that it preserve the reference balance, and without any measuring data one can't know for sure what exactly is happening when the master vol. at 0.
To be safe, I always disable DEQ when I use a disc with test tones to double check the SPL.

Only after I'm happy they are balanced do I then engage DEQ.

When I'm running Full Range EQ, I also balance it with Flat..and then switch it to Reference so it can engage the target roll-off.

When I'm running Limited (300hz), I keep it at Reference (since it needs to so it uses the custom curve)..but I then engage CinemaEQ after I balance.

Sony XBR-77A9G / Panasonic DP-UB9000 / Marantz SR7011 / Def Tech 9060 Series
pbz06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon , Marantz , multeq editor app

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off