MultEQ Editor: New App for Denon & Marantz AV Receivers & Pre/Pros - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2543Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 4935 Old 10-02-2017, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Gotcha. I missed that, my fault. I guess seating area is around 6 feet. So the mic positions do in fact match the diagram. But (there’s always a bit), MLP is basically on one side, not the middle. So do I move the starting position to that side and go to middle of couch one way and past arm rest on the other?
Good question. My MLP is the right side of a two person couch. I put the mic 12-18" (give or take) away from that spot for positions 2-8 and dont care much about the other seat. But that's just me, let's see what others do.
gregcss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,951
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12277
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Gotcha. I missed that, my fault. I guess seating area is around 6 feet. So the mic positions do in fact match the diagram. But (there’s always a bit), MLP is basically on one side, not the middle. So do I move the starting position to that side and go to middle of couch one way and past arm rest on the other?
Yup. MLP is where "YOU" set.
ahblaza and bmcn like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1473 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 10:12 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,131
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. MLP is where "YOU" set.
Got it - so I will redo Audyssey one of these days with 8 positions starting at my MLP. So positions relative to couch will be middle of couch on one side to a foot or so past end of couch on other side. I'll try it with both app and AVR as well to see what I wind up with.
vn800art likes this.

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1474 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,951
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12277
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Got it - so I will redo Audyssey one of these days with 8 positions starting at my MLP. So positions relative to couch will be middle of couch on one side to a foot or so past end of couch on other side. I'll try it with both app and AVR as well to see what I wind up with.
Keep in mind .. that some members find that keeping all mic positions within 6" - 1' of the first mic position works best for them.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1475 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 11:49 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,131
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Keep in mind .. that some members find that keeping all mic positions within 6" - 1' of the first mic position works best for them.
Got it - I will give that a try first then. If results aren't as good as I expect - I will try to go to a foot and a half or so.

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #1476 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is anyone using this app with the marantz 7012? Wondering how stable it is. Reviews haven't been that great with it.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #1477 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2212 Post(s)
Liked: 3112
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
Is anyone using this app with the marantz 7012? Wondering how stable it is. Reviews haven't been that great with it.
Many negative reviews posted on this thread are from those unable or unwilling to follow either Audy's instructions or suggestions from other actual users.
krabapple, s44 and Falconsfan71 like this.
bmcn is offline  
post #1478 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahblaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler Country
Posts: 4,006
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2458 Post(s)
Liked: 3400
Would I benefit from this App with the measurements I just took of my Center + sub bass response graphs, I don't even have the 4300 installed yet or the App downloaded, these measurements were taken at various spots around the MLP, I use a tight Audy mic placement within 1' of first spot. Also I use all eight. I'd like to be able to add a custom low end bass response house curve with the App. Guys are saying it doesn't roll of the bottom end below 20Hz, I guess I could find out. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ALL C+ SUB 80 Hz XO 5dB new.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	2292146   Click image for larger version

Name:	AVERAGE C+ SUB 80 Hz XO new.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	2292148  
marco1975 likes this.
ahblaza is offline  
post #1479 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahblaza View Post
Would I benefit from this App with the measurements I just took of my Center + sub bass response graphs, I don't even have the 4300 installed yet or the App downloaded, these measurements were taken at various spots around the MLP, I use a tight Audy mic placement within 1' of first spot. Also I use all eight. I'd like to be able to add a custom low end bass response house curve with the App. Guys are saying it doesn't roll of the bottom end below 20Hz, I guess I could find out. Thanks.
Is that reading 85.7db @ 5hz?
gregcss is offline  
post #1480 of 4935 Old 10-03-2017, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahblaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler Country
Posts: 4,006
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2458 Post(s)
Liked: 3400
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregcss View Post
Is that reading 85.7db @ 5hz?
Yes, I think a bit more, I've read 110dB at 6Hz till the mi8c ran out of headroom, I have to change the gain setting on the UMIK-1 so I can measure higher to do some compression sweeps. these are some random measurements when I was trying to find the best spot for a single sealed sub 7201. Not real good results but not bad with no EQ......at least out to 50Hz

Top graphs sub only, bottom Center +Sub

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	C+SUB BOTTOM SUB ONLY TOP.jpg
Views:	747
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	2292230  
ahblaza is offline  
post #1481 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 01:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
Is anyone using this app with the marantz 7012? Wondering how stable it is. Reviews haven't been that great with it.
True -the App is still Unstable for many users, i been doing some testing many time on
my Marantz 7011+Rotel Rmb-1575 and untill now i find it to be unstable.
marco1975 is offline  
post #1482 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 02:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahblaza View Post
I'd like to be able to add a custom low end bass response house curve with the App. Guys are saying it doesn't roll of the bottom end below 20Hz, I guess I could find out. Thanks.
For the below 20HZ Roll-off, well -lets just say its a question of luck , as u could see from the differents result that has been posted, personally i have the 20HZ Roll-off issue.
But Keep in mind even if u don,t run into the 20HZ Roll-off issue ,it might be a problem for you to customize the low end bass below 20HZ, because i could see in your graph that your bass extend far below that , and if u are thinking about boosting below 20HZ, i think the App. has a limit boost that stops at 20HZ, well more like 25HZ i would say that is my experience with the App.
ahblaza likes this.

Last edited by marco1975; 10-04-2017 at 02:30 AM.
marco1975 is offline  
post #1483 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
Is anyone using this app with the marantz 7012? Wondering how stable it is. Reviews haven't been that great with it.
It probably depends on the phone/tablet too. I've mentioned it in the thread but making sure the app and AVR are up to date helps. The next thing is to do a network reset on the AVR. I have a Denon but I'm guessing the Marantz has the same feature. If you follow those steps ahead of time it should be pretty stable. The number of complaints has really fallen since the introduction of version 1.0 of the app. I actually returned the app the first time I bought it just to send the message to the developers that v1.0 was unstable garbage.
vn800art likes this.
rec head is offline  
post #1484 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Getting the App. to run is one thing , but we still seeing conflicting results from the App. such as the crossover/roll-off/inconsistency and anomalies in the response elc.
still a good and stable software, should never force people to perform Network/AVR. Reset elc. everytime they want to use it. (that if it even works)
marco1975 is offline  
post #1485 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2212 Post(s)
Liked: 3112
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
...I actually returned the app the first time I bought it just to send the message to the developers that v1.0 was unstable garbage.
...for you.
bmcn is offline  
post #1486 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 01:32 PM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,131
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1988 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco1975 View Post
Getting the App. to run is one thing , but we still seeing conflicting results from the App. such as the crossover/roll-off/inconsistency and anomalies in the response elc.

still a good and stable software, should never force people to perform Network/AVR. Reset elc. everytime they want to use it. (that if it even works)


Why would you perform a network/AVR reset each time? I’ve never done this. Is guidance to do so?
ahblaza likes this.

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #1487 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Why would you perform a network/AVR reset each time? I’ve never done this. Is guidance to do so?
No not the guidance, but there has been many cases where the App. woudn,t connect or work properly unless the user perform a Network/AVR. reset.
personally i had to do that 4 times on 4 different occasions for no obvious reason.
but i just mentioned that in regard to the App. still being unstable for some.
marco1975 is offline  
post #1488 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Why would you perform a network/AVR reset each time? I’ve never done this. Is guidance to do so?
I quoted who I was responding to. They asked if the app was stable even though what he was read was negative. jdsmoothie has been recommending it and it has helped me so I recommend it too. I have had the app fail enough times after doing 6-8 positions on a 7.2.4 configuration that it is worth <5 minutes to do the reset at the beginning. The network reset has helped me a lot with stability.
rec head is offline  
post #1489 of 4935 Old 10-04-2017, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahblaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler Country
Posts: 4,006
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2458 Post(s)
Liked: 3400
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
I quoted who I was responding to. They asked if the app was stable even though what he was read was negative. jdsmoothie has been recommending it and it has helped me so I recommend it too. I have had the app fail enough times after doing 6-8 positions on a 7.2.4 configuration that it is worth <5 minutes to do the reset at the beginning. The network reset has helped me a lot with stability.
Could you give the quick answer how to do a network reset, too lazy to look it up, thanks.
ahblaza is offline  
post #1490 of 4935 Old 10-05-2017, 06:17 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,230
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2264 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahblaza View Post
Could you give the quick answer how to do a network reset, too lazy to look it up, thanks.
To prove a point, it took a little less than 2 minutes for me to find this in post 5 of the primary 2016 Denon thread:

Discrete network chip only reset (settings retained)

1 - With the AVR powered ON, select "Online Music" as the input source.
2 - Simultaneously press/hold the: S720W/S920W/X1300W/X2300W/X3300W - "TUNER PRESET CH + / TUNER PRESET CH -; X4300H/X6300H - "DIMMER+ ">" (right arrow)" buttons on the front panel
3 - Hold the buttons for a few seconds until the display reads "Network Restart" and then release the buttons. The process will take a few minutes.

-------------

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #1491 of 4935 Old 10-05-2017, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
marchewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For those doing the network reset every time, are you connected via wired or wireless?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
marchewd is offline  
post #1492 of 4935 Old 10-05-2017, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchewd View Post
For those doing the network reset every time, are you connected via wired or wireless?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
Wired. Everything else on my network is solid. Never tried wireless.
rec head is offline  
post #1493 of 4935 Old 10-05-2017, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
marchewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I wonder if the upnp is causing the issue when you have to do a network reset. The reset would cause different ports to get opened up. I'm still finishing my room, so I haven't unboxed by new 7703 yet. I did buy the app to try out though.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Last edited by marchewd; 10-05-2017 at 01:15 PM.
marchewd is offline  
post #1494 of 4935 Old 10-07-2017, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
banyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 88
hi guys.

can the denon s720w use this app?
banyar is offline  
post #1495 of 4935 Old 10-07-2017, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
marco1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by banyar View Post
hi guys.

can the denon s720w use this app?
.
Yes -The Denon AVR-S720W is ready, to use with MultiEQ Editor App
marco1975 is offline  
post #1496 of 4935 Old 10-07-2017, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Forgive me if this has already been covered, but how easy is it to adjust the target EQ curve? I never liked how bright Audyssey made my speakers (I have tried all the recommended fixes for this to no avail), so I would probably upgrade my receiver soon if I could properly tame the treble through the app.

Can you only adjust it graphically by dragging sliders? Is there a more repeatable way to enter in specific dB cut for a given frequency range? Does it apply it universally to all speakers, or can I do it for individual speakers/pairs?

Thank you!
bochoss is offline  
post #1497 of 4935 Old 10-07-2017, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,604
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2328 Post(s)
Liked: 1657
Quote:
Originally Posted by banyar View Post
hi guys.

can the denon s720w use this app?
Yes.

https://usa.denon.com/us/product/hom...ulteqeditorapp
bobknavs is offline  
post #1498 of 4935 Old 10-07-2017, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
banyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 88
thank you guys...
banyar is offline  
post #1499 of 4935 Old 10-08-2017, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
gregcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochoss View Post
Forgive me if this has already been covered, but how easy is it to adjust the target EQ curve? I never liked how bright Audyssey made my speakers (I have tried all the recommended fixes for this to no avail), so I would probably upgrade my receiver soon if I could properly tame the treble through the app.

Can you only adjust it graphically by dragging sliders? Is there a more repeatable way to enter in specific dB cut for a given frequency range? Does it apply it universally to all speakers, or can I do it for individual speakers/pairs?

Thank you!
This is not a direct answer to your questions, but I found that limiting the EQ up-to 500hz helped tame the brightness audyssey "added".

Last edited by gregcss; 10-08-2017 at 08:00 AM.
gregcss is offline  
post #1500 of 4935 Old 10-08-2017, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2212 Post(s)
Liked: 3112
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochoss View Post
Forgive me if this has already been covered, but how easy is it to adjust the target EQ curve? I never liked how bright Audyssey made my speakers (I have tried all the recommended fixes for this to no avail), so I would probably upgrade my receiver soon if I could properly tame the treble through the app.

Can you only adjust it graphically by dragging sliders? Is there a more repeatable way to enter in specific dB cut for a given frequency range? Does it apply it universally to all speakers, or can I do it for individual speakers/pairs?

Thank you!
The sliders aren't too precise. As Greg mentioned, using the app to limit Audy's range to LFs is very effective.
bmcn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Audyssey , Denon , Marantz , multeq editor app

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off