Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 121 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16295Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 4977 Old 07-15-2018, 03:28 PM
Member
 
wernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post
My directv genie (not mini) is changing channels very slowly, audio will come in several seconds before video. I had an older HDMI attached to it but now all cables are Monoprice premium certified but the channel flipping hasn't gotten any better. In general, changing inputs is pretty slow compared to my RX-A1000. Not exactly sure why. I'm using a harmony remote, same as I've been using for years so don't think the issue is there.
I also have the Monoprice premium cables and a harmony remote but when I take the receiver out of the equation it solves the problem. So the Yamaha is where the problem is I'd say. When I go to the 4k channel the sound field comes up, but before you get any sound it goes away, only to reappear and then disappear again, etc, etc, etc. I never get a picture, tries to give me sound it appears but it never gets that far and the tv doesn't think there's even a signal coming in at that point
wernd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Has anyone noticed the new remote that comes with the 2018 Yamaha Aventage receivers on the Yamaha site.
dannphou is offline  
post #3603 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Delija's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NS
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 283


I would like too see remote like this (brushed aluminum) - at least with flagship RX-A3080:

vasans likes this.

Anthem MRX 720 | Parasound Halo A21
Dynaudio Contour 60 | Dynaudio Excite X28 | Dynaudio Emit M20 | 2x SVS SB16-Ultra
LG OLED65C7V
Delija is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3604 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,233
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6521 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3605 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,556
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6244 Post(s)
Liked: 5543
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I have a new A3070 that replaced my previous Denon X4000 and I have the same feeling than you a front stage only kind of sound, expanding the center to the sides (Dolby Surround) improved the wideness feeling but that's all.
My speaker setup is 5.1.2 (the ".2" are now Front Presence as they were the former audissey height speakers, mid-way between fronts and listening position) and my TV is connected via HDMI ARC and I have no problem with the connection, but when watching TV programs that deliver 2 channel Dolby Surround I have almost no surround nor side nor "height", no immersive feeling at all, almost like listening to stereo + center.
When watching a TV program that delivers 5.1 encoded sound the case is a bit better and I feel that increasing the surround speakers' level would improve the situation but this is only a 1 of.

Of course listening to BRs is another piece of cake but unfortunately TV sound is 90 % of our use.

Did you solve your setup or did you definitively went back to Audissey ?
I am seriously considering sending back the 3070 and maybe switching to a Marrantz 8012 .... ? ( I definitely for other reasons don't want to go back to any Denon).
If you were using Dynamic EQ on the Denon (without adjusting surround speaker trims down), that is probably why you feel the surround channels are less active on the Yamaha. Audyssey DEQ is notorious for over-boosting the surround channels.
Alan P is offline  
post #3606 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #3607 of 4977 Old 07-16-2018, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,631
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3803 Post(s)
Liked: 3002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?
A crowbar?
Alan P, Ralarcon, tomd51 and 5 others like this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #3608 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?
Sorry for your dilemma. In the construction trade they say: measure twice, cut once. Same principle applies in this hobby. Anyway, if you post a pic of your cabinet, maybe someone can give you a quick suggestion.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #3609 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 06:00 AM
Member
 
pab1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question Where

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd5309 View Post
the 3070 is now down to 1299. i currently own a 675 and i have really enjoyed this receiver compared to the Onkyo i had before.

Any reason to wait for the 3080? The only thing about the 3080 is the ability to use musiccast speakers as wireless surround. My room is challenging at best for running wires. I currently use a rocketfish wireless adapter for surround. As for the rest of speakers i'm using mythos st-l as L/R and cs9080 as center and some really cheap a$$ stuff for surround, which i hope to upgrade soon.
Where is the 3070 priced at 1299 found? What store/site. Thank You.
pab1219 is offline  
post #3610 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,073
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by pab1219 View Post
Where is the 3070 priced at 1299 found? What store/site. Thank You.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...ls-sticky.html
ChromeJob likes this.
DonoMan is offline  
post #3611 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 06:52 AM
Member
 
pab1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay.
pab1219 is offline  
post #3612 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 07:43 AM
Member
 
trevorlj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?
It's a little expensive but this is deep and works well:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000W8JK5G/
A 3070 fits on the normal shelfs (not just the top).
trevorlj is offline  
post #3613 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?
If the cabinet is just not deep enough, either remove the back panel or make a cutout for the receiver to hang out the back some while maintaining that the rear feet are stillon the shelf.

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro, Yamaha RX-Z11 Receiver, (Amps Only) Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x 2, Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #3614 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,727
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2011 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumX View Post
If YPAO shows correction curves, that must be a newer feature. My 2006 era Yamaha doesn't show anything for the curves.
I have this on my 2012(?) RX-V775. It's been in Yamahas for a while. It doesn't just show them, you can go in and tweak them: the center freq, the spread, the "Q" value. As they used to say, "hours of fun!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumX View Post
I hope the newer YPAO works better than my old one from 2006/7. ... Clearly, it's not a perfect process, but then they've had 11 years to improve on it.
If that was a question, you've answered it yourself I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pab1219 View Post
Where is the 3070 priced at 1299 found? What store/site. Thank You.
There's a "Deals" thread where you can ask about/discuss pricing.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3615 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mickey Mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 168
that's just the PEQ part which is by far not the whole thing!
you can't see (neither modify) the R.S.C. part of the YPAO correction.
and since PEQ and R.S.C. are working together and "correct each other", just looking at the PEQ doesn't show the real correction and is even misleading!

NEVER believe you are seeing the real YPAO correction by looking at the PEQ settings!
Mickey Mouse is offline  
post #3616 of 4977 Old 07-17-2018, 10:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1095 Post(s)
Liked: 604
I've installed my two PSB B15s as front height (presence) speakers on my older Yamaha (2007) receiver (top book shelf on either side of the 92" drop screen), which finally let me try out dialog lift (hopefully help me decide to go with the Yamaha A3070 or a Denon model that has Auro 3D and Audyssey). The effect is pretty picky about speaker distances. Changing the presence or center channel a half foot even can change where the image appears to come from. Once dialed in, it's a pretty nice effect with the big screen. It doesn't just raise dialog. It raises the entire sound stage and widens it vertically (to varying amounts depending on the DSP mode). Now when I put on Sebastian Manascalco's What's Wrong With People, despite only being 2-channel sound, not only does his voice finally come from his face (instead of under the screen), but the audience laughter comes from all along the sides of the screen, along the entire vertical path. It's almost like the audio in the front finally matches the sheer size of the screen. Even the Maltese Falcon in "Mono" DSP mode sounds like a big wall of sound from behind the screen with room echoes like I'm sitting in a larger theater (adjustable size). I'd say the effect has definitely put another chip in Yamaha's favor.

What I'm less sure of is how that height position (starts just under top of ceiling in the front) would sound with two more (likely PSB CS500 swivel/outdoor versions of the Image B5) mounted just under the ceiling in the back of the room. They're high up, but the angles are different than the ceiling mount recommendations. Even if I wanted to install ceiling speakers (I don't), I doubt the dialog lift feature would work the same as Dolby wants the front top speakers quite a ways out from the screen/speaker area for front ceiling. Instead of simulating rear surround or presence speakers on the newer models, I'm thinking they should be simulating additional ceiling locations. I don't think the simulated speakers currently work in Atmos/X modes regardless, though.

Click THEATER (Updated: May-22-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 8-21-19)
MagnumX is offline  
post #3617 of 4977 Old 07-18-2018, 11:46 AM
Member
 
patrickjherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have an RX-A2070 and I can't figure out this glitch. When using my turntable the receiver insists on turning on the TV. When I turn off the TV and hit a space between the songs, the receiver switches to another input (Apple TV.) I know I can get the TV to turn off by using pure direct, but I want to listen in 9 channel stereo or one of the other modes.

My searching and manual reading so far is not working. Any ideas?

Thanks
patrickjherbert is offline  
post #3618 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So Im going from 3.1 to 5.1. Would you all recommend side or rear surrounds? If rear they will be wall mounted, if sides they will be on a thin non bulky wife acceptable speaker stand that MUST completely disguise the wiring. 😉
Euphorios is offline  
post #3619 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 12:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,357
Mentioned: 722 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22207 Post(s)
Liked: 12066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphorios View Post
So Im going from 3.1 to 5.1. Would you all recommend side or rear surrounds? If rear they will be wall mounted, if sides they will be on a thin non bulky wife acceptable speaker stand that MUST completely disguise the wiring. 😉
Ideally a 5.1 setup uses "side" surrounds while a 7.1 setup adds "rear" surrounds. Regardless of where you place the "side" surrounds, they will still be connected to the SURROUND speaker posts and receive "side" surround audio.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3620 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 12:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphorios View Post
So Im going from 3.1 to 5.1. Would you all recommend side or rear surrounds? If rear they will be wall mounted, if sides they will be on a thin non bulky wife acceptable speaker stand that MUST completely disguise the wiring. 😉
Ideally a 5.1 setup uses "side" surrounds while a 7.1 setup adds "rear" surrounds. Regardless of where you place the "side" surrounds, they will still be connected to the SURROUND speaker posts and receive "side" surround audio.
Because of room shape i cannot get my side surrounds equidistant from the MLP. If I ensure they are at least ear level can ypao use distance to adjust delay automatically or will I have to manually increase delay of closer side surround speaker?
Euphorios is offline  
post #3621 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 12:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,357
Mentioned: 722 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22207 Post(s)
Liked: 12066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphorios View Post
Because of room shape i cannot get my side surrounds equidistant from the MLP. If I ensure they are at least ear level can ypao use distance to adjust delay automatically or will I have to manually increase delay of closer side surround speaker?
The on board room EQ (ie. YPAO) handles that.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3622 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have a connection problem with my new 3070 when using my PJ connected to the 3070's HDMI OUT 2 .
This is my layout :
Output:
4K TV connected to HDMI OUT 1
JVC RS56 (hdcp 1.x) connected to HDMI OUT 2
Input:
BR player (Panasonic BDT500 hdcp 1.x) to AV1
Adsl box ( hdcp 2.2 capable ) to AV2

With the BR player, the PJ is OK
With the box I get a few picture flashes then the 3070 displays a screen saying I must connect an hdcp 2.2 device.
Of course the box is sending only regular TV stuff, or even its own menu.
I have set the box to force 1080P output, and it is true even if I disconnect the TV leaving the PJ alone on any of the 2 HDMI outs.

But when I connect the PJ direct to the box, it is OK too. So I guess it is an hdcp issue with the 3070, is there a setting that I'm missing ?
Maybe this has been discussed before ?
Thks.
jj-34 is offline  
post #3623 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I found the solution, I put an HDMI splitter in between the box and the 3070 ...... and it works !
jj-34 is offline  
post #3624 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey all: new here. Have a few questions. First a run down of what Im working with: the AV receiver obviously is the 3070. Front speakers are Klipsch 280FA (built in atmos speaker on top), center is Klipsch 450C, sub is Klipsch 112sw. Being a noob at higher end receivers, I want to make sure I connected this stuff correctly. For the 280FA's I have them bi-amped using the Front and Extra SP 1 connections. The atmos channels of the 280FA's are connected to the Extra SP 2 terminals. Sub is connected at the Front 1 pre-out. From there I set the Yamaha to the 5.1 configuration setting so the bi-amp will be activated. Is this the correct way to go about setting this up? Next Q - I have Directv with wireless genie mini. The Mini is plugged into AV2 (Blueray into AV1) and then the TV is connected to ARC on the HDMI Output terminals. When I switch to watching TV the subwoofer icon goes away on the front screen on the receiver and the sub doesnt play. How can I get the sub to be included for TV watching?
PioneerG is offline  
post #3625 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,556
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6244 Post(s)
Liked: 5543
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioneerG View Post
Hey all: new here. Have a few questions. First a run down of what Im working with: the AV receiver obviously is the 3070. Front speakers are Klipsch 280FA (built in atmos speaker on top), center is Klipsch 450C, sub is Klipsch 112sw. Being a noob at higher end receivers, I want to make sure I connected this stuff correctly. For the 280FA's I have them bi-amped using the Front and Extra SP 1 connections. The atmos channels of the 280FA's are connected to the Extra SP 2 terminals. Sub is connected at the Front 1 pre-out. From there I set the Yamaha to the 5.1 configuration setting so the bi-amp will be activated. Is this the correct way to go about setting this up? Next Q - I have Directv with wireless genie mini. The Mini is plugged into AV2 (Blueray into AV1) and then the TV is connected to ARC on the HDMI Output terminals. When I switch to watching TV the subwoofer icon goes away on the front screen on the receiver and the sub doesnt play. How can I get the sub to be included for TV watching?
Skip the passive bi-amping. It does nothing but waste speaker wire.

The subwoofer should be connected to the SUBWOOFER out, not the FRONT pre-out.

Make sure the ARC input isn't set to PURE or DIRECT, that could be the issue with no subwoofer.
Alan P is offline  
post #3626 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1095 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Skip the passive bi-amping. It does nothing but waste speaker wire.
Are you sure you're not confusing bi-amping with bi-wiring? (based on your speaker wire comment) as bi-amping still does SOMETHING even with passive crossovers (~3dB more potential maximum power goes to each set of drivers unless the receiver automatically compensates for that without using more channels). With an active crossover, there is no choice but to bi-amp (any extra power savings are due to restricting bandwidth).

Quote:
The subwoofer should be connected to the SUBWOOFER out, not the FRONT pre-out.

Make sure the ARC input isn't set to PURE or DIRECT, that could be the issue with no subwoofer.
I think it's more likely because he has the subwoofer plugged into the pre-out and the system set to 5.1 that it's not sending much bass to the subwoofer because the pre-out would be the front channel bass and 5.1 typically sends most of that bass to the sub instead unless the front speakers are set to large. The sub icon disappears (based on my older yamaha) is more likely to do with a 5.1 or greater signal not being present on some TV stations (stereo only shows up as two icons. However, that doesn't mean the sub output isn't being used if it's redirecting the main channel bass to itself. Even if he wants the main channels to do their own full bass and let the subwoofer just to the LFE channel, he needs to connect it to the subwoofer output instead and then set the receiver output to do what he wants instead (large for bass to whatever full range speakers or small to send the bass to the sub with a possible "bass to 'sub', 'front' or 'both' setting as well).

Click THEATER (Updated: May-22-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 8-21-19)
MagnumX is offline  
post #3627 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
There is no subwoofer output per say, if you look at the back panel the lfe for the subwoofer comes off the Front (1) output plugin. Take a look at a back panel pic to reference what I am talking about.
PioneerG is offline  
post #3628 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1095 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioneerG View Post
There is no subwoofer output per say, if you look at the back panel the lfe for the subwoofer comes off the Front (1) output plugin. Take a look at a back panel pic to reference what I am talking about.
That's "Front" and "Rear" Subwoofer connections (on the right). The actual "front" speakers (which is probably what had us both confused) is to the left of there (far left pre-out). So long as the sub output is used (front sub would be the first to use). I don't know why they called it "front" "rear" as a second sub could be used left, right or even behind the couch in the middle of the room. Bass waves below 80Hz aren't directional. Evening out response is what works best.

Click THEATER (Updated: May-22-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 8-21-19)

Last edited by MagnumX; 07-19-2018 at 03:45 PM.
MagnumX is offline  
post #3629 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
whitey019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioneerG View Post
There is no subwoofer output per say, if you look at the back panel the lfe for the subwoofer comes off the Front (1) output plugin. Take a look at a back panel pic to reference what I am talking about.
That's Front(1) and Rear(2) subwoofers.
whitey019 is offline  
post #3630 of 4977 Old 07-19-2018, 10:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is atmos supposed to be displayed on the AVR because I want to make sure my equipment is working right. I'm using a popcorn hour V10 which I thought was atmos capable but avr display only says DTHD on the AVR display when the audio signal coming in Is supposed to be atmoss. I don't have atmos speakers yet so I can't test the actual speakers.

Last edited by leiff; 07-19-2018 at 10:33 PM.
leiff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off