Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 122 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16307Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3631 of 5024 Old 07-20-2018, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,831
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3248 Post(s)
Liked: 2552
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickjherbert View Post
I have an RX-A2070 and I can't figure out this glitch. When using my turntable the receiver insists on turning on the TV. When I turn off the TV and hit a space between the songs, the receiver switches to another input (Apple TV.) I know I can get the TV to turn off by using pure direct, but I want to listen in 9 channel stereo or one of the other modes.

My searching and manual reading so far is not working. Any ideas?

Thanks
Turn off HDMI Control.
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3632 of 5024 Old 07-20-2018, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
Is atmos supposed to be displayed on the AVR because I want to make sure my equipment is working right. I'm using a popcorn hour V10 which I thought was atmos capable but avr display only says DTHD on the AVR display when the audio signal coming in Is supposed to be atmoss. I don't have atmos speakers yet so I can't test the actual speakers.
Atmos only shows up when you have Dolby Atmos Speakers connected. Otherwise, it’s going to default to DTHD ( which I’m assuming is Dolby TrueHD?).
dannphou is offline  
post #3633 of 5024 Old 07-20-2018, 02:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,831
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3248 Post(s)
Liked: 2552
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
Is atmos supposed to be displayed on the AVR
Yes. But only if you have an Atmos system.
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3634 of 5024 Old 07-20-2018, 05:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumX View Post
Are you sure you're not confusing bi-amping with bi-wiring? (based on your speaker wire comment) as bi-amping still does SOMETHING even with passive crossovers (~3dB more potential maximum power goes to each set of drivers unless the receiver automatically compensates for that without using more channels). With an active crossover, there is no choice but to bi-amp (any extra power savings are due to restricting bandwidth).



I think it's more likely because he has the subwoofer plugged into the pre-out and the system set to 5.1 that it's not sending much bass to the subwoofer because the pre-out would be the front channel bass and 5.1 typically sends most of that bass to the sub instead unless the front speakers are set to large. The sub icon disappears (based on my older yamaha) is more likely to do with a 5.1 or greater signal not being present on some TV stations (stereo only shows up as two icons. However, that doesn't mean the sub output isn't being used if it's redirecting the main channel bass to itself. Even if he wants the main channels to do their own full bass and let the subwoofer just to the LFE channel, he needs to connect it to the subwoofer output instead and then set the receiver output to do what he wants instead (large for bass to whatever full range speakers or small to send the bass to the sub with a possible "bass to 'sub', 'front' or 'both' setting as well).
It was a directv box setting that was screwing things up - I changed the audio output from I think auto to Dolby and it brought the subwoofer back online.
PioneerG is offline  
post #3635 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 12:42 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Time View Post
You are spot on that the sound stage is more front based, I feel as thought I have a wall of sound in front of me and not an expansive bubble around me.



I have adjusted my speaker to hit 75dB but my sub is barely registering on the meter. Even if I up the gain to full on the sub to full it barely touches 68dB. Any ideas what is going on here?



My room size is about 13'x 23' and my rears are situated 5' behind my listen position.
I'm going from a Marantz SR7011 to a Yamaha RX2070, and I'm considering to send it back to the dealer, as you I also fell that the soundstage are in front of me instead of sorrunding me like the Marantz did. In multi position the levels are way of on the Yamaha on Marantz they were spot on, according to my radioschack spl
jespermart is offline  
post #3636 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jespermart View Post
I'm going from a Marantz SR7011 to a Yamaha RX2070, and I'm considering to send it back to the dealer, as you I also fell that the soundstage are in front of me instead of sorrunding me like the Marantz did. In multi position the levels are way of on the Yamaha on Marantz they were spot on, according to my radioschack spl
I must chime in here, as I have the same situation, I exchanged my older Denon X4000 with a new A3070, and after a full week and help of friendly forumers I cannot tame this YPAO and be happy with the result as I was used to with the X4000's Audissey.
Of course the 3070 sound and musicality is a lot better but the surrounding is very bad in my physical environment.

So out goes the 3070 and in comes a Marantz SR8012 that I am lucky enough to get for a very good price (an almost new demo unit) and back again with Audissey

Sorry guys but after reading this Yamaha thread (and the 3060 thread) I had such high expectations unfortunately disappointed as much.

Last edited by jj-34; 07-21-2018 at 01:10 AM.
jj-34 is offline  
post #3637 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 08:39 AM
Member
 
patrickjherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Turn off HDMI Control.
I was hoping it was possible to just disable this for the phono input without losing HDMI control functionality.
patrickjherbert is offline  
post #3638 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Most TVs can turn off just the power on/off function. This lets the TV turn off the receiver but not the other way around. You then use the TV power to turn on the system and the receiver can be turned on/off separately for music only. I'd turn cec off for Apple TV, though as it can end up turning things off when it goes to sleep even if you're watching something else.

Click THEATER (Updated: Oct-19-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 10-13-19)
MagnumX is online now  
post #3639 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,250
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
I use HDMI-CEC for my TV and 2070, but leave it off for source devices such as ps4. This way I get ARC and let the 2070 turn off automatically when TV is powered down. Yet I can minimize any issues with source devices.

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3640 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,250
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Also, I turn off the hdmi device control in each scene I use.

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3641 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,588
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
If the cabinet is just not deep enough, either remove the back panel or make a cutout for the receiver to hang out the back some while maintaining that the rear feet are stillon the shelf.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasanii19 View Post
I bought the 3070 and it doesn’t fit my tv cabinet. Does anyone have any recommendations on what you use?
The suggestion above works for that type of shortage of space. If its up and down, post a pic I may have a few idea's.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3642 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 04:39 PM
Member
 
glock115's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have the 1070 with a PS4 pro and Xbox one x connected to it. I'm only able to play each system on mode 2. If I switch to mode 1 the video goes between a blank screen and the actual video source. When I connect the Xbox and PS4 directly to the tv then everything works fine.
I'm at my wit's end, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
glock115 is offline  
post #3643 of 5024 Old 07-21-2018, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandle View Post
I have a bit of an update on this now. I got home from work tonight and have connected the HDMI lead into the 2nd output on the receiver and bang up comes the HDR content on the TV with a good HDMI handshake. All using my existing leads. So I will talk to Yamaha tomorrow but I think my main HDMI out is faulty.

Hey guys, I have a problem similar to this. HDMI out to a projector via the AVR, everything was working fine, but today I turn it on and cannot get a video signal from the AVR. It won't even show the OSD. I have tried different cables, different outputs (projector + monitor), reset the AVR settings, pulled power out and put back in, tried both of the HDMI out ports... nothing. Both the projector and the monitor appear to recognize that a connection is made (i..e when i pull out the HDMI cable each device shows "no cable" instead of "no signal").



The "HDMI In" light was on, but after I pulled the power out and put it back in that light is no longer on.



Any suggestions? I am going nuts. The AVR is less than 6 months old.
Moogar is offline  
post #3644 of 5024 Old 07-22-2018, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
leeatmg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am having some strange connection issues, and hoping someone can help. Just renovated my TV room (not a true theater room but as close as I can get.) Mounted my projector (Epson 5025UB) and ran all wires through the ceiling, including an active fiber HDMI cable to the receiver (Yamaha 2070) in the front of the room. Tested everything before I closed it all up, though I did not test the exact final combination of receiver and projector (tested the HDMI with one source to make sure the cable worked properly.)

The active fiber HDMI cable works fine with sources connected directly to the projector (BluRay player, Apple TV4k, STB all work fine connected directly.) When the active fibre HDMI is connected through the Yamaha receiver, I get no picture from the projector and it sometimes kills the audio too. When I connect the projector to the receiver with an old 50' passive HDMI cable, everything works fine.

Seems odd to me that the new active HDMI cable would not work but the old cable would, and that they would both work with direct connections. The only combo that does not work is when using the active cable with the receiver to the projector. Then again, nothing surprises me with HDMI.

I have tried the usual things already (factory reset of receiver, updating firmware, and so on) along with every setting I can think of on the receiver.

Any suggestions short of ripping my ceiling open to run a new cable?

Thanks in advance. Been tearing my hair out over this for two days. Very little left now.

---Lee
leeatmg is offline  
post #3645 of 5024 Old 07-22-2018, 01:51 PM
Member
 
jimform2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does the receiver volume need to be at a certain level before the ypao calibration begins?

thanks
jimform2k1 is offline  
post #3646 of 5024 Old 07-22-2018, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,250
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimform2k1 View Post
Does the receiver volume need to be at a certain level before the ypao calibration begins?

thanks
no

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3647 of 5024 Old 07-22-2018, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Razor Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I have a new A3070 that replaced my previous Denon X4000 and I have the same feeling than you a front stage only kind of sound, expanding the center to the sides (Dolby Surround) improved the wideness feeling but that's all.
My speaker setup is 5.1.2 (the ".2" are now Front Presence as they were the former audissey height speakers, mid-way between fronts and listening position) and my TV is connected via HDMI ARC and I have no problem with the connection, but when watching TV programs that deliver 2 channel Dolby Surround I have almost no surround nor side nor "height", no immersive feeling at all, almost like listening to stereo + center.
When watching a TV program that delivers 5.1 encoded sound the case is a bit better and I feel that increasing the surround speakers' level would improve the situation but this is only a 1 of.

Of course listening to BRs is another piece of cake but unfortunately TV sound is 90 % of our use.

Did you solve your setup or did you definitively went back to Audissey ?
I am seriously considering sending back the 3070 and maybe switching to a Marrantz 8012 .... ? ( I definitely for other reasons don't want to go back to any Denon).



I ended up sending the 2070 back and stayed with the Marantz SR7012, I much prefer the sound from the Marantz.
saenzo likes this.

Sony 75” 75XE9405/ Marantz SR7012/ Monitor Audio Apex A10/ A40/ SVS SB2000/ HTPC/ Nevo S70
Razor Time is offline  
post #3648 of 5024 Old 07-23-2018, 02:28 AM
Senior Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Time View Post
I ended up sending the 2070 back and stayed with the Marantz SR7012, I much prefer the sound from the Marantz.
My 3070 went back this morning, to be exchanged with a SR8012 demo unit (as new and original warranty).
So for me too back to Audissey as I had a Denon X4000 before since 2014.
saenzo and Rhino2 like this.
jj-34 is offline  
post #3649 of 5024 Old 07-23-2018, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Razor Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
My 3070 went back this morning, to be exchanged with a SR8012 demo unit (as new and original warranty).
So for me too back to Audissey as I had a Denon X4000 before since 2014.
I'm sure you will be pleased with the SR8012.
Razor Time is offline  
post #3650 of 5024 Old 07-23-2018, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,250
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
So, I got a MiniDSP 2x4 HD for sub PEQ for more bands (10 vs. 4) and exacting precision for frequencies, Qs, and gains. As effective as the Yamaha manual PEQ was, this is worth the upgrade for the discerning enthusiast. Wasn't quite as happy with the 2x4 unbalanced, though, as the processing on that unit didn't sound as good as manual PEQ despite measuring better.

The 2x4HD does the biquad calculations in 96kHz and has 2Vrms in and out and generally has a lot more processing power. Makes it match well with my 2070.

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3651 of 5024 Old 07-24-2018, 01:47 PM
M7C
Member
 
M7C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj-34 View Post
I must chime in here, as I have the same situation, I exchanged my older Denon X4000 with a new A3070, and after a full week and help of friendly forumers I cannot tame this YPAO and be happy with the result as I was used to with the X4000's Audissey.
Of course the 3070 sound and musicality is a lot better but the surrounding is very bad in my physical environment.

So out goes the 3070 and in comes a Marantz SR8012 that I am lucky enough to get for a very good price (an almost new demo unit) and back again with Audissey

Sorry guys but after reading this Yamaha thread (and the 3060 thread) I had such high expectations unfortunately disappointed as much.
I keep checking this thread as I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on an A3070. It really seems like YPAO is pretty unpopular with a lot of folks, which is disappointing. I (just about) settled on Yamaha as they seem to have a pretty good reputation overall and my venerable HTR-5490 had held up pretty well. I'm not a fan of Onkyo after my experience with them and it seems Denon and Marantz also tend to have more issues than Yamaha. It's making it very difficult to settle on an AVR in this price range.

IMO for ~$2k you should get something very reliable that sounds great but not top tier. Maybe around the 90th percentile as I know going up from there can get exponentially more expensive. But maybe that's what I need to consider doing.
M7C is offline  
post #3652 of 5024 Old 07-24-2018, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Red Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 415
I had the screen go black on my A3070 yesterday with a purple\green line running through the screen for a split second when listening to a stereo track. I switched sources and then switched back to the original source. I got audio back again and it took about 5 or 6 seconds for the video to reappear. I just upgraded to the latest firmware version in the last week, has not happened before. TV is just a cheap 1080p 50 inch connected via HDMI 1 output and the input device was my PC. Has anyone else experience a similar issue?

Stormbreaker | Wisconsin Home Theater Meet Thread | The Devastator Index
You can always turn it down, but you can only turn it up so much (before you run out of power, excursion or structural integrity).
7.1.4 | Yamaha A3070 | Crown XLS 1502 | iNuke 3000 DSP | 2x Aphex 124A | 2x Bic EV15 | 7x Bic FH6 LCR | 2x Bic FH65-B | Epson 5010e | 120" DIY AT Screen
Red Five is online now  
post #3653 of 5024 Old 07-24-2018, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
H Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by M7C View Post
I keep checking this thread as I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on an A3070. It really seems like YPAO is pretty unpopular with a lot of folks, which is disappointing. I (just about) settled on Yamaha as they seem to have a pretty good reputation overall and my venerable HTR-5490 had held up pretty well. I'm not a fan of Onkyo after my experience with them and it seems Denon and Marantz also tend to have more issues than Yamaha. It's making it very difficult to settle on an AVR in this price range.

IMO for ~$2k you should get something very reliable that sounds great but not top tier. Maybe around the 90th percentile as I know going up from there can get exponentially more expensive. But maybe that's what I need to consider doing.
YPAO is not unpopular in general, there are a few who wish the subwoofer EQ section did more. Still those few have and keep their Yamaha's. Denon, Marantz, Onkyo are all great receivers despite the few issues that you read about online, you need to determine which receiver provides you with all of the features that you want.

If they all do, then I would suggest you go to a store where you can listen to them and go through the menus and pick the one that you feel most comfortable with.
H Stevens is offline  
post #3654 of 5024 Old 07-24-2018, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Holy smokes. It’s almost the end of July and these high end 2018 Yamahas aren’t out yet. I hope we don’t have to wait until August.


EDIT: ITS AVAILABLE ON US AMAZON, just got an email. But takes, 1 to 3 months to ship.... lol, what?

Last edited by dannphou; 07-25-2018 at 10:28 AM.
dannphou is offline  
post #3655 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,588
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3656 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by H Stevens View Post
YPAO is not unpopular in general, there are a few who wish the subwoofer EQ section did more. Still those few have and keep their Yamaha's. Denon, Marantz, Onkyo are all great receivers despite the few issues that you read about online, you need to determine which receiver provides you with all of the features that you want.

If they all do, then I would suggest you go to a store where you can listen to them and go through the menus and pick the one that you feel most comfortable with.

I thought I'd have to go Yamaha to keep dialog lift (once you get it working and "dialed in" for distance/phase, it sound so awesome as a giant wall of sound (for a large screen that is). It makes the theater screen sound like I"m really at a theater in the front. But I've gotten this crazy notion of using a 4-channel mixer plus an old second receiver (or the one I will replace with a new one) to drive a mixer-based combined L+R+C into 2-channel signal to drive the top height speakers. Once I get the new Atmos receiver, I'll then feed the top front pre-out into the mixer as well and it will lift the entire soundstage (at any height I choose with the mixer and can balance different height center or fronts if needed) plus send the Atmos/X/Auro height channe to the same speaker. This basically gives any receiver "dialog lift" and unlike Yamaha works in every single mode you use (like your front speakers suddenly just got taller like a Martin Logan or my Carver AL-IIIs).

I'm now thinking Denon 11 or 13 channel plus my old Yamaha = 7.1.4 or 7.1.6 or 9.1.4. and still have the sweet sweet effect of having a wall of sound for the front L/R/C channels. I might lose a bit for bed/height separation in the front, but it should sound like it's either coming from the screen or above it or to the sides anyway. What's the purpose of bed sounds BELOW the screen level? It doesn't really line up.

Click THEATER (Updated: Oct-19-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 10-13-19)
MagnumX is online now  
post #3657 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey guys I saw the a2070 can drive all channels at 40w with .01thd. Im currently running 3.1 and planning to move to 5.1.4 do I definitely need another amplifier to be able to do this? I dont listen at reference level as I have a baby but I was wondering if the quality of sound would diminish due to driving all channels. If so I will do 5.1.2 until i can get an extra amp. Is 5.1.2 worth doing or should i go 5.1 and save for an amp first?
Euphorios is offline  
post #3658 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,089
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphorios View Post
Hey guys I saw the a2070 can drive all channels at 40w with .01thd. Im currently running 3.1 and planning to move to 5.1.4 do I definitely need another amplifier to be able to do this? I dont listen at reference level as I have a baby but I was wondering if the quality of sound would diminish due to driving all channels. If so I will do 5.1.2 until i can get an extra amp. Is 5.1.2 worth doing or should i go 5.1 and save for an amp first?

Set up the 5.1.4 system, add an amp later if you're listening at volumes that your receiver can't keep up with. From your description, I think you should be fine without an amp.
hdfonz likes this.
DonoMan is offline  
post #3659 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonoMan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphorios View Post
Hey guys I saw the a2070 can drive all channels at 40w with .01thd. Im currently running 3.1 and planning to move to 5.1.4 do I definitely need another amplifier to be able to do this? I dont listen at reference level as I have a baby but I was wondering if the quality of sound would diminish due to driving all channels. If so I will do 5.1.2 until i can get an extra amp. Is 5.1.2 worth doing or should i go 5.1 and save for an amp first?

Set up the 5.1.4 system, add an amp later if you're listening at volumes that your receiver can't keep up with. From your description, I think you should be fine without an amp.
So to appease WAF i am only able to get slim speakers for surrounds and atmos. Do you think JBL B15 left and right surround are decent? Also for my heights I was debating going 4x polk owm5s.

The idea is to show her how great 5.1.4 can be. She is not an audiophile but after i completed my 3.1 setup with Chane A2.4s she loves them. She will only allow slim speaker budget options for surrounds until I can convince her of the beauty of atmos.

Any advice is greatly appreciated
Euphorios is offline  
post #3660 of 5024 Old 07-25-2018, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjyap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
So, I got a MiniDSP 2x4 HD for sub PEQ for more bands (10 vs. 4) and exacting precision for frequencies, Qs, and gains. As effective as the Yamaha manual PEQ was, this is worth the upgrade for the discerning enthusiast. Wasn't quite as happy with the 2x4 unbalanced, though, as the processing on that unit didn't sound as good as manual PEQ despite measuring better.

The 2x4HD does the biquad calculations in 96kHz and has 2Vrms in and out and generally has a lot more processing power. Makes it match well with my 2070.
Yeah. If I didn't have a SVS EQ1 I would have change out my A3070 too. The subwoofer tuning using YPAO is kind of underwhelming. So far no problem with the surround and my measurement is pretty spot on cross check with REW using UMIK-1
rjyap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off