Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 161 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16288Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4801 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
tech called me back and confirmed firmware 2.70 includes eARC


For the 70 series also?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Optoma HD20 - Panasonic 50PZ80 - Samsung 32C650 - LG M2380D
Speakers: Focal Aria 948- Focal Aria 906 - Focal CC900 - BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Roksan K3 - Yamaha RX-A2070 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4802 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 02:29 PM
iZz
Newbie
 
iZz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard71 View Post
For the 70 series also?

yes according to this table. I just installed it on my RX-V685 but can't really confirm if it works or not despite having a z9f with earc support since I'm not aware of any apps that actually use it and nothing changed in the receiver settings/osd.


EDIT: I did some testing and hooked up my PC straight to my TV instead of receiver and bitstreamed some lossless Dolby True HD so it seems to work just fine. With eARC disabled I only get Dolby Digital Plus.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	firefox_2019-05-22_23-17-22.png
Views:	65
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	2570272  
Deckard71 likes this.

Last edited by iZz; 05-22-2019 at 05:50 PM.
iZz is offline  
post #4803 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by iZz View Post
yes according to this table. I just installed it on my RX-V685 but can't really confirm if it works or not despite having a z9f with earc support since I'm not aware of any apps that actually use it and nothing changed in the receiver settings/osd.


Ol thanks. I was just curious, my TV cannot pass HD audio, but it is good to know that my AV is future proof in this aspect

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Optoma HD20 - Panasonic 50PZ80 - Samsung 32C650 - LG M2380D
Speakers: Focal Aria 948- Focal Aria 906 - Focal CC900 - BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Roksan K3 - Yamaha RX-A2070 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4804 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2.65 update stuck

Greetings all,

I have a Yamaha RX-A2070, now with notification to update from 2.6 to 2.65 firmware. I tried using network update, but it just showed "verifying..." for about an hour or so and I finally tapped the power button to exit the update process.

Downloaded the file from Yamaha (R0436-0265.bin) and placed the .bin file on a clean 8 gb USB stick, no copy protection stuff, and file in root drive. Followed all instructions. Inserted USB, entered USB update via Advanced Menu, and once again it does "Verifying..." for over an hour, no progress, no installation.

At my wits end! How do I get this thing to update properly??

Any help appreciated!

***Please note that for some reason, my receiver is not being recognized by the Yamaha app any longer. It won't even recognize if I put in the IP address of the amp***
Stephen Patterson is offline  
post #4805 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 05:28 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Patterson View Post
Greetings all,

I have a Yamaha RX-A2070, now with notification to update from 2.6 to 2.65 firmware. I tried using network update, but it just showed "verifying..." for about an hour or so and I finally tapped the power button to exit the update process.

Downloaded the file from Yamaha (R0436-0265.bin) and placed the .bin file on a clean 8 gb USB stick, no copy protection stuff, and file in root drive. Followed all instructions. Inserted USB, entered USB update via Advanced Menu, and once again it does "Verifying..." for over an hour, no progress, no installation.

At my wits end! How do I get this thing to update properly??

Any help appreciated!

***Please note that for some reason, my receiver is not being recognized by the Yamaha app any longer. It won't even recognize if I put in the IP address of the amp***
Something may have gotten borked when you tried the network update. I'd backup my settings than do a factory reset (initialize) than try the update again. You may want to call Yamaha first though before you do anything. Try these things at your own risk.
0hwell is offline  
post #4806 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jcwhammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Louis
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I loaded the new firmware on my 2070. For some reason HDMI control no longer works for my PS3. I've messed with all the related settings, including resetting my ps3.

TV: Samsung 65NU8000/ Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2070/ Bluray: PS3 Slim/ Fronts: Focal Chorus 726V/ Center: Focal Chorus cc700V
Surrounds: Focal Chorus 705V
Subs: (4) sealed SI HT 18" powered by Inuke 6000 EQed with MiniDSP
jcwhammie is online now  
post #4807 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jcwhammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Louis
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
LOL! you rookies need to sit back and chill [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif[/IMG]

I never update to a new FW within the first month after a new release,
The Best course of action is ALWAYS to sit back and watch while all the bugs show up
on the forums from the guinea pigs and lemmings who blindly dive in on Day-1 without hesitation.

If there isn't something I specifically need in the release, I usually skip the upgrade altogether.
...if it ain't broke, I don't need to fix it (and I hate ARC and have zero use for eARC in my system)

100% what I should've done. I have zero need for eARC, so i had no reason to load it.
PioManiac likes this.

TV: Samsung 65NU8000/ Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2070/ Bluray: PS3 Slim/ Fronts: Focal Chorus 726V/ Center: Focal Chorus cc700V
Surrounds: Focal Chorus 705V
Subs: (4) sealed SI HT 18" powered by Inuke 6000 EQed with MiniDSP
jcwhammie is online now  
post #4808 of 4921 Old 05-22-2019, 08:12 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcwhammie View Post
I loaded the new firmware on my 2070. For some reason HDMI control no longer works for my PS3. I've messed with all the related settings, including resetting my ps3.
Did you reset the receiver to ?
0hwell is offline  
post #4809 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
jcwhammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Louis
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcwhammie View Post
I loaded the new firmware on my 2070. For some reason HDMI control no longer works for my PS3. I've messed with all the related settings, including resetting my ps3.
Did you reset the receiver to ?
No. I'll just wait for them to release an update to fix the issue. It's barely an inconvenience to use the ps3 controller.

TV: Samsung 65NU8000/ Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2070/ Bluray: PS3 Slim/ Fronts: Focal Chorus 726V/ Center: Focal Chorus cc700V
Surrounds: Focal Chorus 705V
Subs: (4) sealed SI HT 18" powered by Inuke 6000 EQed with MiniDSP
jcwhammie is online now  
post #4810 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,162
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2790 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Patterson View Post
Greetings all,

I have a Yamaha RX-A2070, now with notification to update from 2.6 to 2.65 firmware. I tried using network update, but it just showed "verifying..." for about an hour or so and I finally tapped the power button to exit the update process.

Downloaded the file from Yamaha (R0436-0265.bin) and placed the .bin file on a clean 8 gb USB stick, no copy protection stuff, and file in root drive. Followed all instructions. Inserted USB, entered USB update via Advanced Menu, and once again it does "Verifying..." for over an hour, no progress, no installation.

At my wits end! How do I get this thing to update properly??

Any help appreciated!

***Please note that for some reason, my receiver is not being recognized by the Yamaha app any longer. It won't even recognize if I put in the IP address of the amp***
The latest firmware is 2.70, not 2.65.

As for the network issue I had that problem a couple of weeks ago (had 2.65 since released for a long time before this happened so not a firmware related issue)... the solution was turning off and then disconnecting the AVR and my Xfinity Wireless Gateway (cable modem and router in one) waiting 10 minutes or so then plugging in the Wireless Gateway and letting it fully reboot and then same with AVR.

That got everything working again.

BTW, I was probably the first to install 2.70 and for my usage of PS4 slim, original Xbox One, Xfinity X1 cable STB, and Netflix, and Amazon via TV apps and ARC (DD+ 5.1), so far all is well.

Also, have used the built-in Pandora app in AVR and AV controller app on my android phone extensively without issue.

I wouldn't say at this time most are experiencing issues with 2.70 on the 2017 Yamahas in this thread. However, any firmware update always comes with risk so wait if you want. I didn't because I have applied many updates since it was bought in July 2017 and none had issues that showed up in my normal usage. So, I had no reason to wait.
0hwell likes this.

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #4811 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 06:35 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
The latest firmware is 2.70, not 2.65.

As for the network issue I had that problem a couple of weeks ago (had 2.65 since released for a long time before this happened so not a firmware related issue)... the solution was turning off and then disconnecting the AVR and my Xfinity Wireless Gateway (cable modem and router in one) waiting 10 minutes or so then plugging in the Wireless Gateway and letting it fully reboot and then same with AVR.

That got everything working again.

BTW, I was probably the first to install 2.70 and for my usage of PS4 slim, original Xbox One, Xfinity X1 cable STB, and Netflix, and Amazon via TV apps and ARC (DD+ 5.1), so far all is well.

Also, have used the built-in Pandora app in AVR and AV controller app on my android phone extensively without issue.

I wouldn't say at this time most are experiencing issues with 2.70 on the 2017 Yamahas in this thread. However, any firmware update always comes with risk so wait if you want. I didn't because I have applied many updates since it was bought in July 2017 and none had issues that showed up in my normal usage. So, I had no reason to wait.
I've never had a problem with the updates either, I have had to reset and pull the plug on both my receiver and other devices once to get the HDMI ports to reset. They also recommend holding the power button in for a 10 seconds or so with the units unplugged to clear the memory. I don't quite understand how the one guy got a notice to update to 2.65 when 2.70 was already on the servers, must have been something else going on at Yamaha.
rlb and PlasmaPZ80U like this.
0hwell is offline  
post #4812 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 07:46 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
I just checked Yamaha Canada and Yamaha USA websites,
Both still indicate 2.65 is the most current FW update....(as of May 23/2019)

https://usa.yamaha.com/products/audi...l#product-tabs

I also know that's what they show on their website but if you set your receiver to install the firmware over the network you get the 2.70 firmware not 2.65. That's how those of us that have 2.70 updated, you can't get 2.70 yet as a download. The same applies to the update for the x80 series. I don't think there is anything wrong with people waiting a couple of weeks for updates if that's what they want to do. Some people like to keep their equipment's firmware updated and some could care less. The thing is you should be thankful for people like me that update right away so you can wait to see if any of us early adaptors have problems. That way you can determine if its safe for you! The fact is in todays world you do have to keep up with firmware updates to get full functionality in your devices. That wasn't a problem 15 to 20 years ago as I don't think my old Yamaha HTR 5490 ever had a firmware update while my old RX-A1020 had a few. Even with the new X80 series you wouldn't have full Bluetooth functionality without firmware updates on the newest series of receivers. Correct me if I am wrong but I believe they shipped without the ability to transmit Bluetooth that was later added with a firmware update.
PlasmaPZ80U likes this.
0hwell is offline  
post #4813 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
does this update have a way to enable or disable earc?
i updated but don't see the difference lol

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #4814 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
does this update have a way to enable or disable earc?
i updated but don't see the difference lol
As long as you have HDMI control and arc turned on it should work as long as your TV can send the bitstream to your receiver. I logged on to the web settings interface and didn't see any new options for arc other than just on or off.
0hwell is offline  
post #4815 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
As long as you have HDMI control and arc turned on it should work as long as your TV can send the bitstream to your receiver. I logged on to the web settings interface and didn't see any new options for arc other than just on or off.
thanks
because my C9 is pushing 4k 24ghz still
i guess that's hdmi 2.1 thing
these are coming out next year sadly

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #4816 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 10:32 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
thanks
because my C9 is pushing 4k 24ghz still
i guess that's hdmi 2.1 thing
these are coming out next year sadly
That really shouldn't matter because your tv should only be pushing the audio to your receiver. I believe there was a user in the X80 thread that said his tv was pushing full 7.1 to his receiver. I think you would have to be viewing an app that supported the higher audio formats. I don't think the tv can convert standard Dolby or DTS to a 7.1 format
0hwell is offline  
post #4817 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
That really shouldn't matter because your tv should only be pushing the audio to your receiver. I believe there was a user in the X80 thread that said his tv was pushing full 7.1 to his receiver. I think you would have to be viewing an app that supported the higher audio formats. I don't think the tv can convert standard Dolby or DTS to a 7.1 format
yeah i checked the av last night
idk if it was pushing full dolby atmos or not lol

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #4818 of 4921 Old 05-23-2019, 12:14 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
yeah i checked the av last night
idk if it was pushing full dolby atmos or not lol
Unless some of the e-arc specs have changed I do believe your HDMI cables have to be HDMI with ethernet premium certified cables.
0hwell is offline  
post #4819 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 03:27 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Came here to see what firmware update provided. FWIW, my 3070 prompted me to update last night and it was 2.65.
Stevetd is online now  
post #4820 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,768
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3215 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Came here to see what firmware update provided. FWIW, my 3070 prompted me to update last night and it was 2.65.
Read the last 2 pages here.
ChromeJob likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4821 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 12:47 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Came here to see what firmware update provided. FWIW, my 3070 prompted me to update last night and it was 2.65.
I never received a notice as I had installed 2.65 a couple of months ago. I saw that another user had gotten 2.70 over the network so I set my receiver to download the bios over the network and hit info and it updated to 2.70 than again maybe your's updated to that version to, did you check what was actually installed after the update? If you want 2.70 and E-Arc just set it to update bios over the network and hit info to start if you don't just leave it alone your choice. say hi to pio
0hwell is offline  
post #4822 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 01:35 PM
Member
 
ratskrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Park City Utah USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I picked up a Panasonic BP-UB820 4K UHD Blu-ray to replace my Panasonic DMB-UB900 4K UHD Blu-ray to be able to use Dolby Vision for playback instead of HDR10.
I can't no matter what I try get DV to pass through to the TV to work. I have reset both the 3070 and the UB820 and still no go. I can plug the UB820 into my Vizio PQ65-F1 and get DV but if it is run through the receiver it only shows HDR10.

The other thing I have never been able to get working is the audio from the Blu-ray player to the receiver and video to the tv by passing the receiver. Had the same problem with my RX-A2050. I use monoprice certified HDMI cables which should work. Any suggestions as to how I can get these to work. Thanks.

Such a short time to be there, such a long long time to be gone.
ratskrad is offline  
post #4823 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
I never received a notice as I had installed 2.65 a couple of months ago. I saw that another user had gotten 2.70 over the network so I set my receiver to download the bios over the network and hit info and it updated to 2.70 than again maybe your's updated to that version to, did you check what was actually installed after the update? If you want 2.70 and E-Arc just set it to update bios over the network and hit info to start if you don't just leave it alone your choice. say hi to pio
Ahhh, you are correct. I went and checked the version and it is indeed 2.70. Maybe that's part of the reason people think they're getting one or the other. It clearly said that I was upgrading to 2.65 but, I should've confirmed afterwards instead of adding to the confusion.
0hwell likes this.
Stevetd is online now  
post #4824 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 01:59 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratskrad View Post
So I picked up a Panasonic BP-UB820 4K UHD Blu-ray to replace my Panasonic DMB-UB900 4K UHD Blu-ray to be able to use Dolby Vision for playback instead of HDR10.
I can't no matter what I try get DV to pass through to the TV to work. I have reset both the 3070 and the UB820 and still no go. I can plug the UB820 into my Vizio PQ65-F1 and get DV but if it is run through the receiver it only shows HDR10.

The other thing I have never been able to get working is the audio from the Blu-ray player to the receiver and video to the tv by passing the receiver. Had the same problem with my RX-A2050. I use monoprice certified HDMI cables which should work. Any suggestions as to how I can get these to work. Thanks.
I run my UBP-X800M2 through the receiver and have no problems that way. When I was still using my RX-A1020 I remember having the sound problem your talking about and the fix was to turn off the second HDMI output on the receiver. You may also need to set your receiver video mode to direct .
0hwell is offline  
post #4825 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 02:25 PM
Member
 
ratskrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Park City Utah USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
I run my UBP-X800M2 through the receiver and have no problems that way. When I was still using my RX-A1020 I remember having the sound problem your talking about and the fix was to turn off the second HDMI output on the receiver. You may also need to set your receiver video mode to direct .
I have tried both of those and run Direct all of the time. I really don't feel like spending $200 on new HDMI cables and would that really make a difference as hooked up directly it does work. I am also running the latest firmware on all of devices as well.

Such a short time to be there, such a long long time to be gone.
ratskrad is offline  
post #4826 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 03:39 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratskrad View Post
I have tried both of those and run Direct all of the time. I really don't feel like spending $200 on new HDMI cables and would that really make a difference as hooked up directly it does work. I am also running the latest firmware on all of devices as well.
The only Other thing I can think of is HDMI 4k mode needs to be set to mode 1 under advanced settings. And I am assuming full HD color is turned on for your Vizio video input.

Last edited by 0hwell; 05-25-2019 at 03:44 PM.
0hwell is offline  
post #4827 of 4921 Old 05-25-2019, 04:09 PM
Member
 
ratskrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Park City Utah USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
The only Other thing I can think of is HDMI 4k mode needs to be set to mode 1 under advanced settings. And I am assuming full HD color is turned on for your Vizio video input.
Yep Mode 1 and Full HD Color are done as well. I ran a RX-A2050 until buying this unit new six weeks ago and they are pretty much the same unit setup wise.

Such a short time to be there, such a long long time to be gone.
ratskrad is offline  
post #4828 of 4921 Old 05-26-2019, 08:56 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratskrad View Post
Yep Mode 1 and Full HD Color are done as well. I ran a RX-A2050 until buying this unit new six weeks ago and they are pretty much the same unit setup wise.
Have you checked the firmware version on your receiver, when they shipped new they didn't have DV enabled if it is only 6 weeks old and you have not updated the firmware that could be the problem. over the network upgrade will get you 2.70 it adds e-arc functionality but a couple of people seem to have had a problem with it although it works great for me.. If you want to do a USB install you can still download 2.65.

Last edited by 0hwell; 05-26-2019 at 09:02 AM.
0hwell is offline  
post #4829 of 4921 Old 05-26-2019, 10:02 AM
Member
 
ratskrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Park City Utah USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
Have you checked the firmware version on your receiver, when they shipped new they didn't have DV enabled if it is only 6 weeks old and you have not updated the firmware that could be the problem. over the network upgrade will get you 2.70 it adds e-arc functionality but a couple of people seem to have had a problem with it although it works great for me.. If you want to do a USB install you can still download 2.65.
I am running 2.7 which I had already updated to before getting the UB820. Maybe I'll go back to 2.65 as I don't use any of the earc or arc features.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions.

Such a short time to be there, such a long long time to be gone.
ratskrad is offline  
post #4830 of 4921 Old 05-26-2019, 11:07 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One thing nice about the Aventage receivers is you can back up your settings. I use the web app for doing that and keep a backup on my computer, that way anytime there is a new firmware update I can reset (initialize) my receiver than just use the web app to restore my settings. A lot of electronics manufacturers recommend a factory reset after firmware updates if you have any problems. That goes for tv's, blue ray players and receivers. I routinely factory reset all these devices when I install new firmware, this is just a thought for anyone having trouble after a firmware update. Sometimes it also helps to unplug the device from power and hold the power button in for 10 seconds or so before plugging it back in this has helped me to reset the HDMI ports on a tv once.
0hwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off