Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16295Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 4973 Old 07-11-2019, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
I agree 100%

I was looking to upgrade my old 3050, but when the 3080 was announced I saw too many features disappear (that I used)
....scrambled to find one of the last remaining 3070's instead, and got it for $700 less than the new stripped down 3080.

My biggest issues were removal of 4 of the Scene settings (Down from 12 to 8)
The loss of the Front HDMI output (for a temp connection for REW, Go-Pro or cam corder)
You can no longer apply the Neural:X up-mixer on any Dolby encoded bitstream source.

The things added to the 3080 were of no use to me at all:

AI ...heard it, not impressed at all.
Extra HDMI out for third display, I only need 2 for an OLED and Projector
Two XLR Outputs (for Front L/R Speakers only)
Hahaha. I guess none of those things are of any importance to me...never use them.
I did forget that I do use the XLR outputs for the Front L/R channels to feed my two Outlaw Audio 2200 monoblock amps.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Have any of you experienced HDMI sync problems when switching from one input to another? My 2070 is set up in video bypass mode. When I switch from my Tivo to my Roku or Android player I will often miss the HDMI handshake and the 2070 outputs its "screensaver" guitar image. I can tell when the handshake is successful because the Yamaha will show the audio channels it senses from the source. When the handshake fails I can manually switch between inputs and usually will be able to connect. I read somewhere that using short (i.e. 1-meter) cables from the source to the Yamaha can cause these problems. Is this happening to anyone else, or is my HDMI board in the Yamaha getting ready to fail? I'm mostly passing 4K signals through.

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp

Last edited by johng; 07-19-2019 at 12:03 PM.
johng is offline  
post #4923 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,627
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2998
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
Have any of you experienced HDMI sync problems when switching from one input to another? My 2070 is set up in video bypass mode. When I switch from my Tivo to my Roku or Android player I will often miss the HDMI handshake and the 2070 outputs its "screensaver" guitar image. I can tell when the handshake is successful because the Yamaha will show the audio channels it senses from the source. When the handshake fails I can manually switch between inputs and usually will be able to connect. I read somewhere that using short (i.e. 1-meter) cables from the source to the Yamaha can cause these problems. Is this happening to anyone else, or is my HDMI board in the Yamaha getting ready to fail? I'm mostly passing 4K signals through.
Handshake failures. Yes, 1 meter cables can be an issue in rare cases. More than anything you need Certified Premium cables, especially from the AVR to TV. Start by swapping in some new cables.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Handshake failures. Yes, 1 meter cables can be an issue in rare cases. More than anything you need Certified Premium cables, especially from the AVR to TV. Start by swapping in some new cables.
Thanks, the issue seems to be either the short cables, or the Yamaha. The failure is between the source components and the Yamaha because when the handshake fails the AVR sends its "screensaver" image to the Projector. That would seem to indicate that the problem is not the signal from the Yamaha to the Projector. It's before that. I'll start with cables and go from there. Thanks,

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp
johng is offline  
post #4925 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,627
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2998
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
Thanks, the issue seems to be either the short cables, or the Yamaha. The failure is between the source components and the Yamaha because when the handshake fails the AVR sends its "screensaver" image to the Projector. That would seem to indicate that the problem is not the signal from the Yamaha to the Projector. It's before that. I'll start with cables and go from there. Thanks,
You are jumping to a conclusion here. Handshakes are an end-to-end process. Don't assume anything. Start with the cable from AVR to TV, because that is one that all the sources have in common.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4926 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You are jumping to a conclusion here. Handshakes are an end-to-end process. Don't assume anything. Start with the cable from AVR to TV, because that is one that all the sources have in common.
OK, but why is the Projector displaying the screensaver that is being output by the AVR? If the problem was the handshake between the AVR and the Projector, the Projector would display a blue screen indicating it was not receiving a signal. All my cables are HDMI Premium Certified.

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp
johng is offline  
post #4927 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
OK, but why is the Projector displaying the screensaver that is being output by the AVR? If the problem was the handshake between the AVR and the Projector, the Projector would display a blue screen indicating it was not receiving a signal. All my cables are HDMI Premium Certified.
That sounds like a handshake issue between your source device(s) and the AVR to me.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #4928 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,627
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2998
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
OK, but why is the Projector displaying the screensaver that is being output by the AVR? If the problem was the handshake between the AVR and the Projector, the Projector would display a blue screen indicating it was not receiving a signal. All my cables are HDMI Premium Certified.
In the age of HDCP, a "no signal" issue is often the result of a failed handshake. Again, HDMI is an end-to-end protocol. The source device is negotiating with the display, not the AVR.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4929 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 497
However, the fact that the AVR displays its background piano image causes me to think that it isn't detecting the input source image.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #4930 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 273 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3244 Post(s)
Liked: 8042
JVC projectors are notoriously slow when switching inputs, been that way since 2015.

My Yamaha is definitely not to blame because the HDCP lag is significantly less when using my OLED vs my JVC.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #4931 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
JVC projectors are notoriously slow when switching inputs, been that way since 2015.

My Yamaha is definitely not to blame because the HDCP lag is significantly less when using my OLED vs my JVC.
You are not kidding about JVC projectors being notoriously slow with the HDMI handshake. In this instance I'm not switching inputs on the projector. The "switcher" is the Yamaha AVR.

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp
johng is offline  
post #4932 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
You are not kidding about JVC projectors being notoriously slow with the HDMI handshake. In this instance I'm not switching inputs on the projector. The "switcher" is the Yamaha AVR.
I see multi-second delays when switching inputs on my 5200 when outputting to my projector due to, I believe, changes in the image resolution as it handshakes. This delay is much less when using my TV. I don't recall ever seeing the piano background during this source switch, though.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #4933 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 273 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3244 Post(s)
Liked: 8042
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng View Post
You are not kidding about JVC projectors being notoriously slow with the HDMI handshake. In this instance I'm not switching inputs on the projector. The "switcher" is the Yamaha AVR.
I never switch inputs on the projector, I only have 1 (from the AVR)
I was referring to switching sources on my AVR having significant delays on the JVC,
....something that is nearly instantaneous on the OLED.

It's even more obvious when I have both AVR HDMI outputs and both displays active at the same time.
The JVC image can take up to 30 seconds to appear especially if there's a resolution change (like from HD to UHD)


The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 07-19-2019 at 03:32 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #4934 of 4973 Old 07-19-2019, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: California's Redwood Coast
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
I never switch inputs on the projector, I only have 1 (from the AVR)
I was referring to switching sources on my AVR having significant delays on the JVC,
....something that is nearly instantaneous on the OLED.

It's even more obvious when I have both AVR HDMI outputs and both displays active at the same time.
The JVC image can take up to 30 seconds to appear especially if there's a resolution change (like from HD to UHD)

We have a 55" Samsung flat panel in the bedroom and the HDMI switching is very fast. I'm on my 3rd JVC projector and have grown accustomed to the long sync time. I've got some 6' certified HDMI cables on the way, and just discovered that one of my source components, a Tivo, was using an HDMI cable certified for HDMI 1.3. That could be the source of some of the problems at least. I'll start changing cables and see where that leads me. Thanks,

Good Viewing,John G  JVC DLA-X790 Projector, Vutec 110" (16x9) Bright White Screen, Oppo UDP-203 region free MOD disc player, Zappiti Mini4K HDR, Synology DS418 NAS, Yamaha RX-A2070 AVR, Toshiba 1250 NTSC-PAL Region Free BR Player, 7 Paradigm Reference spkrs w Dual Subs,   & Yamaha 6600 External Amp
johng is offline  
post #4935 of 4973 Old 07-24-2019, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I'm confused about something on my 3070. On page 124 of the manual, it says: "You can configure separate playback settings for different playback sources." To me, this reads as though what you adjust on the Options menu will be saved for the source selected at the time. For example, I wanted to trim the subwoofer in the cable source, because too many TV shows are guilty of sending music and other crap to the subwoofer. But setting that to -5 doesn't stay with just that setting, it appears to be global. In other words, when I switch to the ATV4K, it also shows -5 on the SW trim.

Am I doing it wrong, or is the manual misleading? Seems to me that the Options menu items are global. I know I could save all this in a scene, but the manual clearly states that you can configure SEPARATE playback settings, and to me that indicates that it's not global.

Like I said, confused.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #4936 of 4973 Old 07-24-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,188
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2807 Post(s)
Liked: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
I'm confused about something on my 3070. On page 124 of the manual, it says: "You can configure separate playback settings for different playback sources." To me, this reads as though what you adjust on the Options menu will be saved for the source selected at the time. For example, I wanted to trim the subwoofer in the cable source, because too many TV shows are guilty of sending music and other crap to the subwoofer. But setting that to -5 doesn't stay with just that setting, it appears to be global. In other words, when I switch to the ATV4K, it also shows -5 on the SW trim.

Am I doing it wrong, or is the manual misleading? Seems to me that the Options menu items are global. I know I could save all this in a scene, but the manual clearly states that you can configure SEPARATE playback settings, and to me that indicates that it's not global.

Like I said, confused.
You can program scenes that save your preferred settings by input or usage. It takes some getting used to but I use it on my 2070 to pick a specific input, volume, sw trim value, etc.

Samsung 55" MU8000
Yamaha RX-A2070
KEF Q150 Bookshelf x 5
Rythmik L12 Sealed Subwoofer
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #4937 of 4973 Old 07-25-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
cbolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi Everyone,

I have done some searching around the receiver and subwoofer forums and I'm hoping another 3070 owner has seen this problem. My Klipsch R-112SW seems to be randomly shutting off. If I unplug the cables and plug it back in it powers on and seems to work. I've look through the menus to see if there is some power save option or other settings around the LFE and I'm not seeing anything standing out.

The crazy thing is I don't even know when this started. I recall thinking a few of my favorite movies didn't seem to have much bass months ago but never really looked into it. Code a firmware update on the 3070 caused this issue?
cbolton is offline  
post #4938 of 4973 Old 07-28-2019, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Anyone know if it's possible to have the receiver's display show both Artist + Song while streaming from a NAS or Spotify? Currently I have to pick one or the other.
sakete is online now  
post #4939 of 4973 Old 07-28-2019, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Anyone know if it's possible to have the receiver's display show both Artist + Song while streaming from a NAS or Spotify? Currently I have to pick one or the other.
I don't use Spotify, but when I stream from my DLNA server (minidlna on FreeBSD) I get both displayed on the TV/monitor screen. Is that where you are looking of the info, or on the receiver's display? If on the receiver's display I doubt it, but then I don't pay much attention to that display when streaming.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #4940 of 4973 Old 07-28-2019, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
I don't use Spotify, but when I stream from my DLNA server (minidlna on FreeBSD) I get both displayed on the TV/monitor screen. Is that where you are looking of the info, or on the receiver's display? If on the receiver's display I doubt it, but then I don't pay much attention to that display when streaming.
Yeah, was looking at the receiver's display as I usually leave my TV turned off when just listening to music. Not a big deal in the end as I can see it all fine in the MusicCast app. But would be a nice to have.
sakete is online now  
post #4941 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 06:52 AM
Member
 
mrfranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Yeah, was looking at the receiver's display as I usually leave my TV turned off when just listening to music. Not a big deal in the end as I can see it all fine in the MusicCast app. But would be a nice to have.
Press the info button on the receiver.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-07-29 095120.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	182.0 KB
ID:	2595842  
mrfranc is offline  
post #4942 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfranc View Post
Press the info button on the receiver.
That only cycles through the different separate options. I want to see Artist + Song together. Info button only shows Artist, Song, Album, etc.
sakete is online now  
post #4943 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 07:42 AM
Member
 
mrfranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakete View Post
That only cycles through the different separate options. I want to see Artist + Song together. Info button only shows Artist, Song, Album, etc.
Sorry, just trying to help. I'm not home right now so I could not verify beforehand, but I did know that's the button you press to cycle the information displayed on the front of the receiver.
mrfranc is offline  
post #4944 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,794
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3228 Post(s)
Liked: 2534
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakete View Post
I want to see Artist + Song together.
Not gonna happen.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4945 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 08:08 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbolton View Post
Hi Everyone,

I have done some searching around the receiver and subwoofer forums and I'm hoping another 3070 owner has seen this problem. My Klipsch R-112SW seems to be randomly shutting off. If I unplug the cables and plug it back in it powers on and seems to work. I've look through the menus to see if there is some power save option or other settings around the LFE and I'm not seeing anything standing out.

The crazy thing is I don't even know when this started. I recall thinking a few of my favorite movies didn't seem to have much bass months ago but never really looked into it. Code a firmware update on the 3070 caused this issue?
Does your sub have a 3 position switch? Mine was having the same problem when I had the power switch set to auto so I just turned my sub switch to on and left it there. It's been set to on for over a year now with no problems. I have read it doesn't use that much more juice that way as the amp isn't pushing anything when everything else is off.
0hwell is offline  
post #4946 of 4973 Old 07-29-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
mrfranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbolton View Post
Hi Everyone,

I have done some searching around the receiver and subwoofer forums and I'm hoping another 3070 owner has seen this problem. My Klipsch R-112SW seems to be randomly shutting off. If I unplug the cables and plug it back in it powers on and seems to work. I've look through the menus to see if there is some power save option or other settings around the LFE and I'm not seeing anything standing out.

The crazy thing is I don't even know when this started. I recall thinking a few of my favorite movies didn't seem to have much bass months ago but never really looked into it. Code a firmware update on the 3070 caused this issue?

It seems your not the only one suffering from that problem. See

The Klipsch Audio Community: https://community.klipsch.com/index....mly-shuts-off/

mrfranc is offline  
post #4947 of 4973 Old 08-03-2019, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Anyone know if YPAO ignores the Options settings? I ran it last night, but the subwoofer trim was at -5.0 or something. I'm presuming that it pays no mind to that, because the sub level was +2.0 when it was done measuring.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #4948 of 4973 Old 08-03-2019, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
Anyone know if YPAO ignores the Options settings? I ran it last night, but the subwoofer trim was at -5.0 or something. I'm presuming that it pays no mind to that, because the sub level was +2.0 when it was done measuring.
I would assume it does, but don't know for sure.
sakete is online now  
post #4949 of 4973 Old 08-03-2019, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,794
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3228 Post(s)
Liked: 2534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
Anyone know if YPAO ignores the Options settings?
Yes
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4950 of 4973 Old 08-04-2019, 01:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I am considering to replace my A2070 with a NAD t758 v3. I am happy with the Yamaha but I want to try Dirac. The NAD is well regarded as a good sounding Amp but ... would it mean an upgrade or a downgrade?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Optoma HD20 - Panasonic 50PZ80 - Samsung 32C650 - LG M2380D
Speakers: Focal Aria 948- Focal Aria 906 - Focal CC900 - BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Roksan K3 - Yamaha RX-A2070 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off