Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16274Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 4899 Old 06-20-2017, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
CortlandApple13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I can PM you if interested.
Yes, please. Victor_Siegle at JobOrder.com
CortlandApple13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 4899 Old 06-20-2017, 10:58 AM
Member
 
edpracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yamaha Aventage series are awesome. 3020 previously and now the proud owner of a 3060
edpracer is offline  
post #63 of 4899 Old 06-20-2017, 08:10 PM
Member
 
wernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yamaha has released an early shipment of the A3070 units so may start to see some reviews here soon.
How do you know this? Hope some go to crutchfield
wernd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 4899 Old 06-21-2017, 01:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,796
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21897 Post(s)
Liked: 11868
Quote:
Originally Posted by wernd View Post
How do you know this? Hope some go to crutchfield
Because we received 2 units on Monday but they were already pre-sold.
tosa68 and ChromeJob like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #65 of 4899 Old 06-21-2017, 01:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,796
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21897 Post(s)
Liked: 11868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
Ah, then I stand corrected. I don't regret at all, then, springing for the 3060 when they came down in price a month ago. Didn't want to wait until August.

The 3070s may get additional firmware updates in their life that the 2016s wouldn't. One Yamaha rep claimed (to my dealer) the 3070 would support eARC though this couldn't be corroboroated from any of the literature or other dealers. It seems quite plausible it could be enabled in firmware since the manufacturers would have known how it was going to be implemented in the HDMI 2.1 spec. Actual full HDMI 2.1 support would likely require new hardware.
Yes, this is indeed something that Yamaha is considering for the new 2017 models via a future firmware update although AFAIK, has not been finalized at this point. Other brands have indicated they may provide this update as well.
helvetica bold and Hresna like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #66 of 4899 Old 06-21-2017, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hresna View Post
...
The 3070s may get additional firmware updates in their life that the 2016s wouldn't...
This is the issue to be aware of. I'm a frustrated owner of a 3050 with a full dolby vision setup. I won't be getting the firmware update, even though i still think of this avr as recent. Hell, its more modern then avrs and pre's launched last year.

Given the rate of change in the ht industry right now, you may be kicking yourself in two years when whatevers next requires updates, and yamaha only supports the 3070 and the 3080.

Sent from my SM-T817V using Tapatalk
XlKlonelx likes this.

video: Lg 65e6, Oppo uhd-203, Roku ultra, nVidia Shield Pro
audio: Yamaha aventage 3050, ATI AT252NC, martin logan efx 7.1
gaming: Ps4-pro, Psvr, Ps3
other: Synology d216play, Panamax m-5300pm & m-5400pm, a billion smarthome things
Spinningbull is offline  
post #67 of 4899 Old 06-23-2017, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Well, I just picked up my 3070 from A&B TV here in Austin!

Not sure if I'll get to opening the box and installing it till tomorrow as I'm at work right now.
Hresna likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #68 of 4899 Old 06-23-2017, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Hresna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Well, I just picked up my 3070 from A&B TV here in Austin!
winner!

LG 65B7P
Yamaha Aventage A3060
Oppo UDP-203
PS4 Pro SSD
B&W 600 series 7.2.4 Atmos
Hresna is offline  
post #69 of 4899 Old 06-23-2017, 03:59 PM
Member
 
tosa68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Got my A3070 setup, replacing a 7.1 RX-V3800 system with the A3070 and bumping up to 7.1.2. A3070 and Dolby Atmos, all I can say is WOW!
helvetica bold likes this.
tosa68 is online now  
post #70 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
I've now replaced my 3050 with the new 3070. So far, so good. Everything appears to be working fine, though I haven't run YPAO yet.
Tom Bley likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #71 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
aHelpingHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosa68 View Post
Got my A3070 setup, replacing a 7.1 RX-V3800 system with the A3070 and bumping up to 7.1.2. A3070 and Dolby Atmos, all I can say is WOW!
Wow? Can you elaborate on that

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk

TCL 65r615
Yamaha TSR 7810
Pioneer Sub SW8MKII...
RBH Impression Series 7.0
aHelpingHand is offline  
post #72 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 05:52 PM
Member
 
tosa68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by aHelpingHand View Post
Wow? Can you elaborate on that

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk


I've just upgraded my movie room from an older Yamaha and 7.1 setup to the A3070 and 7.1.2 (added 2 ceiling speakers), and I can't believe how much the audio experience has improved when watching movies. Even 7.1 tracks sound more expansive and detailed vs before, but a Dolby Atmos track just blows me away. I was expecting improvement of course, but this has exceeded my expectations.

I've only begun setup and configuration, but if it's this good after a quick YPAO and basic setup, I'm really looking forward to seeing what this receiver can do!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Craig Mecak and aHelpingHand like this.
tosa68 is online now  
post #73 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
There appears to be a problem with how the 3070 identifies/displays the input source when the input is HDMI. For my UDP-203 on AV1 it displays the source as '-203'. The Roku Ultra on AV5 is displayed simply as 'H'. Also, attempting to set the name using the web based input_name setting (via http://ipaddr/setup) is ignored for input sources that are HDMI. Not a big deal, but annoying.

Otherwise things are going well. Did the YPAO room correction without a hitch. It still sets all of my speakers to Large and I have to change them to Small and set appropriate crossover frequencies. But then all of my Yamaha AVRs and AVPs have been doing this in recent years.

So far I'm pleased with the 3070. I haven't seen (heard?) much difference from the 3050 that it replaced, but I wanted the Dolby Vision support and having the XLR inputs (for my Sony HAP-Z1ES) is a nice bonus.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #74 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 08:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,537
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3752 Post(s)
Liked: 2956
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
There appears to be a problem with how the 3070 identifies/displays the input source when the input is HDMI. For my UDP-203 on AV1 it displays the source as '-203'. The Roku Ultra on AV5 is displayed simply as 'H'. Also, attempting to set the name using the web based input_name setting (via http://ipaddr/setup) is ignored for input sources that are HDMI. Not a big deal, but annoying.
.
Its normal to have to manually name the inputs. You can also manually name your SCENE setups to correspond. For input naming go to the input screen in the OSD, select the input concerned and hit the up arrow.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #75 of 4899 Old 06-24-2017, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its normal to have to manually name the inputs. You can also manually name your SCENE setups to correspond. For input naming go to the input screen in the OSD, select the input concerned and hit the up arrow.
Well, if manually naming them still worked (does on all of my other Yamaha AVRs) that would be fine. But for the AV inputs that are HDMI connected the manual naming doesn't work and the (apparent and new) automatic naming has problems. My PS4 is correctly named but the UDP-203 and Roku Ultra aren't. I haven't tried naming them from the OSD as I find the web setup approach to be much easier. I'll try the OSD next to see if it works.

Finally, my older AVRs and AVPs always just listed the default input source name if not manually changed. The 3070 doesn't for HDMI inputs.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #76 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
abba1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
There appears to be a problem with how the 3070 identifies/displays the input source when the input is HDMI. For my UDP-203 on AV1 it displays the source as '-203'. The Roku Ultra on AV5 is displayed simply as 'H'. Also, attempting to set the name using the web based input_name setting (via http://ipaddr/setup) is ignored for input sources that are HDMI. Not a big deal, but annoying.

Otherwise things are going well. Did the YPAO room correction without a hitch. It still sets all of my speakers to Large and I have to change them to Small and set appropriate crossover frequencies. But then all of my Yamaha AVRs and AVPs have been doing this in recent years.

So far I'm pleased with the 3070. I haven't seen (heard?) much difference from the 3050 that it replaced, but I wanted the Dolby Vision support and having the XLR inputs (for my Sony HAP-Z1ES) is a nice bonus.
I think you just saved me a few bucks! Your quote of ''I haven't heard much difference from the 3050 that it replaced'' did it. I too have a 3050 and was toying with the idea of getting a 2070 which is basically the same as the 3070 minus 10 watts and the uber DAC's, plus it's $500 cheaper. I was wondering about the new Enhanced mode. Have you tried it and what is your impression?
abba1 is offline  
post #77 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 05:03 AM
Member
 
tosa68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
There appears to be a problem with how the 3070 identifies/displays the input source when the input is HDMI. For my UDP-203 on AV1 it displays the source as '-203'. The Roku Ultra on AV5 is displayed simply as 'H'. Also, attempting to set the name using the web based input_name setting (via http://ipaddr/setup) is ignored for input sources that are HDMI. Not a big deal, but annoying.


Just a data point, but on my A3070, my Roku 3 on HDMI came up as 'Videocore', and I was able to rename it to Roku via the receiver. DIRECTV came up as some Refi-STB-something-or-other (which I think was correct for this STB because I've seen others post the same name), and I was able to rename that as well. XBox One came up as XBox One and I did not rename it. All of these on HDMI; I haven't tried anything non-HDMI yet in terms of manual naming. So at least some HDMI input auto naming does work, and at least some HDMI input manual renaming does work.

I think I did see where I tried renaming the Roku HDMI input via the web interface first, and it then showed as Roku in the web interface. But it kept the auto name Videocore on the receiver display, so I renamed it again via the receiver and it seems to be sticking. But I have not fully investigated this (i.e. does renaming via the web interface work correctly and propagate to the receiver display).

Still much more to play with in getting everything setup, so I'll keep a closer eye on how my inputs get autonamed, how manual naming works or doesn't work from receiver vs. web interface, etc.
tosa68 is online now  
post #78 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosa68 View Post
Just a data point, but on my A3070, my Roku 3 on HDMI came up as 'Videocore', and I was able to rename it to Roku via the receiver. DIRECTV came up as some Refi-STB-something-or-other (which I think was correct for this STB because I've seen others post the same name), and I was able to rename that as well. XBox One came up as XBox One and I did not rename it. All of these on HDMI; I haven't tried anything non-HDMI yet in terms of manual naming. So at least some HDMI input auto naming does work, and at least some HDMI input manual renaming does work.

I think I did see where I tried renaming the Roku HDMI input via the web interface first, and it then showed as Roku in the web interface. But it kept the auto name Videocore on the receiver display, so I renamed it again via the receiver and it seems to be sticking. But I have not fully investigated this (i.e. does renaming via the web interface work correctly and propagate to the receiver display).

Still much more to play with in getting everything setup, so I'll keep a closer eye on how my inputs get autonamed, how manual naming works or doesn't work from receiver vs. web interface, etc.
I'm going to try the OSD renaming on mine today when I get some time. It sounds like, based on your experience, that should work. It's just not nearly as convenient as the web based approach so I haven't done it that way in years now.

I think their auto-naming of HDMI inputs has some problems and they'd probably be better off not doing it at all unless they can come up with useful and meaningful names with it. They of course, they need to fix the web based naming as well (regardless).

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #79 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by abba1 View Post
I think you just saved me a few bucks! Your quote of ''I haven't heard much difference from the 3050 that it replaced'' did it. I too have a 3050 and was toying with the idea of getting a 2070 which is basically the same as the 3070 minus 10 watts and the uber DAC's, plus it's $500 cheaper. I was wondering about the new Enhanced mode. Have you tried it and what is your impression?
Well, there could be some difference in sound, but since nothing else changed in the system besides the receiver (I'm a strong believer that speakers make the biggest difference) and it had been awhile since I had attempted to critically listen to this particular system (been using my main system in the livingroom with its new Revel speakers much lately), my recollection isn't all that good. I will say that it sounds quite good. I'm running a 7.2.4 configuration and the front channels are powered via Outlaw Audio 2200 monoblocks.

If it hadn't been that I wanted a Dolby Vision capable AVR it's unlikely that I would have switched.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #80 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,670
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1986 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
I would be very, very surprised if you "heard" a difference between a -50 AVR and -70. Yamaha's not going to drastically change how audio is passed through and treated, only update features, provide some new capabilities, etc. "Straight" should still sound the same.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #81 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
I would be very, very surprised if you "heard" a difference between a -50 AVR and -70. Yamaha's not going to drastically change how audio is passed through and treated, only update features, provide some new capabilities, etc. "Straight" should still sound the same.
Agreed, and I really didn't expect any obvious differences. However, I should point out that as a big fan of surround sound since the mid '70s, I don't use "Straight" (mostly DSU these days).
ChromeJob likes this.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #82 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lozin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I know my 2060 calls my DirecTV Genie STB REW most days and it doesn't even bother to name my Panasonic UB900 at all but all the rest work fine.
Lozin is offline  
post #83 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosa68 View Post
Just a data point, but on my A3070, my Roku 3 on HDMI came up as 'Videocore', and I was able to rename it to Roku via the receiver. DIRECTV came up as some Refi-STB-something-or-other (which I think was correct for this STB because I've seen others post the same name), and I was able to rename that as well. XBox One came up as XBox One and I did not rename it. All of these on HDMI; I haven't tried anything non-HDMI yet in terms of manual naming. So at least some HDMI input auto naming does work, and at least some HDMI input manual renaming does work.
Ok, renaming the inputs via the OSD worked for me as well. The menu allows you to change the naming from Auto to Manual and then you can change the name. I didn't try just setting it to manual and then trying to change it with the web interface. In any case, it appears that the default Auto naming needs some work.

BTW, the web interface does work for non-HDMI inputs. Probably because they don't have the Auto naming 'feature'.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #84 of 4899 Old 06-25-2017, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,537
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3752 Post(s)
Liked: 2956
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
In any case, it appears that the default Auto naming needs some work.
You're probably barking up the wrong tree. The AVR can only repeat what the other devices are reporting over HDMI, its not making that up by itself.
ChromeJob likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #85 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You're probably barking up the wrong tree. The AVR can only repeat what the other devices are reporting over HDMI, its not making that up by itself.
Regardless of that, it is setting ITS input names to bogus values. I hardly think of my Roku Ultra when I see the letter 'H' on the screen. Maybe they should go back to the old days and ditch this Auto naming scheme?

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #86 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 06:55 AM
Member
 
kavanoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Regardless of that, it is setting ITS input names to bogus values. I hardly think of my Roku Ultra when I see the letter 'H' on the screen. Maybe they should go back to the old days and ditch this Auto naming scheme?
Well it's still working with some devices and you always have the option to manually rename. So why remove the feature. But if x60 or lower model years are able to name them correctly, Yamaha should be able to do the same on x70 as well.
kavanoz is offline  
post #87 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by kavanoz View Post
Well it's still working with some devices and you always have the option to manually rename. So why remove the feature. But if x60 or lower model years are able to name them correctly, Yamaha should be able to do the same on x70 as well.
True, in my system it is right with one (the PS4) out of the three external input sources I have. I would recommend that they simply default the naming to Manual till they sort it out. For the uninitiated coming up with an H for their Roku source would be very meaningful, and most people wouldn't either bother or know how to 'fix' it.

Like I said in the beginning, it's not a big deal. Does suggest that the Yamaha test engineers didn't have a very large number of external devices to test it with.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X700, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #88 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
cbolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I am really glad to hear these are starting to ship. I just bought all new Klipsch Reference speakers (280FA's, new center, sub, rear surrounds) and was originally leaning the 2070 vs the 3070 and save the $400 difference. The only difference that stands out in the specs is the 3070 has more power and the better DAC's. Is there anything else I am missing?

This is a good sized bedroom converted to a theater room so it's not like I have a huge space to fill with sound. I do tend to hang on to my AV gear for a while so I'm sort of debating the path here..
cbolton is offline  
post #89 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,796
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21897 Post(s)
Liked: 11868
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbolton View Post
I am really glad to hear these are starting to ship. I just bought all new Klipsch Reference speakers (280FA's, new center, sub, rear surrounds) and was originally leaning the 2070 vs the 3070 and save the $400 difference. The only difference that stands out in the specs is the 3070 has more power and the better DAC's. Is there anything else I am missing?

This is a good sized bedroom converted to a theater room so it's not like I have a huge space to fill with sound. I do tend to hang on to my AV gear for a while so I'm sort of debating the path here..
Easier decision if you ever want to be able to expand to a 7.2.4 setup.
bwillcox likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #90 of 4899 Old 06-26-2017, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
cbolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Easier decision if you ever want to be able to expand to a 7.2.4 setup.
Yeah, I have though about getting a pair of 140SA's for rear presence but my room isn't very wide and what I have been told is I may not get the best result in my current room setup. It looks like the 2070/3070 both can support bi-amp speakers which the 280FA's can do - would it be worth doing a bi-amp config on the 2070/3070 in either case - will that dramatically improve the sound quality? Looks like it just takes one of the extra speakers for bi-amp connection according to the manual.
cbolton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off