Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16307Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 5024 Old 05-03-2018, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
ok guys so my question .. does the 2070 passthrough hdr 10+ if so is default have to be changed to mode 1... Im looking to get a avr that has atleast dolby vison or hdr 10_ another question is when setting ypao i know it will put different crossovers and speakers to large .. can i not change it manually to small and change cross overs and apply the peq settings that ypao just performed and manual tweak size and crossovers without having to manually put values to get it to the peq it just performed
SUperEd007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 5024 Old 05-03-2018, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
khackshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Hey all, having an issue with getting Atmos to run on this receiver. I picked up a Sony UBP-X800 4k player recently and for the love of me, I cannot get Atmos to run on this thing. I'd borrowed a friend's Oppo 203 and boom, Atmos shows up on the receiver screen just like it's supposed to, but with the Sony, all I get is Dolby Surround, no Atmos (although I think I'm getting sound from the overhead speakers...).

I went to the Sony X800 player page and followed all the recommendations there, so I'm pretty sure its not the player, but I cant figure out what I'm doing wrong on the receiver (if anything). The pics are of my settings (including the settings for the Sony blu ray player)-I'm running a 5.1.2 system with overhead speakers. I've double checked my HDMI cables and triple checked that the disc was an Atmos one.

Anyone else having this issue with the Sony player? Any help would be most welcome!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180502_173950.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	1.80 MB
ID:	2398712   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180502_164827.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	1.59 MB
ID:	2398714   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180502_164851.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	1.71 MB
ID:	2398716  

Sony XBR75940E/ Marantz SR7012/Apple TV 4k/PS4 Pro/PC RTX 2080Ti (SLI)/Harmony Ultimate
khackshaw is offline  
post #2853 of 5024 Old 05-03-2018, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
-30dBfs

With the MV at 0, the internal test tones should produce 75dB at the MLP.
The reason I asked is cause I found this article. https://www.google.com/amp/s/simpleh...ao-volume/amp/

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
Joe879 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2854 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 12:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ben Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUperEd007 View Post
I have a older yamaha and i remember whenever you put straight it takes the sub woofer out of the equation is this innacurate
You might mistake that for Pure Direct.

Straight will ALWAYS use the sub assuming you have digitally set the crossover for your speakers.
PlasmaPZ80U likes this.

SVS Ultra Bookshelf + SVS Ultra Center
Prime Bookshelf Surround with Prime Elevation Heights
Dual Rythmik FV15HP
Yamaha RX-A3060 + Parasound Halo A31 + Emotiva A500
Ben Tan is offline  
post #2855 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevenhealth View Post
...
If I am correct, please rate the devices. I'm not really a gamer, so is Chromecast my best bet? Apple TV?
What would be my best device to stream 4K from the net, to send to the A3070 for processing?..
+1 for Apple TV 4K. It is currently the only standalone Dolby Vision streamer on the market; has good WiFi performance; can do normal Dolby AC-3 audio, no Atmos (yet)
Kris404 is offline  
post #2856 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 05:52 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
How do you most of you guys connect your devices .. DO you go straight to the Avr and then to the Arc of the tv or do some of you connect to the tv first then Arc to the avr.. Only issue is ive heard numerous issues with the avr being able to pass through hdr and 4k signals will i run into any issues if i connect straight to the avr to a new Samsung q9.. whats the best way to connect devices from avr to tv ..
SUperEd007 is offline  
post #2857 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,526
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6661 Post(s)
Liked: 6641
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUperEd007 View Post
Im looking at the Yamaha RX-A2070 for b&W 685 s2 and htm61 and Hsu vtf3 sub and b&W satellite speakers.. Would the 2070 be sufficient or do i need to add a emotiva external amp for mains .. I was also looking at the marantz 6012.. Also hooking it up to my new Samsung q9 curious if this does hdr 10 + passover and dolby vision the newest hdr formats ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Depends on your distance from the mains and how loud you like to listen. The B&W speakers do have relatively low sensitivity (87dB), so if your seating is a good distance away and you like to listen loud, you may benefit from an external amp. You can use this calculator to estimate how much wattage you will need.
I know I like to jam sometimes, and I need the extra level of some 1000 watt mono blocks I would buy the 2070 and see what you think? Add a amp later if you feel you need something more. No rush right? A standard receiver will take you to a nice clear, loud place, most would be happy at that level.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #2858 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 08:54 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I know I like to jam sometimes, and I need the extra level of some 1000 watt mono blocks I would buy the 2070 and see what you think? Add a amp later if you feel you need something more. No rush right? A standard receiver will take you to a nice clear, loud place, most would be happy at that level.
sounds good was either than or the marantz 6012 but the yamaha 2070 seems to have more juice
SUperEd007 is offline  
post #2859 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,696
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6343 Post(s)
Liked: 5682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe879 View Post
The reason I asked is cause I found this article.
That either must be a very old article or they are misinformed.

Almost every AVR manufactured changed from -20dBfs test tones to -30dBfs tones years ago because there were too many complaints that the tones were too loud.
Alan P is offline  
post #2860 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,948
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22556 Post(s)
Liked: 12277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
That either must be a very old article or they are misinformed.

Almost every AVR manufactured changed from -20dBfs test tones to -30dBfs tones years ago because there were too many complaints that the tones were too loud.
Indeed.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2861 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,696
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6343 Post(s)
Liked: 5682
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUperEd007 View Post
How do you most of you guys connect your devices .. DO you go straight to the Avr and then to the Arc of the tv or do some of you connect to the tv first then Arc to the avr.. Only issue is ive heard numerous issues with the avr being able to pass through hdr and 4k signals will i run into any issues if i connect straight to the avr to a new Samsung q9.. whats the best way to connect devices from avr to tv ..
Your AVR is the "hub" of your system. In almost every case, all components should be connected to the AVR with a single HDMI going to the TV.

There are exceptions; e.g. if your AVR doesn't support 4K, if you are fed up trying to get ARC working, etc.
Alan P is offline  
post #2862 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,696
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6343 Post(s)
Liked: 5682
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUperEd007 View Post
ok guys so my question .. does the 2070 passthrough hdr 10+ if so is default have to be changed to mode 1... Im looking to get a avr that has atleast dolby vison or hdr 10_ another question is when setting ypao i know it will put different crossovers and speakers to large .. can i not change it manually to small and change cross overs and apply the peq settings that ypao just performed and manual tweak size and crossovers without having to manually put values to get it to the peq it just performed
I do not know the answer to your HDR/DV question, but of course you can change speaker sizes and crossover settings while retaining the YPAO PEQ filters. Why would you think you could not??
Alan P is offline  
post #2863 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 10:34 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Your AVR is the "hub" of your system. In almost every case, all components should be connected to the AVR with a single HDMI going to the TV.

There are exceptions; e.g. if your AVR doesn't support 4K, if you are fed up trying to get ARC working, etc.
true so hopefully with the 2070 it will not have any issues with a samsung q9 tv arc passing through hdr and 4 .. heard numerous horror stories with people having to go through tv first and not avr
SUperEd007 is offline  
post #2864 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
sawyer1370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm happy to be able to post to this thread. I just got my A2070 set up with my Monitor Audio Silver 300 fronts, c350 center and Elura Blue Label speakers for my 5.2.2 set up. I was using MusicCast to play Tidal, and I very often get access errors. Are others experiencing anything like this and is there a solution to resolve this? Also, you can use spotify directly with MusicCast, but Yamaha seems to force you to use MusicCast for Tidal. Is there any way around this?
sawyer1370 is offline  
post #2865 of 5024 Old 05-04-2018, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawyer1370 View Post
I'm happy to be able to post to this thread. I just got my A2070 set up with my Monitor Audio Silver 300 fronts, c350 center and Elura Blue Label speakers for my 5.2.2 set up. I was using MusicCast to play Tidal, and I very often get access errors. Are others experiencing anything like this and is there a solution to resolve this? Also, you can use spotify directly with MusicCast, but Yamaha seems to force you to use MusicCast for Tidal. Is there any way around this?
Most likely a WiFi issue since the Yamaha AVRs work only in the 2.4Ghz band. Try wired first or install a WiFi Access Point.
Kris404 is offline  
post #2866 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by khackshaw View Post
Hey all, having an issue with getting Atmos to run on this receiver. I picked up a Sony UBP-X800 4k player recently and for the love of me, I cannot get Atmos to run on this thing. I'd borrowed a friend's Oppo 203 and boom, Atmos shows up on the receiver screen just like it's supposed to, but with the Sony, all I get is Dolby Surround, no Atmos (although I think I'm getting sound from the overhead speakers...).

I went to the Sony X800 player page and followed all the recommendations there, so I'm pretty sure its not the player, but I cant figure out what I'm doing wrong on the receiver (if anything). The pics are of my settings (including the settings for the Sony blu ray player)-I'm running a 5.1.2 system with overhead speakers. I've double checked my HDMI cables and triple checked that the disc was an Atmos one.

Anyone else having this issue with the Sony player? Any help would be most welcome!
As far as I can see from photo no. 1 everything is working fine.
The receiver is getting an Atmos track (Dolby TrueHD/DTHD core track with added information) from the BD player.

Last edited by Maldestra; 05-07-2018 at 08:22 AM.
Maldestra is offline  
post #2867 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
khackshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 66
SO in that case, any clues as to why it isnt showing Dolby Atmos in the receiver display when playing one of those tracks? I've cycled through every sound preset just to make sure I wasn't missing something

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maldestra View Post
Last year I bought the Yamaha RX-V781, and I am very happy with it (wuhuu).

However a few hours ago I stumbled across a good deal on the A3070... and I spontaneously bought it... (I allready have 11 speakers ready to connect, so it's justified I tell myself, and my girlfriend).

Given time I will buy an extra amplifier so I can go to full 7.x.4.
At the moment I have to stick with 5.x.4 and 7.x.2.

How is the receiver choosing between 5.x.4 and 7.x.2?

If I am playing an Atmos/DTS:X track can I choose which configuration is played back?
And the same question regarding "legacy tracks" (2.0, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 etc.) and applying D sur./Neural X?




As far as I can see from photo no. 1 everything is working fine.
The receiver is getting an Atmos track (Dolby TrueHD/DTHD core track with added information) from the BD player.

Sony XBR75940E/ Marantz SR7012/Apple TV 4k/PS4 Pro/PC RTX 2080Ti (SLI)/Harmony Ultimate
khackshaw is offline  
post #2868 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 03:09 PM
Member
 
SyNTaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yamaha RX-A3070 / A2070 / A1070 Aventage Owners' Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawyer1370 View Post
I'm happy to be able to post to this thread. I just got my A2070 set up with my Monitor Audio Silver 300 fronts, c350 center and Elura Blue Label speakers for my 5.2.2 set up. I was using MusicCast to play Tidal, and I very often get access errors. Are others experiencing anything like this and is there a solution to resolve this? Also, you can use spotify directly with MusicCast, but Yamaha seems to force you to use MusicCast for Tidal. Is there any way around this?


You can use airplay through the tidal app.. not sure about the quality.. haven't used it in a while.. it's on the bottom left corner when playing music


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SyNTaX is offline  
post #2869 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
quick question for all. Should i amp the front 3 and have the avr power the rest, or power the 5 speakers and have the AVR just do the ceiling? or can anyone suggest what i should do?

what i have :
Yamaha A3070 reciever
parasound 5 x 130 amp -

paradigm studio 60's V3 for front ( possibly upgrading to studio 100 v4 )
paradigm studio CC690 v4 for center
4x C34E speakers in ceiling
paradigm mini monitors for rears
SVS cylinder sub
3v07ut10n is offline  
post #2870 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Middel east, LEBANON
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 242
hi guys, i m having a small issue with my A2070 and hope u can help.

I m connecting my pc (gtx 1080ti) to the yamaha receiver and then using hdmi out 1 to output to my projector (JVC RS440). The issue i m having is windows 10 is not recognizing it as a Yamaha A2070 unless i turn off HDMI OUT, With HDMI OUT off i m able to chose dolby atmos in win10 and it works correctly but obviously with no video on the screen, as soon as i turn it back on, windows recognize it as "ILAFPJ-X1039" device and video works correctly but now i cant chose atmos in windows it just keeps reverting back to 5.1, everything is working great 4k/60 4:4:4 through my pc but i m sure there is a setting i m missing that will help me solve this small issue.

thanks

EDIT: on a side note also, whenever i turn on my pc/receiver without turning on the projector , hdmi out keeps blinking and the receiver device keeps disappearing/reappearing in Nvidia control panel until i turn on the PJ or turn off HDMI OUT, i have my pc connected straight to another monitor via DVI.
(didnt have any of these issues with my other ONKYO receiver)

JVC DLA X590/RS440
BenQ LK970

Last edited by tnaik4; 05-05-2018 at 05:10 PM.
tnaik4 is online now  
post #2871 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 05:18 PM
Member
 
TheDeliverator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnaik4 View Post
hi guys, i m having a small issue with my A2070 and hope u can help.

I m connecting my pc (gtx 1080ti) to the yamaha receiver and then using hdmi out 1 to output to my projector (JVC RS440). The issue i m having is windows 10 is not recognizing it as a Yamaha A2070 unless i turn off HDMI OUT, With HDMI OUT off i m able to chose dolby atmos in win10 and it works correctly but obviously with no video on the screen, as soon as i turn it back on, windows recognize it as "ILAFPJ-X1039" device and video works correctly but now i cant chose atmos in windows it just keeps reverting back to 5.1, everything is working great 4k/60 4:4:4 through my pc but i m sure there is a setting i m missing that will help me solve this small issue.

thanks
Try running your Audio and Video from the PC separately to the receiver. I know it's a pain, but it might help troubleshoot.

I have a similar setup (2070), but my Titan X (non Pascal), can't do HDR, otherwise I'd mess around and try and help. I use my Oppo to connect to my PC server for 4K HDR content.

Also, check out the Nvidia forums or perhaps the HTPC forum here.
TheDeliverator is offline  
post #2872 of 5024 Old 05-05-2018, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Kayto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by khackshaw View Post
SO in that case, any clues as to why it isnt showing Dolby Atmos in the receiver display when playing one of those tracks? I've cycled through every sound preset just to make sure I wasn't missing something
Do you have the surround decoder on auto ?
Kayto is offline  
post #2873 of 5024 Old 05-07-2018, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Last year I bought the Yamaha RX-V781, and I am very happy with it (wuhuu).

However a few days ago I stumbled across a good deal on the A3070... and I spontaneously bought it... (I allready have 11 speakers ready to connect, so it's justified I tell myself, and my girlfriend).

Given time I will buy an extra amplifier so I can go to full 7.x.4.
At the moment I have to stick with 5.x.4 and 7.x.2.

How is the receiver choosing between 5.x.4 and 7.x.2?

If I am playing an Atmos/DTS:X track can I choose which configuration is played back?
And the same question regarding "legacy tracks" (2.0, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 etc.) and applying D sur./Neural X?
Maldestra is offline  
post #2874 of 5024 Old 05-07-2018, 10:31 PM
Member
 
sound97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yamaha 3070 vs 2070 sound comparison

Ok Guys,
I'm wondering who has heard both the Yamaha 2070 and 3070. The common thought is that they both sound the same. But I've also heard some state that there is a difference in the sound. Also, looking around at some of the professional reviews they seems to not rate the 3070 as high compared to previous models. But I've yet to see any bad review of the 2070. What gives? If you heard the two is there a difference in sound?
sound97 is offline  
post #2875 of 5024 Old 05-08-2018, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound97 View Post
Ok Guys,
I'm wondering who has heard both the Yamaha 2070 and 3070. The common thought is that they both sound the same. But I've also heard some state that there is a difference in the sound. Also, looking around at some of the professional reviews they seems to not rate the 3070 as high compared to previous models. But I've yet to see any bad review of the 2070. What gives? If you heard the two is there a difference in sound?
I demoed both in-house. My ears were not able to perceive a difference with movies. I kept the 3070 for the added features, and because I could. If you are into critical listening with your music, spring for the 3070.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #2876 of 5024 Old 05-08-2018, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady Gaia View Post
Yamaha responded quickly to my last message with a request for more information, so I'm hopeful that they'll simply take care of the issue. Once I know for certain how they're handling it I'll follow up.
While I initially had immediate responses and I had heard that my case was being escalated, the trail went cold for two weeks. No response to follow-up messages, so I finally called the support line. They found that a clerical error had resulted in my case not being properly assigned and fast-tracked it, with a supposed RMA in the works. Fingers crossed! The process has been irritating but it sounds like they have every intent of handling it professsionally. Hopefully my next post will be the happy end of the story.
Lady Gaia is offline  
post #2877 of 5024 Old 05-08-2018, 08:10 PM
Member
 
sound97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowboy View Post
I demoed both in-house. My ears were not able to perceive a difference with movies. I kept the 3070 for the added features, and because I could. If you are into critical listening with your music, spring for the 3070.
Was there a difference in sound with music?
sound97 is offline  
post #2878 of 5024 Old 05-08-2018, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound97 View Post
Was there a difference in sound with music?
No.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #2879 of 5024 Old 05-09-2018, 12:39 AM
EWF
Newbie
 
EWF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M7C View Post
I appreciate your response & don't mean to be argumentative but I'm going to see if I can get Yamaha to weigh in (having never tried contacting Yamaha I'm not sure if this will go anywhere or not). The wording really does seem to indicate you should not use both the same pre and amplified channels for any situation -- something I hoped I was wrong about. Hooking one speaker to both at the same time as you interpret it would require adapters and a major lack of common sense. A warning for that would be akin to the warning about not using this amp in a bathtub (not to say these warnings don't exist)!

I did call a local Yamaha repair facility and the guy wasn't much help. He said it's probably best to go with what the manual says.
@StevenC56 To your point, I don't think these devices will blow up if connected that way. But they could become stressed in a way which would shorten the lifespan (I'm guessing it would be an impedance issue leading to excessive heat). It's a shame the manuals aren't better at explaining this. I didn't see any warning in the Z11 manual.

I also checked a similar recent model AVR, the more expensive Denon X8500H. While it doesn't expressly forbid anything either -- it does say when using "all" of the Pre Outs, you can turn the Speaker Outs off (which I'm sure is good for the unit). But it's kind of all or nothing. Also vague...
Set “Assign Mode” to “Pre Amplifier” if
connecting all channels to the Pre-out
terminals using an external amplifier.
This stops operation of the internal power
amplifier of this unit, reducing interference
in the pre amplifier created by the power
amplifier.
If I can get something out of Yamaha I'll report back. I think my other option here is to use the Zones. I didn't get an answer to that question but I'm pretty sure if I want to be wired for 5.x.4 AND a zone for a B speaker I would need the A3070. Even then I think there might be limitations on what would play on the B zone, I'm not sure about that either. My main source of music would be coming from the SPDIF or TOSLINK inputs.
Hi M7C,

This is a bit late but I just came upon your question and I think I might have an answer for you. Unfortunately the manual in some areas is not written very clearly. For a proper interpretation it's important to know the context.

Firstly and most importantly, the manual says:

"To prevent the generation of loud noises or abnormal sounds, make sure the followings before making connections."

"Before making connections" is key here. I am also convinced the loud noises and abnormal sounds they are referring to are thumping and buzzing that can occur when connecting RCA audio cables to live equipment. So if you think of it in this context, when they say:

"When using the PRE OUT jacks, do not connect speakers to the corresponding SPEAKERS terminals" they mean:

1) Initially, leave your speakers disconnected from your external amp.
2) Connect the Yamaha's pre-outs to your external amp first. Because your speakers aren't connected, no thumps, pops or buzzing.
3) NOW connect your speakers to the external amp.

This really has nothing to do with the Yamaha's internal amps. It has everything to do with being a precaution just in case you've forgotten to turn the external amp off before making your connections. That way you won't get startled or blow a speaker.

Therefore you should be fine using all the internal amps and pre-outs w/external amps simultaneously.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by EWF; 05-09-2018 at 12:45 AM.
EWF is offline  
post #2880 of 5024 Old 05-09-2018, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,696
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6343 Post(s)
Liked: 5682
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowboy View Post
If you are into critical listening with your music, spring for the 3070.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sound97 View Post
Was there a difference in sound with music?
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowboy View Post
No.
Huh?
Alan P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.1 , atc smc11 , extend , firmware update , lg c8 , sony ubp-x800 , Yamaha , yamaha 3070 , yamaha a-s1100 , yamaha rx-a2070 , yamaha rx-a3070

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off