*Official* Marantz 2017 NR1508/1608, SR5012/6012/7012 owner's thread - Page 122 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4074Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3631 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 06:34 AM
Member
 
maco07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AVR will set a speaker to LARGE, if the -3dB point is <50Hz, generally setting the crossover at 40Hz. If there is a dedicated sub in the setup, general recommendation is to go to Manual Setup and reset those speakers to SMALL/80Hz, letting the sub handle the lower frequencies as it is generally far more capable of doing the job.
Thanks for clarifying. And what about using the XO set in BOTH (front large + sub @80Hz)? --> My house is very tricky with bass response and sometimes I feel the bass sound better for music set in BOTH.
maco07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3632 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by maco07 View Post
Thanks for clarifying. And what about using the XO set in BOTH (front large + sub @80Hz)? --> My house is very tricky with bass response and sometimes I feel the bass sound better for music set in BOTH.
Crossover only applies to a speaker in that a speaker's frequencies are "crossed over" to the sub.

The sub has a LPF for LFE setting which factory defaults to 120Hz but only applies to the LFE signal (ie. 0.1 in DD/DTS 5.1/7.1) and should generally be left at 120Hz to allow the full LFE signal (ie. 20Hz - 120Hz) to pass through the AVR to the sub (noting that the majority of LFE is <80Hz).

If you prefer to leave the speakers as LARGE (such that they would then play the full range signal passed to them), this will tax the AVR much more and indeed may cause it to shut down in protection mode at very high volume levels.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3633 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 07:12 AM
Member
 
maco07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Crossover only applies to a speaker in that a speaker's frequencies are "crossed over" to the sub.

The sub has a LPF for LFE setting which factory defaults to 120Hz but only applies to the LFE signal (ie. 0.1 in DD/DTS 5.1/7.1) and should generally be left at 120Hz to allow the full LFE signal (ie. 20Hz - 120Hz) to pass through the AVR to the sub (noting that the majority of LFE is <80Hz).

If you prefer to leave the speakers as LARGE (such that they would then play the full range signal passed to them), this will tax the AVR much more and indeed may cause it to shut down in protection mode at very high volume levels.
I understand. I'm looking for a new 7012 as my 7009 started to failing the center and rear right channels. I believe due to overheating.

A few years ago, when 7009 was the latest model, I read a lot of post with this same issue. Are you aware if the fail for overheating is still a problem in the 7012's? I saw that it now includes a fan, which I believe my 7009 does not.
maco07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3634 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by maco07 View Post
I understand. I'm looking for a new 7012 as my 7009 started to failing the center and rear right channels. I believe due to overheating.

A few years ago, when 7009 was the latest model, I read a lot of post with this same issue. Are you aware if the fail for overheating is still a problem in the 7012's? I saw that it now includes a fan, which I believe my 7009 does not.
Any model will overheat when insufficient ventilation is not available (ie. 3-4" clearance above and to the sides along with an open front and back). Although the SR7009 includes 1 fan while the SR7012 includes 2 fans, in neither case is(are) the fan(s) going to come on unless the internal temp reaches 159F.

Your best option to ensure sufficient cooling of the internal components of any brand AVR you purchase is to also purchase an external cooling fan (eg. AC Infinity Aircom T8 (rear exhaust) or T10 (front exhaust)).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3635 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 07:45 AM
Member
 
maco07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Any model will overheat when insufficient ventilation is not available (ie. 3-4" clearance above and to the sides along with an open front and back). Although the SR7009 includes 1 fan while the SR7012 includes 2 fans, in neither case is(are) the fan(s) going to come on unless the internal temp reaches 159F.

Your best option to ensure sufficient cooling of the internal components of any brand AVR you purchase is to also purchase an external cooling fan (eg. AC Infinity Aircom T8 (rear exhaust) or T10 (front exhaust)).
Thank you very much for all your explanations. 159F is too high, I don't understand why it was designed that way.

I took a look at the Aircom. It looks pretty good. Do you have it? How much cooler the amp works? I'm really thinking in buy one.
maco07 is offline  
post #3636 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by maco07 View Post
Thank you very much for all your explanations. 159F is too high, I don't understand why it was designed that way.

I took a look at the Aircom. It looks pretty good. Do you have it? How much cooler the amp works? I'm really thinking in buy one.
Yes, I own a T8 setting the thermostat to 85F and have been recommending AC Infinity fans for years based on positive comments from other members. You can also drop the temp of the AVR by 10F by simply setting the ECO mode to ON, generally resulting in no drop in audio quality or distortion of any kind which is what I have done for years. I only recently purchased the T8 last year to see for myself why it gets so much praise. Gets the job done for sure much better than ECO mode which dropped the temp from about 115F to 105F.
maco07 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3637 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Any Alexa experts? I have the Alexa show. I'm able to play music to the Marantz fine but it allways uses amazon music. I have linked/enabled Tidal but no go.Alexa keeps telling me to enable it on the app.But it is already. What can I do?

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #3638 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Any Alexa experts? I have the Alexa show. I'm able to play music to the Marantz fine but it allways uses amazon music. I have linked/enabled Tidal but no go.Alexa keeps telling me to enable it on the app.But it is already. What can I do?
Try rebooting the app and do a soft reset of the AVR (ie. power off and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3639 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try rebooting the app and do a soft reset of the AVR (ie. power off and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes).
will try that thx

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #3640 of 4798 Old 01-28-2019, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 667
I've now tried setting up Audyssey on the 7012 without disabling my "Matrixed" front and rear wides and the dialog lift effect to see how it deals with frequency response averaged across multiple speakers instead of just one at a time (no simple way to correct them individually anyway without buying a ton more equipment, which I figured was the price I'd have to pay for getting 11.1.6 on the cheap compared to the only high-end systems that can possibly do it and given the DTS and Auro-3D limits with discrete equipment, it seemed like the best way to go regardless).

Since Audyssey doesn't time correct, I figured the averaged response is what truly matters per channel anyway as you want even response, perhaps MORE so with extra speakers duplicating some of the information, which could raise the midrange or treble or something relative to bass. I have to say, I like the end result. Music tells the tale as "stereo" with 6 speakers (two matrixed wides and a bit of mixer "dialog lift" going to the heights, which raises the vocal soundstage for music to screen level as well) tell the tale. Nice and smooth, IMO. It's not night and day different. The drivers all already match, but it does seem a bit smoother, mostly in the bass, but I think the midrange seems slightly clearer as well (I wouldn't place bets on that with a double blind test, though). It certainly didn't sound any worse. I'm less sure about the Dynamic EQ for bass relative to volume, but I'm testing it out. So far, I haven't felt the need to turn it off. It does seem to kick the bass up a little bit at various volumes, but that's not necessarily a bad thing as I like bass. It still sounds plenty clear here.

Click THEATER (Updated: Oct-19-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 10-13-19)
MagnumX is online now  
post #3641 of 4798 Old 01-30-2019, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear experts hi from India. this week I bought a Marantz SR7012 but unfortunately it gave up on me.
My setup is Klipsh RF25, RC25, RS7, Klipsh 15 inch SUB.
Bi Amp to my RF25 with manual speaker setup (7.1 Bi amp speaker setup). Was thinking about running auddy setup after few day’s of listening. I was very happy with the sonud, did all other setup AirPlay, HEOS etc. and it was WAW! Last night I tried to rais the volume and suddenly my AVR went to protection mode red led 2x/s, and it never came back. Tried with reset Power, Game, info as per manual but sill no luck. Marantz service guys told me to send the AVR to Marantz service desk ( who’s is now in process) just wanted know what did I do wrong. My eco setup was auto. One good friend of mine told me that bi amp was the problemRF25 can not take that much of power. However my speaker still live and rocking with my other AVR. Any clue guys ?
Apriciate your help and advice for future !!
Regards.
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3642 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 12:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by debabrata70 View Post
Dear experts hi from India. this week I bought a Marantz SR7012 but unfortunately it gave up on me.
My setup is Klipsh RF25, RC25, RS7, Klipsh 15 inch SUB.
Bi Amp to my RF25 with manual speaker setup (7.1 Bi amp speaker setup). Was thinking about running auddy setup after few day’s of listening. I was very happy with the sonud, did all other setup AirPlay, HEOS etc. and it was WAW! Last night I tried to rais the volume and suddenly my AVR went to protection mode red led 2x/s, and it never came back. Tried with reset Power, Game, info as per manual but sill no luck. Marantz service guys told me to send the AVR to Marantz service desk ( who’s is now in process) just wanted know what did I do wrong. My eco setup was auto. One good friend of mine told me that bi amp was the problemRF25 can not take that much of power. However my speaker still live and rocking with my other AVR. Any clue guys ?
Apriciate your help and advice for future !!
Regards.
Using the "bi-amp" setting on the AVR doesn't provide any additional power which is one of the reasons why it provides no additional benefit. What is most often the cause of this issue is when a speaker wire from one post is touching another post.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3643 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by debabrata70 View Post
Dear experts hi from India. this week I bought a Marantz SR7012 but unfortunately it gave up on me.
My setup is Klipsh RF25, RC25, RS7, Klipsh 15 inch SUB.
Bi Amp to my RF25 with manual speaker setup (7.1 Bi amp speaker setup). Was thinking about running auddy setup after few day’s of listening. I was very happy with the sonud, did all other setup AirPlay, HEOS etc. and it was WAW! Last night I tried to rais the volume and suddenly my AVR went to protection mode red led 2x/s, and it never came back. Tried with reset Power, Game, info as per manual but sill no luck. Marantz service guys told me to send the AVR to Marantz service desk ( who’s is now in process) just wanted know what did I do wrong. My eco setup was auto. One good friend of mine told me that bi amp was the problemRF25 can not take that much of power. However my speaker still live and rocking with my other AVR. Any clue guys ?
Apriciate your help and advice for future !!
Regards.
Using the "bi-amp" setting on the AVR doesn't provide any additional power which is one of the reasons why it provides no additional benefit. What is most often the cause of this issue is when a speaker wire from one post is touching another post.
Thanks for the advice. Now no more Bi amp. But I have checked the was no touching terminals. I use banana plug with sleeves just to make sure.
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3644 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 01:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by debabrata70 View Post
Thanks for the advice. Now no more Bi amp. But I have checked the was no touching terminals. I use banana plug with sleeves just to make sure.
Then the other most likely cause is amp failure (nothing to do with bi-amp). Was the unit purchased "new" or "used"? How long is the warranty period in India?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3645 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 03:37 AM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then the other most likely cause is amp failure (nothing to do with bi-amp). Was the unit purchased "new" or "used"? How long is the warranty period in India?[/QUOTE]

Yes most likely it is amp failure. It’s new just a week old under Marantz India warrranty. Already send to service desk. I was thinking about running at 4 ohms setup with my RF25 ( nominal 8 ohms). Or just keep the volume down to avoide this kind of situation. Any advice ??
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3646 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Yes most likely it is amp failure. It’s new just a week old under Marantz India warrranty. Already send to service desk. I was thinking about running at 4 ohms setup with my RF25 ( nominal 8 ohms). Or just keep the volume down to avoide this kind of situation. Any advice ??
With a sensitivity rating of 97dB, the RF25 speakers only require a few watts to reach loud movie reference volume level at the main listening position. No reason to change the factory default 8-ohm impedance setting.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 01-31-2019 at 10:17 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3647 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
burts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Is this video accurate because I followed it, I have my surround height setup as rear height, im using auro 3d setup which is 9.1(5.1 with 4 height speakers) and supposed to be universal to run atmos...

burts is offline  
post #3648 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by burts View Post
Is this video accurate because I followed it, I have my surround height setup as rear height, im using auro 3d setup which is 9.1(5.1 with 4 height speakers) and supposed to be universal to run atmos...
Error playing uTube video; however, if the AVR is set to FH+RH then both speakers will be active with Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3649 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Yes most likely it is amp failure. It’s new just a week old under Marantz India warrranty. Already send to service desk. I was thinking about running at 4 ohms setup with my RF25 ( nominal 8 ohms). Or just keep the volume down to avoide this kind of situation. Any advice ??
With a sensitivity rating of 97dB, the RF25 speakers only require a few watts to reach loud movie reference volume level at the main listening position. No reason to change the factory default 8-ohm impedance setting.
Thanks for your advise JD &#x1f642;. If I understood your advice correctly, I am not planning to change the impedance of the speaker to 4. I was planning to change my receiver setting to 4 and connect my 8 ohms RF25 with it. Is this a good idea ? Also do you think raising volume in ECO Mode may trip my AVR ? Marantz dealer told me that is may be a reason why my 7012 went kaput &#x1f92f; Apreciate your views on this.
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3650 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by debabrata70 View Post
Thanks for your advise JD &#x1f642;. If I understood your advice correctly, I am not planning to change the impedance of the speaker to 4. I was planning to change my receiver setting to 4 and connect my 8 ohms RF25 with it. Is this a good idea ? Also do you think raising volume in ECO Mode may trip my AVR ? Marantz dealer told me that is may be a reason why my 7012 went kaput &#x1f92f; Apreciate your views on this.
No to both questions. Leave the impedance at 8-ohm. ECO mode would not have caused amp failure.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3651 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
impreza276's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 758
For the SR7012 is there a way to mute the speakers and play audio through the TV?
impreza276 is offline  
post #3652 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by impreza276 View Post
For the SR7012 is there a way to mute the speakers and play audio through the TV?
Yup. Set the <HDMI Audio Out> to "TV" (p. 193 Owner's manual).
impreza276 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3653 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
impreza276's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. Set the <HDMI Audio Out> to "TV" (p. 193 Owner's manual).
Thanks!!
impreza276 is offline  
post #3654 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=jdsmoothie;57533124]
Quote:
Originally Posted by debabrata70 View Post
Thanks for your advise JD &#x1f642;. I was planning to change my receiver setting to 4 and connect my 8 ohms RF25 with it. Is this a good idea ? Also do you think raising volume in ECO Mode may trip my AVR ?

No to both questions. Leave the impedance at 8-ohm. ECO mode would not have caused amp failure.
So in my understanding Bi- amp also not the cause of failure. Thanks for your time and advice again !
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3655 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,869
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5342 Post(s)
Liked: 3853
Bi-amping does potentially make the AVR run hotter.

Bi-amping [passive, not to be confused with the variety used in the pro world called active] is a very popular feature found in many brands of AVRs.

It should never be used by any individual under any circumstances whatsoever but only because it s a complete waste of time, heat, electricity, and wiring yet offers no improvement in sound quality nor maximum output power under FTC rules, at all.

Last edited by m. zillch; 01-31-2019 at 09:01 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3656 of 4798 Old 01-31-2019, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
debabrata70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Bi-amping does potentially make the AVR run hotter.

Bi-amping [passive, not to be confused with the variety used in the pro world called active] is a very popular feature found in many brands of AVRs.

It should never be used by any individual under any circumstances whatsoever but only because it s a complete waste of time, heat, electricity, and wiring yet offers no improvement in sound quality nor maximum output power under FTC rules, at all.
Thanks for the explanation Z.
It seems all AVR offers bi-amp fasility is actually a passive one and I agree with you that there is no point of passive bi-amping. Form now on I am leaning to single connection to RF25. I think SR7012 have enough power to satisfy my need (I am new to Marantz). Let me try this after my AVR is back from service. I was just worried about what did I do wrong with SR7012 that it just gave up on me &#x1f642; I lesten to music normally in high volumes. Hope I can do same with SR7012 in future. Little scared from now on. Thanks
debabrata70 is offline  
post #3657 of 4798 Old 02-02-2019, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Recently purchased 7012. Have two questions:

#1 . I was hoping to be able to turn on/off my Samsung Plasma Smart TV via the AVR. I CAN shut off AVR with the Samsung remote (via CEC) but I can't get it to work the other way around. I am hoping to voice control EVERYTHING via Alexa and thought that an Alexa friendly AVR could make this happen. Any suggestions for setup? Currently my Samsung Plasma is connected via HDMI-ARC. I don't really utilize any Smart TV apps so If I have to abandon the ARC connection to make this work I am ok with that. CEC is enabled on both the AVR and the TV...would a different HDMI output on the AVR make a difference? Any other suggestions include hardware additions to make this possible?


#2 . I have a family music subscription to apple music. Would really LOVE to be able to stream music across the stereo WITHOUT having to cast it from my iPhone. Any suggestions here? Would adding apple tv make this happen? I heard that Amazon and Apple have teamed up to allow apple music on the Alexa; can this be cast via airplay or some other protocol to the 7012?


Thanks in advance!!!
heliskier59 is offline  
post #3658 of 4798 Old 02-02-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,055
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22611 Post(s)
Liked: 12304
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliskier59 View Post
Recently purchased 7012. Have two questions:

#1 . I was hoping to be able to turn on/off my Samsung Plasma Smart TV via the AVR. I CAN shut off AVR with the Samsung remote (via CEC) but I can't get it to work the other way around. I am hoping to voice control EVERYTHING via Alexa and thought that an Alexa friendly AVR could make this happen. Any suggestions for setup? Currently my Samsung Plasma is connected via HDMI-ARC. I don't really utilize any Smart TV apps so If I have to abandon the ARC connection to make this work I am ok with that. CEC is enabled on both the AVR and the TV...would a different HDMI output on the AVR make a difference? Any other suggestions include hardware additions to make this possible?


#2 . I have a family music subscription to apple music. Would really LOVE to be able to stream music across the stereo WITHOUT having to cast it from my iPhone. Any suggestions here? Would adding apple tv make this happen? I heard that Amazon and Apple have teamed up to allow apple music on the Alexa; can this be cast via airplay or some other protocol to the 7012?


Thanks in advance!!!
1. Try setting the "Instant On" setting on the Samsung TV to OFF.
2. Use Airplay.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3659 of 4798 Old 02-02-2019, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MagnumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliskier59 View Post
Recently purchased 7012.

I have a family music subscription to apple music. Would really LOVE to be able to stream music across the stereo WITHOUT having to cast it from my iPhone. Any suggestions here? Would adding apple tv make this happen? I heard that Amazon and Apple have teamed up to allow apple music on the Alexa; can this be cast via airplay or some other protocol to the 7012?
An AppleTV 4K would solve your problem (nice streamer as well with apps for most everything).
MorganB likes this.

Click THEATER (Updated: Oct-19-2019) for pics: Epson 3100 3D Projector, DaLite 92" screen, 11.1.6 (Marantz SR7012 + Yamaha HTR-5960 + Onkyo ESPro) - Dialog Lift - PSB T45/B15/S50/X1T/CS500 Speakers & Def Tech PF-1500 15" sub; 2nd Room (Updated Apr-22-2019): 48" Plasma TV, Carver AL-III, Carver C-5 Pre-Amp, Technics SH-AC500D, Dual Carver TFM-35x Amps (Active Bi-Amp), Klipsch Surrounds ; Sources: PS4, LG UP875 UHD, Nvidia Shield (KODI), ATV4K, Zidoo X9S, LD, GameCube : Props (Updated 10-13-19)
MagnumX is online now  
post #3660 of 4798 Old 02-04-2019, 07:19 PM
Member
 
qwerty_88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Whenever i turn on my marantz the setup assistant always keeps coming up telling me to download heos app. How can i stop this?
qwerty_88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
atmos , auro3d , bridging channels , clipping , dts:x , issue , Marantz , marantz sr 6012 , marantz sr7012 , sr7012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off