*Official* Marantz 2017 NR1508/1608, SR5012/6012/7012 owner's thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4099Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 5124 Old 11-13-2017, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can purchase the Audyssey MultEQ Editor app and place it in Demo mode to start becoming familiar with it.
I will have the sr7012 home by the end of the week.I have the editor app on my phone already.But I don't see how to put it in demo mode. Can anyone advise.thanks
rocky1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 5124 Old 11-13-2017, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonadman2 View Post
Just to clarify - it won't have any issues driving 11.2 channels if the FL/FC/FR/SL/SR/BSL/BSR/Sub are all externally amplified, and I am using the internal amplifiers to drive the ceiling ATMOS channels?
Correct.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #663 of 5124 Old 11-13-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
I will have the sr7012 home by the end of the week.I have the editor app on my phone already.But I don't see how to put it in demo mode. Can anyone advise.thanks
I thought there was a demo mode or perhaps not.

Post in the following thread with additional app questions ----> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-pre-pros.html
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 5124 Old 11-13-2017, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Gonadman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct.
Thanks for the confirmation. My most recent receiver is an RX-V1800 (Yamaha) so assignable amplifiers is a new feature for me. Looking forward to this unit!
Gonadman2 is offline  
post #665 of 5124 Old 11-13-2017, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
zax123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct.
Hi JD,

I was looking through the manual and in the amp assign screen, I don't see a way to select that the main front channels use external amps while the other surround, back and ceiling channels use the internal amps. Am I missing something?

I would like to use a few MA-500 amps for right left and center and then use 8 of the internal amps for side, back and 4 Atmos speakers but I don't see a configuration that can do that...

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
zax123 is offline  
post #666 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 12:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
Whenever I turn on my new 7012, there is a loud pop/crack through the speakers at the end of the power on sequence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
I had this same exact problem. Im sorry but I dont remember how it got resolved but here's what I'd do if it happened againin order)

1. Connect entire system to another outlet.
The root cause of the problem turned out to be my (old) surge protector which may have had a grounding fault or something. I replaced it with a new unit and all is well . Let's just hope it didn't cause any damage to the AVR...
blatz8 and harryballector like this.
politby is offline  
post #667 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 02:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by zax123 View Post
Hi JD,

I was looking through the manual and in the amp assign screen, I don't see a way to select that the main front channels use external amps while the other surround, back and ceiling channels use the internal amps. Am I missing something?

I would like to use a few MA-500 amps for right left and center and then use 8 of the internal amps for side, back and 4 Atmos speakers but I don't see a configuration that can do that...

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
The only pre-outs that need be identified in the AMP ASSIGN setting are the 2 used to expand the AVR from 9CH --> 11CH as all the pre-outs are "hot."

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout
: 5ch & SB
Height
– Height Sp
: 4ch
- Layout: Top Front + Top Rear
- Pre-out: Front
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #668 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 03:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
The root cause of the problem turned out to be my (old) surge protector which may have had a grounding fault or something. I replaced it with a new unit and all is well . Let's just hope it didn't cause any damage to the AVR...
Excellent!

If by "surge protector" you mean those multi-outlet strips that everybody use to connect computers, printers, etc to, I would seriously consider replacing it with a Power Conditioner by Furmann or the like.

LG 2019 65" C9 OLED
Marantz SR-7012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub Rythmik F12 Sub
TiVO Bolt
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #669 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 03:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Excellent!

If by "surge protector" you mean those multi-outlet strips that everybody use to connect computers, printers, etc to, I would seriously consider replacing it with a Power Conditioner by Furmann or the like.
I know, but our power feed is so clean and stable that it's hardly necessary. I'm certain it was old age, not unclean power, that killed the old one.
politby is offline  
post #670 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 03:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
I know, but our power feed is so clean and stable that it's hardly necessary. I'm certain it was old age, not unclean power, that killed the old one.
Up to you man. My experience is that NO power supply is "clean and stable" except perhaps hospitals and high grade IT facilities. Just my two cents. No pressure...
politby and blatz8 like this.

LG 2019 65" C9 OLED
Marantz SR-7012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub Rythmik F12 Sub
TiVO Bolt
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #671 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 03:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Up to you man. My experience is that NO power supply is "clean and stable" except perhaps hospitals and high grade IT facilities. Just my two cents. No pressure...
Like this?

https://www.thomann.de/gb/furman_m_10x_e_b_stock.htm
politby is offline  
post #672 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post
Yes, exactly. But research other models, count the number of outlets you need (allow for growth) and find one within your price range. Look at it as good insurance.

Others on here may want to chime in....

Scott

LG 2019 65" C9 OLED
Marantz SR-7012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub Rythmik F12 Sub
TiVO Bolt
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #673 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
zax123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The only pre-outs that need be identified in the AMP ASSIGN setting are the 2 used to expand the AVR from 9CH --> 11CH as all the pre-outs are "hot."

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout
: 5ch & SB
Height
– Height Sp
: 4ch
- Layout: Top Front + Top Rear
- Pre-out: Front
Hi JD,

Thanks for this. I understand about the pre-out assignment. What I'm worried about is that the receiver will always assign amps to the front right, left and center channels and there would be no way to tell the receiver to assign (two of) those channels' amps to the side, rear or height channels since I will need 8 of the 9 amps for surround speakers. I realize that I can always use pre-outs for the front channels, but the amps might still stay assigned to them.

The other thing I'm wondering is if what I want to do is worth it. Maybe I should just let the receiver be the amp for the front channels and use the MA-500s for the four height speakers and that's it.
zax123 is offline  
post #674 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 04:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,842
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4819 Post(s)
Liked: 2864
Quote:
Originally Posted by zax123 View Post
Hi JD,

Thanks for this. I understand about the pre-out assignment. What I'm worried about is that the receiver will always assign amps to the front right, left and center channels and there would be no way to tell the receiver to assign (two of) those channels' amps to the side, rear or height channels since I will need 8 of the 9 amps for surround speakers. I realize that I can always use pre-outs for the front channels, but the amps might still stay assigned to them.

The other thing I'm wondering is if what I want to do is worth it. Maybe I should just let the receiver be the amp for the front channels and use the MA-500s for the four height speakers and that's it.
I think you might have overlooked the last part of the Amp Assign that JD listed: "preamp: Front". When that option is selected, the amps which would have been used for the front speakers are reallocated to speaker binding posts which otherwise would have required an external amp.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #675 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
zax123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
I think you might have overlooked the last part of the Amp Assign that JD listed: "preamp: Front". When that option is selected, the amps which would have been used for the front speakers are reallocated to speaker binding posts which otherwise would have required an external amp.
Oh, woops! Sorry about that and thanks @Selden Ball !
zax123 is offline  
post #676 of 5124 Old 11-14-2017, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
muscles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked: 1433
Just a quick piece of advice for SR7012 owners. Do not use the phono preamp on this receiver. It is absolutely awful. I went out and got a Pro-ject tube preamp and it is literally 10x better. Hopefully this helps someone before they wonder what gives with the phono input.


Greg

Subwoofers: Dual JTR RS1's - SB13 Ultra (bedroom)
Speakers: 2xJTR Noesis 212RT 1 210RM - KEF LS50W
Audio:McIntosh C2600 Pre - Marantz SR-8012 -Dual McIntosh 601's - PS Audio M700 - McIntosh MT5 - GoldNotePH10 - Oppo UDP-205 - BlueSound Node 2
TV: Samsung 75" Q9FN - Sony 75" 940D
muscles is offline  
post #677 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscles View Post
Just a quick piece of advice for SR7012 owners. Do not use the phono preamp on this receiver. It is absolutely awful. I went out and got a Pro-ject tube preamp and it is literally 10x better. Hopefully this helps someone before they wonder what gives with the phono input.


Greg
Good to know thanks.Have the sr7012 coming tomorrow.Have a Pro ject 1expression now thru a pro ject phono box mm to my present receiver(sr8002).Was wondering about the sr7012 phono preamp.Will be Stayng with the phono box . By the way how is that tube preamp? was thinking of now upgrading my phono box.
rocky1 is offline  
post #678 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscles View Post
Just a quick piece of advice for SR7012 owners. Do not use the phono preamp on this receiver. It is absolutely awful. I went out and got a Pro-ject tube preamp and it is literally 10x better. Hopefully this helps someone before they wonder what gives with the phono input.


Greg
Fortunately not an opinion shared by most who have used the PHONO input.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #679 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Fortunately not an opinion shared by most who have used the PHONO input.
That could well be.I may just test it first to see for myself. But in all honesty I allways heard that the phono preamp will allways be better than the phono inputs on avr's. Not saying its true as I don't actually know,just what I have heard here.either way i'll test it to see.
rocky1 is offline  
post #680 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
That could well be.I may just test it first to see for myself. But in all honesty I allways heard that the phono preamp will allways be better than the phono inputs on avr's. Not saying its true as I don't actually know,just what I have heard here.either way i'll test it to see.
Not disagreeing with you rather simply suggesting the difference will be based on the quality of the phone pre-amp, speaker quality, and your own hearing ability, but most certainly not "awful" for the majority of owners.
Scott Oakley likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #681 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
The DTS Virtual:X firmware update is scheduled to be released to the NR1608 and SR5012 this week with the higher models receiving it next Spring. These lower level models will be limited to using either Audyssey or DTS Virtual:X but not both concurrently while there is no such limitation with the upper level models.

With conventional 5.1 or 7.1 floor speaker configuration (or even with 2.1 configuration theoretically, without any ceiling, height, or Dolby Atmos speakers), you can enjoy "Virtual" height effects from stereo PCM to DTS encoded channel multi-channel contents such as DTS-HD, DTS-HD MA as well as DTS:X objected based contents. Please see below for a short video prepared by DTS to introduce the feature.


The sound mode uses psycho acoustic algorithms to create surround and height as well as overhead effects and output it with a speaker configuration not containing any Height, Dolby or ceiling speakers.

It would be great if NR1608 and/or SR5012 owners that have a 5.1.2 configuration could compare it to a 5.1 configuration (ie. set Height speakers to None) using DTS Virtual:X.
Azekecse likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 11-16-2017 at 06:40 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #682 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Dizzyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm very close to pulling the trigger on an SR7012 (upgrading from an SR8002) but the newer model's slightly lower amplification power makes me wonder if it would in some ways be a step down.

I can't seem to find any professional reviews on the usual sites either.

I presume it's a very big long shot, but has anyone here had an opportunity to compare the 7012 with the high end Marantz AVR's of ten years ago?
Dizzyboy is offline  
post #683 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzyboy View Post
I'm very close to pulling the trigger on an SR7012 (upgrading from an SR8002) but the newer model's slightly lower amplification power makes me wonder if it would in some ways be a step down.

I can't seem to find any professional reviews on the usual sites either.

I presume it's a very big long shot, but has anyone here had an opportunity to compare the 7012 with the high end Marantz AVR's of ten years ago?
Both models are rated at 125W/CH with the SR8002 bench testing maybe 10W higher (ie. negligible).

However, the SR7012 uses upgraded HDAM pre-amps (better than those used on the AV8801 in fact) and also the much better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32 .... so really ... an upgrade overall.

Wait another few weeks and the newer SR8012 (11CH, 140W) will be released which features a toroidal transformer.
Scott Oakley likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 11-15-2017 at 11:52 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #684 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzyboy View Post
I'm very close to pulling the trigger on an SR7012 (upgrading from an SR8002) but the newer model's slightly lower amplification power makes me wonder if it would in some ways be a step down.

I can't seem to find any professional reviews on the usual sites either.

I presume it's a very big long shot, but has anyone here had an opportunity to compare the 7012 with the high end Marantz AVR's of ten years ago?
Don't think youll have a problem.Upgraded from sr8002 aswell.I'll have the sr7012 home by tomorrow. Was thinking of waiting for the sr8012 but considering I got the 7012 for half of the cost of the 8012 it was a no brainer.
rocky1 is offline  
post #685 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Dizzyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Both models are rated at 125W/CH with the SR8002 bench testing maybe 10W higher (ie. negligible).

However, the SR7012 uses upgraded HDAM pre-amps (better than those used on the AV8801 in fact) and also the much better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32 .... so really ... an upgrade overall.

Wait another few weeks and the newer SR8012 (11CH, 140W) will be released which features a toroidal transformer.
Thanks! Good to know! Re: the 8012, it's going to be at least 1K CDN more expensive out here, and I'm not sure the price difference would be worthwhile. Would the toroidal transformer make a significant difference?
Dizzyboy is offline  
post #686 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Dizzyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Don't think youll have a problem.Upgraded from sr8002 aswell.I'll have the sr7012 home by tomorrow. Was thinking of waiting for the sr8012 but considering I got the 7012 for half of the cost of the 8012 it was a no brainer.
Excellent. I'm in a similar boat re: price keeping me out of the 8012 pool. Please do post your thoughts on the 7012 once you've got it up and running!
Dizzyboy is offline  
post #687 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
muscles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked: 1433
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Good to know thanks.Have the sr7012 coming tomorrow.Have a Pro ject 1expression now thru a pro ject phono box mm to my present receiver(sr8002).Was wondering about the sr7012 phono preamp.Will be Stayng with the phono box . By the way how is that tube preamp? was thinking of now upgrading my phono box.
I have not compared it to any other pre-amp. I will say this that it was the most significant upgrade in sound quality that any one component has ever introduced to my system. The phono preamp in the marantz is so awful that I can't believe they can market it as a feature. With the Tube amp it has full dynamic range and is at least 2x the volume and clear! When I first hooked it up I listened to records for 4 straight hours, it was mesmerizing! It has got me wondering if I should go even higher up the ladder to possibly a McIntosh preamp!

Best Buy sells them, you get at least a 15 day return policy. I would advise you to check it out!

Greg

Subwoofers: Dual JTR RS1's - SB13 Ultra (bedroom)
Speakers: 2xJTR Noesis 212RT 1 210RM - KEF LS50W
Audio:McIntosh C2600 Pre - Marantz SR-8012 -Dual McIntosh 601's - PS Audio M700 - McIntosh MT5 - GoldNotePH10 - Oppo UDP-205 - BlueSound Node 2
TV: Samsung 75" Q9FN - Sony 75" 940D
muscles is offline  
post #688 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
muscles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked: 1433
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Fortunately not an opinion shared by most who have used the PHONO input.
I wouldn't say my system is high end (~60k$) but it made such a huge difference it could not even be remotely attributed to placebo effect. The built in Phono amp is fine if you don't like clear, loud sound or any bass in your music.

Greg

Subwoofers: Dual JTR RS1's - SB13 Ultra (bedroom)
Speakers: 2xJTR Noesis 212RT 1 210RM - KEF LS50W
Audio:McIntosh C2600 Pre - Marantz SR-8012 -Dual McIntosh 601's - PS Audio M700 - McIntosh MT5 - GoldNotePH10 - Oppo UDP-205 - BlueSound Node 2
TV: Samsung 75" Q9FN - Sony 75" 940D
muscles is offline  
post #689 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,003
Mentioned: 801 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23714 Post(s)
Liked: 13060
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscles View Post
I wouldn't say my system is high end (~60k$) but it made such a huge difference it could not even be remotely attributed to placebo effect. The built in Phono amp is fine if you don't like clear, loud sound or any bass in your music.

Greg
Heh ...heh ... yeh right. The average setup in this thread is likely <$5k.
politby and muscles like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #690 of 5124 Old 11-15-2017, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscles View Post
I have not compared it to any other pre-amp. I will say this that it was the most significant upgrade in sound quality that any one component has ever introduced to my system. The phono preamp in the marantz is so awful that I can't believe they can market it as a feature. With the Tube amp it has full dynamic range and is at least 2x the volume and clear! When I first hooked it up I listened to records for 4 straight hours, it was mesmerizing! It has got me wondering if I should go even higher up the ladder to possibly a McIntosh preamp!

Best Buy sells them, you get at least a 15 day return policy. I would advise you to check it out!

Greg
Just checked best buy/magnolia site didn't see any pro ject tube pre amp ?
rocky1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
airplay , airplay problems , atmos , auro3d , bridging channels , clipping , distortion , dts:x , hdmi arc , issue , Marantz , marantz sr 6012 , marantz sr7012 , receivers , sr7012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off