*Official* Marantz 2017 NR1508/1608, SR5012/6012/7012 owner's thread - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4073Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 4785 Old 04-03-2018, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rendupm View Post
Hello, 2 unrelated questions hopefully someone can help with:


1) Speaker imperance - Following the recommendation in the manual and, for the shake of trying, I have changed the speaker imperance from 8ohms to 6ohms. Does any body know whether this would require also to re-run Audyssey calibration?
2) Spotify connect - Since 1 week ago, when I try to select my SR5012 as output device I get 2 entries instead of one. Very weird. This is happening both with my mobile Spotify app or with my Echo Dot Alexa App. For some reason, both apps identify 2 devices instead of one.


Thanks!
Regarding the Spotify question, are you accessing it via HEOS? If so, I had a similarly inexplicable, though not identical issue and Denon support (pretty helpful) suggested uninstalling/re-installing HEOS. I did and it corrected the problem...nothing to lose by trying...

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 4785 Old 04-03-2018, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,574
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6679 Post(s)
Liked: 6675
Quote:
Originally Posted by obwizards View Post
Almost right!
Find a product with the features you want and track the price!

I find the price will fall if there is a new model out and they want to get rid of old stock. Don't worry about the new features of the new model unless you need them.
That is the key, the new Gold of the new product looks so good even if you never use it...lol
obwizards likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1323 of 4785 Old 04-03-2018, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJayDub View Post
That did the trick, thanks!
Great! Unlike the former "Network reset" procedure which would reset the network plus do a microprocessor reset (ie. thus losing the current Audyssey EQ), this new procedure simply resets some of the network settings without losing any of the Audyssey EQ in the process.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1324 of 4785 Old 04-03-2018, 09:40 PM
Member
 
unicronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 47
For some reason Windows 10 claims my Marantz SR6012 only has 8 channels when it has 9 (I believe subs don't matter).

Does anyone know how to correct this? I don't believe there are any Windows drivers especially when using HDMI connections.
unicronic is offline  
post #1325 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 03:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Regarding the Spotify question, are you accessing it via HEOS? If so, I had a similarly inexplicable, though not identical issue and Denon support (pretty helpful) suggested uninstalling/re-installing HEOS. I did and it corrected the problem...nothing to lose by trying...

Thanks for the various replies. I have reset Network and reinstalled HEOS app, this has fixed the problem with double Spotify connect entries. However, when I run the "find devices" in my echo dot, it still creates 2 entries... SR5012 and SR5012 (1). Very weird. Anyway, not a major issue.
Rendupm is offline  
post #1326 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by unicronic View Post
For some reason Windows 10 claims my Marantz SR6012 only has 8 channels when it has 9 (I believe subs don't matter).

Does anyone know how to correct this? I don't believe there are any Windows drivers especially when using HDMI connections.
Hdmi can only pass 7.1 channels of uncompressed lpcm audio (which is what Windows outputs).

You can also send compressed audio such as Dolby Atmos and DTS:X which will utilize more than 8 channels as long as your processor can decode them.

If you need to send more than 8 channels you'll need a different interface like usb. Think a device like a Motu 16a.
dwaleke is online now  
post #1327 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rendupm View Post
Thanks for the various replies. I have reset Network and reinstalled HEOS app, this has fixed the problem with double Spotify connect entries. However, when I run the "find devices" in my echo dot, it still creates 2 entries... SR5012 and SR5012 (1). Very weird. Anyway, not a major issue.
I'd email Denon's tech support-they usually got back to me within 48 hours.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #1328 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 08:18 AM
Member
 
mtyson84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Santa Fe
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4



Does anyone know how to get a SACD to play in DSD?

I have an Oppo 203 player, and i know both this UHD and my SR5012 support DSD.

My front panel on the Oppo correctly says DSD Multi...

I Press info on my SR5012, it correctly shows speaker arrangement and signal from player as DSD Multi...

But no sound?

I switch Oppo SACD settings to 'Auto' and sound comes through as PCM.

But why no DSD????

I put this on Oppo 203 forums, time to add to this forum.
mtyson84 is offline  
post #1329 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtyson84 View Post


Does anyone know how to get a SACD to play in DSD?

I have an Oppo 203 player, and i know both this UHD and my SR5012 support DSD.

My front panel on the Oppo correctly says DSD Multi...

I Press info on my SR5012, it correctly shows speaker arrangement and signal from player as DSD Multi...

But no sound?

I switch Oppo SACD settings to 'Auto' and sound comes through as PCM.

But why no DSD????

I put this on Oppo 203 forums, time to add to this forum.
I'm sure JD could clarify this, but...
Unfortunately, unlike the SR6012 and SR7012, the manual for the SR5012 describes DSD support as being available only for USB files and DLNA, not over HDMI.

If you want to compare their manuals yourself, they're all available from
http://manuals.marantz.com/sr5012/na/en
http://manuals.marantz.com/sr6012/na/en
http://manuals.marantz.com/sr7012/na/en
mtyson84 likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped

Last edited by Selden Ball; 04-04-2018 at 11:11 AM.
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1330 of 4785 Old 04-04-2018, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
I'm sure JD could clarify this, but...
Unfortunately, unlike the SR6012 and SR7012, the manual for the SR5012 describes DSD support as being available only for USB files and DLNA, not over HDMI.
Correct. The SR6000 series are the lowest models that support DSD over HDMI.
mtyson84 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1331 of 4785 Old 04-05-2018, 05:55 PM
Member
 
unicronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
Hdmi can only pass 7.1 channels of uncompressed lpcm audio (which is what Windows outputs).

You can also send compressed audio such as Dolby Atmos and DTS:X which will utilize more than 8 channels as long as your processor can decode them.

If you need to send more than 8 channels you'll need a different interface like usb. Think a device like a Motu 16a.

Ok thanks for the info, that makes sense now.

Is there a clear way to specify bitstream/pcm for audio to an AVR?
unicronic is offline  
post #1332 of 4785 Old 04-05-2018, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by unicronic View Post
Is there a clear way to specify bitstream/pcm for audio to an AVR?
It depends on the application you are using.
dwaleke is online now  
post #1333 of 4785 Old 04-06-2018, 12:46 AM
Member
 
simonk83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can I just confirm that the 7012 (and 6012) has 10/100 Ethernet, not Gigabit? My switch is reporting 10/100, just checking that's correct (assume so, it doesn't really need gigabit I guess).
simonk83 is offline  
post #1334 of 4785 Old 04-06-2018, 06:31 AM
Member
 
doughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
guys need your opinion.

my dilemma which to choose, i need 11ch of power for my HT

(A) SR8012
(B) SR7012 & 2ch amp for my Fronts (emotiva or marantz)

my system
7.2.4

Fronts - Focal Aria 926
Center- Focal CC900
Sidesur- Focal SR700
Backsur - Focal SR700
Ceiling - Focal IC106 (2pairs)
Sub - SVS PB13ultra (2pc)

thanks for the help;

Cheers

-Don

7.2.4 system : Focal Aria 926, Focal CC900, Focal SR700x2, Focal IC106x2, SVS PB13u x2 , Marantz 8012, Epson 5040ub ,Elitescreen 120" cinewhite, Himediaq10pro, Ubox Pro, Pioneer Laser Disc, Sony Dvd Player, Harmony Elite, Berkline Reno x5, Audioquest, QED, Kimberkables, MIT, Straightwires....looking for UHD player
doughn is offline  
post #1335 of 4785 Old 04-06-2018, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk83 View Post
Can I just confirm that the 7012 (and 6012) has 10/100 Ethernet, not Gigabit? My switch is reporting 10/100, just checking that's correct (assume so, it doesn't really need gigabit I guess).
Yes, D&M's hardware supports only 10/100. They don't do video over Ethernet, only audio, so gigabit is unnecessary.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1336 of 4785 Old 04-06-2018, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughn View Post
guys need your opinion.

my dilemma which to choose, i need 11ch of power for my HT

(A) SR8012
(B) SR7012 & 2ch amp for my Fronts (emotiva or marantz)

my system
7.2.4

Fronts - Focal Aria 926
Center- Focal CC900
Sidesur- Focal SR700
Backsur - Focal SR700
Ceiling - Focal IC106 (2pairs)
Sub - SVS PB13ultra (2pc)

thanks for the help;

Cheers

-Don
Sorry: It's very much a personal preference. You'll have to decide if the extra expense of the 8012 provides additional features or conveniences that you want.

External amps usually are justified if you have to drive inefficient speakers in a large room or "dead" acoustics. Aria speakers tend to have a better than average efficiency, though, so humongous amps usually aren't necessary. Also, for many people the complexity of additional cabling, space, and cooling needed for an external amp is just too annoying.

FWIW, Marantz uses the initial number to indicate the level of hardware quality designed into the device, so 8xxx models tend to have higher quality components and designs than do 7xxx models. However, the 8xxx models are replaced only every 2 or 3 years, so in "off years" 7xxx models frequently have features that the most recent 8xxx models don't. In this case, though, they're both 2017 models, so their feature sets are comparable.

Hmm. Overall, I seem to be recommending the 8012 if you can afford it.
Scott Oakley and jrref like this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1337 of 4785 Old 04-06-2018, 08:47 AM
Member
 
doughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Sorry: It's very much a personal preference. You'll have to decide if the extra expense of the 8012 provides additional features or conveniences that you want.



External amps usually are justified if you have to drive inefficient speakers in a large room or "dead" acoustics. Aria speakers tend to have a better than average efficiency, though, so humongous amps usually aren't necessary. Also, for many people the complexity of additional cabling, space, and cooling needed for an external amp is just too annoying.



FWIW, Marantz uses the initial number to indicate the level of hardware quality designed into the device, so 8xxx models tend to have higher quality components and designs than do 7xxx models. However, the 8xxx models are replaced only every 2 or 3 years, so in "off years" 7xxx models frequently have features that the most recent 8xxx models don't. In this case, though, they're both 2017 models, so their feature sets are comparable.



Hmm. Overall, I seem to be recommending the 8012 if you can afford it.


thanks my ht room is treated for the mean time i am using my old denon 3802 to powerthe 7ch . thanks for the recomendation

heres a pic of my room








thanks and cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Terence likes this.

7.2.4 system : Focal Aria 926, Focal CC900, Focal SR700x2, Focal IC106x2, SVS PB13u x2 , Marantz 8012, Epson 5040ub ,Elitescreen 120" cinewhite, Himediaq10pro, Ubox Pro, Pioneer Laser Disc, Sony Dvd Player, Harmony Elite, Berkline Reno x5, Audioquest, QED, Kimberkables, MIT, Straightwires....looking for UHD player
doughn is offline  
post #1338 of 4785 Old 04-07-2018, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
FWIW, Marantz uses the initial number to indicate the level of hardware quality designed into the device, so 8xxx models tend to have higher quality components and designs than do 7xxx models. However, the 8xxx models are replaced only every 2 or 3 years, so in "off years" 7xxx models frequently have features that the most recent 8xxx models don't. In this case, though, they're both 2017 models, so their feature sets are comparable.

Hmm. Overall, I seem to be recommending the 8012 if you can afford it.
Although true for the "flagship" model (AV8805), the SR8012 is not really considered a true flagship and therefore should be replaced this year along with the rest of the 2017 models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1339 of 4785 Old 04-07-2018, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughn View Post
guys need your opinion.

my dilemma which to choose, i need 11ch of power for my HT

(A) SR8012
(B) SR7012 & 2ch amp for my Fronts (emotiva or marantz)

my system
7.2.4

Fronts - Focal Aria 926
Center- Focal CC900
Sidesur- Focal SR700
Backsur - Focal SR700
Ceiling - Focal IC106 (2pairs)
Sub - SVS PB13ultra (2pc)

thanks for the help;

Cheers

-Don
Some things you may wish to think about to help your buying decision:
Can you afford the extra outlay?
Will you be able to discern the difference or do you belong to the "all amps sound the same" belief?
It's a big gap, and you can buy a pretty nice stereo amp with a HT bypass like the PM 14, so you have to think about whether it's really nice to have a better amp section, because that's the main difference between the two.
Cheers
petetherock is offline  
post #1340 of 4785 Old 04-10-2018, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I jist bought the 5012, came from yamaha 479. So i have a few questions. I have a 3.0 LR are jamo c93 and the center is a klipsch rc62II. i just trade my subwoofer for th marantz and some money, so just for the moment i have to stay with 3.0
1) its normal to play f.e. Spotify in 60?. The levels are - 12db for center and - 5db. And netflix or fox the center its too low, and volumen on 65/70.
2) if i change manually the settings on audio, i lost the configuration of auddesy or just i override that specific valors? For exp the levels.
3) to play on Spotify, tidal or usb music its prefer pure direct, direct or auto??
4)there is a way to run auddesy without the screen? Because it have a projector and sometimes it a little loud and i afraid if that noise can change the test.
Trunksleo is offline  
post #1341 of 4785 Old 04-10-2018, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunksleo View Post
I jist bought the 5012, came from yamaha 479. So i have a few questions. I have a 3.0 LR are jamo c93 and the center is a klipsch rc62II. i just trade my subwoofer for th marantz and some money, so just for the moment i have to stay with 3.0
1) its normal to play f.e. Spotify in 60?. The levels are - 12db for center and - 5db. And netflix or fox the center its too low, and volumen on 65/70.
2) if i change manually the settings on audio, i lost the configuration of auddesy or just i override that specific valors? For exp the levels.
3) to play on Spotify, tidal or usb music its prefer pure direct, direct or auto??
4)there is a way to run auddesy without the screen? Because it have a projector and sometimes it a little loud and i afraid if that noise can change the test.
I too have the 5012, running it in 3.1. I'll respond to your questions with one general statement: Its preferred to run Audyssey with as many mic positions has possible (max 8 I think?) with your final speaker positions set. Then adjust any levels as required. There is no "normal,"-its what sounds right to you. I dont understand your last question.

Scott
Trunksleo likes this.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #1342 of 4785 Old 04-10-2018, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
I too have the 5012, running it in 3.1. I'll respond to your questions with one general statement: Its preferred to run Audyssey with as many mic positions has possible (max 8 I think?) with your final speaker positions set. Then adjust any levels as required. There is no "normal,"-its what sounds right to you. I dont understand your last question.

Scott
If i set Spotify with audyssey it lack of deep sounds, without bass(i dont have subwoofer yet). If set on pure direct it sound it reach deeper.

The last question is if i can run the test of audyssey without the screen of the projector turn on, because of the noise of the projector (its loud) may affect the test.
Trunksleo is offline  
post #1343 of 4785 Old 04-11-2018, 03:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunksleo View Post
I jist bought the 5012, came from yamaha 479. So i have a few questions. I have a 3.0 LR are jamo c93 and the center is a klipsch rc62II. i just trade my subwoofer for th marantz and some money, so just for the moment i have to stay with 3.0
1) its normal to play f.e. Spotify in 60?. The levels are - 12db for center and - 5db. And netflix or fox the center its too low, and volumen on 65/70.
2) if i change manually the settings on audio, i lost the configuration of auddesy or just i override that specific valors? For exp the levels.
3) to play on Spotify, tidal or usb music its prefer pure direct, direct or auto??
4)there is a way to run auddesy without the screen? Because it have a projector and sometimes it a little loud and i afraid if that noise can change the test.
Hello, I also own a 5012 and I use the following settings: (In my case I do have a Subw)
Auddysey config = All speakers are set as Small with Crossover at 40hz. In your case you should have all set up as Large.


Sound Modes:
  • Music (HEOS and Tuner) = STEREO with EQ= ON (+2, +1, 0, -1, -1, 0, +1, +1, 0). Everything else = OFF (Audissey, M-Dax, Tone). In my case Direct modes sound too flat. You may also want to try the Audyssey mode with dynamic eq = On and reference offset = 10db.
  • TV and Netflix = DTS Neural: X with Audyssey (reference, dynamic eq=ON). If center volume is low you may want to try to activate the dialog enhancer. It actually works pretty well. This will set this feature in ALL multichannel sources.
  • DVD = Dolby Surround with Audyssey (reference, dynamic eq=ON, dynamic volume = LOW). In use dynamic volume because I live in a flat with neighbors.
It is all about trying different combinations and see which one suits best. In my case, I try to avoid changing the settings automatically configured via Audyssey calibration as much as possible. (ex. levels, distances, etc.).
Trunksleo likes this.

Last edited by Rendupm; 04-11-2018 at 04:04 AM.
Rendupm is offline  
post #1344 of 4785 Old 04-11-2018, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,309
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Hoping someone can help me out.I lost HEOS on my receiver.Using via remote heos button. I get "no network connection"? I know my wifi is fine as I checked via network on the Marantz. Now I tried via my phone thru the heos app and I get a pop up that says unable to play media.try again later.But it plays? Also if I go into the HEOS account in the Marantz menu I cant do anything there either.

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #1345 of 4785 Old 04-12-2018, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
dannybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth,Australia
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Have a question have the SR 6012 when playing movies through the oppo say I have the sound on 50 volume, it sounds very good clear and loud but when watching say anything else netflix, apple tv and free to air tv the sound on the same volume I can hardly hear it.Do I need to change a setting for other sources if so what.Thanks.

LG 65C7T - SONY BRAVIA 65"Z9D
Marantz SR6012 - Pioneer SCLX 58 - Apple 4KTV
Oppo UBD 203/205- Oppo BDP 103 - Panasonic DMP UB900
Playstation 4 - Mordaunt Short Speakers
dannybee is offline  
post #1346 of 4785 Old 04-12-2018, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,574
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6679 Post(s)
Liked: 6675
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughn View Post
thanks my ht room is treated for the mean time i am using my old denon 3802 to powerthe 7ch . thanks for the recomendation
heres a pic of my room
thanks and cheers
Very slick set up, Did you make that door for the entrance to the room? I like it........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1347 of 4785 Old 04-12-2018, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannybee View Post
Have a question have the SR 6012 when playing movies through the oppo say I have the sound on 50 volume, it sounds very good clear and loud but when watching say anything else netflix, apple tv and free to air tv the sound on the same volume I can hardly hear it.Do I need to change a setting for other sources if so what.Thanks.
Yes.

Each input on the 6012 has its own adjustable trim level: on the remote, press Option, then select "Channel Level Adjust" and adjust the trim for the input source that you're currently listening to.

You can either turn down the input being used for the Oppo (my suggestion) or turn up the others. I suggest turning down the Oppo input because usually after Audyssey calibration the volume control should be in the vicinity of 70 for movies and 60 for CDs. Only if you enable Dynamic Volume would the volume setting normally be in the vicinity of 50.

See page 123 of the 6012's owner's manual, which is available at http://manuals.marantz.com/sr6012/na/en/
dannybee likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1348 of 4785 Old 04-12-2018, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dannybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth,Australia
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Yes.

Each input on the 6012 has its own adjustable trim level: on the remote, press Option, then select "Channel Level Adjust" and adjust the trim for the input source that you're currently listening to.

You can either turn down the input being used for the Oppo (my suggestion) or turn up the others. I suggest turning down the Oppo input because usually after Audyssey calibration the volume control should be in the vicinity of 70 for movies and 60 for CDs. Only if you enable Dynamic Volume would the volume setting normally be in the vicinity of 50.

See page 123 of the 6012's owner's manual, which is available at http://manuals.marantz.com/sr6012/na/en/
Thanks for your help will do.

LG 65C7T - SONY BRAVIA 65"Z9D
Marantz SR6012 - Pioneer SCLX 58 - Apple 4KTV
Oppo UBD 203/205- Oppo BDP 103 - Panasonic DMP UB900
Playstation 4 - Mordaunt Short Speakers
dannybee is offline  
post #1349 of 4785 Old 04-12-2018, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,018
Mentioned: 741 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22596 Post(s)
Liked: 12296
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannybee View Post
Have a question have the SR 6012 when playing movies through the oppo say I have the sound on 50 volume, it sounds very good clear and loud but when watching say anything else netflix, apple tv and free to air tv the sound on the same volume I can hardly hear it.Do I need to change a setting for other sources if so what.Thanks.
Different sources may have different input levels; however, if you prefer the same volume level for all sources for a given master volume level you can use the <Source Level> setting p. 189 Owner's manual.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1350 of 4785 Old 04-13-2018, 03:35 AM
Member
 
automata21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi guys, I just setup svs prime elevation speaker as front height and side height speaker (can’t do rear because of space constraints and no ceiling as renting). What speaker config should I select for atmos for 7.1.4 in marantz 6012. Currently I have set them as front height plus top middle. Is this correct?
automata21 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
atmos , auro3d , bridging channels , clipping , dts:x , issue , Marantz , marantz sr 6012 , marantz sr7012 , sr7012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off