*Official* Marantz 2017 NR1508/1608, SR5012/6012/7012 owner's thread - Page 51 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4073Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
simple man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is nothing to fix. If you refer to p. 305 of your Owner's manual, you'll note that Surround Height is not a Dolby Atmos/Dolby Surround acceptable configuration. Re-lable them as Rear Height. Note that ideally they should be positioned "behind" you not to the side of you.
Thanks!

Colton
 
My Home Theater
simple man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 7,341
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
It's HEOS ...

Refer to post 3 of this thread and do a "Discrete Network chip only reset" and if still no joy, a "Network Reset."

Also ensure you have at least 3-4" clearance above the AVR with an open front and back, otherwise consider adding an external fan to draw the warm air away from the AVR.
Thanks for the heads up, Amazon is going to let me return it for a refund, and ironically it dropped about 200 bucks in price.... The question then is what is new in the 1609 that makes it better, the problem I been reading is some of these units came off the line with bad network cards, but which is most likely tied into the HDMI board as well.

Thanks,

Dynaudio Confidence C2 Platinums (Mocca), Dynaudio Contour 20's (Grey Oak) KEF LS50 (Black), Magnepan 1.7i, Belles VT-01/MB-200s, NAD M10, Hegel, Musical Fidelity and various other good brands.. HT system: Dynaudio SCX Center, Dynaudio In-Walls for Surrounds and Sony VPL-295ES possibly a new Monitor in the future.
Kanso Audio Stand's http://kansoaudiofurniture.com/
Garman is offline  
post #1503 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 07:58 AM
Member
 
MrGrim999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone know what today's firmware update was for?

Marantz 6012 SVS PB 1000 (2)
B&W 683 S2 (2) (towers)
B&W HTM61 S2 (center)
B&W 686 S2 (2) (side rears)
SVS Prime Elevations (4)
MrGrim999 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1504 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by ox1216 View Post
Got the Butt Kicker to work with that splitter..HUGE Thanks...Last Hurdle....When I select the Sound mode Multi Channel Stereo" The clarity of the center is PERFECT!!!! But..When i switch the song node/listening mode to DTS Mater HD the center sounds as if its underwater but the other channels and affects are amazing......So how do I get the clarity of the center channel from the "Multi Channel stereo" listening/sound mode to combine withe sound effects of the DTS Master HD listening/sound mode????

Alan
Try setting the Dynamic EQ Reference Level Offset to 10dB which will minimize the sub and surround effect which should to help improve the dialog.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1505 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
DTS Virtual:X can only be selected when the source audio is DTS or PCM and there are no height speakers configured. Note also that Audyssey is disabled when using this surround mode.
I got everything hooked up with the Martin Logan and the Marantz. I was able to play DTS Virtual X on any source.....Just pushed MUSIC and it was there. I'm still fiddling but the speakers are a little tinny (with DTS, the Audyssey is turned off I think).. But Virtual X sounded real good on some music types but not others. ...I'm gonna play some more

I also noticed Marantz released the NR1609 with Alexa. That's why my 1608 was priced $250 less.

I think the only difference is Alexa and a phono input
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1506 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
I got everything hooked up with the Martin Logan and the Marantz. I was able to play DTS Virtual X on any source.....Just pushed MUSIC and it was there. I'm still fiddling but the speakers are a little tinny (with DTS, the Audyssey is turned off I think).. But Virtual X sounded real good on some music types but not others. ...I'm gonna play some more

I also noticed Marantz released the NR1609 with Alexa. That's why my 1608 was priced $250 less.

I think the only difference is Alexa and a phono input
1. As long as the source is either DTS or PCM, correct (ie. not on DD).
2. All D+M "HEOS" capable models, to include the NR1608, are Alexa capable.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1507 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. As long as the source is either DTS or PCM, correct (ie. not on DD).
2. All D+M "HEOS" capable models, to include the NR1608, are Alexa capable.
Aha - you are right. I thought the 1609 had a microphone and built in Alexa - like the Sonos 1

So what's the improvement... just phono???

On another note, my Audyssey turned off a couple of times. No easy way to turn it on - except the setup menu - or am I missing something?
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1508 of 4785 Old 05-25-2018, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
Aha - you are right. I thought the 1609 had a microphone and built in Alexa - like the Sonos 1

So what's the improvement... just phono???

On another note, my Audyssey turned off a couple of times. No easy way to turn it on - except the setup menu - or am I missing something?
Audyssey is disabled if you select DIRECT/PURE DIRECT/DTS VIRTUAL:X or select a different speaker configuration in AMP ASSIGN then was originally EQ'd.

Review post 1 of the 2018 Marantz Owner's thread to see what new features have been added ....

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...sts-1-7-a.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1509 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 01:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaggyMoose View Post
A few questions about weird things I have noticed with HEOS on the NR1508.
  1. Light visual interference that occurs only when using HEOS, not on any other inputs. Its a subtle dusting of short horizontal bars that flicker all over the screen.
  2. Playlists don't seem to work correctly. I pick a playlist and then find it just playing any other songs it can seem to find within the same set of folders. That one is really annoying...
The second issue is bugging me! After some more fiddling, I found that when I select the playlist and scroll through it, it shows the expected songs. However, when I hit "Play" and it randomly orders the songs to play, then I can find tracks in that list which are not in the originally selected playlist. Is no one else having this issue with the NR1508 or even another AVR with HEOS?
ShaggyMoose is offline  
post #1510 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Audyssey is disabled if you select DIRECT/PURE DIRECT/DTS VIRTUAL:X or select a different speaker configuration in AMP ASSIGN then was originally EQ'd.

Review post 1 of the 2018 Marantz Owner's thread to see what new features have been added ....

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...sts-1-7-a.html
Aha! Thanks for that. So, if I read correctly, if I choose Vision X, Audyssey is disabled. Then if I go back and chose Dolby, Audyssey is not re-enabled. Correct?

On another note, I had just tried to access web control yesterday (my Denon has it)....and now I see it isn't there at all.
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1511 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
Aha! Thanks for that. So, if I read correctly, if I choose Vision X, Audyssey is disabled. Then if I go back and chose Dolby, Audyssey is not re-enabled. Correct?

On another note, I had just tried to access web control yesterday (my Denon has it)....and now I see it isn't there at all.
1. Correct.
2. The Web Control feature has been removed from all 2016 and 2017 Denon and Marantz models that feature HEOS.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1512 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlwings View Post
I'm sure you will find the amps to be powerful enough... It's a real surprise how much power this thing actually has...It weighs 18+ pounds! So big power supply.


Not sure about the various configurations allowed. I'm running a 2.1 setup so I really don't know. But I rmemeber seeing Audyssey has many configs to choose from so hopefully your needs will be covered.


Come back and let us know how you like the 1608 after you get it all set up.
I was worried about the 50 watt amps but there is plenty of oomph ! I have volume around 50% for normal listening and there's quite a bit of volume left if needed.

As for the Marantz 1608 in general.... I'm still a rookie navigating through the features and I haven't yet used the Audyssey APP for fine tuning. But so far, I am more than pleased.

If I had the last year over again, I would still get a passive setup - the NR 1608 but paired with a Golden Ear (not the Martin Logan) soundbar. I have tried 4 powered soundbars now. Two for bedroom TV's which are fine. And two high end powered soundbars for the main room (65" TV) which both had great sound but had other issues which couldn't be resolved.

Last edited by Dennis L.; 05-26-2018 at 01:55 AM.
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1513 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 01:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Correct.
2. The Web Control feature has been removed from all 2016 and 2017 Denon and Marantz models that feature HEOS.
I wonder if the 4 smart select buttons retain Audyssey.
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1514 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 02:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
I wonder if the 4 smart select buttons retain Audyssey.
Yes, as noted on p. 131 in your Owner's manual.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1515 of 4785 Old 05-26-2018, 03:51 AM
Member
 
obwizards's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, as noted on p. 131 in your Owner's manual.
Troubling when you refer to the manual, whats that?
obwizards is online now  
post #1516 of 4785 Old 05-27-2018, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. As long as the source is either DTS or PCM, correct (ie. not on DD).
2. All D+M "HEOS" capable models, to include the NR1608, are Alexa capable.
The difference with that 1609 is that it is indeed voice controlled with Alexa. ( LINK )
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1517 of 4785 Old 05-27-2018, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
The difference with that 1609 is that it is indeed voice controlled with Alexa. ( LINK )
All HEOS models going back to 2016 support it as well.

https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answe...5928/related/1
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1518 of 4785 Old 05-27-2018, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All HEOS models going back to 2016 support it as well.

https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answe...5928/related/1
If I read that article right, the previous models had only Heos Alexa control and the 1609 has the entire receiver.
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1519 of 4785 Old 05-27-2018, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
If I read that article right, the previous models had only Heos Alexa control and the 1609 has the entire receiver.
Easy enough for you to confirm with your NR1608.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1520 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I'm about to buy a deeply discounted NR1608 and have a few quick questions:

1. Is the 1608 capable of Dolby Vision and HDR right out of the box?
2. Are there firmware updates that are available once I set up the NR1608?
3. Are onscreen overlays like volume and setup available for all sources, like Apple TV 4K playing a movie with Dolby Vision?'

Thanks in advance!
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1521 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
I'm about to buy a deeply discounted NR1608 and have a few quick questions:

1. Is the 1608 capable of Dolby Vision and HDR right out of the box?
2. Are there firmware updates that are available once I set up the NR1608?
3. Are onscreen overlays like volume and setup available for all sources, like Apple TV 4K playing a movie with Dolby Vision?'

Thanks in advance!
1. Yes.
2. Most likely.
3. No.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1522 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Wow, so no graphic onscreen overlay at all? My NR1604 does onscreen overlay for sources run through it.
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1523 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
Wow, so no graphic onscreen overlay at all? My NR1604 does onscreen overlay for sources run through it.
On 1080p, yes, which all current models can do as well; however, but not on 4k and certainly not on Dolby Vision.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1524 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
On 1080p, yes, which all current models can do as well; however, but not on 4k and certainly not on Dolby Vision.
So, if I'm watching a 4K Dolby Vision movie on my Apple TV I won't get receiver graphic overlay? Does this mean if I have my Apple TV 4K set to Format=4K Dolby Vision and Match Content=Range and Frame Rate I will get the overlay on 1080p content without making and settings changes on the Apple TV? Sorry if I'm not getting this.
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1525 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
So, if I'm watching a 4K Dolby Vision movie on my Apple TV I won't get receiver graphic overlay? Does this mean if I have my Apple TV 4K set to Format=4K Dolby Vision and Match Content=Range and Frame Rate I will get the overlay on 1080p content without making and settings changes on the Apple TV? Sorry if I'm not getting this.
No clue. Not familiar with the ATV settings.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-28-2018 at 03:28 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1526 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No clue. Not familiar with the ATV.
Thanks! Do you own the 1608?
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1527 of 4785 Old 05-28-2018, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
Thanks! Do you own the 1608?
Nope.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1528 of 4785 Old 05-29-2018, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
So, if I'm watching a 4K Dolby Vision movie on my Apple TV I won't get receiver graphic overlay? Does this mean if I have my Apple TV 4K set to Format=4K Dolby Vision and Match Content=Range and Frame Rate I will get the overlay on 1080p content without making and settings changes on the Apple TV? Sorry if I'm not getting this.
I just bought a 1608 and have the older Apple TV so I can't comment on the graphic overlay. I have a Dolbly Vision TV and Blu Ray and later today - I'll see if I can get a graphic with a DV source.

I had just wondered why I lost my graphic overlay (which is volume control, mainly) on my local antenna TV when it dawned on me that the source video doesn't go through the receiver. Hah! Silly me. Just the sound.
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1529 of 4785 Old 05-29-2018, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by tidwelr1 View Post
Can you include a picture of your setup and indicate where your doing the measurements? That typically helps people to see potential problems. Are you using a tripod or boom mic stand in doing your measurements? Have you tried doing the basic test tones to check for a loudness difference as well?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by ox1216 View Post
Just went through the whole set up again even downloaded the Audyssey app but the center channel still sounds like it’s underwater unless I go to “multi channel Stereo” I miss the DTS HD master sound....
What happens when you by-pass Audysee and run Pure Direct?

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #1530 of 4785 Old 05-29-2018, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis L. View Post
I just bought a 1608 and have the older Apple TV so I can't comment on the graphic overlay. I have a Dolbly Vision TV and Blu Ray and later today - I'll see if I can get a graphic with a DV source.

I had just wondered why I lost my graphic overlay (which is volume control, mainly) on my local antenna TV when it dawned on me that the source video doesn't go through the receiver. Hah! Silly me. Just the sound.
Looking forward to your results.
PTV Programmer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
atmos , auro3d , bridging channels , clipping , dts:x , issue , Marantz , marantz sr 6012 , marantz sr7012 , sr7012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off