*Official* Marantz 2017 NR1508/1608, SR5012/6012/7012 owner's thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4073Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 4785 Old 05-31-2018, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsan View Post
need some help again with my SR7012: Doesn't matter what audio codec is in the input, always is converted to all my 5.1.4 speakers, but what I want is that the audio output be the same as the input: stereo=stereo, 5.1=5.1 or Atmos=Atmos, would you please tell me how can I configure this in an automatic way?. Thanks in advance
While listening to each type of soundtrack, press on one of Music/Movie/Game buttons and select the option which consists of just the name of the audio encoding -- the one which does not have "+Surround" or "+Neural". Once it has been set, it will be remembered. This setting is remembered separately for each type of encoding (Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD MA, etc) and each separate physical input. Every once in a while there will be a glitch and upmixing will be enabled again, but then just a brief press of the appropriate Movie/Music/Game button will undo the upmixing: you won't have to go through the whole menu again.

Note, however, that DTS 5.1 soundtracks will always be upmixed to 7.1 if you have 7 ear-level speakers. This "feature" was designed into the DTS decoder several years ago.
vn800art likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 4785 Old 05-31-2018, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunksleo View Post
Ok. The max can i set up its 4k 30 4.4.4 8.
The problem i dont find that brand on my country. I can only buy cable matters or qualgear(a little more expensive).
I have bought these 8 months ago and ... problem solved! Should be available in Your country:
SilverStone SST-CPH01S-1800 - Cavo HDMI Premium ad Alta Velocità, 1.8m, 4K, 2.0b, 60Hz, 18Gbps, ARC, HDR, 3D, Ethernet, Argento https://www.amazon.it/dp/B01MTVPUXS/..._1KheBbN0X9ZFZ
Sorry, but ... at that time I found it at around half the price it shows today!
Regards
Alessandro

Marantz Sr7011, Galactron Mk10b, Pioneer VsxLx50. Klipsch Cornwall, Wharfedale 9.1, Klipsch CP-6. Sony UbpX800, Lg Up970, Hisense 55M5500. 110 inches rolling screen, excelvan cl720d.
vn800art is offline  
post #1563 of 4785 Old 05-31-2018, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
jorsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks vn800art, will try that.
vn800art likes this.
jorsan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsan View Post
Thanks vn800art, will try that.
Pls note the cables are metal braided and not so flexible. Quality is assured from the badge on outside of the envelope.
Happy to help when I can.
Regards
Alessandro

Marantz Sr7011, Galactron Mk10b, Pioneer VsxLx50. Klipsch Cornwall, Wharfedale 9.1, Klipsch CP-6. Sony UbpX800, Lg Up970, Hisense 55M5500. 110 inches rolling screen, excelvan cl720d.
vn800art is offline  
post #1565 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
The NR1608 supports 4K pass-through but it doesn't do video processing for 4K signals. That's why there is no volume bar/GUI overlay for 4K inputs. You can even completely turn off Video Conversion, but then you lose the GUI volume bar for HD signals too. See Video... Output Settings: http://manuals.marantz.com/nr1608/na...SYmlxuhedk.php.

I use ARC and thereby rely upon my TV's volume bar, which does work for 4K inputs. So I programmed my Harmony remote to send the TV's volume up/down/mute commands.
Can you elaborate? In your setup can you also get the NR1608 menus/GUI or do you have to switch inputs?
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1566 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
Can you elaborate? In your setup can you also get the NR1608 menus/GUI or do you have to switch inputs?
I can’t get at the NR1608 GUI without losing the background 4K picture. I don’t switch inputs - The receiver automatically switches to an HD signal if I bring up any of its menus or screens. It’s only the overlay that doesn’t work with 4K signals, the background turns to black.

What are you trying to do? For me, I only care about and use the volume bar, so my TV’s volume bar overlay via ARC works better than the NR1608. I don’t use any of the other AV receiver functionality, sorry.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Yamaha RX-S602 | B&W M1/PV1 | Sony UBP-X700 | Amazon Fire TV
mikey94025 is offline  
post #1567 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
I can’t get at the NR1608 GUI without losing the background 4K picture. I don’t switch inputs - The receiver automatically switches to an HD signal if I bring up any of its menus or screens. It’s only the overlay that doesn’t work with 4K signals, the background turns to black.

What are you trying to do? For me, I only care about and use the volume bar, so my TV’s volume bar overlay via ARC works better than the NR1608. I don’t use any of the other AV receiver functionality, sorry.
I guess the only issue for me is being able to access the NR1608 setup and menus while watching a 4K source on Apple TV. I'm less concerned about seeing the volume level. So, if I'm watching a 4K movie and press Setup on the NR 1608 remote does background go black and the GUI shows up, and back to the movie when I exit the NR 1608 menus?
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #1568 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
So, if I'm watching a 4K movie and press Setup on the NR 1608 remote does background go black and the GUI shows up, and back to the movie when I exit the NR 1608 menus?
I don't have Apple TV but yes, that is what I believe will happen. Black screen background appears only while interacting with NR1608 menus or GUI.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Yamaha RX-S602 | B&W M1/PV1 | Sony UBP-X700 | Amazon Fire TV
mikey94025 is offline  
post #1569 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 11:14 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Question how do you guys compare the 6012 to the Yamaha rxa 2070 is the 6013 sufficient to run a golden ear Triton 5 towars supercenter xl center mpx rears and 2 650 Atmos speaker 5.1.2 or would I need a external amp ..does the 6012 have issues with Samsung TV and handshake as the Denon do .. your help would he appreciated ..I was told I could go with a 5012 or Yamaha 1070 and use external amp to drive the mains and some say a Yamaha 2070 or Marantz 6012 is sufficient to drive a 5.1.2 system
SUperEd007 is offline  
post #1570 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Deep Marantz discounts in Canaada

Hello...


Just a friendly heads up... Marantz has started to offer their year-end deep discounts on the 1508, 1608, and 5012 (with the higher end models sure to follow) here in Canada.


I won't discuss pricing, but I will tell you that a major Canadian\American retailer has the above models on sale right now.


I bought 2 Marantz SR 5012's and saved big time!


'Best' not to discuss where to 'Buy' them.


I would suggest the 5012 over the 1608 since they are too closely priced now.



The 5012 sounds better than the 1608 due to Marantz's HDAM modules, feedback circuitry, and high grade audio components only found in the 5012 and higher models... Oh yeah, and the 5012 has Audyssey 'XT' as well... The imaging and detail is absolutely better on the 5012 compared to the 1608... I just heard a comparison in my own home... I didn't think they'd be that different, but they are... Probably the largest sound quality jump between any two Marantz models.

Last edited by rlwings; 06-01-2018 at 12:42 PM.
rlwings is offline  
post #1571 of 4785 Old 06-01-2018, 12:49 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlwings View Post
Hello...


Just a friendly heads up... Marantz has started to offer their year-end deep discounts on the 1508, 1608, and 5012 (with the higher end models sure to follow) here in Canada.


I won't discuss pricing, but I will tell you that a major Canadian\American retailer has the above models on sale right now.


I bought 2 Marantz SR 5012's and saved big time!


'Best' not to discuss where to 'Buy' them. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]


I would suggest the 5012 over the 1608 since they are too closely priced now.



The 5012 sounds better than the 1608 due to Marantz's HDAM modules, feedback circuitry, and high grade audio components only found in the 5012 and higher models... Oh yeah, and the 5012 has Audyssey 'XT' as well... The imaging and detail is absolutely better on the 5012 compared to the 1608... I just heard a comparison in my own home... I didn't think they'd be that different, but they are... Probably the largest sound quality jump between any two Marantz models.
Nice I'm looking to buy within the next 6 weeks curious if the 6012 will come down in price by then
SUperEd007 is offline  
post #1572 of 4785 Old 06-02-2018, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,563
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6676 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1573 of 4785 Old 06-03-2018, 05:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,011
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22592 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUperEd007 View Post
Nice I'm looking to buy within the next 6 weeks curious if the 6012 will come down in price by then
The SR6013 should be released sometime in August so the SR6012s should start being clearanced around July.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1574 of 4785 Old 06-03-2018, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The SR6013 should be released sometime in August so the SR6012s should start being clearanced around July.
That's good to know. I've got an Integra 50.4 that's slowly dying and needs to be replaced and the SR6012 is at the top of my list. Hopefully the Integra will last that long.
kenny_stultz is offline  
post #1575 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 02:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, new to this forum and having owned the NR1608 for a number of months now, I don't think I am getting the most from the system because I'm finding it hard to configure. I really need some help please as I'm getting very frustrated; the manual isn't that intuitive and the inability to overlay the Marantz GUI over the source is not helpful either. My system includes the following:

LG OLED 55" TV;
Heybrook Optima front speakers;
Monitor Audio Bronze centre speaker

(Thinking of adding the Monitor Audio Bronze FX surround speakers too but want to get the basics right first.)


So, my main issues are as follows:

1. TV Optical in or source HDMI? I have a Sky Q box which provides content in HD and for some programmes, Ultra HD. At the moment I'm using an optical feed from the TV to provide the sound to the Marantz but am having some sync issues, despite trying to rectify this using the sync settings on the TV AND the Marantz.

If I feed the Sky HDMI lead into Marrantz directly:
a. Will I still be able to view Ultra HD?
b. Will this cure the sound sync problem?
c. What other advantages for having a direct feed into the Marantz?
d. Is HDMI sound better than Optical from TV?

2. Tonal quality? I want to improve the high tonal quality of the centre speaker; interestingly the TV seems a lot clearer than the centre speaker so something must be wrong.
a. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.
Rich
Richris is offline  
post #1576 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 03:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,011
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22592 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richris View Post
Hi, new to this forum and having owned the NR1608 for a number of months now, I don't think I am getting the most from the system because I'm finding it hard to configure. I really need some help please as I'm getting very frustrated; the manual isn't that intuitive and the inability to overlay the Marantz GUI over the source is not helpful either. My system includes the following:

LG OLED 55" TV;
Heybrook Optima front speakers;
Monitor Audio Bronze centre speaker

(Thinking of adding the Monitor Audio Bronze FX surround speakers too but want to get the basics right first.)


So, my main issues are as follows:

1. TV Optical in or source HDMI? I have a Sky Q box which provides content in HD and for some programmes, Ultra HD. At the moment I'm using an optical feed from the TV to provide the sound to the Marantz but am having some sync issues, despite trying to rectify this using the sync settings on the TV AND the Marantz.

If I feed the Sky HDMI lead into Marrantz directly:
a. Will I still be able to view Ultra HD?
b. Will this cure the sound sync problem?
c. What other advantages for having a direct feed into the Marantz?
d. Is HDMI sound better than Optical from TV?

2. Tonal quality? I want to improve the high tonal quality of the centre speaker; interestingly the TV seems a lot clearer than the centre speaker so something must be wrong.
a. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.
Rich
1.
a. Yup.
b. Yup.
c. HD audio.
d. Yup.

2. Try setting the Audyssey Dynamic EQ Reference Level Offset to 10db. Also consider upgrading to a better quality center speaker.
Scott Oakley likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1577 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1.
a. Yup.
b. Yup.
c. HD audio.
d. Yup.

2. Try setting the Audyssey Dynamic EQ Reference Level Offset to 10db. Also consider upgrading to a better quality center speaker.
Hi JDsmoothie

Thanks for a speedy response.

That's settled then, I'll make the adjustments. No can do on the centre speaker tho - only bought it 2 months ago! I'll try tweaking the EQ Reference to see if that makes a difference.

Thanks again.
Rich
Richris is offline  
post #1578 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pine, Arizona
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richris View Post
Hi JDsmoothie

Thanks for a speedy response.

That's settled then, I'll make the adjustments. No can do on the centre speaker tho - only bought it 2 months ago! I'll try tweaking the EQ Reference to see if that makes a difference.

Thanks again.
Rich
You might also re-run the full Audyseey routine after making this configuration change.
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5012 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 10" Sub
TiVO Premiere
Scott Oakley is offline  
post #1579 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,011
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22592 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
If you haven't already, review the Audyssey FAQ to ensure you are running it correctly ....

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1580 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
You might also re-run the full Audyseey routine after making this configuration change.
Scott
Hi,

Thanks both. Yes, I re-calibrated after installing the centre speaker and thought I'd set it up correctly. Have made a few changes since such as playing around with the Reference and EQ settings. Once I've made the physical changes (HDMI sources) I'll re-calibrate and have a good read at the link provided.

I do have Netflix installed on the TV so presumably I'll still need to keep the Optical input from the TV into the AVR? Don't think I can use the HDMI ARC can I? From what I've read the HDMI output from the AVR into the Tv's HDMI ARC input is purely for remote control only? Or am I mistaken?

Sorry, am a real newbie and the manual's a mare!

Rich
Richris is offline  
post #1581 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,011
Mentioned: 740 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22592 Post(s)
Liked: 12294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richris View Post
Hi,

Thanks both. Yes, I re-calibrated after installing the centre speaker and thought I'd set it up correctly. Have made a few changes since such as playing around with the Reference and EQ settings. Once I've made the physical changes (HDMI sources) I'll re-calibrate and have a good read at the link provided.

I do have Netflix installed on the TV so presumably I'll still need to keep the Optical input from the TV into the AVR? Don't think I can use the HDMI ARC can I? From what I've read the HDMI output from the AVR into the Tv's HDMI ARC input is purely for remote control only? Or am I mistaken?

Sorry, am a real newbie and the manual's a mare!

Rich
As noted in the image below, the NR1608 is ARC capable. Now whether it works properly is another story but certainly worth trying.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	504
Size:	3.7 KB
ID:	2411720  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1582 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As noted in the image below, the NR1608 is ARC capable. Now whether it works properly is another story but certainly worth trying.

It works as it should on my 1608 (Antenna tv, Netflix, Amazon)
Dennis L. is offline  
post #1583 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok thanks. So (stupid question), does that relay the sound from the TV back to the AVR, thereby negating use of the Optical Out from the TV?
Richris is offline  
post #1584 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richris View Post
Ok thanks. So (stupid question), does that relay the sound from the TV back to the AVR, thereby negating use of the Optical Out from the TV?
Yes...'ARC' means audio return channel. That's what it does... 'CEC' handles the remote functions.
rlwings is offline  
post #1585 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlwings View Post
Yes...'ARC' means audio return channel. That's what it does... 'CEC' handles the remote functions.
Ah! Thanks, that makes sense!

Will make those changes this evening and hopefully get some better results.

Thanks all, v. grateful!
Richris is offline  
post #1586 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richris View Post
Ah! Thanks, that makes sense!

Will make those changes this evening and hopefully get some better results.

Thanks all, v. grateful!
Note, you must turn on ARC in both the TV and the AVR for it to function properly.
Richris likes this.

Last edited by rlwings; 06-04-2018 at 10:04 AM.
rlwings is offline  
post #1587 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
yossarianj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the Marantz Nr1608. Both my AppleTV and my Ps4Pro work directly plugged into my samsung q9fn up to [email protected] When they go through receiver i can only get up to [email protected] I enable enhanced mode on receiver and UHD on the HDMI ports. Im assuming this is the same problem the Denons are having. Any help with this would be appreciated. In the alternative I can still return the Marantz as its within 30day window and get another receiver. Any recommendation that works with Q9?
yossarianj is offline  
post #1588 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by yossarianj View Post
I have the Marantz Nr1608. Both my AppleTV and my Ps4Pro work directly plugged into my samsung q9fn up to [email protected] When they go through receiver i can only get up to [email protected] I enable enhanced mode on receiver and UHD on the HDMI ports. Im assuming this is the same problem the Denons are having. Any help with this would be appreciated. In the alternative I can still return the Marantz as its within 30day window and get another receiver. Any recommendation that works with Q9?
I have a computer connected to the AVR and I am able to pass 4K\60P, but I had to set the video card to 4:4:4 RGB Full and to 4K\60P to get it... Maybe you need to set the PS4 to the same... Sometimes the settings will change when first connecting the AVR to accommodate the AVR's default settings and need to be set back to your desired settings.
rlwings is offline  
post #1589 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
yossarianj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlwings View Post
I have a computer connected to the AVR and I am able to pass 4K\60P, but I had to set the video card to 4:4:4 RGB Full and to 4K\60P to get it... Maybe you need to set the PS4 to the same... Sometimes the settings will change when first connecting the AVR to accommodate the AVR's default settings and need to be set back to your desired settings.
I think its something to do with the handshake between Samsung and Marantz. I know the Denon has a similar problem. They communicate fine until enhanced and UHD are both active on the respective devices. I have brand new high end cables with short runs to make sure its not that. both the PS4 and AppleTv work great directly plugged into TV but thats not ideal. I think its something to do with the passthrough either on Samsund or Marantz end.
yossarianj is offline  
post #1590 of 4785 Old 06-04-2018, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by yossarianj View Post
I think its something to do with the handshake between Samsung and Marantz. I know the Denon has a similar problem. They communicate fine until enhanced and UHD are both active on the respective devices. I have brand new high end cables with short runs to make sure its not that. both the PS4 and AppleTv work great directly plugged into TV but thats not ideal. I think its something to do with the passthrough either on Samsund or Marantz end.
Ya, I know what you mean. I have a Sony TV connected to my Marantz (SR5012) and 4K works flawlessly, but on my Samsung I have issues with auto turning on\off the receiver. But my Samsung is only a 1080P TV.... I've heard that before about issues with Samsung... I'm glad I bought a Sony 4K TV! Lol.
rlwings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
atmos , auro3d , bridging channels , clipping , dts:x , issue , Marantz , marantz sr 6012 , marantz sr7012 , sr7012

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off