• 1 Post By drh3b
  • 2 Post By sdesiano

post #1 of 28 Old 05-28-2017, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Question Sony go boom, need new AVR

Y'all steered me right a decade ago when I bought my Infinity speakers, and now I am in search of wisdom again. I'm an electrical engineer and a software engineer (depending on the year), and yet I am still lost in a sea of ambiguously worded feature lists and industry speak. I've narrowed my list down to 94 AVRs (yes, 94) and I can't figure out how to narrow it farther.

Money is not an object, but I suspect the industry has passed me by and all I need is the lowest-end AVR that meets my specs. I have a 5.1 setup, a small (150 sq ft) living room, a 12-year-old HD TV, and I intend to get a new TV in the next year or so. I (think) I'm looking for:
  • HDMI 2.0a (on all inputs and outputs? is that a thing?)
  • HDCP 2.2 support
  • HDMI input on the front panel
  • RCA input on the front panel
  • Support for somewhere between 5.1 and 7.2 speakers
With that in mind:
  • Is there anything missing from my must-have list?
  • Are there any criteria I can use to narrow down my list?
  • Are there any specific models you'd recommend?
Thank you, oh wise and wonderful AVSForum.

-- Sal
smile.

Last edited by sdesiano; 05-29-2017 at 01:46 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 05-28-2017, 12:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 4388
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdesiano View Post
Y'all steered me right a decade ago when I bought my Infinity speakers, and now I am in search of wisdom again. I'm an electrical engineer and a software engineer (depending on the year), and yet I am still lost in a sea of ambiguously worded feature lists and industry speak. I've narrowed my list down to 94 AVRs (yes, 94) and I can't figure out how to narrow it farther.