The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha RX-A870 / RX-A770 / RX-A670 Aventage AVR Owners' Thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 523Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 524 Old 05-10-2019, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Which mode would you select instead of this and how? (I looped through the available upmixers, and this "Neo Cinema" was the best out of them.)
I went into settings and searched for parameters for them but basically couldn't find any. So I either have to use one of them or try to output DPLII upmixed 5.1ch PCM audio from PC.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 524 Old 05-11-2019, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,658
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1984 Post(s)
Liked: 1051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marde View Post
I have a couple questions about the Apr 16 2019 firmware update/s.

... Also, if you have a 70 series, please share your firmware version number prior to the April update, and the version number after this update (( If you know it )).
The firmware versions, at least the ones that I can get info on, are posted in post number 1.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #513 of 524 Old 05-22-2019, 08:09 AM
Member
 
xiaNaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My RX-A770 updated to firmware v2.70 last night but no information on Yamaha's site about it yet.

Sony BDP-S6700 (Region Free) | Dune Solo 4K | Zidoo X9S
Epson Home Cinema 3100 | Silver Ticket STR-169110 110" Screen
Yamaha RX-A770 | Chane A2.4 L-C-R | Fluance XLBP Wide Dispersion Bipolar Rears | Hsu VTF-2 MK5 Sub
xiaNaix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 524 Old 05-22-2019, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by xiaNaix View Post
My RX-A770 updated to firmware v2.70 last night but no information on Yamaha's site about it yet.
Ditto. Just updated my RX-A770 with v2.70 this evening. Took about 10 minutes. Still no info regarding v2.70 on Yamaha's support website. Looking for eARC info.

Media Room - ISF calibrated Panasonic TC-P55VT30, Panasonic DMP-BDT-310 Blue Ray player, Yamaha RX-A770BL, 7.1 Definitive Technology Sound System with Mythos 7,Dual Super Cube 2000's, DT 6.5STR ceiling speakers, Harmony Elite.
JNMNL52 is offline  
post #515 of 524 Old 05-26-2019, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Trying to find the setting to change the display to the audio codec being processed instead of what input it's on... does anyone know how to do that?

Right now it says Shield - it used to say Atmos/TrueHD or something similar.....
enkrypt3d is offline  
post #516 of 524 Old 05-27-2019, 12:34 AM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by enkrypt3d View Post
Trying to find the setting to change the display to the audio codec being processed instead of what input it's on... does anyone know how to do that?

Right now it says Shield - it used to say Atmos/TrueHD or something similar.....

Keep cycling through 'Info' button on the remote
ChromeJob likes this.
Kris404 is offline  
post #517 of 524 Old 05-28-2019, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by xiaNaix View Post
My RX-A770 updated to firmware v2.70 last night but no information on Yamaha's site about it yet.
V2.70 firmware is now posted on the Yamaha support website. Appears to be eARC only.
xiaNaix and chros73 like this.

Media Room - ISF calibrated Panasonic TC-P55VT30, Panasonic DMP-BDT-310 Blue Ray player, Yamaha RX-A770BL, 7.1 Definitive Technology Sound System with Mythos 7,Dual Super Cube 2000's, DT 6.5STR ceiling speakers, Harmony Elite.
JNMNL52 is offline  
post #518 of 524 Old 06-02-2019, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,658
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1984 Post(s)
Liked: 1051
Unless you've been waiting for eARC support and plan to use it, I recommend NOT UPDATING to the latest firmware. Owners of the RX-v*83 series (which shares firmware with the RX-a*70 models) have reported issues with HDMI IN audio.
chros73 likes this.

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #519 of 524 Old 06-03-2019, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Unless you've been waiting for eARC support and plan to use it, I recommend NOT UPDATING to the latest firmware. Owners of the RX-v*83 series (which shares firmware with the RX-a*70 models) have reported issues with HDMI IN audio.
Thanks, I wanted to upgrade it today but I'll postpone it (I had DD+ ARC dropouts from Netfilx yesterday).

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is online now  
post #520 of 524 Old 06-06-2019, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
qposner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Receiver is detecting sub twice as far as it is and a crossover question

Today I decided to run a YPAO self test on my Yamaha RX-A770. I set my sub volume at 50% and turned the crossover all the way to its ingest setting (120) as directed. When I looked at the results, YPAO set my Polk Monitor 70 mains to large. The distances for all speakers were relatively accurate but it had my SVS sub at 16 feet away when it is 8 at most. Any idea why this may be happening? Also, should I assume the receiver will set the crossovers appropriately for the mains and sub and just leave the setting on the sub at 120? Thanks!
qposner is offline  
post #521 of 524 Old 06-06-2019, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I have not used ypao but l will take a stab at the distance issue so you can at least try some different options. It might have something to do with your mains being set to large?
eriksells916 is offline  
post #522 of 524 Old 06-06-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Kick the volume up to ~75% on the SVS and run YPAO again.
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #523 of 524 Old 06-06-2019, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3067 Post(s)
Liked: 7389
Distance is completely irrelevant,
The only thing "actually" being measured is the time it takes for the signal sent by the avr
to be processed by the amp/processor and produce a sound wave that eventually reaches your mic at the MLP.
The sub channel has a different signal path then the rest of your speakers and room calibration software is designed
to make sure all sounds are time aligned to arrive at your ears at the same time. (IOW, don't mess with it)

From a similar discussion here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post58078358

Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Calibration Software (YPAO/Audyssey/MCACC etc.)
measures the time it takes for sound signals to travel from the processor, to the speakers, then the sound waves to the mic.

The sub signal also has to pass through it's own amplifier/processor before sending a rather long Low Frequency wave to the mic.
The distance of your powered subwoofer may have been identified by your automatic setup as being further away than it physically is.
This is to compensate for phase matching with your other speakers. Even if the physical distance is closer than the setup microphone identified,
it is not advisable to change the subwoofer distance unless something really doesn’t sound right.

There are also a number of factors and room/furniture influences that will affect the time it takes for those sound waves to reach your MLP.

The "Distance" number is just a reference and should not be used to measure any physical locations of speakers or subs in your room.
What the software is actually doing is measuring delay for how long a sound signal takes to reach your mic, and subsequently your "ears"

Adding More Distance will apply less Delay to the Signal, Reducing the Distance will apply More Delay to the Signal.
After running YPAO, go into manual setup and set all speakers to small (regardless of their physical size)
and set your speaker crossover to 80Hz, Do not re-run calibration after making manual changes.

There is no crossover setting for subs in a Yamaha, (so set your sub output to full range, let the AVR do the rest)
The Sub(s) automatically get all frequencies below the crossover point for speakers set to small
and that gets summed with the LFE channel, in Yamaha's that's automatically <120Hz

Bass Management 101

zeuspaul, ChromeJob and chros73 like this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 06-06-2019 at 07:23 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #524 of 524 Old Today, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
... I had DD+ ARC dropouts from Netfilx yesterday
Strangely enough now it's gone (works fine). Has anybody experienced this?

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; Today at 03:39 AM.
chros73 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
aventage , bluetooth , newbie , RX-A750 , rx-a770 , setup help , Yamaha



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off