NAD 758 v3 - Page 133 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6291Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 9889 Old 08-21-2018, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Turns out it's a DTS spec, AVRs configured with 7.1 will matrix 5.1 DTS signals to use the rear surrounds. This explains why my old Sony AVR used to do this, but at the time I never questioned it
Wasn't aware of that. Thanks for the info.
richardsim7 likes this.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 9889 Old 08-21-2018, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
Got a reply from NAD to help me choose a unit which doesn't have the AM230 issue, thought would share ti here so would help others.

Bad news is my dealer in my country has units only in this serial range. So guess i m out of luck for now. This is the reply-

"To test for digital noise, connect the Optical out from a 4K TV to one of the Optical inputs on the T758V3. Select Netflix and watch a movie. listen carefully during quite passages for noise in the background while the move is streaming.

Service bulletin T758V3-SB2018-01 applies to units within serial number ending “….T75810101 - ….T75812769”. Unit with higher serial numbers have had the hardware updates completed.

The serial number is labeled on both ends of the shipping box and the rear panel of the unit"
is this just the optical out issue or the Atmos static issue as well?

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #3963 of 9889 Old 08-21-2018, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
richardsim7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3964 of 9889 Old 08-21-2018, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
is this just the optical out issue or the Atmos static issue as well?
your serial number is within the range? Check & let us know.


Thanks.
blackspider is offline  
post #3965 of 9889 Old 08-21-2018, 11:27 PM
Newbie
 
A.Ik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys,


I'm sorry if this is the wrong thread but I'm moving soon and needed some help with speaker placement. I'll be using the NAD t758 v3 (paired with as of yet undecided speakers) in an open floor plan living room. I'm a bit uncertain as to what would be the ideal speaker configuration and placement. The house is being built so I'm hoping to get the speaker wiring done beforehand. I was thinking 5.2.4 but I'm not sure where i would place the surrounds and overhead speakers. Ideally I'd like for them to be ceiling mounted (or even in ceiling) except for the front 3 which would be floorstanding plus center channel. The ceiling is 11 feet high. Hope I've given enough info to go on. I'm mostly concerned with how far apart (with my admittedly limited knowledge) it look like the surrounds would need to be, would the NADs room correction be of any help? I'm honestly not even very certain of where the surrounds should go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (6).png
Views:	56
Size:	163.8 KB
ID:	2444636  
A.Ik is offline  
post #3966 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Ik View Post
Hi guys,


I'm sorry if this is the wrong thread but I'm moving soon and needed some help with speaker placement. I'll be using the NAD t758 v3 (paired with as of yet undecided speakers) in an open floor plan living room. I'm a bit uncertain as to what would be the ideal speaker configuration and placement. The house is being built so I'm hoping to get the speaker wiring done beforehand. I was thinking 5.2.4 but I'm not sure where i would place the surrounds and overhead speakers. Ideally I'd like for them to be ceiling mounted (or even in ceiling) except for the front 3 which would be floorstanding plus center channel. The ceiling is 11 feet high. Hope I've given enough info to go on. I'm mostly concerned with how far apart (with my admittedly limited knowledge) it look like the surrounds would need to be, would the NADs room correction be of any help? I'm honestly not even very certain of where the surrounds should go.

Surrounds should be at ear level, so if you put them in the ceiling, then don't bother with Atmos as you won't gain any benefit


Here's Dolby's layout guide for 5.1.4


More detail here
A.Ik likes this.
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3967 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Ik View Post
Hi guys,


I'm sorry if this is the wrong thread but I'm moving soon and needed some help with speaker placement. I'll be using the NAD t758 v3 (paired with as of yet undecided speakers) in an open floor plan living room. I'm a bit uncertain as to what would be the ideal speaker configuration and placement. The house is being built so I'm hoping to get the speaker wiring done beforehand. I was thinking 5.2.4 but I'm not sure where i would place the surrounds and overhead speakers. Ideally I'd like for them to be ceiling mounted (or even in ceiling) except for the front 3 which would be floorstanding plus center channel. The ceiling is 11 feet high. Hope I've given enough info to go on. I'm mostly concerned with how far apart (with my admittedly limited knowledge) it look like the surrounds would need to be, would the NADs room correction be of any help? I'm honestly not even very certain of where the surrounds should go.
Better ask in one of the dedicated threads. If good sound is really important to you, the floorplan would look something like this (use on/in-wall speakers instead of freestanding speakers for the fronts):

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5.1.4.png
Views:	366
Size:	173.9 KB
ID:	2444648  
XpanD, A.Ik, flax and 2 others like this.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole

Last edited by markus767; 08-22-2018 at 02:13 AM.
markus767 is offline  
post #3968 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,704
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3435 Post(s)
Liked: 1916
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Ik View Post
Hi guys,


I'm sorry if this is the wrong thread but I'm moving soon and needed some help with speaker placement. I'll be using the NAD t758 v3 (paired with as of yet undecided speakers) in an open floor plan living room. I'm a bit uncertain as to what would be the ideal speaker configuration and placement. The house is being built so I'm hoping to get the speaker wiring done beforehand. I was thinking 5.2.4 but I'm not sure where i would place the surrounds and overhead speakers. Ideally I'd like for them to be ceiling mounted (or even in ceiling) except for the front 3 which would be floorstanding plus center channel. The ceiling is 11 feet high. Hope I've given enough info to go on. I'm mostly concerned with how far apart (with my admittedly limited knowledge) it look like the surrounds would need to be, would the NADs room correction be of any help? I'm honestly not even very certain of where the surrounds should go.
This is why theaters don't gel with open floor plans.

Sorry, but it's the truth. You can get it to work, though just how well it works is a matter of how much you're willing to compromise to get speakers closest to where they really should be. The other factors we have to deal with are acceptance of others (spouse) in the home to having audio equipment around that isn't particularly discrete. Others here have pointed out that location of the speakers is important. I will say that at least the NAD's Dirac Live will give you the best chance of making whatever speaker placement you can get sound its best. Good choice there.

As mentioned, you need to have the "bed layer" at ear level. Do whatever you can to achieve that. In-wall speakers can be far better for the front three than ceiling speakers. You can find "aim-able" ceiling speakers, but they never give you the same immersive effect as properly placed free-standing or in-wall speakers. Mixing ceiling speakers for the bed layer with ceiling speakers for Atmos is an abject lesson in how to get mushy voice-of-God sound.
A.Ik and richardsim7 like this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red. Guest room: Hafler 300 L-R, KEF Reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, modded M&K V-90 sub, Bluesound Vault 2.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #3969 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
Got a reply from NAD to help me choose a unit which doesn't have the AM230 issue, thought would share ti here so would help others.

Bad news is my dealer in my country has units only in this serial range. So guess i m out of luck for now. This is the reply-


"To test for digital noise, connect the Optical out from a 4K TV to one of the Optical inputs on the T758V3. Select Netflix and watch a movie. listen carefully during quite passages for noise in the background while the move is streaming.

Service bulletin T758V3-SB2018-01 applies to units within serial number ending “….T75810101 - ….T75812769”. Unit with higher serial numbers have had the hardware updates completed.

The serial number is labeled on both ends of the shipping box and the rear panel of the unit"



Cheers.
Ok just to update on this, got another mail saying not all units in this range are affected. Thought would update otherwise everyone in this serial no range will get paranoid & start contacting their dealers even when there is no issue.
blackspider is offline  
post #3970 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
That's what we've been saying from the beginning, not every unit has the problem, even those within that range of serial numbers
methnen likes this.
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3971 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
your serial number is within the range? Check & let us know.
Thanks.
I have the Atmos issue (I don't use optical so I don't know if I have that) and my serial number is within that range.
richardsim7 likes this.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #3972 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
does anyone know if NAD watches this thread at all? Not to suggest it means posting here will or won't do anything, I'm just curious if they use it for feedback and sentiment.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #3973 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
You'd like to hope so, but you never know, why not email and ask?
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3974 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atlantasteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am looking for assistance with speaker placement and Dirac settings in the Atlanta area. Does anyone have a recommendation for someone to help me? Please PM if you have a suggestion.
atlantasteve is offline  
post #3975 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Delayed/no audio while streaming with roku

Has anyone else experienced an issue where the audio does not play when starting a show or movie via a roku? Just started testing my 758v3 with actual video sources today besides Apple Music. Hooked up a roku - besides the cable not passing anything beyond 1080p despite being high speed certified, when I start a show/movie, the audio does not kick in. In particular things with 5.1 streams. I can force it by manually setting listening mode to stereo or enhanced stereo, after which it automatically switches back to Dolby surround after which the audio kicks in shortly thereafter. this happened with Netflix,, hbo go, etc.

I can’t Test if this happens when playing Blu-ray’s on my Blu-ray since it’s a uhd player and doesn’t work with my current hdmi cable (again, despite being high speed certified).

Thoughts?? Between the cable rubbish and this audio issue, I’m at my wit’s end today!

Last edited by rukus29; 08-22-2018 at 09:23 PM.
rukus29 is offline  
post #3976 of 9889 Old 08-22-2018, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
A.Ik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Surrounds should be at ear level, so if you put them in the ceiling, then don't bother with Atmos as you won't gain any benefit


Here's Dolby's layout guide for 5.1.4


More detail here
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
Better ask in one of the dedicated threads. If good sound is really important to you, the floorplan would look something like this (use on/in-wall speakers instead of freestanding speakers for the fronts):

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post
This is why theaters don't gel with open floor plans.

Sorry, but it's the truth. You can get it to work, though just how well it works is a matter of how much you're willing to compromise to get speakers closest to where they really should be. The other factors we have to deal with are acceptance of others (spouse) in the home to having audio equipment around that isn't particularly discrete. Others here have pointed out that location of the speakers is important. I will say that at least the NAD's Dirac Live will give you the best chance of making whatever speaker placement you can get sound its best. Good choice there.

As mentioned, you need to have the "bed layer" at ear level. Do whatever you can to achieve that. In-wall speakers can be far better for the front three than ceiling speakers. You can find "aim-able" ceiling speakers, but they never give you the same immersive effect as properly placed free-standing or in-wall speakers. Mixing ceiling speakers for the bed layer with ceiling speakers for Atmos is an abject lesson in how to get mushy voice-of-God sound.

Thank you all for your suggestions and advice. I'm looking a bit more into it and trying to find a nice way to get the surrounds at ear level, if possible. Are wireless kits viable without any performance loss (something like this https://www.svsound.com/products/sou...audio-adapter? I know this would require another amp.
A.Ik is offline  
post #3977 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 12:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukus29 View Post
I can’t Test if this happens when playing Blu-ray’s on my Blu-ray since it’s a uhd player and doesn’t work with my current hdmi cable (again, despite being high speed certified).

Does the cable have the hologram?:




Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Ik View Post
Thank you all for your suggestions and advice. I'm looking a bit more into it and trying to find a nice way to get the surrounds at ear level, if possible. Are wireless kits viable without any performance loss (something like this https://www.svsound.com/products/sou...audio-adapter? I know this would require another amp.

If you end up going wireless for the surrounds, go with active speakers, saves you getting another amp for them
The AVR setup should take their latency into account and bring everything together so should work ok
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3978 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 02:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Delija's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NS
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 285
I use some cheap (almost "no name") HDMI 1.4 cables (7 + 5 meters long) which I bought long time ago as a temporary solution - no holograms and/or certificates , and 4K HDR and also ARC work flawlessly on Anthem AVR and LG OLED. I've also tried Yamaha AVR - it works. I'm pretty sure it would work on NAD, too.

HDMI 1.3 cable won't work, of course, but 1.4 and 2.0 cables are the same.

Anthem MRX 720 | Parasound Halo A21
Dynaudio Contour 60 | Dynaudio Excite X28 | Dynaudio Emit M20 | 2x SVS SB16-Ultra
LG OLED65C7V

Last edited by Delija; 08-23-2018 at 02:56 AM.
Delija is online now  
post #3979 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 04:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Does the cable have the hologram?:



Yup. Package looked like this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7713A7D1-6FCB-4C16-A9F7-AF04E042A6C1.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	2445160  
rukus29 is offline  
post #3980 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 04:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
I'm assuming that's the cable between the AVR and TV, is the cable between the UHD-BD Player and the AVR premium certified as well?
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3981 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 04:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
I'm assuming that's the cable between the AVR and TV, is the cable between the UHD-BD Player and the AVR premium certified as well?
Same cable, just 3ft instead of 20
rukus29 is offline  
post #3982 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,721
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukus29 View Post
Has anyone else experienced an issue where the audio does not play when starting a show or movie via a roku? Just started testing my 758v3 with actual video sources today besides Apple Music. Hooked up a roku - besides the cable not passing anything beyond 1080p despite being high speed certified, when I start a show/movie, the audio does not kick in. In particular things with 5.1 streams. I can force it by manually setting listening mode to stereo or enhanced stereo, after which it automatically switches back to Dolby surround after which the audio kicks in shortly thereafter. this happened with Netflix,, hbo go, etc.

I can’t Test if this happens when playing Blu-ray’s on my Blu-ray since it’s a uhd player and doesn’t work with my current hdmi cable (again, despite being high speed certified).

Thoughts?? Between the cable rubbish and this audio issue, I’m at my wit’s end today!
Yes, search Roku on this thread for my previous posts on this. I occasionally got a Roku screen that said it was an HDMI handshake issue and NAD is the culprit as I plug the same stick directly into a pj and it doesn't do it. If the audio doesn't come back on within 15 sec (it usually does) I can almost always stop then restart the show and it fixes it...only some shows are affected. Pretty annoying.
pottscb is offline  
post #3983 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pottscb View Post
Yes, search Roku on this thread for my previous posts on this. I occasionally got a Roku screen that said it was an HDMI handshake issue and NAD is the culprit as I plug the same stick directly into a pj and it doesn't do it. If the audio doesn't come back on within 15 sec (it usually does) I can almost always stop then restart the show and it fixes it...only some shows are affected. Pretty annoying.
Wow ok, just searched. I saw someone else posted earlier than you with similar problem as well. Someone else replied to him that he had same roku but wasn’t experiencing any problems. This is so frustrating. Leads me to believe maybe this is a cable issue?
I’m using roku ultra -> NAD -> JVC RS420/x570. I haven’t been this frustrated getting av gear set up in a long time.

What cables do you use and how long are they? My 3ft cable from roku to NAD is Monoprice certified premium and the 20ft cable from NAD to PJ is a random Best Buy ‘high speed’ Cable (which doesn’t pass anything more than 1080p in my setup) - I spent the better part of two hours trying to get the Monoprice 20ft high speed certified cable working yesterday and was so focused trying to get it to pass more than 1080p that I didn’t Test if this audio issue also happened when it was in the chain. I’ve got a few more 20ft high speed cables coming today and tomorrow to Test but I’m ready to throw the roku, the NAD, and the JVC pj off a bridge and go pick up hdmi 1.4 versions of everything.
rukus29 is offline  
post #3984 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukus29 View Post
Wow ok, just searched. I saw someone else posted earlier than you with similar problem as well. Someone else replied to him that he had same roku but wasn’t experiencing any problems. This is so frustrating. Leads me to believe maybe this is a cable issue?
I’m using roku ultra -> NAD -> JVC RS420/x570. I haven’t been this frustrated getting av gear set up in a long time.

What cables do you use and how long are they? My 3ft cable from roku to NAD is Monoprice certified premium and the 20ft cable from NAD to PJ is a random Best Buy ‘high speed’ Cable (which doesn’t pass anything more than 1080p in my setup) - I spent the better part of two hours trying to get the Monoprice 20ft high speed certified cable working yesterday and was so focused trying to get it to pass more than 1080p that I didn’t Test if this audio issue also happened when it was in the chain. I’ve got a few more 20ft high speed cables coming today and tomorrow to Test but I’m ready to throw the roku, the NAD, and the JVC pj off a bridge and go pick up hdmi 1.4 versions of everything.
I switched to active HDMI cables long time ago. Haven't had any HDMI cable issues since then.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #3985 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
I switched to active HDMI cables long time ago. Haven't had any HDMI cable issues since then.
Have two different Monoprice active ‘high speed’ (not certified) cables arriving tomorrow. Can’t wait for the fun testing them!

@pottscb , what does your connection/equipment and cable chain look like?
rukus29 is offline  
post #3986 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
tbaucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Tone Defeat

Does turning on tone defeat bypass DIRAC or leave DIRAC engaged and simply bypass the bass/treble tone controls in the AVR?
tbaucom is offline  
post #3987 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbaucom View Post
Does turning on tone defeat bypass DIRAC or leave DIRAC engaged and simply bypass the bass/treble tone controls in the AVR?
The latter
richardsim7 is offline  
post #3988 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
The latter
It's also just a "feature" for naive audiophools. The control is digital so there's nothing to "bypass"
neo_2009 and richardsim7 like this.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #3989 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ttn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukus29 View Post
Wow ok, just searched. I saw someone else posted earlier than you with similar problem as well. Someone else replied to him that he had same roku but wasn’t experiencing any problems. This is so frustrating. Leads me to believe maybe this is a cable issue?
I’m using roku ultra -> NAD -> JVC RS420/x570. I haven’t been this frustrated getting av gear set up in a long time.

What cables do you use and how long are they? My 3ft cable from roku to NAD is Monoprice certified premium and the 20ft cable from NAD to PJ is a random Best Buy ‘high speed’ Cable (which doesn’t pass anything more than 1080p in my setup) - I spent the better part of two hours trying to get the Monoprice 20ft high speed certified cable working yesterday and was so focused trying to get it to pass more than 1080p that I didn’t Test if this audio issue also happened when it was in the chain. I’ve got a few more 20ft high speed cables coming today and tomorrow to Test but I’m ready to throw the roku, the NAD, and the JVC pj off a bridge and go pick up hdmi 1.4 versions of everything.
You need a fiber optic hdmi for longer runs. It's hit and miss with other cables.

NAD T758v3, Emotiva XPA-3, XPA-5, UPA-5, JTR Triple 12 LP L/C/R, Htm-6 surrounds, Volt 6 atmos, SVS PC13 Ultra and JTR Cap 2400 ULF - Denon x2400h, Elac Debut F5, Elac Debut C5, Elac Debut A4, Klipsch r-12swi - Stereo Totem Mite
ttn333 is offline  
post #3990 of 9889 Old 08-23-2018, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan/Long Island, NY
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttn333 View Post
You need a fiber optic hdmi for longer runs. It's hit and miss with other cables.
Never really heard of folks needing to go to fiber optic for a 20 ft run. 25-30+ is where I’ve heard it needed for reliable playback. That said, I’ll try the three other non-fiber ones I have on the way and hope it fixes both the video and hdmi sync issues (even though the roku and NAD are only connected by a 3ft run and I don’t see how a cable run from pj to AVR should impact audio sync between AVR and roku).
rukus29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off