NAD 758 v3 - Page 196 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6826Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 03:44 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj7675 View Post
It sounds great. It sounded really good before too but it sounds even better to me. I link the new microphone graphic labels they have now on the “chair” or “sofa” layout. It just seems more clear to me. They also have a “focus or wide” (I think that is their language). Not sure what all the improvements were in version 2 but it does seem to result in even better sound for me.
Yes I’ve been using v2 for a while now and I definitely prefer it to v1. I hope they do as promised and produce a ‘how to’ video as i’m still a little baffled by the filter design process
ggrossen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 03:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Yes if you've purchased the upgrade for v1, it works on v2, you just need to login with your Dirac account
That's what I thought but I opened my account page to check before I installed and it shows no
licenses. When I enter my v1 key it says it has been activated but it isn't reflected on the page. Strange.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #5853 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post
That's what I thought but I opened my account page to check before I installed and it shows no
licenses. When I enter my v1 key it says it has been activated but it isn't reflected on the page. Strange.
Yeah, same, but I logged in on the app and I could drag the curtain up to 20kHz, so all good
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5854 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Yeah, same, but I logged in on the app and I could drag the curtain up to 20kHz, so all good
Just tried and logged in fine. Thanks!
richardsim7 likes this.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #5855 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,953
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3592 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
I decided to try it again too, and today it's working. Or NOT.

The Dirac 2.0 app fires up, finds my receiver, loads the calibration file for the UMIK-1, and allows me to set the configuration to some degree. It shows I have main L-R, center, surrounds, sub, and Height 1 left and right. Cool. It allows me to run the test tone on each and set the level (volume calibration.) Good. It allows me to go to the next step and "select arrangement", so with the odd seating I have I chose "sofa" and "wide arrangement."

Now it moves to "Measure Selected Position" and runs through all 7 speakers and the one sub. Oddly, and unlike when I ran the orignal Dirac last Sunday, it did run the sample signal (whoop) to the left main speaker a second time. At the end of the first reading of the main center-of-everything position, I get this message that "some data is lost" as seen in the attached screen shot. All the while it's going from speaker to speaker I see the trace of what I suppose is measured frequency response, and it DID give me the test tone to set volume levels on all speakers. I assume because I'm seeing that I have a working microphone.

I tried unplugging and reconnecting the UMIK-1, then rebooted the receiver. Same result. I know by clicking "Dismiss" and moving to the next measuring position I wasn't recording ANY measurements because I got done all 17 positions only to find I had nothing to show for it. I won't do that again. I'm just beside myself. I'm really trying hard to follow all the guidance the app gives me and still I get nothing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Error_msg1.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	2487182  

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, E.A.T. C-Major TT w/Ortofon Quintet Blue cart.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #5856 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post
Oddly, and unlike when I ran the orignal Dirac last Sunday, it did run the sample signal (whoop) to the left main speaker a second time

Nah Dirac v1 does that as well, it's to make sure it matches the first sweep to confirm nothing changed/it's a valid set of sweeps


I'm wondering where this data gets lost, between the AVR and the PC? Or between the PC and Dirac's servers? Is your UMIK plugged into the AVR or the PC?
richardsim7 is online now  
post #5857 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,953
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3592 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Nah Dirac v1 does that as well, it's to make sure it matches the first sweep to confirm nothing changed/it's a valid set of sweeps


I'm wondering where this data gets lost, between the AVR and the PC? Or between the PC and Dirac's servers? Is your UMIK plugged into the AVR or the PC?
Plugged into the AVR because the PC is in another room, my office.

I tried rebooting the AVR, unplugging the mic, rebooted the app, then the whole PC. Same result.

Giving up for the day, I have another life to live besides this one in front of an app that won't work.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, E.A.T. C-Major TT w/Ortofon Quintet Blue cart.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #5858 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
If you've got a laptop you can use, or you hardwire the NAD, that'd probably help, sounds like a non-perfect WiFi connection might be the problem
richardsim7 is online now  
post #5859 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Out of curiosity, has anyone have the REW graphs with Audy and DirecL on their system to compare the difference? Wondering how much of an improvement DL makes.
Thanks.


BCRSS is offline  
post #5860 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
I thought DIRAC 2.0 was supposed to be better and EASIER to operate...is this not the case?

What’s the coles notes version of the improvements in version 2.0??

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #5861 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
Maybe try it for yourself and find out
richardsim7 is online now  
post #5862 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
Out of curiosity, has anyone have the REW graphs with Audy and DirecL on their system to compare the difference? Wondering how much of an improvement DL makes.
Thanks.

I mean, this is completely different in every setup. You could maybe get someone to post Dirac off/on graphs? What sort of improvements are you looking for?
richardsim7 is online now  
post #5863 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Ken - Yes I would definitely try the mic into the PC. I couldn’t get Dirac to work plugged into my NAD. I have an iMac and just lug it upstairs and sit out of the way with my 5m USB cable - George
richardsim7 likes this.
ggrossen is offline  
post #5864 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 138
The other point I should add is that I had a dealer come round and do a Dirac cal for me. I mentioned on my M17 i am not having the NAD Dirac connection issues mentioned in this thread. He told me that there is a lot of data being passed between Dirac and the NAD and doing over it over wi-fi is not the best way to do this. So always try and plug the mic if you can into the Mac or PC.
ggrossen is offline  
post #5865 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1979
Using the UMIK-1 connected to the computer was less problematic for me.

One solution for someone who either doesn't have a laptop or doesn't want to move their equipment into the room - assuming you have your USB length figured out (5m max on USB 2.0, may use powered hubs to repeat the signal) - use Teamviewer on your smartphone to remote control the computer you're running Dirac on. I do this for my REW sweeps so I can sit outside the room and trigger the sweeps.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #5866 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
I mean, this is completely different in every setup. You could maybe get someone to post Dirac off/on graphs? What sort of improvements are you looking for?
I understand we are talking about 2 different REQ's. What I am looking for is if anyone still has their REW graphs from an Audsy system with/without Audsy and a DL REW graph with/without DL engaged. Just a comparison between both should be interesting. IMO


My last system was AudsyX32 and after dialing everything in, I preferred the sound without Audsy engaged. If I still had my graphs I would post them.


BCRSS is offline  
post #5867 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 4374
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
I understand we are talking about 2 different REQ's. What I am looking for is if anyone still has their REW graphs from an Audsy system with/without Audsy and a DL REW graph with/without DL engaged. Just a comparison between both should be interesting. IMO


My last system was AudsyX32 and after dialing everything in, I preferred the sound without Audsy engaged. If I still had my graphs I would post them.
Graphs will not reveal impulse response. Dirac has magic sauce that goes beyond measurements. Audyssey always showed great lines in REW but dialog was muddled and the overall presentation had a wet blanket feel to it. Dirac doesn't have those issues in my room. Every room and setup is different though, so your mileage may vary.
BCRSS likes this.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #5868 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2018 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
I understand we are talking about 2 different REQ's. What I am looking for is if anyone still has their REW graphs from an Audsy system with/without Audsy and a DL REW graph with/without DL engaged. Just a comparison between both should be interesting. IMO


My last system was AudsyX32 and after dialing everything in, I preferred the sound without Audsy engaged. If I still had my graphs I would post them.
Graphs will not reveal impulse response. Dirac has magic sauce that goes beyond measurements. Audyssey always showed great lines in REW but dialog was muddled and the overall presentation had a wet blanket feel to it. Dirac doesn't have those issues in my room. Every room and setup is different though, so your mileage may vary.
+1

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.6.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM + B6 OLED 65
Speakers: Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
Subs1: 2x LRK Build Thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged); retired: VRK Build thread
Subs2: 2x Rythmik LVX12; 2x Dayton HF 12's Ultra-NearField + Crown XLS 2002
MiniDSP HD & Non; DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #5869 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Graphs will not reveal impulse response. Dirac has magic sauce that goes beyond measurements. Audyssey always showed great lines in REW but dialog was muddled and the overall presentation had a wet blanket feel to it. Dirac doesn't have those issues in my room. Every room and setup is different though, so your mileage may vary.
That is why I had said out of curiosity about graphs.
I knew my graphs always were pretty good but sitting and listening to my ears was a flat and as you say muddled sound.


I am leaning toward the Nad 777v3 at this point. Hoping that it will be a leap forward in my sound field.


Thanks for the responses.
Curt


BCRSS is offline  
post #5870 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
I am in San Antonio if you want to demo the 777v3. I wasn't trying to be terse, I was just saying Audyssey looked better on paper than it did with my ears.
I guess that is what peaked my interest in graphs seeing how my graphs looked good but to my ears didn't sound right.


Thanks for the offer. I have a friend closer to me that has the 758v3 that I may hit up for a listening session. He has asked me a few times to come over but real life stuff ..you know the drill, always prevents me from going.


Are you running with external amps or off the NAD? I am planning a 5.1.4 but not sure which amp to look at for the 2 extra atmos speakers. Thinking I would like a 4 channel just for the atmos speakers. Will continue the search on those.


BCRSS is offline  
post #5871 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 4374
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
I guess that is what peaked my interest in graphs seeing how my graphs looked good but to my ears didn't sound right.


Thanks for the offer. I have a friend closer to me that has the 758v3 that I may hit up for a listening session. He has asked me a few times to come over but real life stuff ..you know the drill, always prevents me from going.


Are you running with external amps or off the NAD? I am planning a 5.1.4 but not sure which amp to look at for the 2 extra atmos speakers. Thinking I would like a 4 channel just for the atmos speakers. Will continue the search on those.
I am actually changing my setup and going from 7.x.4 back to 5.1 with active JBL speakers (708p). My seating changed due to going from a dedicated two row theater to a multi-purpose game room/theater. All four of the Atmos speakers would have to move forward about 5 feet, which would require me opening up the ceiling again. I really love the Atmos demo disc; but, as far as "real world" movie watching, I have found it to be rather *meh* and not worth the trouble. There were times I demoed the Atmos disc to people who were amazed to only realize post demo my Atmos channels amp was off....lol I know this will be deemed blasphemous, but outside of Gravity and a couple of other movies, I have thought it a waste of time and money. I stayed with it for over two years, but I won't be going forward with it anymore. I am open to revising it again in the future though. Need an amp
SteveC356 and m4tt0 like this.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #5872 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCRSS View Post
That is why I had said out of curiosity about graphs.
I knew my graphs always were pretty good but sitting and listening to my ears was a flat and as you say muddled sound.


I am leaning toward the Nad 777v3 at this point. Hoping that it will be a leap forward in my sound field.


Thanks for the responses.
Curt
Hi - I have a few graphs that I can post using FuzzMeasure and what Audyssey and Dirac did to my sub (Arendal Sub 3) which was in the same position. Dirac made a much better job of handling a 50hz Height Mode null I have. With the waterfalls especially with the other speakers it has done a great job of aligning the timing.

Anyway, here there are.

George
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dirac.png
Views:	70
Size:	2.83 MB
ID:	2487358   Click image for larger version

Name:	Audyssey.png
Views:	73
Size:	2.83 MB
ID:	2487360  
HTNUT1975 and BCRSS like this.
ggrossen is offline  
post #5873 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
I am actually changing my setup and going from 7.x.4 back to 5.1 with active JBL speakers (708p). My seating changed due to going from a dedicated two row theater to a multi-purpose game room/theater. All four of the Atmos speakers would have to move forward about 5 feet, which would require me opening up the ceiling again. I really love the Atmos demo disc; but, as far as "real world" movie watching, I have found it to be rather *meh* and not worth the trouble. There were times I demoed the Atmos disc to people who were amazed to only realize post demo my Atmos channels amp was off....lol I know this will be deemed blasphemous, but outside of Gravity and a couple of other movies, I have thought it a waste of time and money. I stayed with it for over two years, but I won't be going forward with it anymore. I am open to revising it again in the future though. Need an amp
What had you been using for the Atmos speakers? My last system consisted of 1099's l/c/r with volt 10's all around for a 9.4. No Atmos but was using the front height instead of front wides. I thought this system was a match made in heaven for surround sound. This time around I am going with the 1299's and volt 6's for a 5.1.4. I am somewhat questioning myself on the volt 6's. Would like the 10's but space limited for them.
What amp? PM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Hi - I have a few graphs that I can post using FuzzMeasure and what Audyssey and Dirac did to my sub (Arendal Sub 3) which was in the same position. Dirac made a much better job of handling a 50hz Height Mode null I have. With the waterfalls especially with the other speakers it has done a great job of aligning the timing.

Anyway, here there are.

George
Shows a big improvement on that null. Thank you for the graphs. That was what I looking for.
You don't by chance have a full sweep showing both do you? 20-20k


BCRSS is offline  
post #5874 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,953
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3592 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Using the UMIK-1 connected to the computer was less problematic for me.

One solution for someone who either doesn't have a laptop or doesn't want to move their equipment into the room - assuming you have your USB length figured out (5m max on USB 2.0, may use powered hubs to repeat the signal) - use Teamviewer on your smartphone to remote control the computer you're running Dirac on. I do this for my REW sweeps so I can sit outside the room and trigger the sweeps.
I have a 5m long cable and the whole thing worked just fine with Dirac 1.0, hooked up to the NAD. My wife does have a creaky laptop that's about to fail and I'm getting her a new one for the upcoming holiday. I'll borrow hers and try it with a shorter cable hooked up to the PC.

Was I missing something or is there actually less information on steps with the 2.0 version? With the original, there was good guidance on checking ambient/base noise level and setting the initial individual speaker volume to be "midpoint in the green." I didn't see mention of it with the new version. Other help tabs were there too. I must be missing it, but I didn't see it with the new one.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, E.A.T. C-Major TT w/Ortofon Quintet Blue cart.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #5875 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
There's a "?" in the top left which gives a fair bit of info on each step
richardsim7 is online now  
post #5876 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,953
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3592 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
There's a "?" in the top left which gives a fair bit of info on each step
I see that now. Not as intuitive as the last version, it seems. I think on that one having the help tabs open by default is what helped me get familiar with it quickly so I didn't really need it today. Except for that error message I was getting...and there was no help to be found for that.

Maybe later this week I'll have at it again. For now I have 3 slots filled with curves created with the previous version, and they work. I'd just like to see if the new version does create filters that leave it a little louder because I have noticed when the wider-area project results are in use, it requires me to be higher on the main volume of the T758.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, E.A.T. C-Major TT w/Ortofon Quintet Blue cart.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #5877 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 10:38 PM
Member
 
irwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is Diract Live 2.0 MacOS version crashing for everyone else? After I login it immediately says Device not Fount and crashes. The limited version downloaded direcly from NAD's site worked fine.


10.13.4 is what I'm on.
irwando is offline  
post #5878 of 11289 Old 11-25-2018, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by irwando View Post
Is Diract Live 2.0 MacOS version crashing for everyone else? After I login it immediately says Device not Fount and crashes. The limited version downloaded direcly from NAD's site worked fine.


10.13.4 is what I'm on.
I have been using Dirac 2 on a Mac with my NAD with no issues for around a month now.
SteveC356 likes this.
ggrossen is offline  
post #5879 of 11289 Old 11-26-2018, 12:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
This is my curve, and bass is anything but anaemic - the sofa shakes like a mother****er, and that's with the buttkickers turned off!

Hi Richard,

It's your curve for SW, right ?

Quote:
BREAKPOINTS
7.55883 4.04433
24.5478 3.40125
51.0757 2.77294
103.332 2.04115
200 0.999997
HPSLOPEON
0
LPSLOPEON
0
HPCUTOFF
15
LPCUTOFF
19900
HPORDER
4
LPORDER
4
LOWLIMITHZ
6.99971
HIGHLIMITHZ
19900
What about your target curve for LCR ? Possible to post your settings for them ? Thx
Adhara is offline  
post #5880 of 11289 Old 11-26-2018, 01:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1530 Post(s)
Liked: 2024
It's just the default Dirac curve but with the same low-end as the sub curve, but then I removed the points below their usable crossover point (40Hz), as per instructions here: https://mehlau.net/audio/dirac-live-avr-crossover/
neo_2009 likes this.
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off